Netflix_Customer-Reference_Logo

Netflix on AWS

Netflix 是世界领先的 Internet 电视网络,在 190 多个国家/地区中拥有超过 1 亿会员,他们每天观看 1.25 亿小时的电视节目和电影。Netflix 使用 AWS 来满足几乎所有计算和存储需求,包括数据库、分析、建议引擎、视频转码等数百种功能,总共使用 AWS 上 100000 多个服务器实例。

创新勇气:对 Netflix 的包容性策略副总裁 Vernā Myers 的访谈

2021 年

Netflix 是一家信奉发明和再创造的公司。Netflix 的包容性策略副总裁 Vernā Myers 分享了 Netflix 文化背后的一些秘密,阐述了勇于创新的重要性,公司是如何实现多元化、包容性和公平性的,以及好奇心为什么是创建包容性文化的最重要特征之一。

观看视频
创新勇气:对 Netflix 的包容性策略副总裁 Vernā Myers 的访谈

Netflix 如何看待网络安全

2020 年

AWS 首席信息安全官 Steve Schmidt 与 Netflix 信息安全副总裁 Jason Chan 在一起就安全战略、构建安全程序、零信任和猫作为一种独特的威胁模型进行了讨论。

观看视频
Netflix 如何看待网络安全

polygon background, polygon abstract vector

和其他家庭娱乐服务一样,Netflix 在这一前所未有的时期获得了暂时性的观看量增加和更多的会员增长。为了满足这一需求,我们的控制平面服务需要快速扩展。就是在这里,AWS 的价值和我们强大的合作关系体现得淋漓尽致,无论是在满足计算和存储的容量需求,还是提供必要的基础设施(如 AWS Auto Scaling)方面,这在 Netflix 的运营模式中已经根深蒂固。”

Nils Pommerien
Netflix 云基础设施工程总监


Netflix 使用 Amazon Simple Email Service 与 190 个国家/地区的 1 亿客户建立联系

2020 年

在迁移到 Amazon Simple Email Service (Amazon SES) 之前,Netflix 维护并使用内部解决方案发送电子邮件。该解决方案有自己的运维开销,包括运行带有电子邮件传送软件的专用服务器,并为每个 Internet 服务提供商优化电子邮件发送实践。Netflix 需要一个灵活、经济实惠、高度可扩展且可覆盖全球的电子邮件解决方案。了解 Netflix 如何利用 Amazon SES 克服这些挑战以及公司通过使用这项服务所实现的利益。

阅读更多

polygon background, polygon abstract vector

在迁移到 Amazon Simple Email Service,Netflix 不得不维护并使用内部解决方案来发送电子邮件。该内部解决方案有自己的运维开销,包括运行带有电子邮件传送软件的专用服务器,并为每个 Internet 服务提供商优化电子邮件发送实践。我们评估了多个电子邮件传送解决方案,然后决定选择 Amazon SES,因为它灵活、经济实惠、高度可扩展,覆盖全球,并承诺确保出色的送达率。”

Devika Chawla
Netflix 消息收发和联络工程总监


Netflix 并行使用近 1000 个 Amazon Kinesis 分区来处理数十亿的数据流

2017 年

Netflix 基于 Amazon Kinesis Streams 的解决方案已被证实能够高度扩展,每天处理数十亿流量。通常,大约 1000 个 Amazon Kinesis 分片同时工作以便处理数据流。“Amazon Kinesis Streams 每天处理数 TB 日志数据,事件只需几秒钟即可显示在我们的分析中。”Netflix 高级软件工程师 John Bennett 说,“我们能够实时发现和应对问题,确保高可用性和卓越的客户体验。”

阅读更多

Netflix 使用 Amazon Route 53 实现多区域弹性

当您需要将 8900 万观众移动至不同 AWS 区域时会发生什么? Netflix 在 AWS 上构建的基础设施使超强弹性成为可能,即使是同时在多个 AWS 区域中运行服务时也是如此。在《这就是我的架构》这一集中,Netflix 性能和可靠性策划总监 Coburn Watson 介绍了其公司的 DNS 架构,该架构建立在 Amazon Route 53 之上,并通过 Netflix 的 Zuul 进行了增强,从而使团队能够在不到 40 分钟的时间内清空整个区域。

