按照传统做法,客户进行转码时会面临三大复杂性。首先,客户需要购买并管理转码软件,而这可能非常昂贵,且其维护和配置也是难题。其次,针对各种不同设备生产转码输出,通常会涉及到试验和纠错以找到合适的转码设置,以便为最终用户提供能够正常播放且效果良好的输出视频。这种试验和纠错过程会浪费计算资源。最后,传统的编码解决方案无法根据客户的业务需要进行伸缩。另外,利用传统解决方案,客户还需要提前预测需要调配多少容量,而这无可避免地意味着资金浪费(如果他们调配的容量过多并且存在容量闲置的情况)或者业务延误(如果他们调配的容量太小,需要等待编码作业运行完成)。

开始免费使用 AWS

创建免费账户
或登录到控制台

Amazon Elastic Transcoder 免费套餐包括每月长达 20 分钟的免费转码服务。

查看 AWS 免费套餐详细信息 »

利用 Amazon Elastic Transcoder,开发人员只需使用基于 Web 的控制台、服务 API 或软件开发工具包来创建转码作业以指定输入文件、转码设置和输出文件。这样可以免除三种复杂的工作:首先,不需要购买、配置和管理基础转码软件。其次,Amazon Elastic Transcoder 拥有适用于各种设备的预定义预置模版,从而让客户免于通过试验和纠错来为不同设备寻找正确设置。系统还支持自定义预置模版,允许客户根据具体转码要求(如特殊的大小或比特率需要)调整输出。最后,Amazon Elastic Transcoder 还可以根据客户的工作负载自动进行扩展和收缩,从而消除了容量浪费和长时间等待作业完成的问题。它还使客户能够并行处理多个作业并使用名为转码管道的功能组织转码工作流。利用 Amazon Elastic Transcoder 的管道功能,客户可以针对各种场景设置管道,确保在需要的时间、以所需的方式完成文件转码,从而让他们能够针对尖刻的工作负载高效进行无缝扩展。例如,新闻组织可能希望拥有专用于即时新闻的“高优先级”转码管道,或者用户生成内容网站可能希望拥有单独的管道,以便将低、中、高分辨率内容输出到不同的目标设备。

Amazon Elastic Transcoder 是利用其他 Amazon Web Services 的可扩展性和灵活性构建的。它使用 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 运行转码作业。Amazon EC2 的规模让您能够快速可靠地完成大型转码作业。Amazon Elastic Transcoder 是转为处理存储在 Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 中的内容而构建的,因此您可以经济持久地存储大型或小型媒体库。您甚至可以通过 Amazon Simple Notification Service (Amazon SNS) 获得有关转码作业状态的信息。

Amazon Elastic Transcoder 的功能包括 AWS 管理控制台、服务 API 和软件开发工具包,因此您可以将转码功能集成到您自己的应用程序和服务中。

要使用 Amazon Elastic Transcoder,您需要执行以下操作:

  • 创建转码管道以指定输入 Amazon S3 存储段、输出 Amazon S3 存储段和存储级别以及该项服务访问您的文件要用的 AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM) 角色。
  • 创建转码作业,方法是指定输入文件、输出文件以及要用的转码预置模版(您可以从一组预定义的转码预置模版中选择,例如 720p,或创建您自己的自定义转码预置模版)。您可以随意指定缩略图和作业的具体转码参数,如帧速和分辨率。

当您在 Amazon Elastic Transcoder 运行转码作业时,您可以:

