Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

WordPress Certified by Bitnami and Automattic

Bitnami | 5.4.2-0 on Debian 10

Linux/Unix, Debian 10 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

119 AWS reviews

    Alex

Everything worked, documentation needs work, but support was fast

  • June 08, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

This was my first time setting up a wordpress site on AWS and "WordPress Certified by Bitnami and Automattic" solved all the problems I had. The documentation leaves a little bit to be desired, but the support team were fast to respond and helped me resolve all issues.


    Ankit

Best And Help Full CMS Worpress

  • May 23, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Bitnami is best for beginners helpful and great news version is awesome sir I use Bitnami THIS IS USEFULL FOR ME AND ALL BLOGGER NEW


    Wordpress_GuestUser

Easy to setup

  • May 04, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I am new to aws and wordpress and have done default installation of this image and it is very easy to setup. All works good, I'm just curious that the pricing for this AMI just shows the EC2 calculation. What about the RDS (MySQL) associated with the default installation? Does Bitnami AMI has a MySQL installed on same AMI? If yes then how the pricing of it works? Any information on same will be appreciated.
Thanks


    Chips

Works, but disappointing

  • January 21, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

It works. But the nonstandard directory structure makes it hard to manage, even for someone with extensive linux command line and mysql experience. The documentation just isn't up to snuff, and leaves a lot to be desired. It is very out of date. Relatively simple tasks, such as restoring a back from one of the many standard plugins, won't work, or is ridiculously hard, because their non standard directory and database setup cannot be handled. Upgrades are ugly. I went with this because of the certified by automatic. But now, after using it for 6 different sites over 3 years, I can say I regret it. And I will be using something else going forward. And migrating when I can.


    okbutfrustrated

How to recover MySQL root?

  • January 14, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Seems can't. Product seems to work solidly, but we inherited this from people who are no longer around. And now we need to reset things.

Followed Bitnami's directions

/opt/bitnami/mysql/bin/mysqld_safe --pid-file=/opt/bitnami/mysql/data/mysqld.pid --datadir=/opt/bitnami/mysql/data --init-file=/root/mysql_cmds --lower_case_table_names=1 2> /dev/null &

But not working

# mysql -u root -p
Enter password:
ERROR 1045 (28000): Access denied for user 'root'@'localhost' (using password: YES)


    vinod

Easy to setup and manage

  • September 04, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I wanted to create my son's blog on WP and was looking around for a good WP server. I saw this one around 10 months ago in marketplace and decided to give it a try. The instructions are very clear and it is very easy to setup. Configuring SSL, CloudFormation, elastic ip, securing the website is so easy. The website is up and running successfully now and I regularly do a system update. The only downside is that it runs on Ubuntu 16.04 and I prefer the latest version. That is why I have given 4 stars instead of 5


    Prasadh

Easy to Setup - Much Appreciated

  • June 08, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I followed the Instructions on Amazon Documentation & I was able to Setup a new WP Site without any problems and withing 5 minutes my basic WordPress Installation was done and I was able to access the WP Site via Public IP.


    Orion

I guess it works

  • June 07, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

It does work, but nothing is installed in the usual directories, it's slow, it's bloated. And it's very difficult to upgrade, for example, you can't upgrade PHP without creating an entire new installation.


    BET

Easy to setup and use

  • May 28, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

This was a piece of cake to get going. Created a cloudformation script to spin up the EC2 with this AMI and then installed Updraft to make daily backups to S3. When a new AMI is available, I simply modify the cloudformation script, create a new environment and restore the backup and I'm good to go.

We only use WordPress for "brochure-ware" so as long as it renders our site we are happy. Perhaps if we used WordPress for more significant use cases we would discover the limitations others seem to find with this but it works well for us.

1 person found this helpful

    Good

Easy - Ive been using wordpress for 7 years!

  • May 13, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

No idea what peoples issues are. Easy to set up and easy to use. Perfect for inexperienced users. Was all up and running for FREE in 10 mins