Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Couchbase Server

Couchbase, Inc. | 7.0.4

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux Amazon Linux 2 2.0.20200904.0 Update - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

100 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Pierre R.

Blasing fast performance but difficult to operate at scale

  • June 14, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
- KV Lookups Performance
- Support for nested document JSON operations
- Comprehensive Web console with useful metrics
What do you dislike?
- Frequent breaking changes on the SDK
- Server upgrades often lead to downtime as the client needs to reconnect
- .NET is poorly served in general, the documentation should be improved
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
- Fast lookups for risk rules to be evaluated as part of a payment processing workflow
- Indexing of risk rules
- Velocity computation for risk features


    AMIT P.

Easy to use and well documented, issues when dealing with larger data

  • June 10, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's pretty fast, indexing and all can be done with just one line and it makes the queries execute 100 times faster. And the best thing I find is the documentation, many times I come across a new usecase and am unable to implement then I look for that in the documentation and find all the answers to all the usecase I had.

Doesn't perform well when data increases, lot of times I get ambiguous timeout exceptions.

Couchbase UI is also very easy to use.
What do you dislike?
Please make it efficient when dealing with large data. By large I mean at least with 50k records it should perform well.

Not dislike but one improvement I would suggest is -
Give a builtin mechanism to handle concurrent updates to a document in db.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I am working on a usecase where millions of records will be saved in db and they need to be fetched many times and filter them based on some inner field or a value inside an array. Couchbase gives solution to this in the form of "unnest".
And with proper indexing queries works pretty fast too.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Use it only if you have write - write requirements. Otherwise for fetching data at scale its not that efficient.


    Maritime

Couchbase

  • February 24, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Peer to peer sync between clients. Channels feature for filtered sync
What do you dislike?
Having seperate sync gateway for deployment.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Offline data application over vessels when in ocean.


    Telecommunications

High performance, high reliability

  • February 22, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's super performant and very reliable. There is a DCP (database change protocol) which can be used to react to mutations. This is very useful for any streaming use cases including integrations
What do you dislike?
No materialised views. No out of the box odbc or jdbc connectors. You have to buy these from 3rd party vendors at high prices.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We use it for a wide range of operational systems which serve front end and back end applications. There is no tolerance for lost data and we read and write at massive scale. We persist everything to disk and maintain around 90% of keys in memory for fast access.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Look at the analytics and eventing modules. They are very powerful


    Retail

Couchbase is a perfect fit for our requirements

  • February 22, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The modular architecture of couchbase, mobile sync, query capabilities of JSON documents and performance of couchbase database.
What do you dislike?
not much. Finding people with good couchbase experience is an issue.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
we use couchbase as our transactional database for a complex system. All of our APIs run on top of couchbase DB.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If your use case is for a fast document based database which needs to be queried, this is a database for you. It also has mobile sync capability.


    Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

The NoSQL technology you need and the team that can help your business

  • February 22, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Couchbase provides the capabilities and storage our business was looking for with some of our large projects, which are being used today. The team itself is a great partner who is always willing to help and make sure our environments are stable and secured but make sure we are content.
What do you dislike?
At this time, it is a bit of a learning curve if you come from RDMS environment.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Problems we are trying to solve are related to visibility solutions for several of our customer applications and having a good storage environment.


    Dzmitry N.

It's a good DB engine with high performance.

  • January 27, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
* read and write data performance;
* data JSON format;
* easy N1QL query language;
* replication provides great data resiliency;
* user-friendly interface.
What do you dislike?
* Couchbase is self-hosted, and as such, it required internal DevOps resources to maintain;
* Couchbase can not be used without proper knowledge and practice, so new users have to learn first;
* Couchbase has less community support.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
* performance of the pages loads;
* variant of the data cache.


    Ashish M.

Decent Database for JSON data

  • January 11, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is very simple and has no complex configuration. It stores data in different buckets, similar to tables in RDBMS. It provides bucket to bucket sync or cluster level to diff cluster level sync using XDCR, which helps in syncing or moving data. As it saves data in JSON format, it's really easy to structure data in couchbase. It works on the N1ql query and provides suggestions for index too.
What do you dislike?
I dislike, its response time, we faced lots of issues in reducing the query time, even though we have created all the necessary indexes, still, the response time was high. Another thing where we faced an issue was in eventing functionality, as the proper log is not displayed on UI, it's difficult to understand for which document the eventing worked or not.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We have built a consumer app, where users create documents, which we save in couchbase DB, and further, read it back when requires. It helped us in creating the app quickly, as it is very easy to start working on couchbase. They also provide a cloud version of couchbase, which is easy to configure.


    Banking

Pretty fast and easy to learn

  • November 16, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Service layer separation, easy to start, simple administration.
What do you dislike?
Support engagement and their knowledge needs some improvements
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Multiple layer of process in developing using traditional RDBMs.


    Investment Banking

Fast No Sql DB

  • September 21, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Good search - Full-Text search
Fast
Ease of use
What do you dislike?
Documentation is usually never enough, but more will help
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Line of business applications that need a non-sql db