  • 通过通知功能自动接收转码作业状态的信息。
  • 查询转码作业的状态。
  • 通过停止、启动或取消操作管理转码作业。

Amazon Elastic Transcoder 提供了以下功能,使视频转换变得简单轻松、价格便宜且具有可扩展性。

  • 转码管道:您可以通过转码管道设置和并行运行转码工作流。您可以将转码管道用作创建灵活的工作流的一种方式。例如,您可以设置一个管道来对时间短的内容进行转码,再设置另一个管道来对时间长的内容进行转码,或者也可以针对不同的分辨率或存储位置分配不同的管道。
  • 转码作业:转码作业是将媒体文件从一种格式转码成另一种格式的工作。您可以通过一种作业从一个输出文件中创建比特率和格式不同的多个输出文件。例如,一个作业可以创建由一个同一个输入文件的不同分辨率和比特率组成的呈现。您还可以创建纯音频流,创建 HLS 或 MPEG-DASH 文件集时常常要使用这种流。在创建作业时,您需要指定 Amazon Elastic Transcoder 执行转码作业时所需的信息,包括:要转换的文件、转码后输出文件的名称以及要使用的预置模版。转码作业在转码管道内运行,转码管道可同时运行多个作业,因此您可以在您的 AWS 账户中同时运行许多作业。
  • 系统转码预置模版:Amazon Elastic Transcoder 提供了一组转码预置模版,使您不必为弄清各个设备适合的转码设置而进行大量猜测。您可以从那些可创建能在任何设备上播放的输出的预置模版中进行选择,或选择针对特定设备的预置模版。要获得尽可能广泛的兼容性,请选择“广度预置”模版,以创建可在大部分设备上播放的输出文件。要获得最佳质量和文件大小,请选择“优化预置”模版,以创建适合特定设备或设备类别的输出文件。
  • 自定义转码预置模版:我们提供的转码预置模版适用于大部分设备和平台,但是有些客户可能需要创建特定的预置模版,以达到特殊的输出目标。使用自定义预置模版,您可以自定义现有转码预置模版并在一个地区的 AWS 账户中的所有管道中使用。
  • 自动视频比特率优化:借助这个自动视频比特率设置,Amazon Elastic Transcoder 将自动调整比特率,从而优化您的转码输出的视觉质量。使用最大比特率参数可以限制输出视频的瞬时比特率。这样做可以生成限制最大比特率的输出文件,符合某些设备对回放规格的要求。结果就是,您获得的视频文件看上去很棒,但其压缩性比您为整个文件选择一种比特率时要好。
  • 监控和管理:您可以通过 AWS 管理控制台或 Amazon Elastic Transcoder API 或软件开发工具包查看转码管道和作业的状态。您也可以使用 Amazon CloudWatch 监控 Amazon Elastic Transcoder 的运营性能和使用情况并发送警报和接收相关通知。Amazon Elastic Transcoder 可将九个运营指标自动发布到 Amazon CloudWatch,从而使您更加清楚地了解转码工作流程的整体运行状况,如果您正在追踪的指标在界定的时间内超过特定的阈值,您还能够调用相应操作。您可以监控指标,如已完成的作业、出错的作业、生成的输出分钟数、闲置时间以及关于各种 API 调用的错误和限制。转码作业在 Elastic Transcoder 上执行几分钟后,这些指标就会显示在 CloudWatch 中。
  • 通知功能:Amazon Elastic Transcoder 使用 Amazon Simple Notification Service (SNS) 来通知您有关转码事件的信息。您的转码作业开始、完成时、或存在警告和错误条件时,您将收到通知。使用通知功能是监控和管理您的转码工作负载的有效方式。您可以依靠 Amazon Elastic Transcoder 为您通知改变,这样您就不需要轮询状态服务。
  • 缩略图:Amazon Elastic Transcoder 可为您创建输出视频的缩略图。您可以设定缩略图的大小、屏幕的高宽比以及其他参数,包括您希望生成的缩略图的个数。如果您希望添加章节标记、提供视觉扫描功能或纯粹想为内容提供最具代表性的缩略图,则生成多个缩略图会非常有用。
  • 视觉水印:Amazon Elastic Transcoder 可以在输出的视频上覆盖最多四个静态图像。要为输出视频打水印,只需提供包含 PNG 或 JPG 图像的文件,并使用转码预设以指定水印的位置、比例、尺寸和不透明度等信息。可以使用此功能在输出中添加节目标志或其他标识。
  • 字幕:Amazon Elastic Transcoder 支持字幕。添加字幕就是将配合视频的文字显示在视频中的过程,字幕可以显示节目中的声音片段,也可以将声音翻译成其他的语言。在将视频在两种格式之间进行转码时,使用 Elastic Transcoder 可以添加、删除或保留字幕。
  • 格式:Amazon Elastic Transcoder 支持转码到以下输出格式:

HLS 使用 MPEG-2 TS 容器容纳 H.264 编码的视频和 AAC 或 MP3 编码的音频
Smooth Streaming 使用 fmp4 容器容纳 H.264 编码的视频和 AAC 编码的音频
MPEG-DASH,使用 fmp4 容器容纳 H.264 编码的视频和 AAC 编码的音频
XDCAM 使用 MXF 容器,视频以 MPEG-2 编码,音频以 PCM 编码
MP4 容器,视频以 H.264 编码,音频以 AAC 或 MP3 编码
WebM 容器,视频以 VP9 编码,音频以 Vorbis 编码
WebM 容器,视频以 VP8 编码,音频以 Vorbis 编码
FLV 容器,视频以 H.264 编码,音频以 AAC 或 MP3 编码
MPG 容器,视频以 MPEG-2 编码,音频以 MP2 编码
MP3 容器,音频以 MP3 编码
MP4 容器,音频以 AAC 编码
OGG 容器,音频以 Vorbis 或 FLAC 编码
OGA 容器,音频以 FLAC 编码
FLAC 容器,音频以 FLAC 编码
WAV 容器,音频以 PCM 编码
GIF 动画

