Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Ubuntu 18 (Ubuntu 18.04 LTS) with Support by Supported Images

Supported Images | 20210405

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 18.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

9 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Vijay I.

A Lovely OS for developers

  • August 24, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I first started using Ubuntu on my laptop with Ubuntu 18 version. It was so easy to use and light weight OS of all. I was facing many issues with windows earlier as my laptop is really slow to use then I shifted to Ubuntu 18.04 LTS. After that my laptop is so fast and no lags at all. So I really recommend Ubuntu for any people who are facing laptop slowness issues. Also it's easy to shift from windows to Ubuntu 18.04 LTS without any data loss. It also boots up faster than any other OS
What do you dislike?
The only drawback with Ubuntu 18.04 LTS is it doesn't have some of the softwares that are available on windows. So to work any of those softwares we don't have any way to use it on Ubuntu 18.04
It would be better if Ubuntu can make something like Windows virtual server to use windows softwares as well.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
During covid I was doing work from home with my personal laptop. But it's really frustrating because my windows is very slow to work then I changed it to Ubuntu 18.04 LTS and all my issues were gone. I was happily doing my works without any hang issues.
It has many pre installed libraries that are needed for a developer to do his business work


    Natarajan N.

Robust and User Friendly - Ubuntu18.04 LTS

  • June 24, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Simplicity and User-friendliness. When compared with other Linux Flavours, Ubuntu fares much better. Especially this replaces almost all requirements of proprietory Operating Systems.
What do you dislike?
Few small (and rare) technical issues will come up when a computer with Ubuntu Desktop OS is kept running for several days continuously. Those issues are not visible to general users. And such issues are non-existent in OpenSUSE / Fedora / etc.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
In general - Robust, unlike proprietary operating systems.
In particular (comparing with flavours of Linux) - User friendly installation / update / upgrade / maintenance.
Compared with other Linux flavours, Ubuntu has a great number of packages available.


    Computer Software

Ubuntu Review

  • March 29, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
- New refreshing UI
- Open-source and free so no hassle of paying upfront fees or getting into legal trouble
- Fast and lightweight
- Reduced the time to run tests dramatically
What do you dislike?
- Not great support for 3rd party software
- The learning curve is high. Need to learn the Linux command properly to unleash the power
- The file management is weird
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
- We used it as a server and it runs very fast
- The setting up of ubuntu is very low time consuming
- As overhead is very low speed is also very good to process out requests


    Computer Software

Ubuntu 18 review

  • March 28, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
- It feels light and lightning-fast.
- The login and lock screen also changed.
- NIght light to warm the display at night.
- Add two fingers for right-click support for the laptop.
What do you dislike?
- The trackpad is super fast now. Need to find a solution for that.
- Installation of 3rd party software is difficult as it not so much compatible.
- Learning curve high as needs lot of time to learn commands
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
- Works very well as using as server. Minimalistic design so can be set up easily for server
- As it boots up fast it is mainly used as a server and it can never be infected by virus
Recommendations to others considering the product:
- Go for it better than every other OS


    Rohit K.

Easiest server to maintain and regular updates

  • March 18, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The best thing about ubuntu 18.0 server is ease and its simplicity, we use it on regular basis almost all of our prod and staging servers for our internal apps are deployed here, and we hope we will continue using this in future.
What do you dislike?
For now there is nothing about dislikes, but yes in case we have some more easy to use tools for managing Linux server provided by open source community or Ubuntu itself then it would be good, for example managing iptables isn't an easy task for someone new. If there could be something simple then it would be better.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are using it to deploy our NodeJS, FLask, ReactJS servers. We also use it to automate some of our internal data gathering tasks or for bulk processing. I am getting most beneifts because of its community support and lot of contents already available on the internet to test something or debug something.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Just go for it, you won't regret it. This is one of the best servers available!


    Primary/Secondary Education

Experience about Ubuntu 18

  • September 06, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The best thing it is open source and free operating system. We can do anything which we expect from an operating system.GUI is also good.
What do you dislike?
Interoperating system application support is missing somewhere. Improvement is required in UI. There are still many OS-based operations that specifically require terminal experience.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We have deployed Ubuntu in our university and School Labs.
We are using Ubuntu for our cloud-based and browser-based applications.
All smart classes and language learning labs are on UBUNTU 18.4 LTS
All online classes are running on Ubuntu 18.4 LTS.


    Computer & Network Security

Best OS for Developers

  • August 20, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The base installation is very slim down, with no extra software and a great community supporting it.
What do you dislike?
The driver support for the latest and greatest is not always available
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
A lightweight OS that I can use at work to develop applications. Ubuntu application installer has a great selection of open-source software that you can quickly and easily use to install applications.


    Shivam S.

It is stable as compared to the Ubuntu 20.04

  • August 13, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to use and more stable as compared to the latest version of the ubuntu in which we may face issues while installing the tools on it.
What do you dislike?
We are facing multiple issues with the package lock while installing the tools,This should be improved.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It provides us the platform in order to do the setup for Linux platform in order to do the assessment.


    Saba K.

This version is really good

  • May 19, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I liked this version of Ubuntu. There is so much you can do. And I believe every developer should use Ubuntu. It has some newfeatures like color emoticons, preinstalled To-Do application, etc. This version is better and is mooth in functioning. It also has more installation options. Ubuntu is far better than windows or any other operating system. Unlike windows, you don't have to buy software like Microsoft word, Microsoft excel, Microsoft PowerPoint, or any other Microsoft office software. Ubuntu has its own libre office, just like Microsoft Office, which is fantastic. Ubuntu is excellent, and I recommend everyone to use Ubuntu. All the features and customizations you find in Ubuntu, you won't find it in any other operating systems. Being an open-source product makes it even more enjoyable.
What do you dislike?
Although the size of every new update is too large, it fills up my disk space quickly. Also some issues like wifi problems, adapter issues, etc are hard to resolve, you need to spend lot of time and have little knowledge fixing any issue.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I have used Ubuntu for five years, and since it has so many customizations available and new features added to Ubuntu 18, I use it more than windows. I hope they will add more features in upcoming versions.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Ubuntu is excellent, and I recommend everyone to use Ubuntu. All the features and customizations you find in Ubuntu, you won't find it in any other operating systems. Being an open-source product makes it even more enjoyable.


showing 1 - 9