我们通过 AWS 和微服务架构所做的事情正是数字出版业的未来。
Hansjörg Posch BurdaStudios 首席技术官

BurdaStudios 是全球媒体集团 Hubert Burda Media 的一个部门,拥有近 10000 名员工和 500 多个品牌,包括家庭和生活方式类杂志以及企业间出版物。BurdaStudios 专门从事影视制作和数字出版。该公司的旗舰网站是 Bunte.de,一个在德语欧洲国家/地区 (德国、瑞士和奥地利) 处于领先地位的名人八卦门户。该网站是了解好莱坞演员、体育明星和皇室成员最新新闻的首选网站。它吸引了 600 万独立用户,月访问量高达 3000 – 3500 万次 (其独立用户的数量比最大竞争对手高出约 20%),通过展示、视频和本地广告盈利。

尽管技术进步正逐渐改变着各类组织的业务开展方式,但人们还是非常敏锐地察觉到了出版业的变化速度。“向不断增加的各种渠道进行内容分发是数字出版业面临的一大挑战”,BurdaStudios 的首席技术官 (CTO) Hansjörg Posch 表示:“比如说,将消息推送到 iPhone 应用程序的方式与将其传送到 PC 或平板电脑的方式就不一样。”
过去,Bunte.de 网站一直在专门的托管程序上运行,但 CTO 表示这一程序不够灵活,无法将内容无缝交付至不同的渠道。更为关键的是,它不能进行扩展以应对在突发大新闻事件时网站遇到的流量高峰。“在现有环境下,我们无法足够快速地配置计算资源,而且总是担心应付不了需求高峰。另外,我们的整体基础设施也无法应对日益复杂的网络平台和设备,然而我们却需要满足这些网络平台和设备的需求”,Posch 说。

对于 Posch 而言,向新架构的过渡必须坚定不移地以整体方式执行。“我们想重新启动整个 Bunte.de 网站,以提高响应能力、加快速度并扩大规模。很明显,我们必须要采用云和微服务架构。而且我们不想零零碎碎地来做这件事,我们要全盘改造”,他说。
BurdaStudios 之所以选择 Amazon Web Services (AWS),是因为它可以提供开箱即用的高级技术,并能通过 Amazon EC2 Container Service (Amazon ECS) 为 Docker 容器提供最全面的支持。而且,它可以通过 Amazon EC2 Container Registry (Amazon ECR) 完全托管,让 Posch 能够轻松支持各种新标准。他说:“举个例子,如果 Google 推出一种新格式,比如说 Progressive Web Apps (PWA),我们只需使用新的微服务启动几个 Docker 容器就可以支持这个新格式了,不必再像以前那样重新设计整个基础设施。”
他继续说道:“在决定采用 AWS 之前,我们考虑了几家较大的云提供商。虽然其他一些提供商正迎头赶上,但如果你想在边缘执行操作,就要选择 AWS,因为它提供了运行现代应用程序所需的最广泛的技术。”
AWS Lambda 是该公司微服务架构的关键组成部分。“这个平台非常出色”,Posch 说。“你不必进行任何物理配置,它可以无限制地进行扩展。例如,我们可以把它用于地理位置查找之类的服务,这类服务能根据用户的位置自动向其投放合适的广告。而且,如果爆出一些大新闻,比如皇室婚礼、名流死亡或类似事件,它可以轻松处理我们遇到的流量剧增的情况。

对于 Bunte.de 团队而言,预置计算资源的挑战已经成为了过去。关于微服务架构扩展的问题,Posch 说,“爆出某个事件时,我们会看到网站流量在几秒钟内就能翻一番,但有强大的 AWS Lambda 作为后盾,我们根本不必担心。通过使用 AWS,我们拥有了一个曾梦寐以求的全自动化环境,重要的是,这意味着我们不再需要专门的开发运营团队来全天候监控基础设施。一切都运行良好并可以正常扩展,无需我们进行任何操作。”
该公司向动态架构的迁移引起了出版业同行的注意。“德国的领先出版商们每年都有一次聚会,上次聚会时我介绍了我们向 AWS 迁移的情况”,Posch 说:“我们的竞争对手很感兴趣。大多数出版商都有一些云服务经验,但可以实现飞跃并成功进行全盘改造的不多。他们仍要为企业系统、咨询服务和硬件支付数十万美金。而且,虽然他们可能具备了某个云元素,但还没有达到我们这种过渡程度。我们通过 AWS 和微服务架构所做的事情正是数字出版业的未来。”
与德国名人新闻门户市场中最大的竞争对手相比,Bunte.de 每月的独立访问量要多出 15% 到 20%。Posch 认为,能够维持这一竞争优势在很大程度上有赖于 Bunte.de 向消费者传播新闻的速度。“借助 AWS,我们向客户传播名人新闻的速度提升了 75%”,他说:“过去,我们的缓存期长达好几分钟,导致内容上传延迟。而现在,缓存只需约 30 秒就能完成。这一点在突发新闻时至关重要,因为这意味着我们能以非常快的速度进行发布。如果你能排在 Google News 的首位,那么你的网站就能获取流量,也就能赚取广告收入。就是这么简单。”
在新闻行业,速度还会对客户满意度产生重大影响。Posch 说:“如果我们在网站上发布新闻的时间比竞争对手晚了 15 分钟,那就太不妙了。假设您在手机上安装了四个新应用程序,如果 Bunte.de 首先爆出了某个电影明星的婚外情新闻,那么我们作为名人八卦主导媒体的地位就得到了巩固。最终,这也是我们之所以成为当地第一大名人新闻门户的原因。”

