常见问题

面向申请者的一般信息

问:AWS 将资助哪些类型的项目?

AWS 将支持企业构建基于云的文化响应解决方案,帮助世界各地无法得到充分服务或未被充分代表的社区推进健康公平性并改善健康结果。其中一些解决方案能增加无法得到充分服务和未被充分代表的人群的参与度,增加卫生和社会服务使用机会,降低健康的社会决定因素的影响,利用数据提升公平且具有包容性的护理系统。

问:哪些是弱势群体、无法获得充分服务的群体和未被充分代表的群体?

长期无法获得优质卫生服务和健康状况不佳的群体,包括但不限于低资源状态群体、受教育程度低的人,女性,孩子,残障人士,种族、民族、性和宗教少数群体,移民,难民,及无家可归人士。

问:什么是文化响应解决方案?

提供有效、公平、可理解、可获得和受尊重的高质量护理和服务的解决方案,积极响应不同的文化健康信念及实践、首选语言、健康素养和其他沟通需求。

问:此计划提供哪些种类的支持?

AWS 承诺在三年内投入最多 4000 万美元资金。此支持采用 AWS 服务抵扣金和 AWS 技术专业知识结合的方式,协助申请者挖掘出云的全部潜能以克服这项挑战。

问:此计划是否提供现金支持?

不提供,此计划不提供现金支持。

问:谁可以申请?

该计划对经认证的研究机构、研究联合会、非营利组织以及目前或未来将成为 AWS 客户的私人实体开放。个人必须以所在企业而非个人名义提交申请。AWS 合作伙伴网络 (APN) 成员也符合申请条件。

问:政府实体可以参加此计划吗?

我们欢迎政府实体申请,而且如果被选中,我们将需要得到他们的确认,以证明适用法律、法规或具有约束力的命令(包括适用的道德或采购规定)未禁止或限制其参加此计划。

问:我目前必须是 AWS 客户才能申请吗?

不,在提交申请时不需要是 AWS 客户。若被接受加入计划,申请者将需要创建一个 AWS 账户,因为该计划的权益包括 AWS 服务抵扣金和 AWS 技术专业知识。  

问:这是否是一项全球计划?

是的,我们鼓励世界各地的研究人员和企业提交申请。

问:我可以为待处理或即将提出的提案申请 (RFP) 申请 AWS 服务抵扣金吗?

不可以,项目不得与任何待处理或即将提出的 RFP 有关。

申请准备与审核

问:AWS 在决定谁将获得支持时将考虑哪些因素?

我们将基于多项因素批准申请,例如:是否符合三个计划领域当中的一个;申请如何清楚地阐释该项目将以何种方式为无法得到充分服务或被充分代表的社区推进健康公平性;您与这些社区的互动程度;您提议的项目所处的阶段/成熟程度;是否有可能通过共享管道或软件来散布结果和数据;项目范围内的 AWS 服务的适用性;2-3 个定义明确的里程碑;以及项目持续时间/时间表(最长 12 个月)。成功的申请还将包括以下一个或多个领域内的基准数据、衡量指标和清晰的影响力成果:1) 多少无法获得充分服务或被充分代表的个人有更多使用卫生服务的机会;2) 减少的健康社会决定因素的程度或百分比;或 3) 被用于提升公平且具有包容性的护理系统的数据类型和数量。

AWS 对任何 AWS 服务抵扣金或技术专业知识的提供拥有完全酌情决定权。请注意,此计划的目的为,支持在 AWS 上部署应用程序以解决三个计划类别的问题。此计划不支持在 AWS 上运行例行 IT 操作的管理工作负载。

问:AWS 技术专家提供什么类型的支持?

AWS 专业服务 (ProServe) 是一支全球性的专家团队,可为您的团队提供专业技能和经验补充,以帮助您在 AWS 上达成项目成果。ProServe 通过一系列产品来帮助您实现与企业云采用有关的特定成果。他们通过涵盖多种解决方案、技术和行业的全球专业实践来提供有重点的指导。专业实践涵盖解决方案、技术和行业主题领域的各种最佳实践、框架、工具和服务,可以为您提供有针对性的指导。其精深的专业知识将帮助您利用 AWS 云提供的优势。所有 ProServe 的参与将需要得到进一步批准并且就工作陈述进行协商。   

问:哪些服务符合使用 AWS 服务抵扣金的条件?

