Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Parallels Remote Application Server (RAS)

Parallels | Parallels RAS V17.1.2

Windows, Windows Server 2016 Base win2019 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

2 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 2

External reviews

61 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Martijn

Not working

  • February 28, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

RDP fails, can't access the machine. I came here because I heard about the product in a commercial. Azure version doesn't work either. Great!


    Airlines/Aviation

So simple and easy to use!!

  • December 13, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
What I love the most with Parallels is that when I’m not connected directly to the company’s server I can remote into any of the applications that I need to with if not at the office. So it’s great when I’m off sick or at home when a problem arises, I can pull out my computer and remote directly to all my work data. When the server is down at airport and we cannot check in I still have my laptop that we can remote in to get any check in data needed. It also has a really good mobile app too which is a really good plus.
What do you dislike?
There’s not much that I don’t dislike with Parallels, at first it seemed a bit confusing but now it’s so easy.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Some business problems that I am solving with Parallels would be any work related issues that arises when I’m not in the office such as reservations systems issues that need to be solved so I can connect remotely and fix anything that needs to be fixed. The benefits of having Parallels when my works network is down is amazing. I can continue working with ease by connecting to the airports wifi and using Parallels


    Matthias R.

for us an indispensable tool for many year

  • April 30, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The feature set, performance and quality increased over the years.
What do you dislike?
the licensing changed some time ago and after Parallels purchased RAS from 2X the price unfortunately increased extremely and the german support office was closed.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Since 2006 we are using RAS to connect a remote office with 6 workers and several remote workers at home or while travelling over VPN to our companie´s network. They use our local ERP system, MS Office and our unified messaging system with their RAS clients on Windows, OS X and even some with their iPad Pro.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you need to access and use Windows applications and data from any device then Parallels RAS is for you.
Parallels RAS extends the server integrated RDP services outstandingly.


    Chris

Doesn't Work

  • February 19, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Doesn't Work ... and their support doens't care, says it is not their issue and so .... I guess we will look at a different product


    Research

Parallels Systems

  • February 01, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
As a graduate student and researcher, I have enjoyed using Parallel2x over the last 2 years.I access Parallel2x 2-4x a day for both work to log into our private computer and also to access the various software programs that I need for school and work.
What do you dislike?
The one thing that I noticed about Parallel2x is that after a period of inactivity, or toggling windows between the Parallels system and my own Macbook Air, is that the Parallels environment will freeze, as in when I click areas where I can type text like to log back onto my remote computer, I cannot type anything. Usually, I log out of Parallels and then log back onto it, as this will resolve the problem.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Business-wise, we use Parallels to remotely access our computers in the workplace so that we can use various softwares, such as ArcGIS and SAS.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I highly recommend Parallels and I have greatly enjoyed using it. I probably don't understand the full capabilities of the software, but in terms of remotely logging onto my desktop at work and the software programs there, I think it is an appropriate software to use.


    Medical Practice

Too slow, inefficient for fast-paced environment

  • February 01, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It allows offices with iOS to access and utilize programs that are PC-exclusive.
What do you dislike?
Start-up was extremely slow, so much so that it almost wasn't worth it to use the software. You also are required to create an account to use the product.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We were able to expand the types of programs, software and file types used by the office which made handling day-to-day business easier.


    Computer Software

Well featured parallel OS program

  • December 14, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
So far it's run very smoothly and haven't had hiccups when doing deployement testing
What do you dislike?
I can't say there's much to dislike, Parallels seems to keep their product updated, which is something I always appreciate.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use Parallels for software testing


    Roxie K.

Parallels

  • October 09, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I enjoy having a PC & Mac all in one computer
What do you dislike?
Some features do not work well/have glitches (example: sometimes the CD drive & USB drives will not work on the platform that I need)
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
About 4 years ago we began incorporating Mac computers into our office. I was not familiar with Mac and many of my programs were PC based. Our IT department installed Parallels so I could have both. This has made the transition very easy for me.


    Higher Education

Parallels on Mac for Data Analysis Software

  • February 07, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I can switch between my mac desktop and PC desktop with ease. I don't have to restart my computer everytime I need to use my windows software.
What do you dislike?
Some software is not compatible with parallels
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Being able to use a PC on a mac without having to buy a separate computer. I can do PC work remotely on my laptop and I don't have to carry a second laptop or have a desktop elsewhere.


    Siva G.

Best app to experience Windows in Mac

  • October 31, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy of use to setup and run windows os in Mac. Support for Windows out of the box. Running both Mac and Windows on Parallels is faster and not memory hogging like VirtualBox
What do you dislike?
Express installation doesn't work. Have to use manual step to install Windows 10. Free upgrades could help very helpful for those who bought it in the last six months of purchase.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I had to install Windows OS to use Visual Studio 2015 and looked at different software VirtualBox, VMWare, Bootcamp and Parallels. I finally decided to use Parallels because of easy of use and run smoothly along Mac.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Easy to use Virtualisation software compared to other apps.