Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Nessus (BYOL)

Tenable, Inc. | 8.14.0

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2018.03 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

2 AWS reviews

External reviews

194 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Information Technology and Services

Better than most

  • December 12, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like the plugin feed, it is very robust. I also like the ability to upload compliance audit files directly from Tenable.
What do you dislike?
I don't feel like the scanners do a great job of compliance checks, I prefer to use ePO instead of the Nessus scanner to obtain the credential data I need. Could be operator error though ;)
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are currently resolving FISMA scorecards with the use of our scanner as well as web testing certain applications that are coming into our environment


    Higher Education

Nesssus Rocks!

  • December 12, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The flexibility in scan entire networks and for specific vulnerabilities.
What do you dislike?
That the free license is no longer available for home and personal use.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Filling gaps of employment. We don't have the budget for a security team so the infrastructure team fills both roles. Nessus make our jobs easier to scan for vulnerabilities without paying for FTES or yearly pen test.


    Law Practice

Nessus Network scanninhg

  • December 12, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of set up and use, shows exactly where the vulnerabilities are
What do you dislike?
More in depth reporting on the level of risk for each vulnerability found
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Closing possible security holes


    Jon K.

Good overall product with room for improvement

  • December 12, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Nessus includes some good functionality to enable integration with a larger suite of vulnerability management systems and help facilitate some light automation. The performance is generally consistent and the interface is intuitive and easy to use.
What do you dislike?
The plugins are not always updated in a timely fashion, which results in unnecessary false positives and time spent researching and documenting. The API functionality is tied to a Tenable.io subscription, limiting automation and integration to the more expensive subscription model, and the accompanying analytics are superficial and don't tie to good key risk indicators.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
As a consultant, I'm helping my clients assess where they may have shortfalls in their vulnerability management, patch management, and system hardening programs. The overall ease of use and ability to deploy remote virtual systems allows us to work with clients without being on site the entire time, improving our efficiency and controlling costs.


    Information Technology and Services

Nessus is Cool

  • December 07, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Good detection capabilities. Easy to understand results.
What do you dislike?
The removal of the API and multi-users in Nessus Pro.

Starting to get a little messy with where plug-ins are grouped.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Vulnerability scanning.


    Consumer Electronics

Dropping API support was a bad decision

  • December 07, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Scans are through and provide links to explanations and corrective actions.
What do you dislike?
Dropping the API support in the latest version renders our Powershell automated scans useless.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Assuring our products are secure from hacking.


    Printing

Nessus Professional

  • December 06, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The best thing about Nessus is how indepth the scans can be. Not only are they indepth, there are multiple different scans preset for convenience. Not only that there are a ton of customization options for reports, scheduling, notifications, the type of scan and even the plugins.
What do you dislike?
Migrating Nessus to a new machine isn't the easiest thing to do as there are some restrictions but after doing them a couple of times, I've gotten used to it. Depending on how many scans you have on your original build, migration can take a long time to complete. If something goes wrong, all of that time would have been wasted.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
A big benefit with Nessus is that we are able to pinpoint security risks within our own sites and servers on a monthly basis and escalate to the proper teams within our organization. The scans can be setup to send emails of the pdf file of the scan report to individuals. This allows the proper people are receiving the results as soon as the scans are complete.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are in need of a vulnerability scanner, Nessus is definitely the way to go. The ease of customization and the level of support you get from Nessus makes this the best option.


    Information Technology and Services

Very good product

  • December 06, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
We are able to perform weekly scans and store them for future reference
What do you dislike?
There is not much to dislike about the product.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are using the plugins to ensure that we are in compliance with the FDCC guidelines.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I have used it for years and it has improved a lot over the past few years.


    Hospital & Health Care

Nessus Keeps Us Safe

  • December 06, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Nessus is easy to use and scans for a large number of vulnerabilities. It helps us to keep one step ahead.
What do you dislike?
The initial install of Nessus tends to be a little slow when downloading and compiling plugins. Other than that once the product is up and running everything is good.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use Nessus to perform daily scans. It helps us stay on top of new and existing vulnerabilities as well as identify any patching issues that may have been overlooked.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Buy it and use it daily.


    Law Enforcement

great piece of mind

  • December 06, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
simplicity of building out a customized scan
What do you dislike?
better looking results, built in data that doesn't require going out to web for details
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
security scans needed to verify new systems have been hardened