符合条件的 AWS 服务类别包括 AWS 计算、存储、数据库、机器学习 (ML)、人工智能 (AI)、分析、容器、机器人、量子服务,等等。您可以访问 https://aws.amazon.com/ 以探索这些 AWS 服务和产品。有些服务不符合条件,请见 AWS 服务抵扣金条款与条件以了解更多详细信息。

问:是否需要具有机构或企业提供的电子邮件地址?

申请者需要提供其官方机构签发的电子邮件地址或公司提供的正式电子邮件地址,以加快验证和决策过程。

问:接收与使用 AWS 服务抵扣金要遵守哪些条款与条件?

请参阅 AWS 服务抵扣金条款与条件以了解详细信息。

问:提案提交和判定的最后期限是什么?

我们每年会在三个不同日期对提案进行审核:3 月 31 日、6 月 30 日和 11 月 15 日。在这些日期当天或之前提交的申请将被视为在该审核周期之内。我们将在每个申请审核日期后的大约 60 个工作日内通过电子邮件将决定告知个人申请者。例如,如果您在 11 月 15 日当天或之前申请,我们将在 11 月 15 日后的大约 60 个工作日内发送申请状态通知。 请注意:我们将使用 aws-hei@amazon.com 发送决定通知,它们有时会被视为垃圾邮件。请启用您的垃圾邮件过滤器以允许来自此地址的电子邮件。

问:通知流程如何运作?

申请者将在确认接收的 48 个小时内收到一封确认电子邮件。我们每年会在三个不同日期对申请进行审核:3 月 31 日、6 月 30 日和 11 月 15 日。我们将在每个申请审核日期后的大约 60 个工作日之内发送关于您的申请状态的通知。例如,如果您在 11 月 15 日当天或之前申请,我们将在 11 月 15 日后的大约 60 个工作日内发送申请状态通知。若在 60 个工作日后未收到通知,请发送电子邮件至 aws-hei@amazon.com 以联系我们,我们将尽快提供临时状态更新。

问:如果我的申请没有获得批准,你们是否会告知原因?

很抱歉,由于申请数量过多,我们无法详细向每个人解释原因。

问:如果我的项目未得到 AWS 的批准,是否可以再次申请?

是的。您可以再次申请,但请确保新的申请包含经过修改或更多信息,而不是单纯地再次提交原来的提案。

问:如果我被选为计划的接收者,你们会自动对我的 AWS 账户应用 AWS 服务抵扣金和技术专业知识吗?

若您的申请获得批准,在可以收到任何 AWS 服务抵扣金或技术专业知识前,您将需要签署一份《服务抵扣金协议》。它将概述提议的项目描述和里程碑、AWS 服务抵扣金奖励金额、报告的计划安排、参与此计划所要履行的义务,以及允许 AWS 使用您的姓名和徽标来确定您的计划参与者身份的公告。您还需要向我们提供一个有效的 AWS 账户 ID。此账户必须与机构或公司电子邮件地址相关联,而且必须禁用账户共享。任何技术专业知识将需要得到进一步批准并且可能要就工作陈述进行协商。AWS 对任何 AWS 服务抵扣金和/或技术专业知识的提供拥有完全酌情决定权。

问:为什么我收到的 AWS 服务抵扣金的金额低于我的申请,或者所获得的技术专业知识的级别与我的申请不同?

我们可能出于多种原因而选择发放较少 AWS 服务抵扣金或调整技术专业知识的级别,包括鼓励采用 Spot 实例的不同成本模型,或为规模较小的新项目初始概念验证部分提供支持。

向 AWS 了解信息

问:如何了解 AWS 对我的研究项目工作的支持(例如在出版物或网站中)?

请在任何出版物或网站中向 AWS 了解信息。请查阅 AWS 商标指南AWS 合作营销工具页获取指导。 

AWS 服务抵扣金与账单

问:该计划是否针对 AWS 服务费用提供定价折扣?

不是。AWS 的所有定价都是公开的,并适用于所有客户群。有关我们的服务定价和定价原则的更多信息,请参阅 AWS 定价页。


问:AWS 服务抵扣金有多长时间有效期?