观看视频 
netflix_arch_diagram
RE:INVENT

2020 年
使用 ConsoleMe 理清多账户管理
在 Netflix,云基础设施安全团队管理着数百个账户的权限。在本节课中,我们将了解 Netflix 创建的一个名为 ConsoleMe 的工具,该工具旨在安全解决这个问题,减少终端用户体验到的不一致和延迟,并降低多账户管理负担。ConsoleMe 通过将 Netflix 云资源显示在一个界面中简化权限管理。它提供一个多步骤的、动态的自助式工具,用于确定权限,自动生成资源策略,并使用 Zelkova 智能地应用低风险权限请求。
观看视频 
RE:INVENT

2020 年
设计更好的机器学习系统:来自 Netflix 的经验
Netflix 的数据科学远超同名推荐系统,触及了业务的方方面面,从优化内容交付到打击欺诈不一而足。Netflix 独特的文化为其数据科学家在工具选择上提供了非凡的自由,从而形成了一组不断扩展的机器学习方法和系统。2019 年,Netflix 对其以人为中心的 ML 平台 Metaflow 进行了开源。在本节课中,Netflix 分享了其多年来在 Metaflow 中构建 ML 系统的经验。
观看视频 
RE:INVENT

2020 年
Netflix 如何使用 Spinnaker 和 Kubernetes 简化交付即代码服务
软件交付起初看起来可能很简单。第 1 步:构建代码。第 2 步:部署应用程序。第 3 步:结束。复杂性通常不请自来地潜入我们的过程,伪装成扩展、测试、审计和共享。在本节课中,Netflix 和 AWS 将讨论一个开源持续交付工具 Spinnaker,该工具有助于从强制性的管道和阶段混合过渡到对最终目标的更具声明性的描述,并恢复“愉快的”“交付”过程。
观看视频 
RE:INVENT

2019 年
Netflix 工程师的一天
Netflix 是一个庞大的、不断变化的生态系统,通过基于云的系统和全球分布的 CDN 为全球数百万客户提供服务。这个通过技术堆栈讲述的有趣影片介绍了我们如何思考和设计系统、Netflix 如何应对运营挑战,以及其他组织如何应用我们的思维过程和技术。在本节课中,我们将讨论运营一家全球流媒体公司所使用的技术、规模增长、数十亿指标、生产混乱带来的好处,以及文化如何影响速度和正常运行时间。
观看视频 
RE:INVENT

2019 年
Netflix 的 ML 基础设施:更多的数据科学、更少的工程
Netflix 以其独特的文化而闻名,它给每个工程师和数据科学家提供了极大的自由。我们的数据科学家有望自主开发和运维大型机器学习工作流,而不需要在系统或数据工程方面拥有丰富的经验。取而代之的是,我们为他们提供了令人愉快的可用 ML 基础设施,他们可以使用这些基础设施来管理项目的生命周期。我们的端到端 ML 基础设施 Metaflow 专为利用 AWS 的优势而设计的:弹性计算;高吞吐量存储;以及动态的、可扩展的笔记本。在本节课中,我们将介绍以人为中心的设计原则,它们使我们的工程师享有自主权。
观看视频 
客户视频

2018 年
Netflix 在迁移到云方面的经验
在本视频中,AWS 云架构战略副总裁、前 Netflix 云架构师 Adrian Cockcroft 分享了 Netflix 是如何开始其云之旅的。一次为期两天的中断揭示了 Netflix 迫在眉睫的容量危机,促使它探索云服务提供商,最终选择了AWS。首先,Netflix 采用了 Amazon EC2 和 Amazon S3 作为基础计算和存储服务。然后,该公司稳步扩大了向 AWS 的迁移,从前端应用程序开始,然后从 Oracle 迁移其数据库,以及其他后端基础设施。现在,Netflix 完全依靠 AWS,用完全基于云的架构为其 1 亿多用户提供支持,不再管理自己的数据中心。
观看视频 
RE:INVENT

