Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Device42 - Hybrid IT Discovery for AWS Cloud Migration

Device42 | 16.15.00

Linux/Unix, CentOS CentOS Linux 7 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

39 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Computer Software

D42 Support responds is superb and answers to my quires are on time and correct steps

  • June 23, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of use and easy to explain to customers
What do you dislike?
So far none that i dislike .. all is good and fine
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
regarding licencing
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Ease of use


    Information Technology and Services

Best Discovery and Application Dependency Mapping tool

  • June 08, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Simple and easy-to-use interface with a lot of pre-defined reports available to use and built-in dependency mapping diagram and topology.
What do you dislike?
Current topics in online documentation are in function sequence or classified by function, would prefer to see it in the deployment sequence, for example Overview, Deploy, Manage, Reports. Current documentation table of content: Accounting, API Overview, Appliance Manager, Administration, Applications, Auto Discovery.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Discovery and Application Dependency Mapping reports required for Datacenter migration.


    Vyacheslav L.

Powerful DC Infrastructure Discovery Tool

  • June 02, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
- Huge amount of tools for autodiscovery your equipment
- Agents can scan devices even over extremely secure networks
- Wide range of additional parameters for assets and devices
- Custom Fields support
- Multitenancy. Flexible setting of permissions
- Lifecycles. From the moment of purchase of equipment to its disposal
- Floorplans. You can add any equipment if you want and see it on the layout
What do you dislike?
- The system seemed like overkill for our tasks
- Not always friendly interface. Probably no longer
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
With this system you can get any information about the location of the device, connected cables, additional information and statuses. Engineers no longer need to do visual audits but simply find equipment in Device42 to get complete info. And with properly configured autodiscovery, we get rid of manual accounting of equipment.
If you don't have enough some features in the UI itself then you can implement small http application yourself and configure receiving data from Device42 via API or DOQL (Device42 query object language) and visulize it in your applications. So we deployed our server room schemes with the necessary set of information
Recommendations to others considering the product:
- If you don't have to use autodiscovering you can create many type of equipment as assets


    shiju s.

Device42-Complete IT/Datacenter Infrastructure Management Platform

  • May 30, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The ease of installation and configuration.
Completely customizable tables, reports, etc.
Simple, but very effective UI and the arrangement of data.
Very flexible in terms of integration.
A variety of licensing models available from which we can choose what we require. Nothing more nothing less.
What do you dislike?
The discovery capabilities of some vendors are limited.
Can not add custom MIBs directly by the customer.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
IT infrastructure inventory management with the integration of other tools.
Infrastructure-related documentation.
Planning the changes in the network, migrations et.


    Francisco L.

device42 is easy to use with alot of options

  • May 28, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
automerge of devices
ip/mac association
very good api
well documented
nice support
What do you dislike?
lack of support of some devices (purestorage or radware, for example)
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Inventory, IPAM, device location
Recommendations to others considering the product:
try to keep updated the appliance, because every update has new support for devices


    Higher Education

The Datacenter asset inventory that works the way we want it too.

  • May 27, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Device42 gives us the power to make mass updates. We are required to keep track of all of our Datacenter's customers racks and equipment and when large amounts of equipment is brought in or relocated we can update our records relitevly fast. Once the data is in the system we can then use that to create visual layouts to verify the data. Having accurate data is essental for providing remote hands services for our customers.
What do you dislike?
Where the mass updates are great there are some things that just can't be added or updated in this manner.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Having the information of all equipment in the datacenter in a easy to locate system make our ability to support our customers much more reliable. We are also providing data connectivity from the WAN Providers and keeping all connections in Device42 gives us the ability have documentation of all connection that are made.


    Joel S.

All in one tool that exceeds expectations

  • May 27, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The ability to add subnets and credentials to automatically scan and discover devices on multiple networks. We have a lot of subnets that we need to monitor and update device inventory information as it is changed, moved or updated.
What do you dislike?
A few helpful plugins are not included in the base package / license so appear to be a few core missing features when in fact they are available just as separate addons.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Ever changing and growing inventory that needs to be carefully tracked and inventoried. We find this so simple to use that we spend much less time than we used to on tracking these items.


    Jason H.

Highly Customizable Asset Manager for All your IT Needs

  • May 27, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The Room, Rack, and Device model layouts are some of the best features in any software I've tried. It's like having a lightweight Visio for building server rooms, cable diagrams, and rack elevation diagrams for your IT datacenters.
What do you dislike?
The UI is a bit dated, lacks modern graphic elements (such as different font/color themes).
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Installbase management was the key feature of D42 that we investigated. It does this very well and allows us to retire our old spreadsheet methods for tracking the data in favor of a singular database with some excellent reporting.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I'd highly recommend contacting D42 sales and getting your hands on a Demo. I wasn't initially sold until I got into the product and saw how it interoperated. Additionally, since this runs up in the Cloud, you can quickly provision a Cloud Server to run a POC as the system requirements are relatively moderate.


    Information Technology and Services

Great Infrastructure Discovery

  • May 27, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Feature such as discovery, dependency mapping are very handy in migration planning.
What do you dislike?
No problems i can think of..............
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The tool helps plan migrations and provides the client an accurate CMDB.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Seek assistance from Align Comunications.


    Management Consulting

Quick/Reliable response to any questions on the tool and all the subject areas of Asset Management

  • May 27, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
All the modules for asset and ip management and Reports
What do you dislike?
Access/permissions set up and configuration
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Discovering devices and Reporting modules are very helpfull