Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

CIS Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8 Benchmark - Level 1

Center for Internet Security | 1.0.0.20

Linux/Unix, Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

1 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 1
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

5 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Computer & Network Security

RedHat Enterprise Linux Review

  • August 26, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to use
Lightweight
Has open source as well which can be customized as per need
What do you dislike?
Need to know the commands and format to use it. Need indepth knowledge to make the best use of it
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Very useful for hosting sites.
Used for running databases and other software for day to day use


    Swati A.

Best application servers for UAT and Production environment

  • August 17, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Speed, access, ease of use, open-source, better performance tuning and monitoring, adding NAS drives, configuration friendly.
What do you dislike?
Black and white command-line interface. No UI, need some expertise to learn the commands and usability for first-time users. Need help to install new softwares.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Application Deployments, servers, database hosting, webserver


    Klon

No upgrade information

  • July 22, 2021
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I'm running 1.0.0.16, and it's been quite easy to use and there's some peace of mind knowing it's hardened. However, today I received and email indicating I need to upgrade to 1.0.0.19, with 2 links pointing to this site for "upgrade information", of which I can find none. Will a simple "yum update" do the trick, or do I need to launch a new image and rebuild??


    Jae Sub L.

CIS Red Hat Enterprise Linux Review

  • July 22, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Love how this software can collaborate with others to accomplish its project. This software is easy to use. The PDF that they have provided on the Benchmark Information is well written and everyone can start coding from scratch. When running the software I like the fact that the derivative will no longer be a CIS Benchmark.
What do you dislike?
I used this software couple of times before and I have to say, that some of the errors that they spit out is very different then its competitors. Also pricing on its storage fees and others are definitely on the higher end. Not too much experience as I mentioned before, but I have to say this is not my favorite software to use.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Again, I do not have too much experience, but I am trying to solve my work problems. The benefits I have realized is that it is computing software that is capable of doing a lot more things to make our lives easier.


    Luong Trung T.

Security and comply with a lot of standard requirements

  • June 18, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Provide and recommend a lot of built-in configured and make OS is better.
What do you dislike?
Woriking with different OS needs some tweaks and adjust to do smoothly
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Hardening Linux to be comply with many standard requirements; benefit of CIS Red hat Enterprise is large of community and discussion to be better via CIS foru and template is always good to reference


    Angeliki L.

protein ligand binding can be programmed in linux- ideal for drug discovery!

  • October 31, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I doubt drug discovery would be anywhere near where it is today without Linux. I am starting to look up compounds that have been verified as highly specific to proteins. I can't look at how these compounds would look when bound to the protein without the linux terminal. In the old days, pre computer, people would literally have stick and ball plastic models to physically model protein-ligand interactions and predict good fits. There are millions of compounds- this is simply inefficient!
What do you dislike?
I'm not going to recommend something like this to most people because very few people understand and actively use the linux programming language. It is the most difficult language to learn in my opinion.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The compounds, once downloaded from pubchem, a compound database, can be converted to pdb files using the linux terminal. I can then, using an accessory application, view these ligands three dimensionally in "vmd." Linux has commands for me to use to determine which compounds can be used for drug discovery based on their size/molecular weight and chemical composition. This drastically narrows down the list of compounds we have to work with.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
(a general note- the screenshot uploaded is not from the linux system itself, but the steps we use for utilizing the terminal, since a screenshot of the system itself with me logged in is just a screenshot of a general terminal)


showing 1 - 6