AWS DeepLens 挑战赛

aws intel

使用 AWS DeepLens 构建机器学习项目,造福世界!

 

挑战赛

通过参与将于 2018 年举行的主题系列挑战赛,您有机会将自己的想法与 AWS DeepLens 功能相结合,创建能够对世界产生积极影响的机器学习项目。这些挑战赛将帮助您在一种充满趣味且鼓舞人心的协作氛围中获得宝贵的机器学习经验。您将树立一个榜样,改善人们的生活并为造福社会的非盈利组织尽一份力。

奖励

有人说,给予不是要捐赠,而是要有所作为。奖励会因不同挑战赛而异,但将包括:按项目投稿数向挑战赛相关的非盈利组织捐赠、通过博客展示最有潜在积极影响的项目。但总得来说,最大的奖励是您有学习的机会,同时将构建一些可能会对社区有深远有益影响的东西。项目投稿及其作者将由 AWS 推广。

资源

借助 AWS DeepLens,各种技能水平的开发人员都可以通过示例项目、计算机视觉模型、教程和物理设备上的真实实践探索开始了解深度学习。您可以从一系列只需在 AWS DeepLens 控制台中单击一下即可在设备上运行的预训练模型中选择,也能通过 Amazon SageMaker 构建自定义模型。请查看可用的 AWS DeepLens 资源,以便立即开始使用。加入 AWS DeepLens 挑战赛 Slack 通道,与同伴携手合作!


挑战赛 1:包容性

今年夏天开始的包容性挑战赛颇受欢迎,我们将继续举办这项挑战赛。请使用 DeepLens 创建一个项目,以促进包容性发展、克服障碍并让人们之间的关系更牢固。您的项目可以帮助缩小您在日常生活中看到的差距,也可以侧重于包容性的任何方面,例如为有发育障碍的人和不同种族、性别、教育水平、性取向、处于不同地理位置的人以及其他人士提供帮助。让我们在实践中运用机器学习技术来让世界变得更加美好!

获得启发
Northwest Center 首席执行官 Gene Boes 阐述了为什么包容性很重要以及 DeepLens 如何提供帮助。 

示例项目
这是 Chris Coombs 创建的一个名为 ASLens 的项目。ASLens 使用 AWS DeepLens 将美国手语字母表翻译成了语音。

回报
对于每个符合参与条件的项目,您将获得价值 50 USD 的 AWS 积分,并且我们将向 Northwest Center 捐赠 249 USD。Northwest Center 是一个为有发育障碍的儿童和成人提供服务的慈善机构。

Northwest Center 首席执行官 Gene Boes 简单介绍了 AWS DeepLens 包容性挑战赛

挑战赛 2:可持续发展

对于可持续发展挑战赛,请使用 DeepLens 创建一个强调爱护环境的项目。我们希望看到一个旨在应对生态挑战的项目,您可以鉴别动植物、跟踪植物生长速度、鼓励减少废物,或者如下面的视频中所示优化垃圾分类。

获得启发
Amazon 全球可持续发展经理 Alexis Fuge 谈论了 Amazon 在使用 DeepLens 帮助管理废物方面所做的一些创新工作。

示例项目
如果您对可持续发展的动植物方面感兴趣,请了解这个由 Paul Langdon 创建的名为 Backyard Birder 的项目。该项目鉴别了鸟类和松鼠,并跟踪记录了每天有多少只松鼠破坏喂鸟器。

回报
对于每个符合参与条件的项目,您将获得价值 50 USD 的 AWS 积分,并且我们将向 Engineers for a Sustainable World 捐赠 249 USD。Engineers for a Sustainable World 是一个非营利性组织网络,由来自世界各地的热衷于技术可持续发展的人士组成。 

Amazon 全球可持续发展经理 Alexis Fuge 讨论了 DeepLens 和废物管理。

挑战赛 3:游戏

对于游戏挑战赛,请使用 DeepLens 创建一个侧重于玩游戏、竞技和益智游戏的项目。您的项目可以涉及游戏的任一方面,无论是单人游戏还是多人游戏、合作类游戏还是竞技游戏、世界各地的本地游戏还是网络游戏,都可以。您可以改编现有游戏,也可以从头开始创建自己的游戏。

