Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

WordPress Certified by Bitnami and Automattic

Bitnami, the leaders in application packaging, and Automattic, the experts behind WordPress, have teamed up to offer this official WordPress image on AWS Marketplace. WordPress is the world's most popular content management platform. Whether it's for an enterprise or small business website, or a personal... See more

Customer Reviews

110
Create Your Own Review

Easy - Ive been using wordpress for 7 years!

  • By Good
  • on 05/13/2019

No idea what peoples issues are. Easy to set up and easy to use. Perfect for inexperienced users. Was all up and running for FREE in 10 mins


As all people said, zero control

  • By d8vjork
  • on 03/26/2019

No control, no clear and updated documentation, painful to configure, need to check a lot of things... Better Docker + Wordpress, Plesk + multiple Wordpress sites or even LAMP with Wordpress


Terrible Not user Friendly at all

  • By Online Expert
  • on 03/26/2019

Terrible Not user Friendly at all, can not setup anything of make any use of this at all... Pointless to even download it


Easier to do it yourself than configure this

  • By Ahoy
  • on 03/06/2019

Wanting to use this as a quick way to spin up a varnish cached instance but this is defiantly not the solution.

Between outdated, incorrect or just non-existent documentation it's faster to just do it manually. Then you get the added benefit of knowing just what is going on with your stack.


After trying to add elastic ip now my public DNS won't load...

  • By rtUT
  • on 01/31/2019

After trying to add elastic ip now my public DNS won't load...I tried everything fro adding a http port. I tried digging around the web


File permission FTP wordpress plugins problem

  • By marc
  • on 01/15/2019

You face file permission problem with wordpress and it's plugins. Some of them can't create folders and files. You can't change style (css).

I think bitnami should provide ftp in the image so that we can use it when installing / updating plugins.


Awesome

  • By HaliX
  • on 12/15/2018

it's easy to launch wordpress in AWS , but after some time i can't get the wp-admin password in the SYSTEM LOG , even it's better and fantastic one for small business people.


Zero control of anything

  • By Jim
  • on 07/17/2018

I already have an EC2 instance I wanted to install this on but the setup process restricts installation to a new instance and no control over which directory or even type of server such as Ubuntu. This software is only for newbies with close to zero knowledge of the server side. You'll get what they give you.


Works well on free tier.

  • By Nicholas Weiner
  • on 07/16/2018

I've been using this image on my EC2 instance for a month, and so far I have to say it has run flawlessly.


Canned App 101 - Part II

  • By QuickRedFox
  • on 06/10/2018

We should have known after JD's review, but we just had to try for the heck of it. We used the Bitnami stack before for Redmine, and that is one stack they get right!

But this stack is a train wreck, and to think nubies just flip the switch and this thing is going to work is a joke. Even for advanced users, you have to configure the AWS SG to SSH. PHP 7.0 is end of life :/ and don't reboot or stop/start or you'll have to start all over. As we had to a few times.

Yet there is a bright side. We discovered aMi STACX on AWS MP with their WordPress stack.

Literally, just like the product video, we were up and running in less than 5 minutes. No joke! Everything just worked and performance was fantastic. Even phpmyadmin worked and the port was even configured to use HTTPS.

I guess in the end Bitnami saved us a lot of time, as we found an alternative that just worked as we expected. Bitnami works if you have time to hack at, or you are very experienced with Bitnami, or you just need a free solution to play with.