Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Dremio Enterprise

Dremio | 15

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2.0.20210326.0 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

23 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    eric a.

Dremio is awesome!!!

  • April 08, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is fast, easy to use, has a great community, and very powerful in terms of what it delivers, namely data aggregation, access, and usage for analytics.
What do you dislike?
Dremio can appear to have a steep learning curve, but it isn't so bad.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We're querying massive amounts of data stored in different places. We've realized our previous process was costing us a lot and that we should have adopted Dremio sooner.


    Information Technology and Services

Accelerating Client Resiliency through enabling data driven insights

  • April 02, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Intuitive, effective and transformative. Dremio enables us to provide quicker time to insights for our clients and internal uses. The tool is very user friendly. Their support team is awesome and always super helpful as well. Personal experience through the Dremio Support and Sales teams and open to feedback. The tool supports alot of downstream connections and usage through its API and JDBC/ODBC connection which we use to visualize and present insights to our clients and customers.
What do you dislike?
Limited Data Source Connections is something we constant run into issues with. RBAC would be a great feature as well since single sign on through AAD doesnt keep credentials just gives access to the platform. Also difficult to see the logs without putting in some extra effort to find them. Dremio is still developing and we understand that some of these dislikes are currently being resolved through the course of the products development.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are helping organizations be more resilient through black swan events by driving and guiding their data insights and actions based on data. We have realized quicker time to pull data together and perform analysis to drive decisions. This has saved clients money and time on a regular basis! We are seeing great interest in our clients to solve issues around siloed data, duplicate data, non democrotized reporting data and insights. The need to standardize the approach to data and govern and access in a consistent manner.


    Gurdeep S.

Data Lake Adoption

  • December 04, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Enabling interactive speed queries on Hadoop
What do you dislike?
Can be misused as a mainstream ELT tool.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Making Hadoop as the mainstream data platform for all consumers. This tool has really flattened the Change management curve for the BI community in adopting the Data Lake on Hadoop


    Financial Services

User friendly self servicing Data lake engine

  • November 30, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Dremio help us to transition from legacy to target state data lake architecture. it offers connectivity to both legacy data sources and modernised cloud native data lake on object storage. This allows us to produce insights across our whole data landscape since day 1 and plan out transition from legacy over time.
What do you dislike?
Nothing major but it would be great if Dremio can offer connectors to more legacy data sources
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
we are looking for a modernised data management approach instead of traditional ETL approach.

The user friendly UI allowed our business users to create semantic layers on top of data lake without IT involvements, it also help to drive adoption in business as this approach offer significant time to market advantage, compare to the legacy ETL approach.


    Bert K.

A virtual integration environment to allow data analyzing on a higher and faster level

  • November 30, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to use, SQL based, No data movement, optimizing and integrate queries and/or the use of reflections for a high analyzing performance
What do you dislike?
At this moment no actual issues, maybe a missing data dictionary
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
No data movement, self service analytics


    Hugh B.

Great product and excellent support

  • November 27, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
-Convenient web interface for running SQL queries on our data
-Supports a broad range of data source
-Processing for queries is extremely fast when accelerated (rarely over 1 second)
-Python API is fairly easy to use
-Prompt and knowledgeable support team that are always willing to walk us through problems over video call
What do you dislike?
It's hard to say, because most/all of the problems that we've had with Dremio are likely because we're several versions behind due to compatibility problems with some of our legacy infrastructure. eg. missing features that exist in newer versions, or instability problems with reflections that are probably remedied in newer versions. That's on us, though.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I'm not sure how specific I'm allowed to be so I'm going to be vague here, but we use Dremio as a data platform for an internal analytics tool. It's a convenient way to access a central data source from multiple deployed versions of the tool (for development or demo purposes), so it's been very beneficial for development purposes over our more rudimentary old model.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
For queries over the Python API that return a significant amount of data, make sure you're using ODBC or pyarrow flight rather than the more basic REST API, as it's likely to be a lot faster.


    Insurance

Dremio is helping us democratize data and deliver analytical solutions far quicker than normal.

