Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Mattermost - Slack compatible team messaging by TurnKey GNU/Linux (HVM)

TurnKey GNU/Linux | 16.0

Linux/Unix, Debian 10 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

2 AWS reviews
  • 2
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

206 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    ALPER K.

Great Internal Communication Tool

  • July 30, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
* Communication is fast
* Communication is secure
* Group / Private communication is supported
* Notifications on desktop and voice notifications are really great
What do you dislike?
* Not able to share the screen or maybe I was not able to share my screen with my colleague to show my code.
* Should able to make video conferences as well which I could not do it.
* I think lattermost should also support meeting issues as well
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
* Internal communication
* Communication (personal/group) are secured. So we believe that third party users are not able to use the sensitive information
Recommendations to others considering the product:
* please support screen sharing and video conferencing as. Because of that we are using third party applications.


    Jordan T.

Mattermost for DoD Agile Teams

  • July 16, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
How "familiar" it feels - feels like a modern multimedia messaging application. Feature rich including user tagging, media uploads, private conversations, etc. A refreshing departure from the typically archaic DoD toolsets.
What do you dislike?
Maybe not an issue with Mattermost itself, but it seems like alot of people go overboard with the gifs. Maybe add an option to turn off gifs in certain channels?

Also, our Mattermost instance is hosted in a corporate DevOps instance and requires a gateway / VPN to connect to. This basically means I can't use the iOS app. Maybe add an option in the iOS app to connect using a public HTTP gateway / proxy?
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We're solving the issue of team-wide collaboration and announcements (pinned posts, etc) that aren't satisfied with Skype for business. Also provides an environment that we control and don't have to rely on corporate IT to manage and implement.


    Suyash N.

Ease to commute and create group chats

  • July 14, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Creating group chats based on technology and using it for aglie meetings
What do you dislike?
UI could have been better more friendly and private channel joining options can be increased
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Using it for documenting agile meeting notes and conveying message


    Education Management

Excellent tool for Communication

  • July 03, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is open-source and very easily configurable. No message limit unlike Slack. Also there is an API for programmable configuration.
What do you dislike?
The notifications settings could be made more versatile. During log-in it is difficult to search your mattermost server / class.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We facilitated class communication using mattermost instead of using Slack which has a message limit. The UI is very neat and organised and it is easy to get the hang of it!


    Sabin K.

MatterMost Review

  • July 03, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Mattermost is best suited for team collaboration and messaging platform along with the creation of public and private channels is easy.Also the direct messaging features is also provided.
What do you dislike?
It doesn't have it's own voice and video chat and have to rely upon third parties software where hosting of server needs to be done.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I'm using for day-to day chatting with my co-workers as it provides many channels and many groups related to specific interest can be build.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try it once and evaluate afterwards.


    Guillaume D.

Cheaper than Slack, but with some limitations

  • June 26, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
A great tool for team communication. It is reliable and fast.
You get access to great features such as private and group messaging, file sharing and search, apps for computer and mobile, and custom emojis!
What do you dislike?
Because it has to be hosted by your company, compared to Slack which is in the cloud, it will come with some issues. There are also some functionalities not available, and it feels like its lacking when you are coming from Slack.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Pinging your colleagues quickly is great with Mattermost. You can also share reactions and feel like a team even though you aren't together physically.


    Alex M.

A Sturdy, Free, Extensible Slack-clone

  • June 25, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Mattermost is highly extensible. Since it is self-hosted and open source, there are a number of integrations possible that are not possible with Slack. A major one I've enjoyed is really *native* LaTeX support. Slack and Discord have bots to do TeXify messages, but it's a bit annoying that they always appear separately.
What do you dislike?
Mattermost has no support for voice or video chat of any kind. You do have to host the server yourself.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Good communication, completely on-par with Slack, for free. Good web app, native desktop apps, and mobile app.


    Laure B.

Meets the needs of the company.

  • June 25, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Mattermost is a application that can be configured to meet the needs of the company. I really like her. For example, teams can work together through specific channels to simplify the sharing of ideas. You can also use standard business channels instead of sending emails. Quickly create multimedia communication by sharing files, videos and images. You may improve your interaction with more than just text messaging.
What do you dislike?
The chatting function is very heavy and is not implemented in the software. I like to be able to open the browser and refresh it each time the new e-mail appears.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I think that's good software. This product creates some really great interactions while working at a high level! We offer this to everyone who wants to build a community.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Internal long-distance communication to publish and develop great software that I like calling. Try this!


    Abigail B.

Lleva la comunicación en nuestra empresa a un nuevo nivel.

  • June 24, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Es más fácil discutir un tema con un colega que necesita una respuesta rápida que enviar un correo electrónico. Atención al cliente individual. Comunidad de código abierto. Muy fácil de instalar y mantener. Fácil de integrar. Los datos se conectan a través de canales y etiquetas para que se puedan conectar fácilmente a las herramientas existentes, y me gusta el hecho de que se puedan integrar con muchos sistemas, incluyendo los SSO. Esto es posible, e incluso puedes personalizar el tuyo si quieres.
What do you dislike?
Lleva un tiempo descargarlo, pero también es genial. No podría ser más feliz con el Mattermost, lo he tenido por más de 2 años, lo uso.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Contacte con su personal tan pronto como sea posible y póngase en contacto con sus colegas de todo el mundo desde Mattermost. Esto permite que muchos equipos diferentes trabajen juntos en el mismo escritorio, Internet y la aplicación móvil. Puedes agruparlos y hablar con ellos fácilmente.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
¡Definitivamente lo recomendaría! Pruebe esto.


    Hospital & Health Care

Mattermost is cool

  • June 23, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Fast, reliable, easy to use, user-friendly, collaboration, multi channel, emoji,
What do you dislike?
Not much not to dislike, have to be picky...can't change user them colr
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
constant communication with peers
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Great product for team collaboration