西顿霍尔大学是一所拥有 10000 名研究生和本科生的天主教大学。西顿霍尔大学的信息技术系设有教学、学习和技术 (TLT) 中心,可为教师在教室、培训和研究资源方面提供支持。TLT 中心设有三个技术专用教室,可供大学教授课程、主办活动或举办具有特殊技术要求的会议。TLT 中心使用具有自有虚拟化流程的校内数据中心,并构建了教师在教室中增强课程教学效果所需的技术解决方案。

TLT 中心需要一种方法,来支持教师快速运行试点计划,并且每年针对 10 到 12 个活动流式传输实时媒体,无需 IT 员工花费时间购买和预置服务器。作为大学的技术中心,TLT 中心的责任繁多,并需要能够快速响应客户的请求,同时降低成本。请求的范围可以从流式传输高级别联合国官员的访问,到使非现场用户能够访问网络资源。

副主任 Michael Soupios 表示,作为一所小型大学,资源可能有些受限。“不必从其他项目获取资源或不必为购买新设备而制定商业计划书,即可提供服务,这一点对我们来说至关重要。”Soupios 说。“我们需要为教师提供技术自由,使其在探索时无需授权或其他需要长时间进行保护的资源。”

“AWS 帮助 TLT 中心满足了各种各样的客户请求。”Soupios 说。例如,联合国秘书长潘基文访问该学校。学校希望对此进行现场直播,但演讲计划制定得很快,他们没有过多时间将流媒体服务器落实到位。“我们不希望拆除校园基础设施,但我们也不会花费数周或数月时间创建一个新的基础设施。”Soupios 说。“因此,我们在 AWS 上安装了 Wowza 服务器。这只花费了一天时间,并且使用起来毫不费力。”

另一个项目是在西顿霍尔大学和一个主要电信供应商共同努力下开展的,呼吁允许校外用户访问数据收集平台。TLT 中心在传统的本地西顿霍尔大学基础设施以外运行 AWS,这使其可以轻松避开添加用户账户问题以及对防火墙问题进行故障排除。“AWS 帮助我们避免了过去在设置虚拟专用网络、许可方面遇到过的所有问题。”Soupios 说道,“随着这种合作伙伴关系的加深,我们可以非常轻松地克隆和启动新实例,以支持工作负载。我们期待这个项目能够呈指数增长,AWS 是最适合这个项目的环境。”

目前,TLT 中心使用了 Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 和 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 实例。此外,他们还使用 Windows、Linux、Wowza Media Server、具有 WAMP 或 LAMP 堆栈以及 Ruby 的 Linux 数据库。

AWS 与大学的基础设施分开运行,这有助于 TLT 中心管理其安全问题。“在使用 AWS 时,我们不用过多担心安全性问题。”Soupios 说道。

TLT 中心员工已经与 AWS Support 合作,以便更充分地利用 AWS 功能。“AWS Support 帮助我们在几天内解决了 99% 的问题。”Soupios 说道,“AWS Support 帮助我们充分利用 AWS。”

在成本分析中,Soupios 发现,与使用本地基础设施相比,运行 AWS 可以显著节约年度成本。“每月运行 AWS 的费用约为 40 USD。”Soupios 说,“然而如果我们必须构建自己的基础设施并对其提供支持,则每年需支付的费用将超过 30000 USD。”

TLT 中心还缩短了新项目的上市时间。AWS 实例可以快速设置和拆除,无需制定商业计划书或花费时间来采购和设置本地基础设施。联合国秘书长来访项目以及通过主要电信提供商进行数据收集的项目都仅需一个星期即可完成。“在使用 AWS 之前,如果教师有一个想法,可能需要一些时间整理好计划和资源,然后才能将该项目排入 IT 日程表中。”Soupios 说,“现在,我们可以让我们的教师安全快速地进行探索。之前可能要花费整个学期的项目现在仅需几天即可完成。”

AWS 提供的灵活性是 TLT 中心享有的另一个优势。Soupios 说:“如果没有 AWS,我将不能为短期项目提供带宽。AWS 为我们提供了前所未有的灵活性,特别是在进行重新分配资源这项非常耗时又痛苦的工作时。”

总而言之,AWS 已经使 TLT 中心能够为其教师提供更多服务,并降低了成本。“AWS 使我们能够以低成本快速启动和挂起项目。”Soupios 说道,“我们的 IT 团队在确保高水平运营方面做得很出色。AWS 为我们提供了更大的灵活性,同时也帮助我们节省了时间和金钱。”

未来,西顿霍尔大学将继续尝试用 AWS 来记录教室讲座。“我们将期望使用 AWS 来创建环境,而不是在硬件上花费数十万美元。”Soupios 说道,“我们知道,我们可以向 AWS 支付费用,而不必长期维护它。我们可以启动它、使用它以及关闭它。”

