Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Lenses EC2

Lenses.io | 3.2.1

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2019.07.18 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

9 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Alexandru-Florian A.

DataOps for Kafka

  • August 05, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Lenses is amazing at providing insights into the Kafka topics as well as offering a broad range of tools for administering Kafka data policies, ACLs, SQL Processors, Kafka Connectors. I appreciate how easy it is to explore data using the SQL Studio tool. Also the continuous monitoring and audit capabilities are providing good value and instant feedback about the state of the Kafka cluster.
What do you dislike?
It would be nice to have a richer set of capabilities for supporting DataOps, such as the possibility of exporting and importing Data Policies, security configurations and ACLs in order to configure multiple instances of Lenses deployed in different environments.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Lenses is a great tool for opening access to the data stored in Kafka while ensuring a safe level of data access security using the Data Policies and Security Groups.


    Michael G.

Invaluable tool for anyone using Kafka

  • July 27, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
A great way to sample and query data in a GUI. We didn't have a reliable way to do that before.
What do you dislike?
Producing messages within Lenses seems to require that messages already exist on the topic, and if you use Avro, it will only use one schema for that topic.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Using Lenses, we realized our lo compaction strategy wasn't working. Lenses was a critical tool in finding the cause and fixing it.


    Ivan V.

Excellent addition to kafka

  • July 24, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
- Beautiful, responsive UI for kafka overview and with lenses SQL for kafka topics browsing
- Advanced kafka broker metrics which simplify monitoring and alerting
- Seamless data integration capabilities using lenses SQL processors
- Data protection policies and role based UI
- Schema registry integration for avro based payloads
What do you dislike?
- You need to use lenses UI for development of SQL processors: develop, export, import into prod. No developer centric workflow assumed
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
- Troubleshooting production incidents
- Overall visibility of data in kafka for all relevant people (due to role based access control and ability to mask data based on policies)
- Improved monitoring of kafka brokers
- Data integration scenarios can be done in minutes
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try lenses box first to see if it suites your needs


    Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Powerful tool for increased productivity

  • June 26, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Lenses is an intuitive tool that provides great observability and management features for our streaming environment. It has some very useful interfaces for managing and querying Kafka topics. Lenses has proven to increase productivity in our environment by enabling developers to more quickly ascertain state.
What do you dislike?
In the current release (3.2.1), some types of Kafka consumers (e.g. Apache Flink) appear as "inactive" even though they are active. This is not a "showstopper", but it could be confusing to some users.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Lenses is helping us more quickly iterate on our streaming-related projects. It provides a sophisticated, yet easy-to-use interface that helps our developers troubleshoot Kafka-related issues. Additionally, it has been invaluable in helping us design our partitioning strategies, as well as capacity plan. Furthermore, it provides us with the means to easily query billions of IoT messages to troubleshoot devices in the field.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Download the Lenses Box and run it locally to see all the features in action.


    Matthew G.

Amazing Product with Amazing Support from and Amazing Company

  • June 23, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The support on their product! They are unparalleled and quick to respond to any question (even if the fault is not their own). Their team is always friendly and willing to help. It is a pleasure to work with them. Please never change! The slack community is a HUGE benefit for us users. The Lenses product is amazing and I am positive it has drastically increased our development times using Kafka.
What do you dislike?
Lack of KStream functions that work in the KSQL Studio, but not the KStreams option. I would LOVE to build custom functions for KStreams, but I hear that is coming sooner than later! Also wish the product had a few more stream reactor connectors and configs for the connectors. Would also love a "data type" converter inside of the UI to convert between string, Avro, JSon ,etc. formats.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Setting up kafka pipelines and transformations. Our development time has been improved drastically having the lenses UI. The tool also helps us maintain our kafka data, governance and security models as well. The tool is really becoming the center focus of our data ops team.


    Donny F.

A very respectable add-on for the enterprise-grade Kafka cluster!

  • June 10, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The view into the data in our Kafka topics, the ability to "scan through" the records in a topic and query it for troubleshooting.
What do you dislike?
There's no free/open version (but there is a trial version and local developer version). This makes the adoption curve a bit steep for small-scale deployments.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We're using Lenses to enable our developers to effectively adopt and work with Kafka. The security features and data protection policies paves the way for a wide user base. Finally, the people behind Lenses (Landoop) are great to work with!
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try the Lenses Box docker image locally. This image can also works as a general and lightweight Kafka development environment.


    Human Resources

lenses, a kafka story

  • June 09, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the custom serde ability and lenses sql.
What do you dislike?
buggy with configs, bugs in LSQL, VERY weird bash script for docker image env vars.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
finding problematic events
finding partition skew
consumer group lag detection


    George F.

Very complete tool to browse and understand what's happening inside your clusters

  • June 09, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Topologies, UX and how easy is to use #awesome
What do you dislike?
Lack of features regarding protobuf #proto
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I'm solving problems regarding traceability


    Financial Services

Lenses is one of those tools that when you get accustomed to you really can't live without.

  • June 09, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The ability to quickly filter the messages inside the Kafka topics by SQL.

P.S: the autocompletion suggestions are invaluable.
What do you dislike?
The fact that the SQL view to filter the topics messages only works with websockets enabled.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I solve a tons of problems with Lenses! Introspection all around!
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Lenses is a great product made by great people.

The Lenses team is incredibly skilled and always ready to help in case of any kind of issue.


showing 1 - 9