Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Alpine Linux with Docker

okindev | 3.16.3

Linux/Unix, Other 3.16.3 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

4 AWS reviews

External reviews

11 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Ashutosh T.

Alpine Linux

  • August 14, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
While using alpine Linux in the dockerfile the image that was built was of very lightweight due to it taking very less storage & it became very easily portable. We were using alpine Linux in almost all. the dockerfiles.
What do you dislike?
While using alpine Linux in dockerfile some of the packages were missing while we were working with nodejs application & sometimes we faced issues while using sudo inside the container.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
before we used to use the ubuntu in the from of dockerfile , due to which the image size used to be more & then we switched to alpine Linux & image size got reduced to a very greater extent. We started building small size images.


    Gianluigi M.

Most light but simple Linux distro for container

  • August 04, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Alpine comes with only essential packages to run the Linux distro. The included package manager, APK, works as the same as APT. All commons packages, libraries and tools for typical containerized software services are available today.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes some packages or libraries require some more work to be configured and running correctly. But nowadays it is really simple to find out solutions over Stack Overflow or other sites.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Alpine Linux resolves our problem of having a complete, flexible but first of all secure and light unix distro to deploy our containerized microservices over Kubernetes.


    Samar S.

Small and powerful Linux distro that does exactly what's required to do.

  • August 01, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's lightweight. When dockerizing your applications, the image size can easily go over 1GB with most of the space being used by the base layer, but not with Alpine.
Alpine is lightweight since it does not come already equipped with a lot of default Linux packages.
What do you dislike?
There's not much to dislike about Alpine. If it were possible to have a desktop environment it would a good thing, but this is where Alpine Linux misses.
Community support is very limited and troubleshooting is a pain sometimes.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I am using Alpine Linux as the base layer for all my Python microservices and data science-related apps and services. It's easy to set up and helps in getting started quickly.


    Ger

Is this legal?

  • July 05, 2022
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

The link to the developer site (https://aws.okindev.com/) seems broken, and this does not seem affiliated with the official Alpine Linux distribution.
This AMI uses the official logo though, which is very confusing.
Apart from this - is there any advantage to use this image instead of the official AMI provided by Alpine Linux?


    Animesh R.

My experience with Alpine Linux with Docker

  • June 21, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
ease of downlaod and given the capability to use for multiple different projects as well. mostly use of dev env for web-application.
What do you dislike?
nothing so far, everything works for me.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Alpine Linux with Docker helps to set up multiple working environments


    Nitin S.

Alpine Linux with Docker

  • June 10, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
This weakening of security is not necessary to do with Alpine 3.4.x and Docker 1.12 and the easy documentation provided on their site.
What do you dislike?
Very often we came across the message "WARNING: No {swap,memory} limit support". Support is still limited and it gets difficult to troubleshoot any ongoing issue.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Creating containerised solution for applications which are specificon the alpine linux nd related tech stack.


    Karan R.

Lightweight and stable

  • May 01, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
A lightweight Docker image means that my development image is not bloated with unnecessary software. As a frontend developer, I find the startup times to be the fastest.
What do you dislike?
We sometimes have to install additional packages needed to run our development environment. This is usually straightforward and is documented well on the internet.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
As a full-stack web application developer, I use Apline Linux with my Docker setup to run a local copy of our app which is used to collaborate, create and test new features.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Just go for it. It's the best out there, when it comes to a lightweight Linux image.


    Rahul A.

Linux docker

  • April 25, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Alpine linux size is the most amazing feature with storage and easy to install .
What do you dislike?
Repository features which require filesystem to be edited for the issues.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It's great in ease of use for the perfomance and I/O failures which overcomes the slowness issues .
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's better with size and easy to use as considering other operation system available .


    Information Technology and Services

Alpine docker

  • April 22, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Alpine Linux is having good feature for sizing and require minimal size to store and installation .
What do you dislike?
Repository while installation having few minor issues needs to fix
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Performance impact faced due to the hardware and cpu consum help in alpine to solve at good extent
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Best in use and use friendly with GuI interface available .


    Harish R.

Effortless

  • April 20, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Great image based utility and has a production application which is super cool and smart
What do you dislike?
Few commands are complicated to perform the task
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
For running my python scripts which has a connectivity between MySQL database server