要了解有关 AWS 如何支持教育的更多信息,请访问我们的教育详情页面:http://aws.amazon.com/education/

Seton Hall is a Catholic university with 10,000 graduate and undergraduate students. Seton Hall’s IT department includes the Teaching, Learning, and Technology (TLT) Center, which provides support for faculty in the classroom, training, and research resources. The TLT Center houses three technology-specific rooms that are available to the University for teaching classes, hosting events, or conducting meetings that have a special technology requirement. The TLT Center uses an on-campus data center that has its own virtualization process, and builds technology solutions that the faculty needs to enhance their curriculum in the classroom.

The TLT Center needed a way to quickly enable faculty members to run pilot programs and to stream live media for 10-12 events a year, without requiring IT staff time to procure and provision servers. As the technology center for a university, the TLT Center has a broad set of responsibilities and needs to be able to respond quickly to customer requests while keeping costs down. Requests can range from streaming the visit of a high-ranking United Nations official to enabling off-site users to access network resources.

As a small university, resources can be a bit constrained, says Michael Soupios, Associate Director. “It was critical to us to deliver services without having to pull resources from other projects or build a business case for buying new equipment,” Soupios says. “We needed to provide faculty with the technological freedom to explore without requiring grants or other resources that involve a long time to secure.”

AWS helped enable the TLT Center to meet the demands of a diverse set of customer requests, Soupios says. In one instance, Ban Ki-Moon, the UN Secretary General, visited the campus. The university wanted to broadcast the event live, but the speaking engagement was planned quickly, without much time to put a streaming media server in place. “We didn’t want the demand to take down the campus infrastructure, and we couldn’t spend weeks or months creating a new infrastructure,” Soupios says. “So we installed a Wowza server on AWS. It took about a day, and it worked without a hitch.”

Another project, a joint effort between Seton Hall and a major telecom provider, calls for enabling off-campus users to access a data-gathering platform. The TLT Center is running AWS outside the traditional, on-premises Seton Hall infrastructure, which makes it easy to sidestep problems with adding user accounts and troubleshoot firewall issues. “AWS helped us avoid all the problems we’d experienced in the past—setting up a virtual private network, licensing, all of that,” Soupios says. “And as this partnership grows, it will be very easy to clone and spin up new instances to support the workload. We are expecting exponential growth with this project, and AWS is the perfect environment for it.”

Currently, the TLT Center uses Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) and Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) instances. In addition, they use Windows, Linux, Wowza Media Server, Linux databases with a WAMP or LAMP stack, and Ruby.

AWS runs separately from the university’s infrastructure, which has helped the TLT Center manage its security concerns. “We don’t worry as much about security when using AWS,” Soupios says.

The TLT Center staff has partnered with AWS Support to leverage AWS features more fully. “AWS Support helped us solve 99 percent of our issues in a couple of days,” Soupios says. “AWS Support helped us make the most of AWS.”

In a cost analysis, Soupios found that running AWS has resulted in significant annual savings over using on-premises infrastructure. “The cost to run AWS is about $40 a month,” Soupios says, “whereas if we had to build our own infrastructure and support it, we would be paying more than $30,000 annually.”

The TLT Center has also improved its time to market for new projects. AWS instances can be set up and dismantled quickly, without requiring a business case or time to procure and set up an on-premises infrastructure. Both projects—the visit from the UN Secretary-General and the data-gathering project with the major telecom provider—took only a week to complete. “Before AWS, if a faculty member had an idea, it may have taken some time to pull the planning and resources together and get that project onto the IT calendar,” Soupios says. “Now we can let our faculty explore quickly and safely. What could have taken all semester now takes a few days.”

The flexibility that AWS affords is another benefit the TLT Center has enjoyed. Soupios says, “I would not have been able to offer bandwidth for short-term projects without AWS. AWS gives us a level of flexibility we didn’t have before, especially when reallocating resources could be time-consuming and painful.”

All in all, AWS has enabled the TLT Center to offer more services to its faculty and keep costs low. “AWS allows you to spin up quickly and suspend quickly at a low cost,” Soupios says. “Our IT team does a fantastic job of keeping us operating at a very high level. AWS gives us that much more flexibility, while also saving time and money.”

Moving forward, Seton Hall is exploring the use of AWS to capture classroom lectures. “We will look to AWS to create environments rather than spending hundreds of thousands of dollars on hardware,” Soupios says. “We know we can pay for AWS without having to maintain it long term. Spin it up, use it, and close it down.”

To learn more about how AWS enables education, visit our Education details page: http://aws.amazon.com/education/.