我们发放的 AWS 服务抵扣金将在其被兑换到 AWS 账户的 12 个月以后过期。若要申请超过此期限的到期日期,我们将按具体情况做出决定。AWS 服务抵扣金根据 AWS 服务抵扣金条款与条件提供给申请者。

问:如果我的 AWS 服务抵扣金过期,将会发生什么?

在 AWS 服务抵扣金过期或您用完全部金额以后,我们将按 AWS 账户上提供的计费方式对账户的任何后续使用 AWS 服务收取费用。

问:AWS 服务抵扣金的接收者是否必须使用 AWS 账户和信用卡?

是的。作为新的 AWS 客户,您将需要提供有效信用卡来激活 AWS 账户和兑换任何 AWS 服务抵扣金。根据 AWS 服务抵扣金条款与条件,我们不会就符合条件的服务从您的信用卡扣费,除非相关服务的使用费用超过可用的 AWS 服务抵扣金。请注意,有些服务不能使用 AWS 服务抵扣金,如果您使用任何此类服务,则会产生账单。

Frequently Asked Questions

General information for applicants

Q: What types of projects will AWS fund?

AWS will support organizations who are building cloud-based solutions that advance health equity to support underserved or underrepresented communities around the world. These include solutions to increase access to health and social services, reduce the impact of social determinants of health, and leverage data to promote equitable and inclusive systems of care.  

Q: What kind of support is available via this program?

AWS is committing up to $40 million over three years. This support is a combination of AWS Promotional Credit and AWS technical expertise to assist applicants in harnessing the full potential of the cloud to tackle this challenge.

Q: Is cash support available through this program?

No, cash support is not part of this program.

Q: Who can apply?

The program is open to accredited research institutions, research consortia, nonprofits, and private entities that are current or future AWS customers. Individuals who submit an application must apply on behalf of their organization and not in their personal capacity. AWS Partner Network (APN) members are also eligible to apply.

Q: Are government entities allowed to participate in this program?

We welcome applications from government entities and, if selected, will require confirmation from them that their participation is not prohibited or restricted by applicable laws, regulations or binding orders, including applicable ethics or procurement rules.

Q: Do I currently have to be an AWS customer to apply?

No, not at the time of application submission. Applicants will need to create an AWS account if you are accepted into the program because the program benefits include AWS Promotional Credit and AWS technical expertise.  

Q: Is this a global program?

Yes, we encourage applications from researchers and organizations around the world.

Q: Can I request AWS Promotional Credit for a pending or upcoming request for proposal (RFP)?

No, projects cannot be related to any pending or upcoming RFPs.

Application preparation and review

Q: What factors will AWS consider in determining who receives support?

We will approve applications based on factors such as: alignment with one of the three program areas; how clearly the application articulates how the project is advancing health equity for underserved or underrepresented communities; the extent you are engaging with these communities; the stage/maturity of your proposed project; potential to disseminate the results and data through sharing a pipeline or software; applicability of AWS services within the project scope; 2-3 succinctly defined milestones; and project duration/timeline (maximum of 12 months). Successful applications will also include baseline data, measurement metrics, and clear impact outcomes in one or more of the following areas: 1) how many underserved or underrepresented individuals with improved access to health services; 2) degree or percentage to which a social determinant of health is reduced; or 3) type or amount of data to be leveraged to promote equitable and inclusive systems of care. 

Any AWS Promotional Credit or technical expertise are awarded at AWS's sole discretion. Please note that the intent of this program is to support applications deployed on AWS that address the three program categories. This program does not support administrative workloads to run routine IT operations on AWS.

Q: What type of support is provided by AWS technical experts?

AWS Professional Services (ProServe) is a global team of experts that can supplement your team with specialized skills and experience to help you achieve the results of your project on AWS. ProServe provides assistance through a collection of offerings that help you achieve specific outcomes related to enterprise cloud adoption. They deliver focused guidance through global specialty practices, which cover a variety of solutions, technologies, and industries. Specialty practices deliver targeted guidance through best practices, frameworks, tools, and services across solution, technology, and industry subject areas. Their deep expertise will help you take advantage of the benefits available with the AWS Cloud. All ProServe engagements will be subject to further approvals and negotiation of a statement of work.   

Q: What services are eligible for AWS Promotional Credit?