2017 年
Netflix 如何优化 Amazon EC2 实例实现高性能
Netflix 使用 Amazon EC2 实例类型和功能来创建高性能云,从而使其工作负载能够以接近在裸机上运行的速度运行。本会议总结了实现高速 Amazon EC2 实例的配置、调整和活动。Netflix 性能和 OS 工程团队的成员 Brendan Gregg 展示了如何选择 Amazon EC2 实例类型、如何选择 Xen 模式(HVM、PV 或 PVHVM),以及帮助实现近乎裸机性能的 Amazon EC2 功能(如 SR-IOV)的重要性。他还介绍了基础和进阶的内核优化和监控知识,包括 Java 和 Node.js 火焰图和性能计数器的使用。
观看视频 
RE:INVENT

2017 年
Netflix 如何进行大规模编码
在本次会议中,Netflix 探讨了编码服务采用的各种策略,以自动管理 Amazon EC2 预留实例的异构集合、解决计算争用以及根据优先级和工作负载分配实例。Netflix 编码团队负责将不同类型的媒体源转码为多种媒体格式,以支持所有 Netflix 设备。对这些媒体源进行转码(包括运行计算密集的视频编码、大量图像和文本的低延迟处理等)需要计算资源。编码服务可能需要一瞬间将数十万个计算小时数分发到最需要的地方。
观看视频 

开始使用

不同行业和规模的公司都在使用 AWS,将其日常业务运营进行转型。联系我们的专家,立即踏上您的 AWS 云之旅。

Netflix_Customer-Reference_Logo

Netflix on AWS

Netflix is the world’s leading internet television network, with more than 200 million members in more than 190 countries enjoying 125 million hours of TV shows and movies each day. Netflix uses AWS for nearly all its computing and storage needs, including databases, analytics, recommendation engines, video transcoding, and more—hundreds of functions that in total use more than 100,000 server instances on AWS.

Netflix entertains the world, providing a wide variety of TV shows, movies, and documentaries to hundreds of millions of members across the globe in over 30 languages. Netflix builds diversity, inclusion, equity, and a global outlook into everything it does, and by fostering a culture of courage, empathy, and curiosity, Netflix can move faster to develop new stories and better ways of sharing them with its members around the world. Netflix relies on AWS to help it innovate with speed and consistently deliver best-in-class entertainment. AWS provides Netflix with compute, storage, and infrastructure that allow the company to scale quickly, operate securely, and meet capacity needs anywhere in the world. Moreover, Netflix, a leading content producer, has used AWS to build a studio in the cloud. This virtual studio enables Netflix to engage top artistic talent, no matter the location, and Netflix artists and partners have the freedom to collaborate without technological or geographical barriers.

The Courage of Innovation: A Conversation with Vernā Myers, VP of Inclusion Strategy at Netflix

The Courage of Innovation: A Conversation with Vernā Myers, Vice President of Inclusion Strategy at Netflix

2021

Netflix is a company that believes in invention and reinvention. Netflix's vice president of inclusion strategy, Vernā Myers, shares some of the secrets behind Netflix's culture, addressing the importance of having the courage to break new ground, how the company approaches diversity, inclusion, and equity, and why curiosity is one of the most important traits to creating an inclusive culture.

Watch the video

Producing “The Crown" in The Cloud

2021

Production of the fourth season of Netflix’s episodic drama “The Crown” faced unexpected challenges, as the world went into lockdown for the COVID-19 pandemic just as post-production VFX work was slated to begin. By adopting a cloud-based workflow on AWS, Netflix’s in-house VFX team of 10 artists was able to seamlessly complete more than 600 VFX shots for the season’s 10-episode run in just 8 months, all while working remotely. 

Read more
Combined photo showing the "before" and "after" of VFX work on "The Crown"

By adopting a cloud-based workflow on AWS, "The Crown” in-house VFX team was able to complete more than 600 VFX shots, working remotely, in just 8 months.

Netflix Uses NICE DCV on AWS to Build VFX Studio in the Cloud for Artists Globally

2021

Netflix expanded into content production in 2012 and is now one of the world's leading studios. With a culture of continual innovation, the company wanted to build a visual effects (VFX) studio in the cloud to attract top VFX and animation artists worldwide and enable seamless collaboration between global teams. Using NICE DCV and Amazon EC2 G4 Instances, Netflix built remote workstations without having to choose between responsiveness and image quality. Learn how Netflix went from beta to launch in just 1 year, reducing technological and geographical barriers for artists while optimizing costs. 

