Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Mattermost - Slack compatible team messaging by TurnKey GNU/Linux (HVM)

TurnKey GNU/Linux | 16.1.1

Linux/Unix, Debian 10/Buster - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

2 AWS reviews
  • 2
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

264 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Staffing and Recruiting

Easy to use and intuitive company chat function

  • November 24, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The ability to crest channels and groups of like minded individuals to get get together and chat about non work related topics. Also, the ability to tag specific people within a group. Mobile app is easy to use and has a very similar UI to desktop app.
What do you dislike?
Does not display time away in regards to someone's status
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Not solving any problems. Mattermost is providing an easy to use and effective way to communicate company wide.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's a capable and intuitive chat function that gets the job done as well as the added bonus of "channels"


    Jerome P.

Great slack clone

  • November 23, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The user interface is rather familiar, especially having used Slack in the past. I primarily use it for team messaging, with Zoom and Google drive for collaboration. Very much comparable to Slack.
What do you dislike?
The mobile app (at least, Android) is a little buggy. Slow at times, and notifications don't always come through.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use it primarily for collaboration. I think it's certainly on par with Slack, with the ability to contribute to open source. I like that it can be self-hosted.


    Marketing and Advertising

Great open-source alternative to slack

  • November 16, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
- Deployed on my own server
- Easy to deploy and upate
- Very fair pricing (per user)
What do you dislike?
- More job to integrate third-party using "slack compatible' API
- Documentation not to great for third-party integration
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
- Team communication
- Communication with customers (private channels)
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Great tool : no more user limit. Use your server and Amazon S3 as storage and you are good to go!


    Ryan B.

Great tool for modern team communications

  • November 11, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
There are three features which really make Mattermost a great tool for my Marketing team. 1. The integrations with other services allow for more automation and awareness on all of our projects. 2. The groups help keep all team members informed and allow for conversations to be keep private if needed. 3. Threaded replies and file sharing allow us to get away from email and move more quickly on all tasks.
What do you dislike?
The direct messages can get very cluttered with conversations. It would be nice to allow the user to favorite their most important conversations so they could be kept at the top.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Most importantly, we are getting away from the problems of using email as a communication method. Group messages hit the correct team members every time. Additionally, I've found that our team members enjoy using the tool to communicate. Emoji and gif responses keep the work entertaining and upbeat.


    anupam k.

good to use

  • November 11, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
easy to chat in single person and in channel too.
What do you dislike?
- i don't like its interface as its colour combination is not good
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
group and single chatting is easier, so that content can be easily explained .


    Computer Software

Mattermost your self hosted slack

  • November 04, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
you can host it on your own server
no limit to the number of messages sent
keep the history of the conversation
What do you dislike?
nothing but I think if we can customize the theme it will be very nice
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Communicate with the team with keeping the history of the conversation
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I recommended it if you want to keep the communication between your team


    Ana U.

mattermost review

  • October 28, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like Mattermost, because I can use it on my computer and phone same time. Before I used to use lyncme, and I always had problems with chat history. Now is visible on each user.
What do you dislike?
When you get new messages, it does not appear on screen when you are working in other program. if you don't check, maybe you miss it
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Mattermost is my most crucial communication solution with my colleagues.


    Information Technology and Services

Good Soft

  • October 26, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Amount of integrations, bandwidth usage.
What do you dislike?
Pricing for small teams, it should allow free hosting
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Team Comunications and sprint coordination


    Ana G.

Secure communication platform

  • October 22, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's very fast I can attach files and photos easily
What do you dislike?
I don't have negative positions but it's not very easy to find person in list sometimes it stucks
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I used it also in my phone and it's very comfortable


    Innsu (Daniel) K.

Gets the job done

  • October 19, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to use, pretty good with group chats
What do you dislike?
Nothing in particular. You can edit your settings pretty quickly, and it's not hard to find.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Allows for communication between team members and immediate responses with technicians
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Make sure other users have it before assuming communication