Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Snowflake Data Cloud

Snowflake | 1

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

374 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Kurt H.

Snowflake is recommended, but it doesn't come cheap.

  • April 12, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of administration and robust uptime.
What do you dislike?
Cost is quite high compared to competitors.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Data availability and ease of ingress.


    Sharath G.

Snowflake Review

  • March 25, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
* Storage capacity can run on almost all cloud software
*Scalable everything is in cloud so can add up resources easily
* Performance tuning option
* Security features
* Very good analytical and machine learning option
What do you dislike?
Snowflake is not supporting unstructured data right now

Bulk load is bit problem

No usage limit company may see some surprise in pricing if they use nore resources
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We have data warehouse which migrated from hadoop to snowflake.very scalable appliance with awesome performance. Very easy to use and not much of admistration work


    Hospital & Health Care

Strategic Finance Manager

  • March 23, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy usage for non-data savvy users and readers
What do you dislike?
The setup is not as straightforward as the usage
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Using SQL to analyze financial and customer data


    Rahul B.

Best Data Warehouse Tool

  • March 21, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Snowflake is the best data warehousing tool in the market it gets all the features as one connects to any cloud Environment like AWS, Azure or GCP to store its data plus the virtual warehouse is pretty fast and its internal micro partitioning feature is also pretty handy.
What do you dislike?
As it is pretty new to the market there are very few documentation or training to learn this tool also they can add new cloud environment like oracle cloud to the snowflake.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We do all the ETL stuff with snowflake and now using snowflake we can easily migrate our existing project to any cloud environment. it is very cot effective supports all the major clouds one connects to multiple languages using different connectors are all of the benefits of a snowflake.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
just go for it


    Muskan C.

The Best Product in Cloud Warehouse market

  • March 14, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Everything about it is amazing. It is super fast, computes queries so fast. Can get you more than 6 million rows in less than 5 seconds.
It has the feature of time traveling which lets you go back to a previous stage of your data and it is very helpful.
Since it has the storage and compute separated, it lets you query in a very fast way and maintains different warehouses.
Is very cost-effective as well.
It handles so many things together, handles the security of the data also in the best way.
One should just go for the migration to Cloud and should choose Snowflake
What do you dislike?
I haven't come across anything till now which I dislike about the product. Although it does not seem to handle unstructured data as of now but seems like it will be included in the future. If that will also be covered, other than semi-structured and structured, it'll be simply awesome!
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We migrated the data from DB2 to Snowflake as we wanted easier deployments, better security and wanted to move to the cloud for higher performance and cost-effectiveness as well. Snowflake fulfilled everything we were aiming for.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Just go for it. If you do decide to move to Cloud, Snowflake is simply amazing!


    Investment Banking

Snowflake the next gen cloud solution

  • February 17, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of access, one-stop shop for data sharing problems in a financial sector
What do you dislike?
Perhaps, cost of owning a space is to be thought about
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Socializing the data across enterprise without having multiple infrastructure and manpower within the same organization thereby optimizing the cost of ownership of data being acquired


    David W.

High-powered, feature rich, cloud data warehouse enabling all kinds of new possibilities

  • February 12, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like the power and capability of Snowflake, as well as its aesthetic user interface. It's not only a database - with SQL and all you'd expect there - but it also provides tremendous functionality for sharing and controlling access. We've made row-access policies, for instance, to even let clients into their data and only their data. I like the concept of roles which allow us to easily specific access levels to specific pieces of data, I like how we can visualise items from a query within the console, and many, many other things. In short, working in Snowflake is quite pleasant and enjoyable with a great user interface.
What do you dislike?
I wish the worksheet editor allowed us to search and replace - it seems a little basic this is missing.

I also wish the product would make warehouse recommendations - for clarity, Snowflake pricing is based on the warehouse you use for your work, with a warehouse essentially being CPU, RAM, etc. So, an extra small warehouse is the lowest amount of compute power and, correspondingly, the lowest price. Yet, it's possible for some newcomers to inadvertently run their work in (say) a large warehouse when this costs more money. Or, conversely, maybe we're too worried about cost and we're causing a complex query to take excessive time to run. It'd be nice if Snowflake itself gave some advice around queries - e.g. you run it, and it says "hey, if you did this on a small warehouse it would have taken only 0.2ms longer but would have been cheaper" or "this query took 25s to run. If you used an XL warehouse it would have completed in under 2s" or something like that.

It'd also be nice if Snowflake SQL supported string concatenation with the + symbol like T-SQL.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We're using Snowflake as a cloud-based data warehouse to aggregate data across all our many diverse databases and products. We have applications using AWS and Azure, with databases in SQL Server, MySQL, and others, and with some apps using multi-tenanted databases and others using one database-per customer. We have thousands of databases across products and clouds and DBMS engines - so ingesting all our relevant data (for reporting purposes) into Snowflake allows us to make awesome reports in one place, for all customers, across all products.


    Todd G.

Snowflake or Nothing

  • January 26, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It could churn through data so fast, which is nice in a data warehouse tool. I wasn't the only one either in our company there were probably 20 analysts or more doing simlar things to what I was doing and it rarely missed a beat.
What do you dislike?
The thing that I didn't like about it was the fact that the only interface that we had to interact with it with was online. There were other ways but they were build directly from snowflake.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Being able to pull a ton of data, and check results so that we can publish the data to our BI Tool. This is used for reporting purposes to see how the company was doing.


    Financial Services

Data Analyst

  • January 19, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I enjoy how easy it is to search up different tabs that I'm working on. Another feature I find helpful is Snowflake highlighting the specific syntax or part of the query causing the query to run unsuccessfully.
What do you dislike?
Snowflake's documentation on its syntax and the examples provided can be confusing and hard to follow. I want Snowflake to provide more detailed and broken-down SQL queries with the matching results for more complicated functions.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Using Snowflake, I've run a distribution analysis and set target goals for an incentive program rolling out for the company's Customer Service representatives.


    Dr Bradley I.

Snowflake comes to New Zealand-a while back

  • January 18, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It turns lots of source data into SSoT and feeds many data consumption tools, and potentially shares data with many other New Zealand Government organizations in a copy-less clone.
What do you dislike?
I am looking forward to unstructured data capability as it is restricted to structured and semi-structured data.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
SF is SaaS, so we spend more time on data loading than managing the tech. True SSoT allows many users to access the same SSoT data to form MVoT info.