Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

CartoDB Open Source Version

Decision Labs | geodb-postgresql-11-postgis-2.5

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux amzn2-ami-ecs-hvm-2.0.20210121-x86_64-ebs - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

71 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Isabel F.

An excellent tool for both beginners and experts in Spatial Data Science

  • April 21, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Huge variety of tools, from friendly UI (builder), to python library (cartoframes), and also a pool of SDKs and APIs. I also value the extensive documentation and the quick response from CARTO support team.
What do you dislike?
Regarding the tool itself, I have nothing to point out, so far. The training sessions we had with the CARTO team were also very useful, although I would have started with the builder training first, and only afterwards the cartoframes and APIs sessions.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Spatially visualize the predictions of the machine learning models that in my team we are developing in our Data Science tool, as well as the most important features in those models.


    Carlos V.

Great spatial repository and Back end support

  • March 04, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Fast escalable spatial repo with great integration options. Their API works seamlessly
What do you dislike?
No downside, we have had a great experience
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Hosting thousands of spatial files for satellite and wireless footprints. Automated updating of files.


    Financial Services

Comprehensive, lightweight, and fast geospatial solution

  • March 03, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like that CARTO Builder is a comprehensive and easy to use interface to do quick high-level exploration of the data.
And that CARTO API and CartoJS then further supports complex use of the data for analytics.
What do you dislike?
CARTO on-premise at the moment is still not on containers. So setting up high-availability and recovery is not as straight-forward.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use CARTO to crunch and visualize our data related to real estate investments. We have leverage CARTO's APIs to build our own customized visualization to best support our internal investment team's research.


    Luis Manuel F.

La mejor forma de visualizar datos Geograficos con el poder de GCP

  • March 02, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Hasta el momento lo mejor que hemos visto en el uso de Carto es su capacidad de procesar grandes volumentes de datos en pocos segundos y todas las funcionalidades adiconales para poder hacer analitica.
What do you dislike?
Hasta el momento nada, creo que siempre cumple nuestras expectativas
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Temas de geomarketing, isocronas, rutas, balanceo de zonas, entre otros.


    Ellen P.

Great bespoke service capability

  • March 02, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
We had a custom mapping design developed and the CARTO team made this easier than I expected, with the end result produced in time and with continual communication between our management and the CARTO team. We were not able to implement everything we we wanted in the end, but through good communication and a clear plan the CARTO team were able to effectively deliver the vast majority of our requested depictions, and made changes we needed as development took place. Definitely the best bespoke IT development experience we have had thus far and with the large amount of data we use on a regular basis it is essential to have mapping that work with our data set in the way we want it go. The whole team doing the work for our bespoke requests are all very professional and we really have enjoyed watching our data become more effectively usable! Lucienne and Dani are both great and a pleasure to work with :)
What do you dislike?
The billing department is not easy to deal with. There are discrepancies in how the billing is conducted and a disconnect between billing and those doing the marketing and negotiations. We have had issues trying to chase up feedback and issues with billing. The marketing team has been great about providing pricing considerations, which we really do appreciate, but when it's time for regular payments or there is discussion, the feedback loop from whomever the final decision maker is can be long and at times not logical. The marketing team needs to have more leeway to make decisions and work with the clients they get to know.
The directions for how to imbed, make and alter maps could be easier for users. Our analysts have to get a mini crash course in programming each time there is a change.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We needed good bespoke visualization for a significant amount of data and CARTO had suggestions to further enhance what we wanted to say in the data, in addition to just the basics of what we asked for. The method of depiction and integrating our information directly into the platform once the dashboard is completed will be a very valuable tool for our personnel to use the data and then present it in a visually effective way.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Make sure to have someone with a relatively sophisticated level of technical ability, and programming experience is a big bonus. The mapping is not a simple thing to implement, but if you can get it to work it looks good. That said, if you go for a bespoke product the CARTO team can assist and make it work for you as you want.


    Brandon M.

Drawing custom maps in your browser? Yes please.

  • March 02, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It was really important for our company to be able to manipulate geospatial data in an easy to use way. Carto Builder was exactly what we needed to be able to make small changes to our geometries, on the fly, from just about anywhere.
What do you dislike?
We tried downloading information from a Carto table that included geometry data to add some columns to the data set. This wasn't something easily done in the Carto browser, so needing to export the data and do it on our end was necessary. For whatever reason, when trying to upload the newly manipulated data set, half the geometries would be corrupted and invalid. We ended up needing to figure out the right combination of SQL queries to add the missing columns from another set to the desired one and rename the table we were working with.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are using Carto to visualize police jurisdictional boundaries on our end and ensure that we have them correctly drawn. We care very much about respecting the jurisdictions of the police departments we aim to help. Being able to see and manipulate these boundaries in an easy way is huge for us as no one on our team is exactly a GIS expert.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you need a way to easily visualize and manipulate geospatial data without industry expert knowledge of GIS systems and software, Carto would be an excellent option to explore. With some SQL query knowledge, the platform should be able to do everything to fit your needs.


    Leonardo D.

Great tool!

  • March 02, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The extra data available and all the insights we can get visually in a simple way. I also love that you can use it as a python library, which really increases the flexibility. It is a real pleasure to use, I did not have a single episode where the application was stalled or not correct, which in my personal opinion is one of the most important aspects.
What do you dislike?
I like almost everything, sometimes it could be a bit faster. I would like to see more on the data quality side, maybe some additional features that can check if the data is consistent and if not I would really appreciate some feedback. For example, it could say inconsistent columns If it detects some inconsistency in the data of a particular column.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Spatial insights are not that easy to gather, especially using traditional dashboarding tools like MicroStrategy. Also gathering data is not the easiest thing, even if you are willing to buy it from vendors. Carto has been a great tool for that and I am sure most of my organization agrees with me. It also looks good, which is. great plus when you want to present information to more senior stakeholders and C-level management. Other tools, including MS, are not as good looking, and even if seems a shallow requirement it does play an important part in the decision of the tool to be used.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would suggest try it out with a. simple map and some of the dataset they make available.


    Telecommunications

It works

  • November 25, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Quick and easy to use and integrate with services
What do you dislike?
Not so flexible packs, based on storage.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Maps visualizations for customers
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Give it a try


    Chad M.

Carto is a very powerful platform that can scale to virtually any data size.

  • November 19, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The flexibility of the APIs. We are able to make our map products as custom as we need them for our users. Our datasets vary in size and shape and being able to customize the way our users interact with our data makes more things possible. The people at Carto are great to work with and they are always there to help us with a problem or give us insight into making our tools better.
What do you dislike?
The frequency of change, especially with what is considered to be trendy and new. We are always excited about what is considered cutting edge and we have learned to explore new Carto tools or products with a slowed down adoption to ensure they will work the way we expect.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are displaying large datasets in maps that perform better than anything else. We are tailoring our tools to fit our users needs in a way that is repeatable and simple. We are creating visualizations that would be difficult on other platforms. We have realized the benefit that that backend allows us to do, and we use that to make our maps and data perform as best as possible.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Get a trial and start with Builder to see how much faster Carto is compared to other platforms. Look at the API tutorials for your use cases and try out the javascript libraries to suit your needs. You will most likely find an example that is 80% of your objective.


    Civil Engineering

Is very easy and perfect complement for data lake

  • November 17, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
A one-stop shop for simpler and faster spatial analytics for every sector
What do you dislike?
Price for complete plataform between other options
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The geospatial problema around to world because is very easy for imáges for the costumer