AWS Storage Gateway
AWS 云
免费试用 AWS Storage Gateway

只要 IT 小组还在运行重要的应用程序,他们就需要对关键应用程序数据进行备份。遗憾的是,许多组织仍然受阻于几十年前的物理备份技术,结果浪费了宝贵的运维时间和资金,并丧失了灵活性。借助 AWS Storage Gateway,IT 组织能够以无缝的方式将备份作业从磁带或虚拟磁带库传输到云,同时使用可信的备份工具和流程。


手动磁带管理流程
手动磁带管理流程
手动磁带管理流程
  • 手动磁带管理流程
  • 数据持久性和有效性问题
  • 昂贵的 CapEx 硬件刷新
  • 低价值服务合同
  • 缓慢的磁带检索
  • 无法访问离线数据
ha_2up_f90_projects_hybrid_cloud_backup

 

数以千计的客户都面临着上述挑战,并且都思考了自己在切换到支持云的备份方法时期望实现的目的。以下是他们选择使用 AWS Storage Gateway 作为从现有磁带备份切换到云备份的过渡的常见原因:

  • 无中断地迁移到新备份方法,且工作量较少
  • 可使用可信备份软件
  • 提供 OpEx 购买模式,可消除成本上涨
  • 减少数据中心基础设施消耗
  • 精简备份流程并减少手动工作
  • 数据持久性:使用旨在实现 99.999999999% 持久性的 Amazon S3 和 Amazon Glacier 云存储
  • 提供可长期保留的低成本数据存档,且检索时间可预测

“磁带总是让人头疼,硬件故障、异地存储成本和日常维护需求层出不穷。AWS Storage Gateway 提供了一种最具经济效益的简单替代方案。我们甚至通过使用美国东西海岸的数据中心获得了灾难恢复能力。”

– Jesse Martinich,南俄勒冈大学基础设施服务经理

阅读完整的案例研究>>

Simple Tape Gateway Overview Pic

您可以将 AWS Storage Gateway 服务配置为虚拟磁带库 (VTL),使其从您的生产应用程序所在的本地环境跨越到 AWS 云高度可扩展、冗余且持久的存储服务 Amazon S3 和 Amazon Glacier。

磁带网关以行业标准的基于 iSCSI 的 VTL (由虚拟介质更换器和虚拟磁带驱动器组成) 形式,将 Storage Gateway 呈现给您的现有备份应用程序。您可以继续使用现有的备份应用程序和工作流,同时将数据写入存储在可大规模扩展的 Amazon S3 上的磁带集合。当您不再需要即时或经常访问虚拟磁带中包含的数据时,可以让备份应用程序将其从虚拟磁带库存档到 Amazon Glacier 中,从而进一步削减存储成本。

Storage Gateway 目前可与各种领先的备份应用程序兼容。有了 VTL 接口,就不会再有巨大的磁带自动化前期投资、多年维护合约和持续介质成本。您只需为写入磁带的数据量付费,并可根据需求的增长进行扩展。您无需再将存储介质运往场外设施并手动处理磁带介质,而且您的存档也可从 AWS 云平台的设计和持久性中获益。


将磁带备份替换为 AWS Storage Gateway
26:34
Tech Talk: Replacing Tape Backups with AWS Storage Gateway

想获取使用计划吗?查看 AWS 项目,了解在不中断可信备份流程的情况下开始使用适用于 AWS 的磁带网关来替换磁带的步骤。

借助 AWS Storage Gateway,您可以在连接到 Amazon S3 和 Amazon Glacier 的本地存储网关上轻松指向可信的备份软件,以提供云的规模和持久性,从而在不中断现有投资或流程的情况下实现安全的长期保留。很多客户在 VTL 配置中将 AWS Storage Gateway 与市面上的主要备份软件工具配合使用。

  支持的备份应用程序
资源  
  Arcserve Backup 用于测试 Arcserve 的 AWS 文档  
  Commvault 用于测试 Commvault 的 AWS 文档  
  Dell Netvault Backup 用于测试 Netvault 的 AWS 文档  
  EMC Networker 用于测试 Networker 的 AWS 文档  
  HPE Data Protector
用于测试 Data Protector 的 AWS 文档
 
