Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Become a Channel Partner Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

openSUSE Leap

openSUSE | openSUSE Leap 15.6 (x86_64) - v20240613

Linux/Unix, Other 15.6 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

3 AWS reviews

External reviews

31 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Pat

Works flawlessly

  • April 17, 2024
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

My company has deployed a couple of production machines now using this AMI and everything works as expected, which for OpenSUSE means everything works with zero issues! Maybe we'll encounter one someday but for now it's an Admin's dream.


    CHARCHIT A.

Opensuse review

  • May 29, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Its a high end tecnology. It is a versatile tool.
What do you dislike about the product?
It should offer more specifications.
Customization should be more.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Its solving many of my business usecases


    Pramod K.

Open SUSE leap review

  • July 09, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
It is tested throughly which lead to better stability
What do you dislike about the product?
Open SUSE leapDon't have package manager.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It's a good choice for a reliable Linux distro for desktop or server and deserves your serious consideration if you want to get into Linux or change distros for some reason


    Patrik M.

Free Enterprise grade Linux distribution

  • June 11, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
You can configure many parts of your system from one place and one tool YaST.

Becouse openSUSE Leap shares the source with Suse Enterprise Linux you get a stable system to work and game on
What do you dislike about the product?
Because openSUSE Leap is built to be as stable as possible Leap sometimes doesn't have the newest version of some programs available and can be a bit hard to install.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I use Leap to hobby develop games with the Unreal Engine 5.
For work, I use leap to configure networks and network devices.

By using Leap I get a stable system and if I need help there is a big community that happily will help me out.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you're a user that wants a stable system go with Leap, but if you want the bleeding edge software try out openSUSE Tumbleweed


    Jose Manuel O.

Good approximation to the SUSE version Enterprise with good performance

  • March 15, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
It is a distribution with good stability since it is based on the Linux Enterprise version that tries to offer a solution that allows the deployment of applications and servers. System maintenance and package upgrades are also made easier by using YAST.
What do you dislike about the product?
Using the distribution and configuring it requires more advanced technical skills than a normal user who wants to test the distribution, but doesn't know as much about the ecosystem of tools offered by SUSE, might have.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
One of the main features it offers developers is the use of container-based applications that have become an essential component of cloud computing. At this point, openSUSE Leap aims to be a competent solution in this area, where security updates, the presence of container platforms and orchestrators such as Docker Kubernetes stand out, as well as the possibility of being able to easily migrate a server, a virtual machine or a container.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
openSUSE Leap can be used as a staging environment to run workloads that can later be ported to SUSE Linux Enterprise Linux.


    Vladimir L.

best business class Linux without the price tag.

  • September 29, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Stable, all drivers always work. had it installed on more than 100 different systems, never had a problem.
What do you dislike about the product?
Nothing, there is literally nothing i don't like.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Replacing windows with leap is straightforward and users that are not familure to linux pick it up right away.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Never worry if its the software or hardware problem.
If leap does not work, it is a hardware problem. Leap is super stable, with great support.


    Telecommunications

OpenSUSE Leap

  • August 22, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Easy maintenance with YaST. Very good stability.
What do you dislike about the product?
Sometimes a bit more difficult cooperation with Nvidia cards during distro upgrades.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Great operating system even for notebooks.


    paolo b.

full, professional and user friendly, easy to install and upgrade, full graphical system management.

  • August 11, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Install system, Hardware support, and auto-recognition, The choice between many desktop environments, Stable, plenty of packages official or from the community but however stable, availability and easy install of non-free packages/codecs, yes, it's important for the user
What do you dislike about the product?
nothing, first days of the release 15.3 "closing the gap" had some update trouble, but it's been a great step, solved.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
sorry to be obvious, speed, safe browsing, data consistency. Georeferencing system working fast with huge data.


    Manuel Trujillo

Great Linux distro.

  • February 19, 2021
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I really love openSUSE but why can't it change from a c5a.4xlarge (for example) to another like c6g.4xlarge? I can't give you the five stars only for this.
Thank you for your great work


    Consumer Goods

A fun distribution that seems to have lost its way

  • March 23, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
OpenSuSE keeps up with the cutting edge of software, providing multiple versions and paths for whether or not you want reasonably stable or absolute bleeding edge. It's pretty easy to get and build software on the platform, and works well as a desktop O/S for a laptop. It also runs well on older hardware that may not be up to the challenge of more demanding operating systems.
What do you dislike about the product?
Between all the M&A activity that parent/sponsor company SuSE has been through over the past decade or two, I think OpenSuSE has gotten lost in the shuffle. It's hard for a company that has to make money to figure out how to fund these things, anyway, and provide the resources for a freely-available and community-supported platform, and I don't think SuSE has done the best job of making this happen in a way that benefits the community using it. Also, the short lifecycle of the releases - about 18 months - can be challenging to keep up with - it's really easy to get 4 years down the road on a version and realize you can no longer get software and updates because you're two major versions back with no support.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I want to run Linux on my laptop rather than Windows so that I can more efficiently manage a large Linux and UNIX landscape.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Be prepared to keep up with the quick pace of updates and major version changes.