在考虑了我们所有的需求之后,AWS 明显成为我们的最佳选择。AWS 拥有比其他竞争对手的云平台更先进的 IT 架构设计。
李涛 创始人兼首席执行官

APUS Group 成立于 2014 年 6 月,致力于为全球智能手机用户提供最好的移动互联网产品和体验。APUS User System 包含 APUS Launcher、APUS Discovery、APUS Know 、APUS Headlines、APUS Browser、APUS Booster+、APUS Message Center、APUS Theme 等产品和服务。

APUS 的第一款产品 APUS Launcher 于 2014 年 7 月发布。一周内,其用户量就突破了一百万。到 2016 年,APUS 全球总用户数超过十亿。在发展自身业务的同时,APUS 也积极帮助国内的其他移动互联网产品和服务走出国门、拓展全球市场。

 

APUS 在准备开发其第一款产品 APUS Launcher 时就为自己设定了明确的目标,就是为海外的 Android 用户提供一个体积小、速度快、使用简单的 Android 用户系统。APUS 选择针对 Android 平台开发手机用户系统的原因在于,Android 是一种开源系统,Android 手机制造商开发了很多用户界面。由于缺乏统一的启动系统,用户在更换手机时必须适应新的外观和感觉,从而增加了 Android 设备的使用成本。因此,APUS 认为,一款能帮助用户整理桌面、提升操作效率的启动应用程序是绝大多数 Android 用户所需要的。

而该公司决定将其业务瞄准海外市场,则是因为看到其他国家/地区的巨大机会。根据 Google 的数据,2015 年 Android 用户的数量已接近 15 亿。根据 Statista 的数据,预计到 2019 年,全球 Android 用户数量将从 2015 年的 15 亿增长到 30 亿。此外,巴西、印度这类国家的客户需要一款占用内存少、速度快、使用方便的用户系统。

有了明确的市场和产品目标,APUS 面临的主要挑战就是如何快速开发出适合的产品并提供给全球用户。“基于我们之前的经验,公有云平台是我们的首选”,APUS 创始人兼首席执行官李涛表示。APUS 是一家发展迅速的初创公司,无论是公司本身的快速成长还是用户数量的急剧增加都需要其 IT 基础设施能够根据需要进行部署和扩展,而 APUS 用户的全球性则需要一个平台来提供全球服务覆盖。 

APUS 在选择云平台来托管其产品时,重点关注高可用性、高可靠性、动态容量扩展、简化管理和成本节省。对国内外多家云提供商的产品和服务深入评估之后,APUS 选择 Amazon Web Services (AWS) 作为其产品开发和运营的 IT 基础。“在考虑了我们所有的需求之后,AWS 明显成为我们的最佳选择”,李涛表示。“AWS 拥有比其他竞争对手的云平台更先进的 IT 架构设计。”
自 2014 年公司成立以来,APUS 就一直依赖 AWS 来运行其整个业务系统。APUS 所有海外业务和相关的功能(包括应用程序界面、静态资源、日志收集和数据分析)都部署在 AWS 上。

APUS 要想通过为全球用户提供优质服务来占领海外市场,仅仅将应用程序中的文本翻译成当地语言是不够的。相反,APUS 需要深入了解当地用户的需求,并根据他们的品味、文化和习俗定制其产品和内容。AWS 在全球 12 个区域内设置了 32 个可用区,分别位于美国、澳大利亚、巴西、中国、德国、爱尔兰、日本、韩国和新加坡。李涛认为,这种全球覆盖范围能够“让公司更贴近当地用户”。

AWS 提供了多种功能,可以帮助客户更好地规划其应用程序系统并简化管理。Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC) 让 APUS 能够更好地控制其网络。具体来说,Amazon VPC 让用户可以在 AWS 云中配置出一个逻辑隔离的部分,在自己定义的虚拟网络中启动 AWS 资源。用户可以完全控制自己的虚拟联网环境,包括 IP 地址选择、子网创建以及路由表和网络网关的配置。“通过 Amazon VPC,我们可以很轻松地把不同的业务部署在不同的子网内,这让管理更加方便,安全性也更好”,李涛表示。

apus-arch-diag

图 1:APUS 系统架构

使用 AWS 给 APUS 带来的优势主要体现在三个方面:高可用性提升了用户体验、极大地降低了运维成本、缩短了新项目部署的时间。而这也意味着新产品的上线速度更快。

APUS 在全球拥有超过 10 亿的用户,这些用户不仅使用 APUS 的系统,还通过用户系统享受 APUS 提供的内容服务、个性化主题以及基于地理位置的探索发现功能。服务的稳定性和可靠性会极大地影响用户体验。AWS 的高可用性让 APUS 的应用程序可用性达到 99.99%,确保世界各地的应用程序用户都能获得极佳的用户体验。AWS 也节省了大量运维成本。。“我们在全球拥有 10 亿用户,这得益于 AWS 提供的丰富的 SDK 和自动化的运维工具”,李涛表示。最后,与 APUS 租用 Internet 数据中心的服务器这种传统方式相比,采用 AWS 之后,新项目的部署时间从原来一个多月缩短到一天。同时也无需预先购买服务器,因为使用的云服务器数量可以自动增加,以便适应不断扩大的用户群,确保整个系统始终以最高性能运行。

APUS 计划在未来在更多 AWS 区域使用更多 AWS 服务,拓展用户群体,同时鼓励当地的初创企业开展移动互联网业务,从而建立包含内容和服务在内的完整生态系统。

要了解有关 AWS 如何帮助您满足高性能计算需求的更多信息,请访问我们的高性能计算详细信息页面。

After considering all our requirements, it was clear that AWS would be our best bet. AWS features a more advanced IT architecture design than the competing cloud platforms.
Tao Li Founder and CEO

Founded in June 2014, APUS Group has been dedicated to providing the best mobile internet products and experiences for smartphone users around the world. The APUS User System consists of APUS Launcher, APUS Discovery, APUS Know, APUS Headlines, APUS Browser, APUS Booster+, APUS Message Center and APUS Theme, among other products and services.

