WordPress Certified by Bitnami and Automattic

Bitnami, the leaders in application packaging, and Automattic, the experts behind WordPress, have teamed up to offer this official WordPress image on AWS Marketplace. WordPress... See more

Customer Reviews

105
Create Your Own Review

File permission FTP wordpress plugins problem

  • By marc
  • on 01/15/2019

You face file permission problem with wordpress and it's plugins. Some of them can't create folders and files. You can't change style (css).

I think bitnami should provide ftp in the image so that we can use it when installing / updating plugins.


Awesome

  • By HaliX
  • on 12/15/2018

it's easy to launch wordpress in AWS , but after some time i can't get the wp-admin password in the SYSTEM LOG , even it's better and fantastic one for small business people.


Zero control of anything

  • By Jim
  • on 07/17/2018

I already have an EC2 instance I wanted to install this on but the setup process restricts installation to a new instance and no control over which directory or even type of server such as Ubuntu. This software is only for newbies with close to zero knowledge of the server side. You'll get what they give you.


Works well on free tier.

  • By Nicholas Weiner
  • on 07/16/2018

I've been using this image on my EC2 instance for a month, and so far I have to say it has run flawlessly.


Canned App 101 - Part II

  • By QuickRedFox
  • on 06/10/2018

We should have known after JD's review, but we just had to try for the heck of it. We used the Bitnami stack before for Redmine, and that is one stack they get right!

But this stack is a train wreck, and to think nubies just flip the switch and this thing is going to work is a joke. Even for advanced users, you have to configure the AWS SG to SSH. PHP 7.0 is end of life :/ and don't reboot or stop/start or you'll have to start all over. As we had to a few times.

Yet there is a bright side. We discovered aMi STACX on AWS MP with their WordPress stack.

Literally, just like the product video, we were up and running in less than 5 minutes. No joke! Everything just worked and performance was fantastic. Even phpmyadmin worked and the port was even configured to use HTTPS.

I guess in the end Bitnami saved us a lot of time, as we found an alternative that just worked as we expected. Bitnami works if you have time to hack at, or you are very experienced with Bitnami, or you just need a free solution to play with.


Works Great

  • By Michael
  • on 04/23/2018

Easy to setup and manage. Use this image for all my sites.
Only thing you need to know if the password is stored in the log file during creation and you need to store this password, or setup another user account with a password you can remember. ssh and ftp access easy as well. Thank you Bitnami!


Bitnami fails at Canned App 101

  • By John D
  • on 03/21/2018

Okay, Wordpress should be the #1 easiest LAMP app to show off how great your cloud platform is, and this is garbage. Stick to something modern and well-done with containers. Bitnami dropped the ball, and can't recover from poor execution. If you can't even get Wordpress right, you've failed as a company, and this should be their best foot forward. You'd be much better off to either go fully-hosted with a site like Wordpress itself, Bluehost, etc., or rolling your own on an ec2 instance. I'd like to think that there's something in between, but probably not. Digital Ocean's WP instances might be somewhere in the middle - e.g. the sweet spot that Bitnami is totally missing. I think they spend too much time with builds for 50,000 platforms, and not enough making this stuff usable.


Not quite easy as it seems, once you dig in

  • By Sweet Cornnuts
  • on 01/08/2018

The install is straight forward, and as easy as can be.

That's when the dream stops and the nightmares begin. For example, if you need to find the password, there is an easy way to do it, as in every case -
once you know how! - the password is logged once, and needs to be gotten to at first install. If for any other reason, you reboot the instance before getting the password - the pw is literally lost forever(in AWS). Again, there is an another way, but that means diggin in, and rolling in the mud when it's snowing out, and freezing. In other words - not pretty!

Another example - if you need to change the WP site URL, which is a matter of 10 seconds in every other install, it's a fairly complicated rigmarole here. I mean the wp-config.php file can only gotten to after being proficient in linux..or shooting commands suggested by strangers..so you are literally hitting 'enter' not knowing if this is going to destroy your instance or fix it like they said.

As I said, It's a fair bit of work, after the install. Be prepared. 1 star all the way - Bitnami does not keep it's promise. If the wp-config file is accessible, maybe I'll change my mind coming back - this is part of a normal install and every living human being trying their hand at WP needs to change URL. Or your Wordpress site WILL GO DOWN AFTER A FEW DAYS - because AWS feels like they need to swap IPs...and the circle jerk continues! I'm out, screw BItnami


Annoying

  • By Andiamo
  • on 01/07/2018

I could already access the instance from the IP, I had to generate the elastic IP but I do not know why the instance does not show IPv4 Public DNS, besides I do not know why I can not install an Elastic Load Balancer


Easy installation

  • By wp user
  • on 01/06/2018

Was able to launch new a Wordpress EC2 instance in just a few steps, using the easy to follow instructions. Great AMI and documentation.