获得启发
Geogrify 首席执行官 Kate Edwards 介绍了游戏的主题。

示例项目
有关符合该挑战赛条件的项目示例,请查看这个由 Abdul Rahman Abdul Ghani 和 Michael Bawiec 创建且由 DeepLens 提供支持的 Simon Says 游戏。此项目展示了 Simon Says 深度学习平台,在该平台中,每个人都可以使用 DeepLens 加入同一个全球游戏来验证每个玩家的正确操作。

回报
对于每个符合参与条件的项目,您将获得价值 50 USD 的 AWS 积分,并且我们将向 Girls Who Code 捐赠 249 USD。Girls Who Code 是一个致力于帮助年轻女孩学习编程而组织研讨会和制作图书的组织。

Geogrify 首席执行官 Kate Edwards 谈论了 DeepLens 和游戏。

挑战赛 4:健康

对于健康挑战赛,您可以使用 DeepLens 开发一个关于促进您的心理或身体健康的项目。思考一下您想改善自己生活中的哪个方面,然后深入了解 DeepLens 和 AI 可如何帮助您实现这一目标。我们希望看到的项目既包括旨在为患有慢性病的患者提供帮助的项目,也包括涉及瑜伽姿势识别和锻炼计数的项目。

获得启发
了解 Hopecam 的创始人 Len Farkas 如何带领 Hopecam 利用技术让正在接受癌症治疗的儿童与他们在学校的朋友联系。

示例项目
我们有很多满足该挑战赛的条件的示例项目。请了解 Terje Norderhaug 和 Tom Woolf 创建的 DermLens 以及 Tomas Holcman 创建的 Exercise Counter,前者让患有牛皮癣的患者能够使用 DeepLens 监控和管理他们的病情,而后者可以计算并记录锻炼的重复次数,以显示相关人员在不同时间段内的统计信息。

回报
对于每个符合参与条件的项目,您将获得价值 50 USD 的 AWS 积分,并且我们将向 Hopecam 捐赠 249 USD。Hopecam 是一个非营利性组织,致力于捐赠摄像机和平板电脑,以克服儿童在治疗癌症期间所经历的社会隔离症。

Hopecam 的创始人 Len Farkas 分享了患有癌症的儿童如何与朋友保持联系。

如果 AWS 会针对每个符合条件的项目向慈善机构捐款,那么 AWS 将为此次挑战赛的每个符合条件的项目捐赠 249 USD。AWS 最低会向所选慈善机构捐赠 5000 USD,最高不会超过 10000 USD。所提交的表单中的所有字段必须填写完整,并且必须在每个挑战赛的相应截止日期前提交项目才能使其符合条件。

了解有关 AWS DeepLens 的更多信息
AWS DeepLens 是世界上第一款支持深度学习的无线摄像机
了解机器学习的优势
Amazon Machine Learning 使用强大的算法通过查找现有数据中的模式来创建模型

AWS DeepLens Challenge

aws intel

Build machine learning projects using AWS DeepLens and make a difference!

 

THE CHALLENGE

Through a series of themed challenges that will run in 2018, you have the opportunity to combine your ideas with the capability of AWS DeepLens to create machine learning projects that can have a positive impact on the world. These challenges will help you gain valuable machine learning experience within a fun, collaborative, and inspiring environment. You’ll be making a positive impact on improving people’s lives and supporting non-profits that benefit our society.

THE REWARD

It has been said that giving is not about making a donation, but about making a difference. The rewards will vary by challenge, but they will include things such as a donation per project submission to a challenge-related non-profit organization, a blog showcase for the projects that have the most potential positive effects, and, overall, the biggest reward will be that you get to learn and at the same time you will build something that could have a profound beneficial impact on the community. Project submissions and their authors will be promoted by AWS.

THE RESOURCES

AWS DeepLens allows developers of all skill levels get started with deep learning through example projects, computer vision models, tutorials, and real world, hands-on exploration on a physical device. You can choose from a collection of pre-trained models ready to run on the device with a single click available in the AWS DeepLens console, or build custom models with Amazon SageMaker. Check out the AWS DeepLens resources available to get started today. Join the AWS DeepLens Challenge Slack Channel to collaborate with your fellow participants!


