Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Amazon ECS-Optimized Amazon Linux 2 AMI

Amazon Web Services | 2.0.20200623

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2.0.20181017 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

1 AWS reviews
  • 1
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

241 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Insurance

ECS for running microservices

  • December 13, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Its easy and fast deploy
works seemlessly with Amazon and external APIs that is available
What do you dislike?
Compatibility with windwos based microservices
Automation with external windows agent
security between containers needs to be embedded as part of the design otherwise the app can be vulnerable from security point of view
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
faster app deployment
automation
Blue green deployment
Ofcourse cost
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try using Fargate


    Marketing and Advertising

Easy and quick way to manage containers if you are on AWS

  • November 12, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
As usual one of the important factor with ECS and ECR (they both go hand in hand) is how easy it is to get start. Compared to kubernetes or opneshift lot of less complex to get start and maintain.
What do you dislike?
If same image needs a different configuration of memory and CPU its not possible to achieve within same cluster. We had to find workaround to achieve this.Also I think ECS is not as matured as Kubernetes, but at the same they may not intend to make ECS as rich as Kubernets.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have several kind of backend services which run on docker containers and ECS is used to run those. We simply create the image and push it to ECR from our on-prem Jenkins. ECS automatically picks up the latest container to run the process. Overall it has been really easy to work with ECS.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
This service is very easy to get start and setup. Once you have this integrated with your CICD tools, deployment can be really simple.


    joker

Works perfectly from the box!

  • November 06, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Works perfectly from the box! At least for my terraform. After quick setup, I just had to configure an ECS cluster - and my "terraform apply" worked like a charm.


    Computer Software

Deploy code to containers the Amazon way

  • October 29, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Spinning up more tasks once they're created is simple.
What do you dislike?
You must use the AWS code repository system to deploy code. Keeping the ECS agent up to date on servers is a pain.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Containerizing worker processes to horizontally scale.


    Anonymous

Best container service available for an overall integration to the ecosystem

  • October 26, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
- Easy to use and integrate if you are familiar with docker ecosystem

- It has a good documentation when you are using it for the first time

- It is not very expensive and it depends on your machine which you had bought from EC2 portal to integrate with ECS

- You can always upgrade your ec2 machine and your integration with ECS doesn't fail so this is how robust ECS is.

- Load balancing is done so beautifully and its integration with other AWS products is very nice.
What do you dislike?
- A little expensive than google cloud but we have used AWS from starting so we are using this

- ECR has a little more steps to integrate it with ECS so if you are not familiar with whole ecosystem then it can cause you difficulties.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have lots of small demos and website hosted on AWS so we dockerised them and upload it to ECR. Then we integrate ECR with ECS and update the same. We then update our nginx and connect our port with our EC2 machine and that's it our demo is up and running.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
- If you are already using the AWS ecosystem then don't think twice and use this container service. It is the best you can get if you are familiar with AWS ecosystem.


    Narayan M.

Best container service

  • October 06, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Straight forward to instantiate containers. You can define the image definitions and modify them
What do you dislike?
Nothing much that I dislike. It is difficult when the service is good
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have deployed our company’s data ingestions and KPI reporting in ECS. Lots of cost savings when compared to data center based severs
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Excellent cloud service


    Loris P.

ECS is the best container service for your docker workloads

  • September 29, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's easy, can be configured both in EC2 mode and as Fargate (to avoid coping with the underlying nodes).
It's solid, reliable, and quite straightforward to configure and maintain.
What do you dislike?
To configure things you need to set a lot a prerequisites. This reflects in the complexity of the required Cloudformation scripts when you want to deploy workloads in ECS.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
You can spin workloads as containers with practically no effort. Using Infra as a Code you can have identical environments for all stages of the CD pipeline.


    Gaurav P.

Best Container Service available on cloud

  • September 12, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
- Almost similar to Docker

- One of the best load balancing is done by ECS

- Inter AWS products are connected so well

- Scalable

- Memory is well optimised so cost is also not much

- Billing is very minimum
What do you dislike?
- Restarting the container is very hectic task

- Some of the terms are very confusing, you have to read the documentation carefully
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
- I create many small demos for my team and to host it on ECS is very easy and accessible

- Our one of the main product is on this ecosystem so it is also very scalable and our customer are very happy with the service
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you want to have similar service like docker on cloud then ECS is the one to go for it. With your eyes closed.


    Renish K.

Best in the market

  • July 15, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I have used Microsoft Azure Cloud services and Amazon cloud services (AWS) mostly. So I will state my differences, advantages of using ECS over others.
- Better documentation
- Custom Docker like ecosystem (ECR)
- Pay as You Go
- More Scalable
What do you dislike?
AWS ecosystem is like an awesome eco system where one you get used to it, you always prefer the same channel, similarly like Apple's ecosystem in mobile phones. One of the main thing I dislike is its ECR integration. It has no editable feature also, when I upload the latest container it starts pointing to new container but it should continue to the last one. Also a minor update in configuration require whole new task definition. so it become overhead sometimes.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Deployment of application on cloud
Scalability for the same
Multiple micro services
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Flexible
Easy to scale
Immutable
Azure has very old and unintuitive UI


    Chike I.

The best and most reliable way to get your online services online

  • June 16, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I love the fact that ECS allows for easy storage, we have been using AWS ECS for over 5 years now and it is most reliable and secured, i also enjoy the fact that there is a daily backup of my entire data.
What do you dislike?
It is not like your traditional hosting dashboard, you need to really understand what you are looking at before you can configure and use. You might even need an AWS certified engineer.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It has allowed us to move servers to the fastest depending on our location, we can also quickly deploy new apps or features in no short time.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you want reliability then use AWS ECS, it is fast and reliable.