  • HLS 使用 AES-128 加密:您可以生成受 AES-128 加密保护的 HLS 流。使用此选项创建的工作将对媒体文件进行加密并在播放列表中引用加密密钥。除工作对象外,您还可以选择使用 SSE-S3 让 Elastic Transcoder 将加密数据键直接写入 S3,在 S3 中数据键将受到 AWS-KMS 主密钥的保护。
  • DRM 打包:我们支持对 Microsoft PlayReady DRM 进行打包。您可以使用 Microsoft PlayReady PIFF 1.1 保护 Smooth Streaming 文件,还可以使用 Discretix 3.0.1 for Microsoft PlayReady 保护 HLS 输出。当您创建转码作业的时候,请务必将加密密钥和 PlayReady 许可证提供方提供的许可证服务器 URL 包含在其中。
  • 加密媒体文件:您可以使用加密的夹层文件作为 Amazon Elastic Transcoder 的输入内容,或让服务来对输出内容进行加密以保护您转码后的文件。支持的选项包括使用 Amazon S3 服务器端加密的完全托管集成,以及您自己管理并使用 AWS Key Management Service (KMS) 进行保护的密钥。而且加密支持不只限于视频文件。我们可以保护缩略图、字幕,甚至是水印。
  • 渐进式下载所需媒体:您可以将媒体内容的原始版本存储在 Amazon S3 中,并对 Amazon CloudFront 下载分配进行配置,实现您的视频和音频文件渐进式下载。常用的媒体文件被缓存到节点上,以便于您进行扩展并为浏览者提供最佳性能。
  • 剪辑生成:您可以从源媒体创建剪辑,方法是指定剪辑的开始时间以及(可选)所需的持续时间。在转码作业中,您可以为每个输出生成不同长度的剪辑(或将整个文件转码)。您只需按转码的输出时长付费,如果您有一个时长为五分钟的输入文件,并从该文件创建了一个时长为一分钟的输出,则只需支付一分钟的转码费用。
  • 剪辑拼接:您可将两个或多个输入剪辑拼接在一起,然后在执行转码作业时,以所需的输出格式制作成一个较长的输出剪辑。为此,您需要在执行转码作业时指定多个输入文件。对于任何输入文件,您都只能通过指定开始时间和时长来选择文件的一部分进行拼接。您需要按输出时长支付转码费用,因此如果您将两个五分钟的输入文件拼接在一起制作成一个十分钟的输出文件,则需要支付十分钟的转码费用。
  • 高级设置:您可以使用高级设置来覆盖默认设置或自动化作业和预置参数。例如,您可能希望强制使用或限制特定的输出帧速率、最大比特率以及循环方式或设置特定的 H.264 或 VP8 配置文件等级。
  • 多区域:Amazon Elastic Transcoder 可在以下八个 AWS 区域使用:美国东部 (弗吉尼亚北部)、美国西部 (俄勒冈)、美国西部 (加利福尼亚北部)、欧洲 (爱尔兰)、亚太地区 (新加坡)、亚太地区 (东京)、亚太地区 (悉尼) 和亚太地区 (孟买)。

自适应流媒体提供更优秀的用户体验,可针对网络状况和 CPU 利用率进行调节,自动切换到更高或更低质量的数据流。Amazon Elastic Transcoder 可以创建一组采用不同分辨率和比特率的分段式输出呈现,以及相应的播放列表或清单文件,全部储存在 Amazon S3 中。Amazon Elastic Transcoder 支持以下做法:

