Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Untangle NG Firewall PAYG

Untangle Inc. | NG Firewall 15.0

Linux/Unix, Debian Stretch - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

2 AWS reviews

External reviews

9 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Robert M.

Excellent Product

  • June 25, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Have used Untangle for 8+ years - started out using the free edition and then moved to the paid version. Nice dashboard, very granular control over all aspects. Firewall, Virus, Spam, Phishing, AD integration, Web Filtering, Application Control. System is very stable, reporting is good.
What do you dislike?
There is nothing I don't like - very in depth product - just take the time to learn its capabilities
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Untangle has provided us with the ability to protect the system with a robust platform and have excellent auditing control over internet activity.


    Nathan J.

Works great

  • June 23, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to install and use, lots of control. Automated configuration backups, tons of reports for data collection.
What do you dislike?
Can be a bit confusing if you don't know much about the internal workings of routers
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have 6 deployed, doing web filtering, application control and VPN (and more) they're consistent and easy to use, and with the command center I can access them from anywhere at any time.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
They have a free version as well as trials. it runs great in a VM so you don't even have to dedicate hardware to it if you're interested in testing it out.


    yash

Captown

  • April 24, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Hi, I would love to have this available in the Capetown datacenter. I know capetown is quite new, but AWS needs to update this.


    Computer Software

Easy and Simple to use

  • April 23, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Untangle is simple to use with nice dashboards that display a lot of information and reports. We recently switched to a paid version and prior to that, even when we didn't have a support plan the support team still helped us out as much as they could. All of their apps are really useful that allows you to filter sites, and whitelist sites easily or a WAN balancer with alerts whenever one of them goes down.
What do you dislike?
I don't have anything I dislike about Untangle, we haven't had a bad experience yet.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
One day, one of nowhere we started getting a bunch of email alert from our Antivirus that it prevented an intrusion and we took a look and couldn't find anything wrong on the device. It kept on continuing and it turns out that the user was accessing a grocery store website that had malware on it and so we used the web filter to block those kinds of site.


    Jason B.

Stay in control of your perimiter with an awsome dashboard and support team behind it.

  • November 11, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Untangle has been the firewall of choice for 8 years. The product has continued to hold its value throughout the changes in the industry as well as the integration with other product. For any startup user, this would be an excellent teaching tool while using it.
What do you dislike?
The rules and setup for the IPSEC is still hard code based and does require more knowldege on the back end to be able to understand how to deploy and implement some advanced features. If the forums or threads could include more step by step methods, primarily for the lite users, we won't be left behind.

the speed: I would like for Untangle to feature some sort of comparison or effort to compare to Ubiquity Edge products, for Example the Edge Lite - can handle 1Million Packets and is a very fast router. Could you offer a recommendation for users to also benefit in that aspect?
Does Untangle offer a modular OS that can co-exist with other powerful processes?
It would be interesting to put untangle behind a robust network interface, CPU, and I/O storage.
Dream Build: nVme 128Gb SSD, quad core cpu, 16Gb RAM, independent NIC processor and cache.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We block anything and everything we want, straight on. The VPN is really nice to work with and the exclusive firewall/network interface rules. Remote workers have greatly benefitted. We were also able to pass the PCI compliance.
MANY THANKS TO YOUR SALES TEAM, UNTANGLE!
Your sales agent quickly referred to the correct product subscription and we were up and running within the hour.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Definitely all three choices work well. Build your own, Virtual, or physical appliance. The dashboard is the same. Thank you Untangle.


    Tim

Untangle NG Firewall AWS EC2

  • April 10, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

The customer support at Untangle is almost always available (5AM-5PM PST), knowledgeable, and ready to help. The documentation is very detailed on Untangle's WIKI and Support page. The Untangle NG Firewall in AWS is fairly easy to deploy and allows for a lot of flexibility. I love the fact we're able to route all traffic from our internal subnet through the Untangle in AWS and keep it segregated from any public traffic. The numerous apps you have at your disposal really helps to monitor and control traffic flows. I would highly suggest using the Untangle NG Firewall if you have a AWS EC2 deployment or would like to have remote clients connect through VPN and would like to better control/filter the traffic.


    Hospital & Health Care

Good Small Business Firewall

  • January 30, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Simple to use Graphical Interface makes this very powerful. The base functions are Free then you purchase additional apps or pay for the full versions of the included free ones. The untangle firewall unit is divided up into apps so you use only what you need. It can do VPN access from a PC or another untangle box so its great for other locations.
What do you dislike?
Not much, the full paid version get expensive when you buy and use most of this unit for free.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Firewall, WAN Failover, IPsec VPN, OpenVPN.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
This is a great firewall for the none Cisco command line user. I tend to like GUI interfaces so I can see the full picture of whats happening and how its setup. This unit you can grow into starting with the Free setup and purchase what you need as you grow. Its a very powerful and robust firewall, router, VPN unit.


    Sarah G.

Great teaching tool!

  • July 24, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
We use these as a teaching tool in the CIST department, using either VMware or Hyper-V. The students learn how to create and maintain VLANs using untangled routers, how to use domain controllers in that network, and, how to use tools such as Active Directory to enhanse the network; receiving hands-on learning in a large business' networking needs.
What do you dislike?
There is not much to dislike. The students all have trouble at the beginning just using the software, but most catch on quickly.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are creating VPNs and simulating large organizations to better understand networking.


    Architecture & Planning

Been installing for years

  • June 19, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Versatility and professional product always works
What do you dislike?
No clone mac address feature would be great that is my only critique and if web filter lite was back instead of web monitor
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Unified Security appliance
Recommendations to others considering the product:
absolutely


    Rhonda A.

Untangle review

  • February 22, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Really worked to filter websites in a school environment
What do you dislike?
Required the IT person to make adjustments for the staff members
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Solid filtering for businesses and education providers
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Make sure you have a good IT professional to configure and troubleshoot