APUS Launcher, the first product by APUS, was released in July 2014. Within the first week, it had gained more than one million users. By 2016, APUS had acquired more than one billion users worldwide. In addition to growing its own business, APUS plays an active role in helping other domestic mobile internet products and services develop and expand globally.

 

Providing a small, fast, and easy-to-use Android user system to overseas Android users is the mission APUS set for itself even before development began on its very first product, APUS Launcher. APUS had a good reason for choosing to develop a mobile user system for the Android platform: because of Android’s open-source nature, Android phone manufacturers have developed a variety of user interfaces. This lack of a uniform launcher system means users have to adjust to a new look and feel whenever they change their phone, driving up the cost of using Android devices. Seeing this, APUS assumed Android users would welcome a launcher app that could help them organize their home screen and make touch operations more efficient.

The company decided to target overseas markets for its business due to the size of the opportunity available in other countries. According to Google, the number of Android users had reached almost 1.5 billion in 2015. According to Statista, the global number of Android users is forecast to grow from 1.5 billion in 2015 to three billion in 2019. Also, customers in countries like Brazil and India are in need of a fast, convenient user system with low-memory footprint.

Once its target market and segment were fixed, the main challenge facing APUS was how to quickly develop suitable products and deliver them to global users. “Previous experience taught us that a public cloud platform is the way to go,” says Tao Li, founder and CEO of APUS. As a fast-growing startup, APUS’ rapidly expanding business and user base called for an IT infrastructure that could be deployed and scaled in a responsive manner, while the global nature of APUS’ users requires a platform that provides worldwide service coverage.  

When choosing a cloud platform to host its products, APUS looked for high availability, high reliability, dynamic capacity scaling, simplified management, and cost savings. After a thorough evaluation of the products and services offered by several domestic and overseas cloud providers, APUS chose Amazon Web Services (AWS) to serve as its IT foundation for product development and operations. “After considering all our requirements, it was clear that AWS would be our best bet,” says Li. “AWS features a more advanced IT architecture design than the competing cloud platforms.”
APUS has relied on AWS to run its entire business system since the company’s founding in 2014. All of APUS’ overseas businesses and associated functions—including application interface, static resources, log collection, and data analytics—are deployed on AWS.

For APUS to capture the overseas market by providing superior services to its users worldwide, simply translating the texts in its apps into the local language is not enough. Rather, APUS needs to develop in-depth understanding of the demands of local users and tailor its products and content to their tastes, culture, and customs. AWS offers global service coverage through its 32 Availability Zones located in 12 Regions, including the United States, Australia, Brazil, China, Germany, Ireland, Japan, South Korea and Singapore. This global coverage, according to Li, has “brought the company closer to [its] local user base.”

AWS offers a variety of functions designed to help users better plan their application systems and simplify management. For APUS, Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC) gives the company finer control over its networks. Specifically, Amazon VPC permits a user to provision a logically isolated section of the AWS Cloud in which it can launch AWS resources in a virtual network it defines. The user will have complete control over its virtual networking environment, including selection of IP address range, creation of subnets, and configuration of route tables and network gateways. “Through Amazon VPC, we can easily deploy different businesses among different subnets, which makes management a breeze and enhances security,” says Li.

apus-arch-diag

Figure 1: APUS System Architecture

AWS has provided three major benefits to APUS: improved user experience through high availability, significantly reduced operational and maintenance costs, and shortened time to deploy new projects—which means faster product launches.

APUS has more than one billion users worldwide, who not only use its system but also enjoy the content services, personalized themes, and location-based exploration and discovery functions delivered through the user system. The user experience is heavily affected by the stability and reliability of service. Due to the high availability of AWS, APUS’ applications achieve 99.99 percent availability, ensuring app users can enjoy the best user experience no matter where they are. AWS also brings significant savings in operation and maintenance costs. “The extensive SDKs and automated operation and maintenance tools offered by AWS have helped us gain one billion users around the world,” says Li. Finally, compared with APUS’ traditional approach of renting servers at Internet Data Centers, the time to deploy a new project has been shortened from more than one month to one day by switching to AWS. There is also no need to buy servers in advance, as the number of cloud servers in use can automatically scale up to accommodate the expanding user base, ensuring the entire system is always running at peak performance.

APUS plans to expand both its use of AWS services and footprint of AWS Regions in the future, as it works to build a larger user community and encourage local startups to grow their own mobile internet business, with the aim of creating a complete ecosystem comprising both content and service.

To learn more about how AWS can help with your high-performance-computing needs, visit our high-performance-computing details page.