Posted On: Nov 29, 2021
Starting today, you can use Recycle Bin for EBS Snapshots to recover from accidental snapshot deletions to meet your business continuity needs. Previously, if you accidentally deleted a snapshot, you would have to roll back to a snapshot from an earlier point in time, increasing your recovery point objective. With Recycle Bin, you can specify a retention time period and recover a deleted snapshot before the expiration of the retention period. A recovered snapshot retains its attributes such as tags, permissions, and encryption status, which it had prior to deletion, and can be used immediately for creating volumes. Snapshots that are not recovered from the Recycle Bin are permanently deleted upon expiration of the retention time.
You can enable Recycle Bin for all the snapshots or a subset of the snapshots in your account by creating one or more Retention Rules. You can use tags in Retention Rules to specify which subset of snapshots should move to the Recycle Bin upon deletion.
EBS Snapshots in Recycle Bin are billed at the same price as EBS Snapshots (see pricing pages). To learn more, see the technical documentation on Recycle Bin for EBS Snapshots. The feature is now available through the AWS Command Line Interface (CLI), AWS SDKs, or the AWS Console in all AWS commercial regions with the exception of China.