Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Docker on Ubuntu 20

Supported Images | 20210404

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 20.04 LTS - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

    Sónia S.

It's light and works well

  • January 24, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It works well even not having a UI, just used the Portainer and could manage it better in that way, and it's easy to install
What do you dislike?
The UI interface could be a good improvement, and it's hard to understand at the beggining, but it's normal
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I had to work with several development environments and the docker allows that in a pratical way


    Apoorv P.

Simple and Straightforward Container Platform for Ubuntu

  • January 24, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Docker can be easily set up on Ubuntu 20.04 via their official guide. Docker Compose is also integrated, making it simple to compose your container images. It also allows uploading the composed image to the Docker Hub cloud repository.
What do you dislike?
The images and artifacts that are compiled are not cleared automatically and begin hogging up storage space on the system soon. It can be manually pruned, but an option to automate it at a specific frequency would be appreciated.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Docker on Ubuntu 20 provides a platform for containers to run which makes it easier to ensure that your applications are portable and can be deployed on various systems that can run docker, without worrying about the underlying components and OS configuration.


    Computer & Network Security

Relatively simple containerization

  • January 20, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The Yaml config files are really flexible and can be scripted to do just about anything.
What do you dislike?
Getting the build process set up to be secure is a painful experience. In the end, you need a good build automation and vulnerability scanning package to go along with it to avoid embarrassing security failures like keys in your log files.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Needed to refactor a monolithic app into microservices. It worked quite well for this and served as both an efficient testbed and easily upgraded and maintained production system.


    Jeffrey K.

Docker with Ubuntu is a great solution for development and testing of new services on your server

  • January 18, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Instead of installing an entire VM and setting it up for testing or development purposes Docker allows you to quickly fire up an instance of the service in a container without all the overhead of the VM.
What do you dislike?
Docker at least initially can be a little confusing and complex if you don't already have some experience with containerization of some sort. Once you get the handle on the basics though it can speed things up drastically.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I use Docker to try out and test various services for my server before deploying them into a production role. Any changes I make are easily reverted and isolated from my production environment so I don't have to worry about breaking one thing as I introduce or fix something else.


    Vijay I.

Amazing software to host various applications

  • October 07, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The best thing about docker is we can create isolated environments and we can run different applications individually without affecting each other. Easy to communicate between various containers and we will have almost any package available in the docker hub. Basically whatever we develop on our system will work everywhere with the help of docker services.
What do you dislike?
Without basic knowledge, we can not work with docker. Docker doesn't have a User interface, unlike windows. It is easier to manage the docker container on GUI than on the command tool. Though docker has released the docker desktop it is difficult to install and not smooth as in windows GUI. So most of the users use docker on the Ubuntu terminal.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
After I completed any development I will host the service on docker to test the application. As I work with machine learning model developments it is easy to test it on docker as they have many dependency issues if we run it locally. It is easy to share with various teams within the organisation for hosting and testing the application. We can even host the service outside the organisation by opening a particular port.


    Information Technology and Services

Easy way to use Docker

  • June 30, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Docker is first tech to use container. There are many other container tech but Docker is first choice. On Ubuntu Docker installation is very easy. Docker with DOcker compose and docker can be used on ubuntu
What do you dislike?
Noting to dislike. Installation is easy. But if youa re new to docker world then it can be confusing with some of the commands. There should be one click option to do installation.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Docker on ubuntu is nothing new. Ubuntu 20 makes installation easy. Earlier ubuntu versions you had to add the docker repo in ubuntu. the add the gpg key. there is no need of all that now.


    Hemant K.

Docker Review

  • April 24, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
one of the best tools in terms of cost and minimal time of deployment and security because of apps running on the containers which are isolated and segregated from each other
What do you dislike?
following are the general things that I dislike the most in docker is their cross-platform issue and another is persistent data storage which is complex in docker
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
microservices are deployed on docker containers in it like debezium and other exporters which we use in monitoring are running on it. visualization of logs in the container is easy
Recommendations to others considering the product:
definitely recommends other as well


    Rajat G.

Save your time and money with Docker

  • April 22, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
With docker on ubuntu 20.04 i could utlize server resources more efficiently than that in VMs
What do you dislike?
Volume and Networking part is tricky to understand.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Well with docker I am solving N number of problems over VMs. It's light weight, ready to go tool that saves both time and money in terms of resource utilization.


    Vivek P.

Ubuntu Docker

  • April 19, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
We use docker daily in our office life, and it is much better in terms of dependencies, The best part of docker on ubuntu 20 is, that we can run the docker images just like that.
What do you dislike?
Could not get any disadvantage or unlike regarding this, for me, everything is working perfectly till now.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We use our own docker or Kubernetes to deploy our micro-services and we always used ubuntu images to workaround, to resolve any issue related to this, we found the solution easily on ubuntu, docker, or Kubernetes community


    Pushpdeep M.

A must have utility for running and developing applications

  • April 18, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
You can run any kind of app without disturbing your system. Everything runs like it's in a sandbox. The apps can even communicate with each other via docker-compose.
Thousands of images in the Docker registry. Sky is the limit to all the things you can try out using Docker.
What do you dislike?
A GUI version for Linux, but I think they have just rolled out Docker Desktop for Ubuntu.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I do not have to install any software that I want to test on my system. Just running dock-run or docker-compose does that job. Can get the latest versions and try out new apps without having to depend upon the core system updates.
My team can develop and test applications faster. From development to deployment the app remains the same.