Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Parallels Remote Application Server (RAS)

Parallels | Parallels RAS 18

Windows, Windows Server 2016 Base win2019 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

4 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 4

External reviews

67 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Automotive

The Best of Both Worlds

  • February 24, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Parallels was very quick and easy to set up on my Mac Mini.
I can fire up a virtual copy of Windows 7 and easily utilize connected hardware across both operating systems such as my printer or attached USB HDD.
Parallels has allowed me to work in Windows-specific applications such as the ARENA Simulator without any flaws!
What do you dislike?
I've had some system confusion between hibernation and sleeping. With the wrong combination of putting Parallels to sleep versus hibernate, after my Mac goes to sleep, Parallels seems to be stuck in its own stage and never would recover my Windows session. I've learned after toggling some settings to just consistently shut down the Parallels OS and haven't had much trouble since.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Why carry around two machines when you can have both OSs on one? Parallels helps you get your work done on one central machine.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Great for running Windows applications on Mac OS X!


    Internet

Best virtual machine!

  • January 22, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Parallels Desktop is for sure the best virutal machine ever. Why? Is very fast and stable. Great feature is that it has nice "installation wizard"(?) if you install Windows. It ask you if you have serial number, do you need koherence mode and other things. It really helps beginners users like me. The price is also not much so everybody can handle it.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes I have problem with internet on virtual machine so I don't like it. It should works always ;)
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I'm using Mac but sometimes I need to open some files on Windows. For examples CorelDraw. Sometimes I play the best game ever - Age of Empires II! ;)
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I recommend Paralells Desktop for everyone who need it. Just try it and you will find that this is probably the best virtual machine.


    Stewart H.

Run Windows on your OSX

  • January 22, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like the easy integration between the virtualized host and the native system.
What do you dislike?
The software often leaves traces around that require manual cleanup. If you delete a virtualized guest system the integration with the host doesn't always cleanup desktop icons that it places there. Also, traversing the filesystem on the guest can sometimes be painful as it lumps in the host filesystem with the guest.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Developing cross-platform code, compiling, and testing.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would recommend not using the integrated mode and running it in the isolated mode that they provide to avoid issues with the filesystem and shortcuts.


    Telecommunications

Great virtual desktop for Mac

  • January 13, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to set up and configure to work on a mac.
What do you dislike?
Would not recommend using Parallels in Coherence mode as it hogs the system resources
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Using Windows applications in a Mac environment


    Alexander R.

Easy-to-use virtual machine software with good performance and configuration options

  • December 31, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
* Very easy to use software in general, with good user interface
* Good performance – as long as there's not too much going on on my host machine (MacBook Pro 2013), the Windows virtual machine runs almost just like it were installed on the actual machine
* Options for configuration (keyboard, mouse, network, external devices, etc.) are extensive – how they interact with host and guest systems can be controlled to suit pretty much any environments
* Excellent integration with Mac – things like shared folders & drives, shared applications, and "coherence" mode can make the experience with virtual machines very fluid
* Regular updates to fix bugs, enhance performance, and other improvements
* Support for wide range of guest OS's – good performance on all
* Good online support for all sorts of issues – email, phone, and remote desktop
What do you dislike?
* Complex key bindings (translations) sometimes to not get translated well – this has been my experience with Windows guest OS's at least
* It sometimes takes a fair amount of effort and several days to get support issues escalated to the appropriate level/team
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use Parallels to run Windows 10 (and previously Windows 7) for various applications and for cross-testing software. Parallels has made this is a very straightforward task.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Parallels Desktop definitely has advantages in integration, performance, and user support over free virtual machines. If you need virtual machine software for Mac, and are happy to pay, then Parallels is probably the best choice.


    Stefan B.

