Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Alpine Linux with Docker

okindev | 3.14.0

Linux/Unix, Other 3.14.0 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

3 AWS reviews

External reviews

8 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Animesh R.

My experience with Alpine Linux with Docker

  • June 17, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
ease of downlaod and given the capability to use for multiple different projects as well. mostly use of dev env for web-application.
What do you dislike?
nothing so far, everything works for me.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Alpine Linux with Docker helps to set up multiple working environments


    Nitin S.

Alpine Linux with Docker

  • June 09, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
This weakening of security is not necessary to do with Alpine 3.4.x and Docker 1.12 and the easy documentation provided on their site.
What do you dislike?
Very often we came across the message "WARNING: No {swap,memory} limit support". Support is still limited and it gets difficult to troubleshoot any ongoing issue.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Creating containerised solution for applications which are specificon the alpine linux nd related tech stack.


    Karan R.

Lightweight and stable

  • April 30, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
A lightweight Docker image means that my development image is not bloated with unnecessary software. As a frontend developer, I find the startup times to be the fastest.
What do you dislike?
We sometimes have to install additional packages needed to run our development environment. This is usually straightforward and is documented well on the internet.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
As a full-stack web application developer, I use Apline Linux with my Docker setup to run a local copy of our app which is used to collaborate, create and test new features.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Just go for it. It's the best out there, when it comes to a lightweight Linux image.


    Rahul A.

Linux docker

  • April 22, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Alpine linux size is the most amazing feature with storage and easy to install .
What do you dislike?
Repository features which require filesystem to be edited for the issues.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It's great in ease of use for the perfomance and I/O failures which overcomes the slowness issues .
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's better with size and easy to use as considering other operation system available .


    Information Technology and Services

Alpine docker

  • April 21, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Alpine Linux is having good feature for sizing and require minimal size to store and installation .
What do you dislike?
Repository while installation having few minor issues needs to fix
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Performance impact faced due to the hardware and cpu consum help in alpine to solve at good extent
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Best in use and use friendly with GuI interface available .


    Harish R.

Effortless

  • April 19, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Great image based utility and has a production application which is super cool and smart
What do you dislike?
Few commands are complicated to perform the task
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
For running my python scripts which has a connectivity between MySQL database server


    Sylvia L.

Benefits of Alpine Linux.Try It!

  • January 31, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
This is the best option to use for OS layer for users that are currently using Docker. Alpine Linux will reduce the image size. Alpine Linux is good in containers and very secure. You can also load package history from a previous state in the case you need to revert to a working version.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes Alpine Linux has bugs, and sometimes the build times are delayed.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I use applications for package pinning to keep code reliable and stable. I cam also use this install, upgrade, and remove packaging as well. I also use Docket to run processes with restricted permissions, with restricted resources, with tight network policies, and more
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is great for lightweight and small containers. I would highly recommend for those working in the technology field.


    Praveen K.

Senior DevOps Engineer

  • January 03, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
As compared to all other container images, the size of the alpine image is significantly less that means the alpine docker image is light in weight
What do you dislike?
some of the Linux tools/applications not supported
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
earlier my image was taking more storage because of that, we needed to add external volume in our Linux machine, but once we moved all containers with alpine images, that issue resolved
Recommendations to others considering the product:
yes, anyone who wants to migrate their application from VMs based to the container than I will suggest using the alpine image as a base image


    OldHacker1970

Works fine

  • August 18, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Works as expected. Had some issues to ssh into the VM at the beginning.
What I missed was that the user is 'ec2-user'.
Setup a separate security group for ssh on my IP and it worked like charme.


    pn

No access

  • February 26, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Concur with previous; no way to login with key, password, etc. Was unable to use at all, but had to pay for 1h of use.