  Microsoft System Center Data Protection Manager 用于测试 MS DPM 的 AWS 文档
 
    Veeam Backup & Replication

有关 Veeam 的 AWS 演示视频 (网络研讨会)

Veeam 部署指南

用于测试 Veeam 的 AWS 文档

   
  Veritas Backup Exec

概述视频演示

概述博客

用于测试 Backup Exec 的 AWS 文档

 
  Veritas NetBackup 用于测试 NetBackup 的 AWS 文档  

有关支持的备份产品版本和介质更换器类型的完整列表,请参阅用户指南

要使用备份产品测试 VTL 网关设置,请参考此文档

  1. AWS 管理控制台下载 AWS Storage Gateway 虚拟机 (VM),然后将其部署到备份服务器所在的位置、VMware ESXi 和 Microsoft Hyper-V 上,甚至 Amazon EC2 中。
  2. 安装该磁带网关并为其预置本地存储 (DAS、NAS 或 SAN)。该存储将作为耐久的“上传缓冲区”来存储要上传到 AWS 的数据,并作为缓存来存储近期读取的虚拟磁带数据。该缓存存储空间可用来保留最新的备份,以便快速进行本地恢复。
  3. 使用 AWS 管理控制台将本地网关配置为 VTL,将其 IP 地址与您的 AWS 账户相关联,然后为您的网关选择一个 AWS 地区来存储已上传的数据。
  4. 将 AWS Storage Gateway 虚拟磁带驱动器和虚拟介质更换器安装到现有备份服务器上,并让备份软件能够发现虚拟磁带库和虚拟磁带。
  5. 将您的备份作业切换到网关,数据将首先在本地写入该网关,然后进行缓存和缓冲,以上传到驻留在 S3 中的 VTL。与磁带自动化系统类似,虚拟磁带也可以存档在将其从在线 VTL 中删除的 Amazon Glacier 中,以降低保留成本。
  6. 通过 AWS 管理控制台在 Amazon Glacier 的存档中检索磁带,并通过备份软件管理恢复流程。
  7. 您可以在其他站点或 EC2 中部署更多网关,以便备份这些位置的数据,并远程恢复您的其他站点。

此处了解更多入门信息。

Gateway-VTL-Architecture2-diagram

示例架构视图 – 单击可展开

Gateway-VTL-Architecture2-diagram

Storage Gateway 非常容易上手。只需单击几次鼠标,即可注册一个账户并部署您的首个 Storage Gateway。

免费试用 AWS Storage Gateway
联系销售人员

AWS Storage Gateway
AWS Cloud
Try AWS Storage Gateway for Free

For as long as IT groups have run important applications, they’ve needed backups of their key application data. Unfortunately, many organizations are still hindered by physical backup technologies that are decades old, and waste valuable operational time, capital, and flexibility. AWS Storage Gateway offers IT organizations a seamless way to transfer backup jobs from tape or Virtual Tape Library systems to the cloud – while keeping trusted backup tools and processes in place.


Manual tape management processes
Manual Tape Management Processes
Manual Tape Management Processes
  • Manual tape management procesess
  • Concerns about data durability & validity
  • Expensive CapEx hardware refreshes
  • Low-value service contracts
  • Slow tape retrieval
  • Inability to access offline data
ha_2up_f90_projects_hybrid_cloud_backup

 

Thousands of customers have faced the challenges described above and considered what they want as they move to a cloud-enabled backup approach. Here are common reasons they choose to use the AWS Storage Gateway as their bridge from existing tape backups to cloud backup.

  • Non-disruptive, low-effort migration to new backup approach
  • Keep trusted backup software in place
  • OpEx purchasing model to eliminate cost spikes
  • Reduced datacenter infrastructure footprint
  • Streamlined backup processes, and reduced manual effort
  • Data durability: Use of Amazon S3 and Amazon Glacier cloud storage that are designed for 99.999999999% of durability
  • Low-cost data archiving for long-term retention, with predictable retrieval times

"Tapes are a headache, prone to hardware failures, offsite storage costs, and constant maintenance needs. AWS Storage Gateway provided the most cost-effective and simple alternative. We even got disaster recovery by using a bi-coastal data center."

