Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Certified Apache NiFi - Calculated Systems

Calculated Systems LLC | GA-004H1

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux Amazon Linux - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

1 AWS reviews
  • 1
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

14 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Online Media

Modern ETL Tool

  • October 07, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
If you would like to remove boiler plate code from your application,Apache NIFI is the best tool available.
What do you dislike?
There is always an issue with debugging past events on NIFI
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
TO make things asynchronous, we use Apache NIFI
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Best ETL tool


    Hospital & Health Care

Colleagues should exercise due diligence and do a very thorough evaluation of anything of this order

  • July 27, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Web Server -
Flow Controller -
Extensions - (plugins)
FlowFile repository -
Content repository -
Provenance repository -
What do you dislike?
Tracking lineage at a row level is important in data lake ingestion implementation.
Can Lineage be controlled at per-row level?
Batch transformation performance.
Need to Benchmark.
May require Kafka
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
-
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Watch out


    Banking

Data acquisition

  • October 18, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Possibilité d'ingérer différentes sources (aws, hdfs ..), très bon pour convertir les données en plusieurs formats ( avro, parquet, xml..)
What do you dislike?
Pas très bon pour faire du traitement analytique, traitements de données, compatibilité avec peu de language de programmation
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Implantation d'un lac de données, intégrations des données vers des bases de données


    Pat Wendorf

Worked perfectly

  • April 05, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I've been looking for hosted Nifi for a while, and this is exactly what I needed. The image pops up very quickly, and gives you secured access to the Nifi UI, so you can start building.

No issues to report. It seems like all the out of the box processors I've tested are functional. So happy to see this kind of functionality coming to the marketplace!


    Marketing and Advertising

NSA Tech for Moving Your Data

  • January 23, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Robust and fast, usable for a variety of cases and contexts. Better than Camel and excellent for moving your data around. Records the lineage of data through the system! Did I mention it started as NSA tech? This software definitely gives you what you put into it and is tremendously customizable once you get a feel for how to use it. Beyond that, it's secure and proven to perform under high stress application! It's hard to stress how much work would be involved in developing a similar software solution on your own and that makes this perfect if you're looking for a robust and multi-faceted piece of software that can be customized in many ways.
What do you dislike?
You might need more detail of tracking message lineage. You get what you put into it and while relatively easy to use and tremendously configurable, it may not suit your needs out of the box. If what you're looking for is something that is less robust and performs one of the single functions NiFi is used for, you might do better with something prepackaged or better off using a consultant to help you master the finer points and features.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It's useful at securely integrating multiple stakeholders on an enterprise platform. While it takes some effort to get the kind of tracking you need in order to meet regulatory compliance if you're in a field that needs that, for a business that is looking to bring data and observations in-house together on a central and secure platform, it's extremely hard to top what you can accomplish with NiFi.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Be ready to invest some serious time into getting a feel for the architecture and implementing this. Still, I can see rewards in a wide variety of fields for putting the investement into this. Think of it as an infrastructure investment that will save you in the long run and be prepared to hang onto employees who know how to get the most use out of it.


    Raja D.

NiFi Experience Solution Architect

  • January 22, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Nifi helps to Move data between disparate systems.
It is data source agnostic and supports sources of different formats, schemas, protocols, speeds, and sizes.
Nifi enables tracking data flows from beginning to end.
Nifi Enables dynamic prioritization of flows, modification of flows at runtime, and back pressure thresholds,
which specify amount of data that may exist in the queue, to avoid overrunning the system with data.
NiFi supports SSL, SSH, HTTPS, encrypted content.
Ability to quickly ingest data (particularly streaming data), fork data sources to multiple applications (HDFS / Spark etc) with a strong audit trail.
I like NiFi's web based user interface and highly configurable.
What do you dislike?
It is hard to monitor in NiFi. provisioning and monitoring the mirror maker process can be hard.
One need to monitor the metrics coming from mirror maker to see if there is any lag or no data being produced into target cluster.
Most recent version of Java was not used and there are configuration and comparability issues.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Real-time data movement and multiple data source movement and it is possible generate pyspark or scala scripts using NiFi tool. So that We can use the scripts as a job and schedule.
The majority of limitation related with provenance indexing rate become the bottle neck.when it comes to overall processing of data
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I recommend NiFi support team to solve the provenance indexing rate issue.


    Biotechnology

good software for dataflow amongst systems

  • January 22, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
NiFi provides a very good GUI that we have used for configuration and thereafter monitor data workflows and its ability to use java data came as a big advantage for us. It is easy to install and monitor workflows/dataflows and also ingestion using graphs.
What do you dislike?
It would be very nice if there was support for stateful operations for which data has to be looked up from look up tables or from other data flows within the organization. In addition, at times we had to write additional scripts for binary data workflow as we found the product to be some what lacking for this.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We were looking for an automated solution for data workflows especially ingestion from tables. We were able to accomplish this with the help of Apache NiFi upon adoption of this software.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
do a good proof of concept for the use case


    Health, Wellness and Fitness

Best Data Flow Management Engine

  • January 18, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Nifi is a very versatile data flow management tool and can be used to manage enterprise wide data flows. The ability to configure processor blocks based on requirement is very easy for anyone with basic software engineering knowledge.
What do you dislike?
User Interface gets kind of entangled after building a data flow pipeline. There should be a way to format or reorganize blocks automatically for easy interpretation. This would help developers organize/maintain clean data flow blocks and new users in understanding existing flows quickly.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Receiving messages from MQ and processing them stage-by-stage based on business rules.


    Health, Wellness and Fitness

Highly recommended

  • January 17, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I especially like that it is simple, comprehensive and user friendly.
What do you dislike?
I cannot think of anything that I really dislike.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Customer satisfaction. We are solving population problems.


    Defense & Space

Apache NiFi for data streaming

  • January 14, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the power and customization abilities of NiFi. I'm able to bring data in from various sources with the ability to customize how and how often the data is imported, and then manipulate the data from within NiFi before sending it to whatever application will process the data further.
What do you dislike?
The learning curve is steep and the developer community is small. That makes certain tasks unintuitive and difficult to figure out. This is probably because NiFi is a niche tool. The documentation exists, but sometimes leaves a lot to wonder, and I've sometimes resorted to checking out GitHub commits and Jira tickets to find answers.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The main business problem is being able to stream data constantly from an open-source tool. We've realized benefits of being able to stream that data in and perform manipulations on that data.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Check out its compatibility with AWS if you're using AWS to store data. We've had some role and permissions difficulties since NiFi does not yet support ARN credentialing for uploading to S3 buckets.