  • HTTP Live Streaming (HLS):您可以使用 Amazon Elastic Transcoder 创建与第 3 版或第 4 版 HLS 协议兼容的完整输出内容集合。HLS 普遍用于触及 iOS 设备、Android 设备、机顶盒和基于浏览器的播放器。然后您可以单独使用 Amazon S3 或搭配使用 Amazon CloudFront 来交付您的媒体内容。
  • Smooth Streaming:您可以使用 Amazon Elastic Transcoder 创建一组分辨率和比特率各不相同的 MP4 输出片段,和相应的 ISM 和 ISMC 清单文件。然后使用 Amazon CloudFront 或 IIS 服务器将媒体文件交付到使用 Smooth Streaming 功能的玩家,例如 Xbox、Windows Phone 以及利用 Microsoft Silverlight 的客户端玩家。
  • MPEG-DASH:您可以使用 Amazon Elastic Transcoder 创建一组分辨率和比特率各不相同的纯视频输出、纯音频输以及和相应的 MPD 清单文件。然后您可以直接使用 Amazon S3 或将其与 Amazon CloudFront 搭配使用,以便传输 MPEG-DASH 流。

 

Amazon Elastic Transcoder 对于每个作业的转码管道的数量、自定义转码预置模板和输出都有几个默认限制。关于这些限制的详细信息,请参考开发人员指南。如果这些限额不足以满足您的需求,请联系我们。我们会在两天内进行评估并给予回复。

本服务遵循 Amazon Web 服务客户协议

Traditionally, transcoding has been complex for customers in three significant ways. First, customers need to buy and manage transcoding software, which can be expensive and challenging to maintain and configure. Second, producing transcoded output for different kinds of devices often involves trial and error to find the right transcoding setting that play properly and look good to the end user. This trial and error process wastes compute resources. Third, traditional encoding solutions don’t scale up and down with customers’ business needs. Instead, with traditional solutions, customers need to guess how much capacity to provision ahead of time, which inevitably means either wasted money (if they provision too much and leave capacity underutilized) or delay to their business (if they provision too little and need to wait to run their encoding jobs).

Get Started with AWS for Free

Create a Free Account
Or Sign In to the Console

Amazon Elastic Transcoder's Free Tier includes up to 20 minutes of transcoding each month.

View AWS Free Tier Details »

With Amazon Elastic Transcoder, developers simply use the web-based console, service API or SDKs to create a transcoding job that specifies an input file, the transcoding settings, and output files. This eliminates these three complexities: First, there is no need to buy, configure or manage underlying transcoding software. Second, Amazon Elastic Transcoder has pre-defined presets for various devices that remove the need to find the right settings for different devices through trial and error. The system also supports custom presets, which let customers tune output to specific transcode requirements such as a unique size or bit rate needs. Finally, Amazon Elastic Transcoder automatically scales up and down to handle customers’ workloads, eliminating wasted capacity and minimizing time spent waiting for jobs to complete. It also enables customers to process multiple files in parallel and organize their transcoding workflow using a feature called transcoding pipelines. With Amazon Elastic Transcoder’s pipelines feature, customers set up pipelines for these various scenarios and ensure that their files are transcoded when and how they want, thus allowing them to seamlessly scale for spiky workloads efficiently. For example, a news organization may want to have a “high priority” transcoding pipeline for breaking news stories, or a User-Generated Content website may want to have separate pipelines for low, medium, and high resolution outputs to target different devices.

Amazon Elastic Transcoder is built using the scalability and flexibility of other Amazon Web Services. It runs your transcoding jobs using the Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2). Amazon EC2’s scale allows you to complete large transcoding jobs quickly and reliably. Amazon Elastic Transcoder is built to work with content you store in Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3), so you have durable and cost effective storage for huge libraries, or small ones. You can even get notified about the status of your transcoding jobs via Amazon Simple Notification Service (Amazon SNS).

Amazon Elastic Transcoder features an AWS Management Console, service API and SDKs so you can integrate transcoding into your own applications and services.

To use Amazon Elastic Transcoder, you:

  • Create a transcoding pipeline that specifies the input Amazon S3 bucket, the output Amazon S3 bucket and storage class, and an AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM) role that is used by the service to access your files.
  • Create a transcoding job by specifying the input file, output files, and transcoding presets to use (you can choose from a set of pre-defined transcoding presets – for example 720p - or create your own custom transcoding preset.) Optionally, you can specify thumbnails and job specific transcoding parameters like frame rate and resolution.

While you have transcoding jobs running on Amazon Elastic Transcoder, you can:

  • Automatically receive status of your transcoding jobs via notifications.
  • Query the status of transcoding jobs.
  • Manage your transcoding jobs by stopping, starting or canceling them.

Amazon Elastic Transcoder offers the following features to make video transcoding easy, scalable and inexpensive.