Read more
How Netflix Thinks About Cybersecurity

How Netflix Thinks About Cybersecurity

2020

AWS chief information security officer Steve Schmidt sits down with Jason Chan, vice president of information security at Netflix, to talk about security strategy, building a security program, Zero Trust, and cats as a unique threat model.

Watch the video

polygon background, polygon abstract vector

Like other home-entertainment services, Netflix has seen temporarily higher viewing and increased member growth during this unprecedented time. In order to meet this demand our control plane services needed to scale very quickly. This is where the value of AWS and our strong partnership became apparent, both in being able to meet capacity needs in compute, storage, as well as providing the necessary infrastructure, such as AWS Auto Scaling, which is deeply ingrained in Netflix’s operations model.”

Nils Pommerien
Director, Cloud Infrastructure Engineering, Netflix


Netflix Connects with 100 Million Customers in 190 Countries Using Amazon Simple Email Service

2020

Before migrating to Amazon Simple Email Service (Amazon SES), Netflix maintained an in-house solution for sending email. This solution carried its own operational overhead, including running dedicated servers with email-delivery software and optimizing email-send practices for each Internet Service Provider. Netflix needed an email solution that was flexible, affordable, highly scalable, and that had global reach. Learn how Netflix uses Amazon SES to overcome these challenges and the benefits the company realized by using the service.

Read more

polygon background, polygon abstract vector

Before we migrated to Amazon Simple Email Service, Netflix had to maintain an in-house solution for sending emails. This in-house solution carried its own operational overheads, including running dedicated servers with email delivery software and optimizing email sending practices for each Internet Service Provider. We evaluated several email delivery solutions and decided on Amazon SES because it is flexible, affordable, highly scalable, has global reach, and promises excellent deliverability.”

Devika Chawla
Director, Messaging & Contact Engineering, Netflix


Netflix Uses Close to 1,000 Amazon Kinesis Shards in Parallel to Process Billions of Traffic Flows

2017

Netflix’s Amazon Kinesis Streams-based solution has proven to be highly scalable, each day processing billions of traffic flows. Typically, about 1,000 Amazon Kinesis shards work in parallel to process the data stream. “Amazon Kinesis Streams processes multiple terabytes of log data each day, yet events show up in our analytics in seconds,” says John Bennett, senior software engineer at Netflix. “We can discover and respond to issues in real time, ensuring high availability and a great customer experience.”

Read more

Netflix Realizes Multi-Region Resiliency on Amazon Route 53

What happens when you need to move 89 million viewers to a different AWS region? Netflix's infrastructure, built on AWS, makes it possible to be extremely resilient, even when the company is running services in many AWS Regions simultaneously. In this episode of This is My Architecture, Coburn Watson, director of performance and reliability engineering at Netflix, walks through the company's DNS architecture—built on Amazon Route 53 and augmented with Netflix's Zuul—that allows the team to evacuate an entire region in less than 40 minutes.

Watch the video 
netflix_arch_diagram
RE:INVENT

2020
Untangling Multi-Account Management with ConsoleMe
At Netflix, the Cloud Infrastructure Security Team manages permissions across hundreds of accounts. In this session, learn about a tool created by Netflix, called ConsoleMe, developed to address this issue securely, reduce inconsistencies and delays experienced by end users, and lower the multi-account management burden. ConsoleMe simplifies permissions management by showing Netflix cloud resources in a single interface. It provides a multistep, dynamic, self-service tool that determines permissions, generates resource policies automatically, and uses Zelkova to intelligently apply low-risk permission requests.
Watch the video 
RE:INVENT

2020
Designing Better Machine Learning Systems: Lessons from Netflix
Data science at Netflix goes far beyond eponymous recommendation systems and touches every aspect of the business, from optimizing content delivery to fighting fraud. Netflix’s unique culture affords its data scientists extraordinary freedom of choice in tools, which results in an ever-expanding set of machine learning approaches and systems. In 2019, Netflix open-sourced its human-centric ML platform, Metaflow. In this session, Netflix shares some lessons learned in its multi-year journey building the ML systems that Metaflow incorporates.
Watch the video 
RE:INVENT