Challenge #1: Inclusivity

We’re continuing the popular Inclusivity Challenge that started this summer. Use your DeepLens to create a project that fosters inclusion, overcomes barriers, and strengthens bonds between people. Your project might help bridge a gap you have seen in your daily life or could focus on any aspect of inclusivity such as helping people with developmental disabilities, race, gender, education, geographic location, sexual orientation, and many others. Let’s put machine learning to work to make the world a better place for everyone!

Be inspired
Here’s Gene Boes, the CEO of the Northwest Center, to explain why inclusivity is important and how DeepLens can help. 

Sample project
Here’s a project called ASLens, created by Chris Coombs. ASLens uses AWS DeepLens to translate the American Sign Language alphabet to speech.

Giving back
For each project that meets the entry criteria, you will receive $50 in AWS credits, and we will donate $249 to the Northwest Center, a charity that serves children and adults with developmental disabilities.

Northwest Center CEO Gene Boes outlines the AWS DeepLens Inclusivity Challenge

Challenge #2: Sustainability

For the Sustainability Challenge, use your DeepLens to create a project that highlights respect for the environment. We’re hoping to see projects that deal with ecological challenges, you might identify flora and fauna, track plant growth rates, encourage waste reduction or even improve waste sorting as you’ll see in the video below.

Be inspired
Here’s Amazon Worldwide Sustainability Manager, Alexis Fuge, talking about some of the innovative work Amazon has been doing to use DeepLens to help with waste management.

Sample project
If you’re interested in the flora and fauna aspect of sustainability, check out this project created by Paul Langdon called Backyard Birder. It identifies birds and squirrels and keeps track of how many squirrels disrupt the bird feeders each day.

Giving back
For each project that meets the entry criteria, you will receive $50 in AWS credits, and we will donate $249 to Engineers for a Sustainable World, a nonprofit network made up of people passionate about technical sustainability from across the world.  

Amazon's Worldwide Sustainability Manager, Alexis Fuge, discusses DeepLens and waste management.

Challenge #3: Games

For the Games Challenge, use your DeepLens to create a project that focuses on playing games, sports, and puzzles. Your project may cover any area of gaming from single player to multi-player games, cooperative or competitive, either local or over the internet around the world. Feel free to adapt an existing game or create your own from scratch.

Be inspired
Here’s Geogrify's CEO, Kate Edwards, with a look at the subject of games.

Sample project
For an example of a project that fits this challenge, take a look at this DeepLens powered Simon Says game created by Abdul Rahman Abdul Ghani and Michael Bawiec. This project showcases a Simon Says Deep Learning platform where everyone can join the same global game using DeepLens to verify the correct action of each player.

Giving back
For each project that meets the entry criteria, you will receive $50 in AWS credits, and we will donate $249 to Girls Who Code, a group that creates workshops and books for girls to learn programming at an early age.

Geogrify's CEO, Kate Edwards, discusses DeepLens and gaming.

Challenge #4: Health

For the Health Challenge, you can use your DeepLens to develop a project about boosting your mental or physical health. Think of something in your life you want to improve, and figure out how DeepLens and AI might help get you there. We’re hoping to see projects that range from helping patients with chronic diseases through to yoga pose recognitions and exercise counting.

Be inspired
Learn how Hopecam founder, Len Forkas, has Hopecam uses technology to connect children undergoing treatment for cancer with their friends at school.

Sample project
We have a couple of example projects that fit this challenge. Check out DermLens created by Terje Norderhaug and Tom Woolf, which allows patients with psoriasis to monitor and manage their condition using DeepLens, and Exercise Counter created by Tomas Holcman which counts and records repetitions of exercises to show personal statistics over time.

Giving back
For each project that meets the entry criteria, you will receive $50 in AWS credits, and we will donate $249 to Hopecam, a non-profit which donates video cameras and tablets to overcome the social isolation experienced by children in treatment for cancer.

Hopecam founder, Len Forkas, shares how childern with cancer are staying connected with friends.

If AWS offers to make a donation to a charity for every eligible entry, then AWS will donate $249 for each eligible entry to a challenge. A minimum donation of $5,000 will be made to a charity of AWS’s choice, and the donation will be capped at $10,000. All of the fields in the submission form must be completed and the entry must be submitted by the each challenge’s respective deadline for an entry to be eligible.

Learn more about AWS DeepLens
AWS DeepLens is the world’s first deep-learning enabled wireless video camera
Explore the benefits of machine learning
Amazon Machine Learning uses powerful algorithms to create models by finding patterns in existing data