  • Transcoding pipelines: Transcoding pipelines allow you to setup and run transcoding workflows in parallel. You can use transcoding pipelines as a means to create flexible workflows. For example, you could set up a pipeline for transcoding short content and another for transcoding long content, or you could assign different pipelines for different resolutions or storage locations.
  • Transcoding jobs: Transcoding jobs do the work of transcoding a media file from one format into others. You can use one job to create multiple output files of different bit rates and formats from a single input file. For example, one job could create renditions consisting of different resolutions and bit rates of the same input file. You can also create an audio-only alternate stream, which is frequently used when creating an HLS or MPEG-DASH file set. When you create a job, you specify the information that Amazon Elastic Transcoder needs to perform the transcoding: which file to transcode, what to name the transcoded output files and which presets to use. Transcoding jobs run inside a transcoding pipeline, and transcoding pipelines run more than one job at a time, so you can have many jobs running at once within your AWS account.
  • System transcoding presets: Amazon Elastic Transcoder provides a set of transcoding presets that removes the guesswork out of figuring out the right transcoding settings for different devices. You can choose from presets that will create output that plays on any device, or from presets that target specific devices. For maximum compatibility, choose a “breadth preset” that will create output that plays on a wide range of devices. For optimum quality and file size, choose an “optimized preset” that will create output for a specific device or class of devices.
  • Custom transcoding presets: The transcoding presets that we supply cater to most devices and platforms, but some customers may need to create specific presets for a particular output target. Using custom presets, you can customize an existing transcoding preset and use it across all your pipelines in your AWS account within a region.
  • Automatic video bit rate optimization: With the auto video bit rate setting, Amazon Elastic Transcoder will automatically adjust the bit rate in order to optimize the visual quality of your transcoded output. You can limit the instantaneous bit rate in your output video using the maximum bit rate parameter. This is useful when you need to generate an output file with a limited or capped maximum bit rate, which may be required to meet the playback specifications for certain devices. The result is that you get video files that look great but have better compression than if you had selected a single bit rate for the entire file.
  • Monitoring and Management: You can view the status of your transcoding pipelines and jobs through the AWS Management Console or the Amazon Elastic Transcoder service API or SDKs. You can also monitor, alarm and receive notifications on the operational performance and usage of Amazon Elastic Transcoder using Amazon CloudWatch. Amazon Elastic Transcoder automatically publishes nine operational metrics into Amazon CloudWatch, giving you more visibility into the overall health of your transcoding workflow and the ability to invoke an action if the metric you are tracking crosses a certain threshold for a defined period of time. You can monitor metrics such as jobs completed, jobs that errored out, output minutes generated, standby time, and errors and throttles on various API calls. These metrics appear in CloudWatch within a few minutes of the transcoding job being executed on Elastic Transcoder.
  • Notifications: Amazon Elastic Transcoder uses Amazon Simple Notification Service (SNS) to notify you about transcoding events. You can be notified when your transcoding job starts, when it completes, if there is a warning, and if there is an error condition. Using notifications is an efficient way to monitor and manage your transcoding workload. You just rely on Amazon Elastic Transcoder to notify you of a change, which removes the need for you to poll the service for status.
  • Thumbnails: Amazon Elastic Transcoder can generate thumbnails of your output video for you. You can set the size of the thumbnails, aspect ratio and other parameters including how many thumbnails you would like to have generated. Generating multiple thumbnails is useful if you want to add chapter markers, provide a visual scan function or simply choose the most representative thumbnail for your content.
  • Visual Watermarks: Amazon Elastic Transcoder can overlay up to four still images on your output video. To watermark your output videos, simply provide a file containing a PNG or JPG image and use a transcoding preset to specify position, scale, sizing, and opacity information for the watermark. You can use this feature to add program or other identification logos to your output.
  • Captions: Amazon Elastic Transcoder supports captions. Captioning is the process of displaying text that accompanies the video to transcribe the audio portion of the program or translate the audio into a different language. You can use Elastic Transcoder to add, remove, or preserve captions as you transcode your video from one format to another.
  • Formats: Amazon Elastic Transcoder supports transcoding to the following output formats:

HLS using an MPEG-2 TS container to house H.264 video and AAC or MP3 audio
Smooth Streaming using an fmp4 container to house H.264 video and AAC audio
MPEG-DASH using an fmp4 container to house H.264 video and AAC audio
XDCAM using MXF container using MPEG-2 video and PCM audio
MP4 container with H.264 video and AAC or MP3 audio
WebM container with VP9 video and Vorbis audio
WebM container with VP8 video and Vorbis audio
FLV container with H.264 video and AAC or MP3 audio
MPG container with MPEG-2 video and MP2 audio
MP3 container with MP3 audio
MP4 container with AAC audio
OGG container with Vorbis or FLAC audio
OGA container with FLAC audio
FLAC container with FLAC audio
WAV container with PCM audio
Animated GIF

