Posted On: Dec 19, 2022

AWS Local Zones are now available in two new metro areas—Bangkok and Kolkata. You can now use these Local Zones to deliver applications that require single-digit millisecond latency or local data processing.

At the beginning of this year, AWS announced plans to launch AWS Local Zones in over 30 metro areas across 27 countries outside of the US. AWS Local Zones are also generally available in 8 metro areas outside of the US (Buenos Aires, Copenhagen, Delhi, Helsinki, Hamburg, Muscat, Taipei, and Warsaw) and 16 metro areas in the US (Atlanta, Boston, Chicago, Dallas, Denver, Houston, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Los Angeles, Miami, Minneapolis, New York City, Philadelphia, Phoenix, Portland, and Seattle).

You can enable AWS Local Zones from the Zones tab in Settings of the Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2) console, or ModifyAvailabilityZoneGroup API. To learn more visit AWS Local Zones or read our guide on the Getting Started Resource Center.