ALDOGroup_Logo@2x.png

ALDO 使用 AWS AppSync 改善鞋类客户的购物体验

2020 年

每天有超过 50000 名鞋类购物者走进北美和英国的 ALDO 门店。当他们要求试穿特定的鞋款或尺码时,店员会使用移动应用程序将请求快速发送给后台员工。该员工将通过手机接收请求,查看更新的库存清单,检索特定鞋款,然后通常在不到一分钟的时间内将其交给顾客。如果该鞋款没有库存,则应用程序会为顾客推荐其他选择。

但是,移动应用程序的 API 和数据库层使用了不同的技术,并且系统中断有时会导致应用程序停机并令顾客感到沮丧。“我们收到客户试穿鞋子的请求,随后应用程序冻结,因为其中一个 API 未响应。”ALDO Group 软件开发总监 Kapies Vallipuram 表示。“这意味着顾客需要长时间等待才能试上鞋子,在某些情况下,顾客会转身离开。由于我们有多个 API,我们不知道哪个 API 出现了故障,因此需要花一些时间在门店内修复该应用程序。我们必须解决这个问题,因为这会导致失去销售机会。”

Customer-References-industry-Retail
CustomerReferences_QuoteMark

对于今天的消费者来说,时间是如此宝贵。如果他们选择给我们时间,我们需要确保提供最佳的体验。我们可以使用 AWS 做到这一点。”

Kapies Vallipuram,
ALDO Group 软件开发总监

使用 AWS AppSync 简化开发

为了应对挑战,ALDO 已将其先前的移动开发平台迁移到 Amazon Web Services (AWS)。“AWS 是云领导者。为了在零售领域占据优势,我们认为需要选择在云技术领域最具优势的公司。”Vallipuram 表示。

ALDO 开发团队使用 AWS AppSync,该服务通过允许创建灵活的 API 来简化应用程序开发,以便安全地访问和组合来自多个源的数据。AWS AppSync 依靠 API 查询语言 GraphQL 来简化应用程序获取所需数据的过程。“我们需要为移动店内应用程序提供实时功能,而 AWS AppSync 实现了这一点。”Vallipuram 表示。AWS AppSync 还可与 AWS CloudFormation 无缝协作,ALDO 开发人员可以使用后者通过模板自动部署新功能。

通过使用 AWS AppSync,ALDO 快速创建了 GraphQL API 层并标准化了数据架构,以供店内移动应用程序和其他新开发的应用程序使用。

为鞋类购物者提供更好的店内体验

在 AWS 上运行,ALDO 移动应用程序现在具有更强的性能,没有中断,并且有一个实时工作流,允许顾客和店员即时交流试穿请求。“毫无疑问,得益于 AWS AppSync,我们的移动应用程序更加可靠,这对于我们的业务至关重要。”Vallipuram 表示。

现在,ALDO 客户不再需要等待检查库存和从仓库中检索某个鞋款。“对于今天的消费者来说,时间是如此宝贵。如果他们选择给我们时间,我们需要确保提供最佳的体验。我们可以使用 AWS 做到这一点。”Vallipuram 表示。

新应用程序的交付时间缩短一半

GraphQL API 层为 ALDO 开发人员提供了更加无缝的开发体验。“GraphQL 将所有内容集成到单个访问点中,因此我们不必集成用于将数据从后端推送到客户端的服务。”Vallipuram 表示。“因此,我们可以将更多精力放在实施功能上,而不是放在管理系统和监控工作上。AWS AppSync 为我们带来了更高的速度,这正是我们交付高质量代码和新功能所需要的。”

通过利用 AppSync 的功能,ALDO 开发人员可以比以往更快地构建应用程序。“通过使用 AWS AppSync,我们的产品上市速度明显加快。我们可以在不到三个月的时间内创建新应用程序,而不是以前使用多个 API 所需的 6-12 个月。”Vallipuram 表示。例如,开发人员构建并部署了移动应用程序增强功能(可向其他门店发起库存请求)和新应用程序,这些应用程序可管理整个 ALDO 供应链中来自不同仓库的库存控制。ALDO 开发人员最近还为店员推出了移动应用程序,使在线购物者在本地 ALDO 门店提货的效率更高。.“如果没有 AWS AppSync,我们将无法尽快构建这些新应用程序。”Vallipuram 表示。“现在,我们的整个流程变得更加精简了。”

由于通过 AWS AppSync 取得了成功,ALDO 现在正在将其他工作负载迁移到 AWS 云。“目前,我们正在将面向客户的网站、电子商务系统和数据库迁移到 AWS。”Vallipuram 表示。“AWS 为我们提供了推动业务发展所需的可靠性和可扩展性。”

要了解更多信息,请访问 aws.amazon.com/appsync


关于 ALDO Group

ALDO Group 是一家加拿大零售商,拥有并经营着全球性的鞋类和附属品连锁店。该公司目前在 100 多个国家/地区拥有 3000 家门店。

AWS 的优势

  • 消除应用程序中断,以便为购物者创造更好的店内体验
  • 在 3 个月内而不是 6–12 个月内开发和部署新应用程序
  • 将实时数据功能集成到移动应用程序中

使用的 AWS 服务

AWS AppSync

AWS AppSync 使您可以创建一个灵活的 API 来安全地访问、操作和组合来自一个或多个数据源的数据,从而简化应用程序开发。AppSync 是一项使用 GraphQL 的托管服务,可让应用程序轻松获得所需数据。

了解更多 »

