Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

WordPress Certified by Bitnami and Automattic

Bitnami | 5.3.2-3 on Ubuntu 16.04

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 16.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

116 AWS reviews

    Chips

Works, but disappointing

  • January 21, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

It works. But the nonstandard directory structure makes it hard to manage, even for someone with extensive linux command line and mysql experience. The documentation just isn't up to snuff, and leaves a lot to be desired. It is very out of date. Relatively simple tasks, such as restoring a back from one of the many standard plugins, won't work, or is ridiculously hard, because their non standard directory and database setup cannot be handled. Upgrades are ugly. I went with this because of the certified by automatic. But now, after using it for 6 different sites over 3 years, I can say I regret it. And I will be using something else going forward. And migrating when I can.


    okbutfrustrated

How to recover MySQL root?

  • January 14, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Seems can't. Product seems to work solidly, but we inherited this from people who are no longer around. And now we need to reset things.

Followed Bitnami's directions

/opt/bitnami/mysql/bin/mysqld_safe --pid-file=/opt/bitnami/mysql/data/mysqld.pid --datadir=/opt/bitnami/mysql/data --init-file=/root/mysql_cmds --lower_case_table_names=1 2> /dev/null &

But not working

# mysql -u root -p
Enter password:
ERROR 1045 (28000): Access denied for user 'root'@'localhost' (using password: YES)


    vinod

Easy to setup and manage

  • September 04, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I wanted to create my son's blog on WP and was looking around for a good WP server. I saw this one around 10 months ago in marketplace and decided to give it a try. The instructions are very clear and it is very easy to setup. Configuring SSL, CloudFormation, elastic ip, securing the website is so easy. The website is up and running successfully now and I regularly do a system update. The only downside is that it runs on Ubuntu 16.04 and I prefer the latest version. That is why I have given 4 stars instead of 5


    Prasadh

Easy to Setup - Much Appreciated

  • June 08, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I followed the Instructions on Amazon Documentation & I was able to Setup a new WP Site without any problems and withing 5 minutes my basic WordPress Installation was done and I was able to access the WP Site via Public IP.


    Orion

I guess it works

  • June 07, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

It does work, but nothing is installed in the usual directories, it's slow, it's bloated. And it's very difficult to upgrade, for example, you can't upgrade PHP without creating an entire new installation.


    BET

Easy to setup and use

  • May 28, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

This was a piece of cake to get going. Created a cloudformation script to spin up the EC2 with this AMI and then installed Updraft to make daily backups to S3. When a new AMI is available, I simply modify the cloudformation script, create a new environment and restore the backup and I'm good to go.

We only use WordPress for "brochure-ware" so as long as it renders our site we are happy. Perhaps if we used WordPress for more significant use cases we would discover the limitations others seem to find with this but it works well for us.

1 person found this helpful

    Good

Easy - Ive been using wordpress for 7 years!

  • May 13, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

No idea what peoples issues are. Easy to set up and easy to use. Perfect for inexperienced users. Was all up and running for FREE in 10 mins


    d8vjork

As all people said, zero control

  • March 26, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

No control, no clear and updated documentation, painful to configure, need to check a lot of things... Better Docker + Wordpress, Plesk + multiple Wordpress sites or even LAMP with Wordpress


    Online Expert

Terrible Not user Friendly at all

  • March 26, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Terrible Not user Friendly at all, can not setup anything of make any use of this at all... Pointless to even download it


    Ahoy

Easier to do it yourself than configure this

  • March 06, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Wanting to use this as a quick way to spin up a varnish cached instance but this is defiantly not the solution.

Between outdated, incorrect or just non-existent documentation it's faster to just do it manually. Then you get the added benefit of knowing just what is going on with your stack.