Eligible AWS service categories include AWS compute, storage, database, machine learning (ML), artificial intelligence (AI), analytics, containers, robotics, quantum services, and more. You can explore AWS services and products at https://aws.amazon.com/. There are some services that are not eligible, see AWS Promotional Credit Terms and Conditions for more details.

Q: Is an institution-provided or organization-provided email address required?

Applicants are required to provide their official institution-issued email address or official company-provided email address to expedite the verification and decision process.

Q: What are the Terms and Conditions for accepting and using AWS Promotional Credit?

Please refer to the AWS Promotional Credit Terms and Conditions for details.

Q: What are the timelines for proposal submissions and decisions?

Proposal are reviewed three times a year: March 31, June 30, and November 15. Submit your application on or before each date to be considered for that review cycle. We will communicate decisions via email to individual applicants within approximately 45 business days after each application review date. For example, if you apply on or before November 15, we will send application status notifications approximately 45 business days after November 15. Note that decisions are sent from aws-hei@amazon.com and are sometimes routed to spam. Please enable your spam filter to allow incoming emails from this address.

Q: How does the notification process work?

Applicants will receive an acknowledgement email within 48 hours confirming receipt. Applications are reviewed three times a year: March 31, June 30, November 15. We will send a notification of your application status approximately 45 business days after each application review date. For example, if you apply on or before November 15, we will send application status notifications approximately 45 business days after November 15. In the event 45 business days have passed without a notification, please contact us at aws-hei@amazon.com, and we will provide an interim status update as soon as possible. 

Q: Will you provide a reason if my request is not approved?

Unfortunately, due to the number of applications, we are unable to provide detailed reasons on an individual basis.

Q: May I apply again if AWS does not approve my project?

Yes. You may reapply, but please make sure that new applications contain revised or additional information and are not simply a re-submission of the original proposal.

Q: If I’m selected as a program recipient, will you automatically apply AWS Promotional Credit and technical expertise to my AWS account?

If your application is approved, before you can receive any AWS Promotional Credit or technical expertise, you will need to sign a Credit Agreement. This will outline the proposed project description and milestones, AWS Promotional Credit award amount, reporting schedule, your obligations related to participation in this program, and a publicity release allowing AWS to use your name and logo to identify you as a program participant. You will also be required to provide us with a valid AWS account ID. This account must be linked to an institution or company email address and account sharing must be disabled. Any technical expertise will be subject to further approvals and may require negotiation of a statement of work. AWS’s provision of any AWS Promotional Credit and/or technical expertise is at AWS's sole discretion.

Q: Why did I receive a lower amount of AWS Promotional Credit or a different level of technical expertise than I requested?

We may choose to award less AWS Promotional Credit or adjusted technical expertise levels for a number of reasons, including encouraging a different cost model leveraging Spot Instances or providing support for a smaller, initial proof of concept portion of a new project.

Acknowledging AWS

Q: How do I acknowledge AWS support for my research project work (e.g., in publications or website)?

Please acknowledge AWS in any publications or websites. Please review the AWS Trademark Guidelines and AWS Co-Marketing Tools pages for guidance. 

AWS Promotional Credit and billing

Q: Is the program a pricing discount on AWS service costs?

No. All AWS pricing is public, and applies to all customer segments. For more details on our services pricing and our pricing philosophy, please refer to the AWS pricing page.


Q: How long is AWS Promotional Credit valid?

We will issue AWS Credit with an expiration date of 12 months from when it is redeemed into the AWS account. Requests for expiration dates beyond this period will be considered on a case-by-case basis. AWS Promotional Credit is provided to applicants under the AWS Promotional Credit Terms and Conditions.

Q: What happens when my AWS Promotional Credit expires?

We will charge any subsequent AWS services usage on the account after AWS Promotional Credit expires or you fully use the amount, to the billing method provided on the AWS account.

Q: Do AWS Promotional Credit recipients have to use an AWS account and credit card?

Yes. For new AWS customers, you will need to provide a valid credit card to activate an AWS account and redeem any AWS Promotional Credit. Subject to the AWS Promotional Credit Terms and Conditions, your credit card will not be charged fees for eligible services until you incur fees for eligible services that exceed available AWS Promotional Credit. Please be aware that some services are not eligible for AWS Promotional Credit, and you will be billed for any use of these services.