AWS Cloud​Formation

AWS CloudFormation 为您提供了一种通用语言,用于对您的云环境中的 AWS 和第三方应用程序资源进行建模和预配置。AWS CloudFormation 使您可以跨所有区域和账户,使用编程语言或简单的文本文件以自动化的安全方式,为您的应用程序需要的所有资源建模并进行预置。这为您提供了 AWS 和第三方资源的单一数据源。

了解更多 »


开始使用

不同行业和规模的公司都在使用 AWS,将其日常业务运营进行转型。联系我们的专家,立即踏上您的 AWS 云之旅。

ALDOGroup_Logo@2x.png

ALDO Uses AWS AppSync to Improve Shopping Experience of Footwear Customers

2020

More than 50,000 footwear shoppers walk into ALDO stores across North America and the UK every day. When they ask to try on a specific shoe model or size, a store associate uses a mobile app to quickly send a request to a backroom employee. That employee receives the request on a mobile phone, views an updated stock list, and retrieves the specific shoe before bringing it to the customer—usually in under a minute. If the shoe is not in stock, the application recommends alternatives for the customer.

However, the mobile app’s API and database layers used different technologies, and system outages sometimes resulted in application downtime and frustrated customers. “We had customers requesting shoes and then the app would freeze because one of the APIs wasn’t responding,” says Kapies Vallipuram, director of software development at ALDO Group. “That meant the customer would wait too long for shoes to come out, and in some cases the customer would just leave. Because we had multiple APIs, we didn’t know which one was failing, so it took a while to fix the app in that store. We had to solve this problem because it was leading to lost sales opportunities.”

Customer-References-industry-Retail
CustomerReferences_QuoteMark

Time is so valuable for consumers today. If they choose to give their time to us, we need to make sure we deliver the best possible experience. We can do that using AWS."

Kapies Vallipuram,
Director of Software Development, ALDO Group

Using AWS AppSync to Streamline Development

ALDO migrated from its previous mobile development platform to Amazon Web Services (AWS) to address its challenges. “AWS is the cloud leader. For us to have an advantage in the retail space, we felt we needed to choose the company that had the biggest advantage in the cloud technology space,” says Vallipuram.

The ALDO development team uses AWS AppSync, a service that simplifies application development by enabling the creation of a flexible API in order to securely access and combine data from multiple sources. AWS AppSync relies on GraphQL, an API query language, to make it easy for applications to get the data they require. “We needed real-time capabilities for our mobile in-store app, and AWS AppSync enabled that,” says Vallipuram. AWS AppSync also works seamlessly with AWS CloudFormation, which ALDO developers use to automatically deploy new features via templates.

Using AWS AppSync, ALDO quickly created a GraphQL API layer and standardized a data schema for use across the in-store mobile app and other newly developed applications.

Giving Shoe Shoppers a Better In-Store Experience

Running on AWS, the ALDO mobile app now has stronger performance, with no outages and a real-time workflow that allows customers and associates to instantly communicate try-on requests. “There’s no question our mobile app is more reliable because of AWS AppSync, and that is critical for our business,” says Vallipuram.

Now, ALDO customers no longer need to wait for inventory to be checked and shoes to be retrieved from the stock room. “Time is so valuable for consumers today. If they choose to give their time to us, we need to make sure we deliver the best possible experience. We can do that using AWS,” Vallipuram says.

Delivering New Applications in Less Than Half the Time

The GraphQL API layer gives ALDO developers a more seamless development experience. “GraphQL integrates everything into a single access point, so we don’t have to integrate services that push data from the backend to the client,” says Vallipuram. “As a result, we can focus more on implementing features instead of managing the system and monitoring things. AWS AppSync gives us more velocity, which is what we need to deliver high-quality code and new features.”

By taking advantage of the capabilities of AppSync, ALDO developers can build applications faster than before. “Our time-to-market has definitely accelerated using AWS AppSync. We can create new applications in less than three months instead of the 6–12 months it would have taken previously using multiple APIs,” says Vallipuram. For example, developers built and deployed a mobile app enhancement that enables inventory requests to other stores, as well as a new application that manages inventory control from different warehouses across the ALDO supply chain. ALDO developers also recently launched a mobile app for store associates that makes it more efficient for online shoppers to pick up their orders at their local ALDO store. “We would not have been able to build these new applications as quickly as we did without AWS AppSync,” says Vallipuram. “Our entire process is much more streamlined now.”

ALDO is now moving additional workloads to the AWS Cloud because of the success it has had with AWS AppSync. “We are currently migrating our client-facing website, an ecommerce system, and a database to AWS,” says Vallipuram. “AWS gives us the reliability and scalability we need to move the business forward.”

To learn more, visit aws.amazon.com/appsync.


About ALDO Group

The ALDO Group is a Canadian retailer that owns and operates a global chain of footwear and accessory stores. The company currently has 3,000 stores in more than 100 countries.

Benefits of AWS

  • Eliminates application outages to create a better in-store experience for shoppers
  • Develops and deploys new applications in 3 months instead of 6–12 months
  • Integrates real-time data capabilities into mobile applications

AWS Services Used

AWS AppSync

AWS AppSync simplifies application development by letting you create a flexible API to securely access, manipulate, and combine data from one or more data sources. AppSync is a managed service that uses GraphQL to make it easy for applications to get exactly the data they need.

Learn more »

AWS Cloud​Formation

AWS CloudFormation provides a common language for you to model and provision AWS and third party application resources in your cloud environment. AWS CloudFormation allows you to use programming languages or a simple text file to model and provision, in an automated and secure manner, all the resources needed for your applications across all regions and accounts. This gives you a single source of truth for your AWS and third party resources.

Learn more »


Get Started

Companies of all sizes across all industries are transforming their businesses every day using AWS. Contact our experts and start your own AWS Cloud journey today.