Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Device42 - Hybrid IT Discovery for AWS Cloud Migration

Device42 | 16.15.00

Linux/Unix, CentOS CentOS Linux 7 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

30 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Insurance

Great tool to consolidate all of your Infrastructure information

  • March 30, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
- Quick identification of assets and their locations
- Great virtual view of a physical Data Centers/IDF closets
- Easy discovery of assets and infrastructure data with multiple methods of discovery
- Auto creation of the device mapping and communication paths
- Easy to navigate the user interface
- Exportable and API data feeds to integrate with other ITSM tools
- Great support staff
What do you dislike?
- Unable to get an exportable report of sub components that have changed linked to the device they are assigned to. CPU, memory changes as an example. Data is visible within the application but not in an exportable report.
- Locked down source code makes it difficult to see exactly what commands some discoveries are running when troubling shooting for those that like to dig a little deeper into issues themselves.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Our data used to exist in multiple teams with no organization of how that data was kept. This allowed us to consolidate our physical and virtual devices as well as the network and application infrastructure without having to rely on other teams to keep it updated. We now can walk from a virtual device to the physical host to its location in a physical room, as well as other connected devices. This wasn't possible in our organization before this application
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Make sure you have a plan on how you need to discover your infrastructure. Build out your physical mapping first in the app (room, row and rack) then scans by Device subnet for proper discovery and device identification. Pull physical equipment first (Compute, Network, Storage) so the virtual devices will properly import linked to the physical devices they exist on.This can make a big difference on what type of scan you would use to discover the devices. A blind scan could bring in too much data to fast and you'll quickly become overwhelmed.


    Simon W.

Great product with excellence support!

  • March 01, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I really like the clear structure of Device42.
In addition, I like that it is very easy to work with IP addresses. (Much better than with Excel sheets or something else)
Devices are also designed to make it very easy. these can be cloned from the hardware very well.
I additionally like the ease of managing users. This can be easily controlled through Active Directory (AD).
What do you dislike?
it takes some time to fully understand Device42. So you have to plan more time for the beginning to understand the whole features and possibilities.
Sometimes the system is not the fastest, which slows down the work.
In addition, I would design the power layout differently. The current view is not very clear.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We keep our entire infrastructure in Device42. It's also linked to a CMDB.
We have replaced our documentation with Device42. Now we can look up everything centrally. We had the problem that too often there was wrong information in the old files.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are looking for a new product in the field of documentation, Device42 is a very good choice. It is very well designed and you can add any component and network management. You can easily add and manage new subnets.


    Reda H.

Excellent product and support

  • February 19, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
- User friendly interface.
- Support team
What do you dislike?
Complete manual (user guide and administration) version in PDF format that can be downloaded and used offline.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Automatic discovery for computers and network switches and integration of device42 CMDB with ServiceNow.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I am recommending this product as it is powerful with many capabilities and easy to use and administer.


    Computer Software

Device42 is a solid offering priced WAAY better than the competition.

  • February 18, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
While most ITAM systems are pretty similar in terms of overall functionality, what sets Device42 apart is their responsive support team.

They provide awesome assistance setting things up, and doing some of the more complex functions within the platform (such as writing the SQL queries for Advanced Reporting, or helping to correctly format the API).

The platform itself is also very robust, and after using for more than 2 years in a production environment we have experienced 0 minutes of downtime for any issue related to the ITAM itself.
What do you dislike?
One of the biggest negatives about Device42 is the Jira integration. Even with a very high powered Jira instance (brand new servers with the fastest cores we can get paired with plenty of RAM), it causes substantial slowdown when users open tickets for which the Device42 custom field has any value at all.

In addition, the on premises version of Device42 REQUIRES a TLS 1.0 mail relay, meaning that if you have a mail system which enforces TLS 1.2 (like Office365) you will be forced to maintain a separate TLS 1.0 SMTP Relay server otherwise the scheduled reports simply will not send.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Device42 has become a central part of our automation stack, and it's pretty easy to use API has given us the ability to fully integrate our automated server creation tools into the ITAM and our ticketing system.


    Cris G.

A must-have tool for M&A

  • December 12, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
- Visual topology information
- Network communications reports (allowing to identify dependencies between servers)
- Last login users, Host information, HW information
- Application dependency
- Inventory
What do you dislike?
- Maybe the first scan should be guided by a support session, there are many configurations that can contaminate the inventories (adding duplicates, offline machines, VMs that were decommissioned…)
- I would like a report to be Added where machines are linked to their sites based on the subnet, its very useful when in comes to global consolidation projects
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
- Discovering site to site dependencies in different active directories (using netstat, excel of dependencies that we have customized to obtain the site to site communications)
- Planning Active directory consolidation and application migration
- Complete Hardware inventory (good for capacity planning)
- File sharing reporting - for migration planning (improvement opportunity:obtain share folder permissions)
- Software inventory - for migration
- Visual for dependencies between services (netstat) allowing
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Its a product I recommend for:
M&A context
Regular Inventory of Datacenters


    Dany V.

Device42 CMDB of easy configuration

  • December 09, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy installation, configuration and connection with other systems
What do you dislike?
The functionality of Application Dependency Mapping does not show real-time data
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Have all the infrastructure inventory in one place and generate reports as requested


    Steven M.

Great tool with a lot of opportunities

  • December 09, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The GUI is simple and clear, no graphics are loaded, so the frontend is very fast. The database is also well-designed and very fast, although we have thousands of objects. Device42 have a lot of discovery options, a REST-API, agent-based and agentless based OS discovery.

I like very much the remote collectors. Very easy to setup appliances with an automatic update feature. Only open one port and you are able to monitor a whole site.

The guys from the support are always friendly and the answers are really quite fast.
What do you dislike?
Nobody is perfect. Here a few points which can be improved.

- Roadmap: I miss a high level roadmap for the next 12 months
- Release Notes: The update release notes can beimproved
- The online documentaion needs an update on some points
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Device42 is our single point of truth. Because of this, D42 is connected to many other of our tools, like Jira and Stackstorm. For example, so we are able to deploy fully automated new virtual machines in seconds.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
No CMDB in this world is perfect. BUT Device42 is a great tool with a lot of opportunities and a affordable price. It's really a good choice.


    Francisco L.

device42 is easy to use with alot of options

  • December 06, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
automerge of devices
ip/mac association
very good api
well documented
nice support
What do you dislike?
lack of support of some devices (purestorage or radware, for example)
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Inventory, IPAM, device location
Recommendations to others considering the product:
try to keep updated the appliance, because every update has new support for devices


    Viktor D.

Device42 for DC operations

  • December 06, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is a great and an easy to use platform.
What do you dislike?
Basically nothing. All the features are great.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Easy to follow the open orders and the HW for the DCs.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I don't have any recommendations


    Giovanni S.

Great Product in Our Environment

  • December 06, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
How everything links together from room layout, to server rack organization, down to all VMs and business applications. Also functions as a password manager bundled in which is great.
What do you dislike?
Deleting organization items not as easy as adding them in. Not all options are available upon initial asset entry. Items in room layout cannot overlap and the grid size factor cannot be changed.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Inventory management, application tracking and management, dependency tracking, password management