Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

WhiteSource

WhiteSource | 1

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

37 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Music

Renovate is awesome!

  • November 23, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
My favorite thing about Renovate is the customizability. You can adjust everything about how Renovate works down to the most minute detail.
What do you dislike?
One downside of Renovate is that the customizability can be overwhelming. Fortunately, their config-help repository is very good at offering advice and helping you figure out how to accomplish what you want.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Renovate helps me automatically update dependencies in my JavaScript projects. It keeps me from needing to remember to check every few days.


    Leisure, Travel & Tourism

Phenomenal Work

  • November 20, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The way their services work effortlessly. They have justified their product without making any excuses while making it reliable and sustainable.
What do you dislike?
They are lacking activeness in other many sectors where this technology is appreciated.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have to get in touch with renovate bot and it does all the stuff for me like worrying about updating requirements.txt and package.json deps. I like how it could be configured with a JSON file and you rest easy while it does work for you.


    Computer Software

Perfect product

  • November 10, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The application gives you a really good overview of all the outdated dependencies, an overview of all the licenses used in all the dependencies, all the vulnerabilities coming out of the used dependencies, policy violations, and much more.
What do you dislike?
The UI could be updated but for the EE it's suitable.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We solve the major problem of compliance as now we have an overview of the licenses used in all our products and we can view all of this in one single application on one single page.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The WhiteSource gives you really a good overview of outdated dependencies, vulnerability with good suggestions on what to do to solve them.
With the integration with a GitHub, you can get a really good view of where the issues are coming and how to solve them, as you will get an alert already in the PR request.


    Habil B.

WhiteSource and Github

  • November 10, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like Easy configuration and accurate results
What do you dislike?
Everything is perfect, I have nothing to complain about.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
When I develop an application I constantly checking dependency versions. Thanks to WhiteSource is automated now.


    Computer Software

WhiteSource makes everything easier!

  • October 20, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I love how it makes easy it is to manage my openSource web components. I never have to worry about missing an important notification if something goes wrong!
What do you dislike?
There isn't much to dislike with whiteSource! Maybe one thing I'd suggest is to make it a little less expensive. But honestly, it's already worth the price!
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use it to monitor our various UI libraries along with other smaller repositories that are vital to our company. It was very easy to setup and get started with almost instant monitoring.


    Gagandeep R.

Easy interface - Max productivity

  • October 08, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy setup, smooth user experience and friendly user interface
What do you dislike?
Not robust adaptation to certain website source codes.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Go-to solution but work needs to be done to refine automation.


    Jérémie M.

Renovate is a must-have

  • October 01, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Renovate is a time saver, more specifically, saving precious engineering time and brings peace of mind as we automated our application dependencies updating.
What do you dislike?
Nothing really. The Renovate tool is part of the toolchain for every applications. And is now free!
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Automate everything! Instead of a manual process to update our dependencies and relying on a benevolent engineer to keep track of the necessary updates, Renovate does it automatically and with a lot of different configuration options.

We are now confident that our application is not falling behind.

By automating dependency management updates, we can reallocate engineers hours to more value adding projects.


    Computer Software

Positive experience while rolling out WhiteSource

  • September 30, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
WhiteSource has been very active helping us to get started and get the most out of the tool, this also helps resolves the "dislikes" to a great extent. WhiteSource has also been very willing to help out investigate incorrect attribution. Single Sign-on makes makes it easy to switch to the portal. The home-view is a good dashboard with an overview of the organization, product, or project status. There are many integration options, such as Jira, GitHub, Travis CI, Jenkins, TeamCity, Bamboo, Azure DevOps, Circle CI, AWS CodeBuild, Google Cloud Build, etc.
What do you dislike?
The "Policies" are quite limited in their current form and only a single policy can trigger. This means a policy at the product level can prevent organization wide policy violations to trigger. This can be useful when making exceptions as the product level, but this also means a product level admin can overrule organization wide decisions. The products - projects model takes quite a bit of insight and help to be used effectively.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
WhiteSource helps getting an overview of all open source software in use. It provides information about vulnerabilities and their possible implications. WhiteSource also provides license information that helps us ensure we comply with all license requirements and we do not use libraries that are only available under unacceptable licenses.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Ask WhiteSource for a presentation, and possibly demo, on their capabilities and then request to start a trial. Let them help you try out the tool with one of your own projects.


    elyes c.

White Source Bolt Review (open source packages scanner)

  • September 02, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
the easy way to implement in the cloud into our pipelines
What do you dislike?
at the moment i didn't noticed anything that i can dislike
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
the problems that everyone are facing, we all use opensource packages but without scanning them for known vulnerabilities, whitesource bolt is a great scanner for that purpose
Recommendations to others considering the product:
i recommend whitesource to scan opensource code


    Christian D.

Invaluable tool to keep your software safe

  • September 02, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Summary: Whitesource shows us which libraries can be upgraded and which ones are vulnerable. This keeps our code up-to-date with other project's releases. Having an integration into our pipeline assures us we can follow this up easily.

Applying Whitesource to our projects has helped us tremendously in keeping our project secure. It would be more difficult for our developers to search around to try and find those vulnerabilities by themselves. Most projects do have hundreds of third-party libraries, and even more are downloaded transitively. By comparing the used libraries with known and reported vulnerabilities, we have everything we need in one place.

Each new branch with updated code, triggers a Whitesource build in our pipeline. The email reports are nice triggers for our developers to start looking into vulnerabilities and library updates. Whitesource gives useful resolution suggestions, such as how to avoid the vulnerabilities or which library version no longer has the issue.

Another useful feature is the check on licences. Most developers do not bother looking into which libraries are included in their projects. Whitesource gives a comprehensive list and overview of all licences used in a project. This allows early detection of any non-free library and gives the opportunity to find alternatives quickly.
What do you dislike?
For each new branch we add to the project, a new product section is created. When our branches are then merged into the master branch, those products remain. Each email report will also include and compare them to the other branches, making the report less useful. This has triggered us to regularly and manually delete those product sections, and only keep the latest reports and branches.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Our security operations has never been happier with our results. We were also able to quickly detect a non-free license that was used, so we could avoid legal issues when our software was put into production.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Anyone should have some tool such as WhiteSource to keep their software safe.