  • November 26, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The product is great but for me its the people. Committed to our success, easy to work with, friendly and professional. From the beginning, we had positive interactions with Dremio and that didn't change after we became a customer. Dremio is a great partner for our company.
What do you dislike?
Its still a relatively new platform so limited community information available.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have already proved that we can turn around Data Analytics in a far shorter time with superior performance compared to our legacy technology stack. We would spend hours moving data around via ETL and then some time spent processing cubes or slow queries. Dremio has smoltified this process a lot. As a company we like using SQL and Dremio provides a SQ L access to our data planform which is a hug plus.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Run a proof of concept, get comfort with it yourself. You will not be disappointed.


    Daniel E.

With Dremio and Power BI combined, a data-driven culture can be established, on all data. (Gemany)

  • November 26, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Dremio managed to provide a wide range of existing analysis tools with universal, fast and direct access to the data in a data lake. The time required to provide data and the IT footprint is reduced to a minimum. Intelligent options for caching query results and entire aggregates in memory for specific analysis scenarios makes working with these two tools a pleasure.
What do you dislike?
Currently there is no managed service on the Microsoft Azure platform, which makes deployment difficult. However, Dremio is working hard on this issue.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The goal with an analysis tool such as Power BI is to discover new insights and to visually present these insights so that other employees can understand them and make better decisions.

Nobody wants to deal with the acquisition or transformation of data. If you have a large amount of data, it is not practical to load this data into Power BI. Dremio enables us to perform analyses directly on the data in the Date Lake without the need for copying.

This turns a Data Lake into a database that can be queried by SQL.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Have a look at Dremio University.


    Renan P.

Innovative and fast growing solution

  • November 26, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Dremio is a powerful solution to connect your applications and BI tools to your data lake. They are very innovative and fast-paced to deliver new features and enhancements. The professional support team is very helpful and tries to understand the customer needs to deliver the best value. The variety of connectors available for the different data sources is really amazing as well the possibility to easily create custom connectors. The fact that the company contributes back to the community developing or open-sourcing tools is really nice.
What do you dislike?
I believe Dremio's weakness is related to CI/CD because there is a couple of libraries, articles and even an open-sourced tool (which is great) to achieve it but it's still very hard and complex to have full automation. As I mentioned before, Dremio is very innovative and fast-paced, so, I believe they will address soon. One missing feature is the native support for Databricks Delta format but as far as I know it's on the roadmap and there is a workaround to be able to work with Delta. Another missing feature is the multi-master solution, it would be very helpful mainly when doing maintenances on the coordinator. Last but not least, it would be good to have the capability to use groups even when not integrated with an AD, LDAP, etc.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I'm delivering data from our data lake on top of Azure Data Lake Gen2 for both microservices through Rest API and BI tools such as Power BI. We are also using Dremio to accelerate and empower our teams to understand and take insights from data to meet business needs.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Dremio is a very powerful and fast-growing tool and the support team is very helpful.


    Matthew B.

An effective tool, with great enterprise support.

  • November 25, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
* Integrates nicely with AWS. supports s3 buckets and aws hosted databases as data sources, as well as being able to use aws glue as a metastore.
* It's fast. Dremio is able to perform complex operations at scale very quickly. Many of our workloads that took tens of hours on our previous data analytics solution, now finish in under a minuet.
* Able to use a wide variety of data sources together. We able to seamlessly combine data from PostgreSQL and parquet files stored on S3 in a single query.
* Easy to connect to from external tools. Using their JDBC, a variety ODBC connectors and REST API we've been able to easily connect to, and use Dremio with a number of external tools on hosted linux or local windows. Jupyter, datagrip, excel, tableau.
* Great support and PS team. Having worked with the support team on issues ranging from inconsequential to major blockers, they have always been very responsive and fast acting.
What do you dislike?
* Isn't currently transactional for data in an object store (s3). At least for an s3 data source you can't define a table then insert data into it. Any data written must be done via a Create table as Select style statement.
* Error clarity. initial errors displayed to users can be quite opaque requiring one to click through to a deeper menu to find the root cause.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
One tool that can query and combine all our data fast despite being stored in different locations with different formats.