Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Sophos XG Firewall Standalone (PAYG)

Sophos | 18

Linux/Unix, Other 18.0 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

1 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 1
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

54 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Facilities Services

High-quality top-of-the-line protection

  • October 25, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I really enjoy how they add a multitude of features without making you pay a "ransom's" worth of licensing costs. If you increase your bandwidth, the XG doesn't require you to pay an additional licensing fee. This is so rare in the industry these days.
What do you dislike?
Only real thing I disliked was the original process of getting this equipment licensed. We already owned a previous smaller XG model, and we had to work with license support to get a temporary license while we waited for our older model's license to expire. Other than that it is excellent.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We were able to get ISP WAN load balancing, reduce bandwidth licensing costs, and add additional DDOS and other security features.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Sophos is a great company and really willing to work with you on discounts. I recommend starting early and negotiating with them to get the best deal upfront. Additionally, I recommend if you buy an XG to dump your other products that this can take the place of. Save yourself some money and use the XG to it's potential!


    Banking

Sophos XG Review

  • October 24, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Sophos Virtual Appliance is best for the company having a Virtualized environment.
What do you dislike?
Sophos XG with the previous version is not segregated as other firewalls. Like DNAT, Signature-based enhanced web filtering is not in the previous version.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
SPAM filtering of our exchange server.


    Syaifuddin D.

Click and Go appliance, easy to manage for common administrator

  • October 24, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Simple and easy to manage, even first time user can understand the menu and option quickly. On the other hand, this firewall got major update release recently which has rich additional features and surprisingly the old configuration can be carried out automatically.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes the configuration are lost when you switch the firmware (it has 2 firmware partition by the way, active and previous) . So make sure you have the backup for both firmware version.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Internet failover. With just several click i can setup failover and restore internet connectivity using 2-4 ISP quickly.


    Security and Investigations

SOPHOS UTM meant for SMB with plug and Play Features... When It's come to SSL traffic inspection

  • October 24, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
SOPHOS use its own technology for Gateway A/V and for IDS.. unlike other OEMs..they use share database.. with each other..
What do you dislike?
Not have Full DLP features like other OEMs..some times Firmware issue alos persist with SOPHOS.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We were looking for solution for Multiple branch secure connectivity..where SOPHOS RED help us.. with quite competitive budget.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
For SMB I will recommend to go with SOPHOS.


    Naitik B.

Excellent Product

  • October 23, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Sohos XG is perfect for security and manging the network. Moreover it GUI is very user friendly also CLI is best .Fast effective and budget best product
What do you dislike?
I dont think any upgradtion required on that . almost evrything is perfect . even more features are already have rather than other
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Mainly controlled on web as well as application, Single sign on , Self VPN Client


    Duay R.

Very good experiences with Sophos XG appliances

  • October 22, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Log view is very helpful when troubleshooting.
What do you dislike?
Installation/activation process sometimes is a bit slow.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Slow internet experience. Very efficient when inspecting traffic.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
From the options available in the market, Sophos XG firewalls are one of the most secure, reliable and easy to manage appliances.


    Medical Practice

I find Sophos XG Firewal standard and sufficient for mid-size businesses

  • October 21, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I find the frequency of updates and ease of use of ease with web filter is quite appealing.
What do you dislike?
i am a fan of firewalls that integrate Application ID filtering such as Palo Alto and Sophos XG Firewal is yet to match up, however it is still a work in progress and will get their soon.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are currently testing this firewall at our smaller offices and realized it is cheaper for the features available to use.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
In terms of best bang for your buck, i do recommend and try out Sophos XG Firewal


    Matthew M.

Great Product have used them for years

  • October 20, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of use, I can cross train my fellow admins easily. The web console is intuitive for even the novice network admin. Easy to update and easy to deploy.
What do you dislike?
Licensing can be a pain when you go through and RMA. That said the RMA process itself was painless.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
An easy to use interface for allowing remote VPN by individuals and protection that has been solid.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Find a good partner if you are an end user and they will get you exactly what you need. For the prices it only makes sense to just get the full protection they offer.


    Food & Beverages

Next level firewalla

  • October 20, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Security profiles and superior logging and real time monitoring
What do you dislike?
There was nothing to dislike it is very practical
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Dmz issue we had to split internal and external traffic using vlans
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Speed and practicality i recommend this firewall


    Darwin F.

It is a very efficient solution in addition

  • October 15, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to use and very effective, it has many reports for evaluation, this allows to quickly implement the security policies, additionally the use of the end point provides a detailed vision of the possible threats that could be in the network.
What do you dislike?
In general, it is a tool that I really like, perhaps its limitations are due to being immersed in the world of SMEs and not focused on large solutions, I would like it to be a solution that could be implemented in larger companies, as a central point of my security policies and not only in small or medium-sized companies
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I was able to change and implement the company's policies very quickly and the maintenance time was much better, the great benefit, the efficiency in the management of the operation, its ease of use allowed me to dedicate my time to other activities, additionally they have support constant to clients based on education and constant evolution of the system, even doing the updates was something very simple, within 15 minutes I already had a new update installed and in production
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Being a focused company, SMEs offers an advantage in relation to price value, in addition to having the reports included and their integration with active directory without the need for additional equipment or software.