Very useful but expensive and frequent upgrades

  • December 21, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It does what it needs to do: runs Windows on your Mac, without rebooting. It supports virtual hard disks, but also Boot camp (dual partition). It takes a fast Mac to make it usable. Since I upgraded my machine (retina Macbook Pro) it shines again. I mainly use it for 3D intensive software, which is quite demanding, but it is usable.
Very complete OSX integration, including native Mac shortcuts that are translated, access to file system, mapping of document folders, networking (e.g. I run Rhinoceros with Network license in Parallels, even from home, through a VPN connection).
What do you dislike?
With OS updates, you often are required to buy an upgrade that is almost as expensive as a new license. I bought it already a few times with deals to have it a but cheaper. E.g. free OS Mavericks requires €40 upgrade for Parallels…
Integration into OSX generates countless "windows apps" that start cluttering my Spotlight searches and native filetype associations.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Running the last few Windows-only programs on my Mac that I still need: Rhinoceros 5 with Grasshopper, Autodesk Revit and Tekla Bimsight, alongside Microsoft Visual Studio. Even though I can boot in Boot camp, it is often more convenient to run Parallels.

Since moving to a faster i7 with SSD and the upgrade to Windows 10, the speed of launching Windows and running a Windows-only application has become very bearable. In most cases, I don't boot in Windows anymore. Only for extensive sessions of the more heavy BIM software with larger models, I makes sense to fully launch Windows and use all available hardware resources.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is one of the best ways to run Windows-native apps in OSX, with complete integration. Support for complex 3D applications is quite good. But cost of upgrades can be considerable.


    Zheng L.

Great integration with Mac

  • December 18, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The greatest things the app in Virtual machine will be shown in the dock and it looks just like a native app in Mac.
What do you dislike?
The price is expensive. And if you upgrade from Parallel 10 to Parallel 11, you need to pay again.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am using it to do the linux projects and some payment by IE


    Kate O.

Excellent tool to use multiple platforms via virtual machine

  • December 17, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Being able to use Windows based software on a Macbook Pro without any requirement to reboot my mac into 'windows'. This is a fantastic feature as I can alternate work between both mac osx and windows via Parallels Desktop. Highly recommended
What do you dislike?
The only thing I guess is something that could be improved on is the amount of free systems available to test on. There is quite a few varied platforms from Mordern IE on windows to Android. I guess if a user was requiring to test different versions of IE, it would be a little easier to do so via a quick download.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Being able to use Windows based software on a Mac platform without any issues. You can even scroll sideways to flick between Mac and Windows or any other platforms you are using Parallels Desktop for. A fantastic piece of kit that is well worth it's low cost!
Recommendations to others considering the product:
As previously mentioned:
Ability to swipe between different platforms - makes working on different platforms simultaneously a much easier task than having to 'boot' into a different operating system that other virtual machines can make you do. System resources don't seem to be hit anywhere near as hard compared to other software. The cost is very low for what you can get out of Parallels Desktop, so it is well recommended. Using it on a daily basis to access Windows is a breeze.


    Phillip M.

Parallels Desktop

  • December 14, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Parallels lets me use all of my Mac, while still working from various platforms i.e. with Windows, etc. without having to mess around with having a dozen physicals or VM's on remote sites (e.g. Azure, Amazon).

Once of the nicest features of Parallels is the Coherence mode; which lets me run another operating system / instance on my Mac with full copy/paste ability. I can use software that has to be running on Windows without having the pain of rebooting, working from another machine or feeling like I'm going from one user experience to another; everything is seamless and that's the beauty of Parallels.
What do you dislike?
Only issue I have is that sometimes it appears to run slowly when working in Coherence. If you can improve this then I see no issues.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Helps us run our Windows based programs on our Mac Laptops. This enables us to avoid the need to purchase new software or spend hours developing new software.


    Adam B.

Excellent to use Windows on a Mac osx machine

  • December 09, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Not only can you use Parallels desktop to run windows on your Mac machine, but you can actually download test environments which makes it easier to test things on the fly rather than installing a windows version from scratch
What do you dislike?
Sometimes my mac slows in performance speed, but this is after a while of running both so you cannot really fault it!
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use Parallels Desktop to give us access as a business to use windows software, in particular, BT IP Office manager. Using parallels means as a business we can modify our phone system with great ease of use.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Easy to use, straight out of the box. It's pretty cheap which makes this software very cost effective for a user or business to easily access windows on a mac machine. It's fantastic to be able to not have to reboot the mac to use windows and you can seamlessly use both operating systems side by side. A brilliant piece of software that I fully recommend to anyone who requires something similar to my requirements.