Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Nessus (BYOL)

Tenable, Inc. | 8.14.0

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2018.03 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

2 AWS reviews

External reviews

194 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Computer & Network Security

Nessus is gamechanger, it helps me to reduce my work pressure

  • April 15, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Everything is perfect in nessus.
I like so many things in nessus,
Environment is very user friendly
What do you dislike?
There is nothing to dislike, if i compare it with other tools, i found it as best tool.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
After using nessus my work speed increased and i got promoted
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Yes


    Management Consulting

Reliable results!

  • April 14, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The interface is straightforward; there are many preconfigured scan templates available for compliance checks; the software is updated regularly; I can generate report content very quickly
What do you dislike?
There really isn't anything that I dislike; I have been a long time user and have relied on Nessus for client and personal scans
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use it as part of vulnerability management programs for customers and I use it as part of the discovery stage in penetration testing


    Non-Profit Organization Management

Nessus is a simple to use and effective vulnerability management software

  • April 14, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Using nessus is very simple and intuitive
What do you dislike?
Sometimes I would appreciate more flexible reporting options
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Nessus helps to secure different kind of environments by reducing risks
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Nessus is easy to setup and install


    Taha K.

Super experience using Nessus

  • April 14, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Nessus has an upto date vulnerability database along with a user friendly UI
What do you dislike?
Installation of Nessus takes a very long time
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I've used Nessus mainly to perform VaPT activities. It is a major time saver


    Dipesh J.

Nessus is one of the best VA scanners I have used till date

  • April 14, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like many features but are not restricted to the below:
-scheduled scans
-policy compliance scans
-offline audit of network devices
-Scanning Cloud Infrastructre
What do you dislike?
I would love if the plugin updates have a better method to be done offline.
I would also appreciate if Tenable rolls out a free scanner with professional features for the community. (I think this wasa discontinued in 2019)
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Continuous Vulnerability Management is simplified. Scheduled scans and extremely detailed PDF and CSV Reports help me automate a major chunk of Assessment.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Nessus should be used by professionals who understand the benefits of automation and importance of vulnerability management in enterprise environment


    Honker B.

It has been very useful to detect existing failures in my company

  • January 12, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Its interface has a fairly simple and intuitive design to use at all times, which allows me to streamline in a much simpler and faster way a large number of tasks in a much more practical, agile and safe way, the fact that we allows us to detect in a much simpler and more efficient way the existing vulnerabilities in our company is something that has been very helpful to us to improve any failure or error that may occur during the development of our activities, its interface has a minimalist design but at the same time quite powerful to do everything in a very practical way, its ease of installation and configuration is also something that is of great help when making the initial configurations of the application in a much faster and more practical way.
What do you dislike?
My main complaint is with their customer service team, they take too long to respond to any questions or problems that may arise, which I consider something quite problematic.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It has been very useful for me to detect existing faults in my company in a much faster, simpler and more efficient way, which has been of great help to me in achieving a great improvement in a large number of processes within my company, without mention that it facilitates the improvement of coexistence with my employees, since having the company well monitored and controlled, in the sense of avoiding as far as possible the existence of failures that are mainly those that can generate some type of inconvenience or trigger serious communication problems this translates into a better coexistence for everyone and a better performance within the office.


    Michael H.

Does it's job without drama.

  • December 15, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Set and forget, just read the reports and edit systems to scan as needed! The reports are easily readable and all the plugins let you customize scans VERY well.
What do you dislike?
Nothing really. Scans are slow, but that's expected.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Keeping our IT staff on their toes about basic security. Rollouts of new gear are scanned immediately to find basic things like forgotten password changes and open ports.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Be prepared to spend a lot of time initially documenting all the systems you want to scan, and then setting up the relevant tests. But once done, it's a cake walk to change things later.


    Information Technology and Services

Great vulnerability scanner

  • December 11, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Nessus' licensing models work great for companies of all sizes, with plans/packages that don't limit you to numbers of IPs if you don't need all the bells and whistles
What do you dislike?
Their more advanced products such as distributed scanning greatly increase the cost and make them proibitive for medium sized businesses to integrate them into their environments, creating a gap.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have used Nessus to find some vulnerabilities in Windows servers that required more than just patch installation.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you're just getting started out, Nessus is a great step. If you are mid market, it really will depend on the layout of your organization and end goals.


    Dave E.

Ease of use and great support

  • December 10, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The software is customizable, does everything we need for our compliance. The support has been fantastic. Always get helpful and knowledgeable assistance.
What do you dislike?
Occasionally have to reset the Nessus services but it is an easy fix.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are required by the Federal Government to scan certain computers. We use the Nessus software to do this.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
None


    Greg H.

Nessus Professional Offline Use

  • November 10, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Quick to implement patching updates and new product updates in baseline files. Tenable audit files are useful, along with step by step guides on how to implement the audit files. Tenable seems to keep up with the changes in the DISA STIGs, CIS baselines, etc. Also, the user community also fills in some of the slack on getting things changed as well.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes remote scanning takes a long time, but may have to do with the bandwidth provided. Every year the offline activation is required, which isn't bad. Some other programs require a more frequent check-in than yearly, so that is helpful for offline systems.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Verify patches, verify products correctly updated. Find out we need patches vendor didn't tell us about. Find out that some of the old software we have on the machines is causing us to be in a less secure environment than initially thought. The scanning updates after patch Tuesday are quick, which helps to have before/after scans on the Microsoft patching. Most other product updates for non-Microsoft products (Adobe, Java, etc.) also seem to be quick to make it in the plugin database.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Offline activation/update easier than most other competitors. Quick to adapt patching baselines, new vulnerabilities and product updates. One of the most complete solutions for scanning, patching and vulnerability scanning. Audit files are also useful for CIS, DISA STIGs, etc. Online help seems to be a good place to get help not only from Tenable employees but other users experiencing similar issues to you as well. Opening a support ticket gets an answer quickly as well. The company understands offline use, which is nice for those of us without internet connectivity 24/7.