2020
How Netflix Simplifies Delivery as Code Using Spinnaker and Kubernetes
Software delivery can seem simple at first. Step 1: Build code. Step 2: Deploy application. Step 3: The end. Complexity often sneaks into our processes uninvited, disguised as scale, testing, auditing, and sharing. In this session, Netflix and AWS discuss Spinnaker, an open-source continuous-deployment tool that helps transition from an imperative mix of pipelines and stages to a more declarative description of end goals and bring the “delightful” back to “delivery.”
Watch the video 
RE:INVENT

2019
A Day in the Life of a Netflix Engineer
Netflix is a large, ever-changing ecosystem serving millions of customers across the globe through cloud-based systems and a globally distributed CDN. This entertaining romp through the tech stack serves as an introduction to how we think about and design systems, the Netflix approach to operational challenges, and how other organizations can apply our thought processes and technologies. In this session, we discuss the technologies used to run a global streaming company, growing at scale, billions of metrics, benefits of chaos in production, and how culture affects your velocity and uptime.
Watch the video 
RE:INVENT

2019
ML Infrastructure at Netflix: More Data Science, Less Engineering
Netflix is known for its unique culture that gives an extraordinary amount of freedom to individual engineers and data scientists. Our data scientists are expected to develop and operate large machine learning workflows autonomously without the need to be deeply experienced with systems or data engineering. Instead, we provide them with delightfully usable ML infrastructure that they can use to manage a project's lifecycle. Our end-to-end ML infrastructure, Metaflow, was designed to leverage the strengths of AWS: elastic compute; high-throughput storage; and dynamic, scalable notebooks. In this session, we present our human-centric design principles that enable the autonomy our engineers enjoy.
Watch the video 
CUSTOMER VIDEO

2018
Lessons from Netflix on Migrating to Cloud
In this video, Adrian Cockcroft, VP Cloud Architecture Strategy at AWS and former Netflix Cloud Architect, shares how Netflix began its cloud journey. A two-day outage unveiled an imminent capacity crunch, prompting Netflix to explore cloud service providers and ultimately choose AWS. At first, Netflix adopted Amazon EC2 and Amazon S3 for foundational compute and storage services. The company then steadily expanded its migration to AWS, starting with front-end applications before migrating its databases from Oracle, along with other backend infrastructure. Now, Netflix is all-in on AWS, supporting its more than 100 million customers with a fully cloud-based architecture and no longer managing its own data centers.
Watch the video 
RE:INVENT

2017
How Netflix Tunes Amazon EC2 Instances for Performance
Netflix uses Amazon EC2 instance types and features to create a high- performance cloud, achieving near-bare-metal speed for its workloads. This session summarizes the configuration, tuning, and activities for delivering the fastest possible Amazon EC2 instances. Brendan Gregg, a member of the performance and OS engineering team at Netflix, shows how to choose Amazon EC2 instance types, how to choose between Xen modes (HVM, PV, or PVHVM), and the importance of Amazon EC2 features such SR-IOV for bare-metal performance. He also covers basic and advanced kernel tuning and monitoring, including the use of Java and Node.js flame graphs and performance counters.
Watch the video 
RE:INVENT

2017
How Netflix Encodes at Scale
In this session, Netflix explores the various strategies employed by the encoding service to automate management of a heterogeneous collection of Amazon EC2 Reserved Instances, resolve compute contention, and distribute instances based on priority and workload. The Netflix encoding team is responsible for transcoding different types of media sources to a large number of media formats to support all Netflix devices. Transcoding these media sources has compute needs ranging from running compute-intensive video encodes to low-latency, high-volume image and text processing. The encoding service may require hundreds of thousands of compute hours to be distributed at moment's notice where they are needed most.
Watch the video 

Get Started

Companies of all sizes across all industries are transforming their businesses every day using AWS. Contact our experts and start your own AWS Cloud journey today.