Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Mattermost - Slack compatible team messaging by TurnKey GNU/Linux (HVM)

TurnKey GNU/Linux | 16.0

Linux/Unix, Debian 10 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

2 AWS reviews
  • 2
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

213 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Research

opensource chatting

  • October 20, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I get the full history of all chats, can control the message flow via own server, so full control.
What do you dislike?
Muting channels is counter intuitive, otherwise its hard to fault.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Monitoring systems via bots, the rest api is great. Keeping in touch with colleagues, assisting students.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Its great product, if you are using slack, mattermost will be most familiar to you already and a nicer product. The ability to control your message flow and have your company info on site might seem pedantic and paranoid but it certainly lets one sleep better.


    Diwakar T.

Best Open Source Product for Communication

  • October 15, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
1. Open Source
2. Easy User Interface
3. Availability of Common Plugins
What do you dislike?
1. Most of the Top Level Plugins are missing as in Slack.
2. Integrity with Jira like plugins have bugs
3. Access Permission Level Configuration in Community Edition are not Enough
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Communication and Collaboration between team, I've avoided paying a huge amount for other paid tools and it came out as cheap and useful tool.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Needs more plugins like Grafana, AWS, Mails related as available mailing plugins are not working properly.


    Computer Software

Needs better notification system

  • October 10, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
How it allows so many different kind of formatting. That really helps
What do you dislike?
It's slow notification system, most of the time you don't get instant notification for a message.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Helps in keeping the communication organised.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Just notification is delayed other things are great.


    Anton T.

Slack alternative for open source enthusiast

  • October 08, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Open source, multi platform, easy to assign admins
What do you dislike?
Sometimes performance drops, usually on lower specs
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Team communication


    Saurabh r.

Mattermost

  • October 08, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The user interface and the design of the application. And the ability to add multiple servers.
What do you dislike?
Not having an inbuilt call functionality.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The internal communication on team and company level.


    Thedlapu Jaya R.

Professionals Chat

  • October 08, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Mattermost is most professional way for communication with in the Fire Wall. It is a open source platform and the language used to build is the goggle language where we find the utmost security. It has a Integration with Gitlab where it provides features based Interface to the Web developers with Centralized Integrated Platform. The platform was fully User Friendly and can be used on Cross platform operating systems .
What do you dislike?
Well I didn't have any that much dislike on Mattermost some of Minor issues like its starting Setup process will take a lot of time ,I didn't received the Confirmation mail from them very soon it had taken some time around 2-3 hours. There will be always a need of a person with well technical knowledge for self Hosting.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
As the system was Fully Professional I can self Host the group . Mattermost also provides the facility to store the conversation for future usage. As a Embedded Engineer i need Contact my Clients from Different Places and also with my Colleagues for that the platform is provided with Multiple Project option and I can have ability to manage persons on different Projects that was the Amazing service i can make to use for work space getting easy.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
As Matter most can be used In Mobiles and Others Devices without Need to install Applications . It is particularly designed for Professional People .It will be More useful to persons in the Field of Freelancing to get communicate with Multiple companies.


    Jillian Y.

I LOVE this product!

  • September 30, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Threaded conversations, ability to create as many channels as I want
What do you dislike?
Nothing - Mattermost is so far superior to Slack!
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Remote workplace environment mostly, but also project management, and ensuring inclusivity in conversations.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Definitely use it! It's life-changing for a remote work environment.


    ALPER K.

Great Internal Communication Tool

  • July 30, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
* Communication is fast
* Communication is secure
* Group / Private communication is supported
* Notifications on desktop and voice notifications are really great
What do you dislike?
* Not able to share the screen or maybe I was not able to share my screen with my colleague to show my code.
* Should able to make video conferences as well which I could not do it.
* I think lattermost should also support meeting issues as well
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
* Internal communication
* Communication (personal/group) are secured. So we believe that third party users are not able to use the sensitive information
Recommendations to others considering the product:
* please support screen sharing and video conferencing as. Because of that we are using third party applications.


    Jordan T.

Mattermost for DoD Agile Teams

  • July 16, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
How "familiar" it feels - feels like a modern multimedia messaging application. Feature rich including user tagging, media uploads, private conversations, etc. A refreshing departure from the typically archaic DoD toolsets.
What do you dislike?
Maybe not an issue with Mattermost itself, but it seems like alot of people go overboard with the gifs. Maybe add an option to turn off gifs in certain channels?

Also, our Mattermost instance is hosted in a corporate DevOps instance and requires a gateway / VPN to connect to. This basically means I can't use the iOS app. Maybe add an option in the iOS app to connect using a public HTTP gateway / proxy?
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We're solving the issue of team-wide collaboration and announcements (pinned posts, etc) that aren't satisfied with Skype for business. Also provides an environment that we control and don't have to rely on corporate IT to manage and implement.


    Suyash N.

Ease to commute and create group chats

  • July 14, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Creating group chats based on technology and using it for aglie meetings
What do you dislike?
UI could have been better more friendly and private channel joining options can be increased
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Using it for documenting agile meeting notes and conveying message