要了解有关 AWS 可以如何帮助您全面迁移至云的更多信息,请访问我们的网站和 Web 应用程序详情页面:https://aws.amazon.com/websites/

What we’re doing with AWS and our microservices architecture is the future of the digital publishing industry.
Hansjörg Posch Chief Technology Officer, BurdaStudios

BurdaStudios is a division of global media group Hubert Burda Media, which has about 10,000 employees and more than 500 brands, including home and lifestyle magazines and business-to-business publications. BurdaStudios specializes in TV production and digital publishing. The company’s flagship website is Bunte.de, the leading celebrity gossip portal across Europe’s German-speaking countries—Germany, Switzerland, and Austria. The site is a go-to website for up-to-the-minute news about Hollywood actors, sports stars, and members of royalty. It attracts six million unique users and 30-35 million visits a month—about 20 percent more uniques than its nearest competitor—and gains its revenue from display, video, and native advertising.

While technology advancements are changing the way organizations of all kinds do business, the speed of change is being felt particularly keenly in the publishing industry. “Content distribution over a growing number of channels is a big challenge in digital publishing,” says Hansjörg Posch, chief technology officer (CTO) at BurdaStudios. “For example, the way you push news to an iPhone app is different from how you deliver it to a PC or a tablet.”
The Bunte.de site was running on a dedicated hosting setup that the CTO says wasn’t flexible enough to seamlessly support content delivery to different channels. Or, crucially, to scale to deal with the traffic peaks the site experienced when big news stories would break. “In our existing environment, we couldn’t move fast enough to provision compute resources, plus it was always a worry that we wouldn’t be able to cope with peaks in demand. In addition, our monolithic infrastructure couldn’t handle the increasingly complex network of platforms and devices we need to cater for,” says Posch.

For Posch, the transition to a new architecture had to be decisive and wholesale. “We wanted to relaunch the entire Bunte.de website for increased responsiveness, speed, and scale. It was obvious we had to go to the cloud and a microservices architecture. And it’s not something we wanted to do piecemeal―we wanted to go all-in,” he says.
BurdaStudios chose Amazon Web Services (AWS) because it offered advanced technology as a service out of the box and the most comprehensive support for Docker containers through Amazon EC2 Container Service (Amazon ECS). Fully managed through the Amazon EC2 Container Registry (Amazon ECR), it allows Posch to easily support new standards. “For example, if Google comes up with a new format, like Progressive Web Apps (PWA),” he says, “all we have to do is launch a few Docker containers with the new microservice, and it’s supported. We don’t have to redesign the entire infrastructure as we would have done before.”
He continues, “Before we decided to use AWS, we looked at the big cloud providers out there. Some of the others are catching up, but if you want to do things on the edge, you choose AWS. It provides the biggest range of technologies for running modern applications.”
AWS Lambda is a key element in the firm’s microservices architecture. “It’s an excellent platform,” says Posch. “You don’t have to do any physical provisioning and it scales without limits. We use it for services such as geo-lookup, which automatically places the right ads for users according to their location, for example. Also, if there’s some big news going on—there’s a royal wedding or a celebrity has died or something—it easily handles the increased traffic we experience.”

The challenge of provisioning compute resources is now a thing of the past for the Bunte.de team. On the subject of scaling in its microservices architecture, Posch says, “When a story is breaking, we can see site traffic double in seconds, but the beauty of AWS Lambda is that we don’t care. By using AWS, we have the fully automated environment we set out to achieve, and, crucially, this means we no longer need a dedicated DevOps team monitoring the infrastructure 24/7. Everything works properly and scales as it should without any effort on our part.”
The company’s shift to this dynamic architecture hasn’t gone unnoticed among its publishing peers. “There’s an annual get together of the leading publishers in Germany, and at the last event I gave a presentation about our migration to AWS,” says Posch. “Our competitors were intrigued. Most publishers have some experience of cloud services, but not many are making the leap and going all-in. They still pay a couple of hundred thousand dollars for enterprise systems, consulting, and hardware. And while they might have an element of cloud, they haven’t made the transition that we have. What we’re doing with AWS and our microservices architecture is the future of the digital publishing industry.”
Bunte.de attracts 15-20 percent more unique visitors each month than its nearest competitor in the celebrity-news-portal market in Germany. Posch thinks that maintaining this competitive edge has a lot to do with the speed with which Bunte.de delivers news to consumers. “We can get celebrity stories to customers about 75 percent faster with AWS,” he says. “Before, there was a caching period of a couple of minutes, so this delayed content being uploaded. Now, this happens in about 30 seconds. This is crucial when there’s breaking news, because it means we can publish really fast. If you’re listed first on Google News, then your website gets the traffic and you also get the advertising revenue. It’s that simple.”
In the news business, speed also makes a huge difference to customer satisfaction. “It’s no good if we get stories onto our site 15 minutes later than our competitors,” says Posch. “If you have four news apps installed on your phone, and Bunte.de is the first to publish the news that a certain movie star is having an affair, for example, then our standing as the leading medium for celebrity gossip is reinforced. Ultimately, it’s why we’re the number one celebrity portal in our region.”

To learn more about how AWS can help you move all-in to the cloud, visit our website and web app details page: https://aws.amazon.com/websites/.