-- Jesse Martinich, Infrastructure Services Manager, Southern Oregon University

Read the full case study>>

Simple Tape Gateway Overview Pic

The AWS Storage Gateway service can be configured to act as a Virtual Tape Library (VTL) that spans from your on-premises environment, where your production applications are, to the AWS cloud's highly scalable, redundant and durable storage services, Amazon S3 and Amazon Glacier.

The tape gateway presents the Storage Gateway to your existing backup application as an industry-standard iSCSI-based VTL, consisting of a virtual media changer and virtual tape drives. You can continue to use your existing backup applications and workflows while writing to a collection of virtual tapes stored on massively scalable Amazon S3. When you no longer require immediate or frequent access to data contained on a virtual tape, you can have your backup application archive it from the virtual tape library into Amazon Glacier, further reducing storage costs.

Storage Gateway is currently compatible with a variety of leading backup applications. The VTL interface eliminates large upfront tape automation capital expenses, multi-year maintenance contract commitments and ongoing media costs. You pay only for the amount of data you write to tape, and scale as your needs grow. The need to transport storage media to offsite facilities and handle tape media manually goes away, and your archives benefit from the design and durability of the AWS cloud platform.


Replacing Tape Backups with AWS Storage Gateway
26:34
Tech Talk: Replacing Tape Backups with AWS Storage Gateway

Want a plan? Check out AWS Project to see the steps to start using the Tape Gateway for AWS to replace tape without disrupting trusted backup processes.

AWS Storage Gateway lets you easily point trusted backup software at an on-premises storage gateway that, in turn, connects to Amazon S3 and Amazon Glacier to deliver the scale and durability of the cloud for safe long-term retention, without disrupting existing investments or processes. Many customers have used the AWS Storage Gateway in a VTL configuration with major backup software tools available on the market.

  Supported Backup Application
Resources  
  Arcserve Backup AWS documentation to test Arcserve  
  Commvault AWS documentation to test Commvault  
  Dell Netvault Backup AWS documentation to test Netvault  
  EMC Networker AWS documentation to test Networker  
  HPE Data Protector
AWS documentation to test Data Protector
 
  Microsoft System Center Data Protection Manager AWS documentation to test MS DPM
 
    Veeam Backup & Replication

AWS demo video with Veeam (webinar)

Veeam Deployment Guide

AWS documentation to test Veeam

   
  Veritas Backup Exec

Overview video with demo

Overview blog

AWS documentation to test Backup Exec

 
  Veritas NetBackup AWS documentation to test NetBackup  

For a full list of supported backup products versions and media changer types, please see the User Guide.

To test your VTL gateway setup with a backup product, please refer to this Documentation.

  1. Download the AWS Storage Gateway virtual machine (VM) from the AWS Management Console, and deploy it where your backup server is located, on VMware ESXi, Microsoft Hyper-V, or even in Amazon EC2.
  2. Install the gateway and provision storage (DAS, NAS or SAN) locally for the tape gateway. This storage will act as a durable “Upload Buffer" for data being uploaded to AWS, and as a cache for recently read virtual tape data. This Cache Storage space can be used to retain the latest backup for quick local recoveries.
  3. Configure the local gateway as a VTL using the AWS Management Console, associate its IP Address with your AWS Account and select an AWS Region for your gateway to store uploaded data.
  4. Mount the AWS Storage Gateway virtual tape drives and virtual media changer to your existing backup server and allow your backup software to discover the Virtual Tape Library and virtual tapes.
  5. Switch your backup jobs to the gateway, and data will be first written locally to the gateway, cached and buffered for upload into the VTL, which resides in S3. Much like tape automation systems, virtual tapes can be archived to Amazon Glacier for lower-cost retention which removes them from the online VTL.
  6. Retrieve tapes from archive in Amazon Glacier via the AWS Management Console and manage your recovery process via your backup software.
  7. You can deploy additional gateways at other sites, or in EC2 as well, both to back up data from those locations, and also for remote recoveries of your other sites.

Learn more about getting started here.

Gateway-VTL-Architecture2-diagram

Sample Architectural View - Click to Expand

Gateway-VTL-Architecture2-diagram

It's easy to get started with Storage Gateway. Sign up for an account and deploy your first Storage Gateway in a few clicks.

Try AWS Storage Gateway for Free
Contact Sales