  • HLS with AES-128 Encryption: You can generate HLS streams protected with AES-128 encryption. Jobs created with this option will encrypt the media files and reference the decryption key in the playlist. You may choose to have Elastic Transcoder write the encryption data keys directly to S3 using SSE-S3, in addition to the job object where they will be protected using your AWS-KMS master key.
  • DRM Packaging: We support packaging for Microsoft PlayReady DRM. You can protect your Smooth Streaming files using Microsoft PlayReady PIFF 1.1, and HLS outputs using the Discretix 3.0.1 for Microsoft PlayReady. When creating your transcoding job, be sure to include the encryption key and license server URL provided by your PlayReady License Provider.
  • Encrypted media files: You can use encrypted mezzanine files as input to Amazon Elastic Transcoder, or protect your transcoded files by letting the service encrypt the output. Supported options range from fully managed integration with Amazon S3's Server-Side Encryption, to keys that you manage on your own and protect using AWS Key Management Service (KMS). Furthermore, encryption support is not limited to your video files. You can protect thumbnails, captions, and even watermarks.
  • Progressive download of on-demand media: You can store the original versions of your media content in Amazon S3 and configure an Amazon CloudFront download distribution for progressive download of your video and audio files. Frequently accessed media files are cached at the edge to help you scale and give your viewers the best possible performance.
  • Clip Generation: You can create a clip from your source media by specifying a start time, and optionally, the desired duration of your clip. You can generate different length clips (or transcode the entire file) for each output in your transcoding job. You will be charged only for the output duration of your transcode, so if you have a five-minute input file and you create a one-minute output from it, you will only be charged for one minute of transcoding.
  • Clip stitching: You can stitch together two or more input clips to create a single longer output clip in the desired output formats as part of the transcode job. To do this, you need to specify more than one input when creating a transcode job. For any of the inputs, you can choose only a sub section of the file to stitch by specifying the start time and the duration. You will be charged for the output duration of your transcode, so if you are stitching two five-minute input files to create a ten-minute output, you will be charged for ten minutes of transcoding.
  • Advanced Settings: You can override defaults or automatic job and preset parameters using advanced settings. For example, you may wish to force or limit a specific output frame rate, maximum bit rate, and rotation or set a specific H.264 or VP8 profile level.
  • Multiple Regions: Amazon Elastic Transcoder is available in eight AWS regions: US East (N. Virginia), US West (Oregon), US West (N. California), EU (Ireland), Asia Pacific (Singapore), Asia Pacific (Tokyo), Asia Pacific (Sydney), and Asia Pacific (Mumbai).

Adaptive streaming offers better user experience by adjusting to network conditions and CPU utilization, automatically switching to higher or lower quality streams. Amazon Elastic Transcoder can create a set of segmented output renditions at different resolutions and bit rates, and a corresponding playlist or manifest file, all stored in Amazon S3. Amazon Elastic Transcoder supports the following implementations:

  • HTTP Live Streaming (HLS): You can use Amazon Elastic Transcoder to create a complete set of outputs compatible with either version 3 or version 4 of the HLS protocol. HLS is commonly used to reach iOS devices, Android devices, set-top boxes and browser-based players. You can then use Amazon S3 alone or in conjunction with Amazon CloudFront to deliver your media files.
  • Smooth Streaming: You can use Amazon Elastic Transcoder to create a set of fragmented MP4 outputs at different resolutions and bit rates, and corresponding ISM and ISMC manifest files. You can then use Amazon CloudFront or an IIS server to deliver your media files to players that implement Smooth Streaming such as Xbox, Windows Phone and clients utilizing Microsoft Silverlight players.
  • MPEG-DASH: You can use Amazon Elastic Transcoder to create a set of video-only outputs at different resolutions and bit rates, the audio-only output, and the corresponding MPD manifest file. You can then use Amazon S3 directly or in conjunction with Amazon CloudFront to deliver MPEG-DASH streams.

 

Amazon Elastic Transcoder has several default limits for the number of transcoding pipelines, custom transcoding presets and outputs per job. For details about these limits, please refer to the developer guide. If these limits are insufficient for your needs, please contact us. We will evaluate and respond to your request within two days.

Your use of this service is subject to the Amazon Web Services Customer Agreement.