借助 AWS,我们的研究人员可以更快地访问更加干净的数据,从而能够更有效地开展合作,解决新的研究问题并获取更加一致的数据解释。
Lindsay Der 博士研究生

斯坦福大学考古中心在全球范围内开展跨学科研究项目,设有实验室,并举办研讨会和公开讲座。考古中心位于加利福尼亚州的斯坦福大学校园内,它加强了人类学、古典文学、地球科学、生物科学和艺术史等科系之间的联系。该中心还与全球其他研究机构开展合作。

考古中心与人类学系合作开展 Çatalhöyük 研究项目,该项目于 20 世纪 60 年代初在土耳其中南部首次挖掘出一个新石器时代遗址。今天,Çatalhöyük 被认为是土耳其最重要的史前遗址之一,揭示了大约公元前 7400 年古城市中心的人类生活面貌。在该遗址中,研究人员发现了农业活动的遗迹、墓葬、生活区、壁画和灰泥浮雕等艺术品、陶器、雕像和其他遗物,有助于研究人员了解人类当时的日常生活。研究人员还在遗址内发现了令他们困惑的动物遗骸,其中包括从墙壁和座位里伸出的兽角。

为发掘的所有物品创建记录是一项关键的任务,借助这些记录,研究人员能够更深入地了解这一古老的文化和社会。多年来,项目现场的研究人员输入了大量 地理空间 信息,用于在数据库中标识遗物出土的准确位置,该数据库使用耗时的手动方法进行维护和更新。使用这个系统,需要一名工作人员每周花费 20 小时或更长时间来输入和修改 信息

“这是一个缓慢的过程,成本很高,而且研究人员往往不清楚特定数据的哪个版本才是最新的。”在该遗址工作的斯坦福大学 博士 研究生 Lindsay Der 说,“我们有一个现场数据库,由一名工作人员负责控制本地主控副本,但这个人并不是一直都在现场。因为 有大量 研究人员参与了这个项目,他们经常会对没有及时更新的信息进行更改,因此我们要不断地清理数据。当我们不能确定信息的准确性时,我们的合作效率会变得非常低。”

为了改进对遗址中收集的信息的管理,考古中心开始使用 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 来运行从 Esri 获取的 ArcGIS Server。Esri 是一家地理信息系统 (GIS) 和地理数据库软件供应商。Esri 提供随时可用的适用于 ArcGIS Server 的 Amazon 系统映像,让客户 (如斯坦福团队) 能够在价格合理的服务器上设置和运行 GIS 应用程序,且他们可在全球任意位置访问这些服务器。ArcGIS Server 已连接到伦敦大学学院的一个 Microsoft SQL Server 数据库,该数据库包含在该遗址中发掘的约 30000 件不同 物品的记录 。斯坦福大学的研究人员使用这一解决方案来分析和发布所有数字化版本的 Çatalhöyük 遗址地图和平面图。这些数字文档反应了考古模式,可帮助研究人员更好地了解古人类群落的行为和组织方式。

使用 AWS,斯坦福大学考古中心的研究人员可以从任意位置轻松访问重要数据, 并且 可以通过一个系统确保协作过程中使用的数据都是准确的、最新的。

“借助 AWS,我们更新数据和协作的过程更加高效。” 在该遗址工作的另一位博士 研究生 Justine Issavi 说,“这同时也有助于促进国际团队之间的合作。当只有一位现场工作人员负责更新信息时,我们总是需要先找到这个人才能获取更新的信息。现在,使用 AWS 云解决方案,全球各地的多名研究人员都可以访问、添加和更新信息。所有研究人员都可以随时在线获取最新的数据,无论他们在斯坦福、土耳其还是任何其他地方。”

工作人员可以把过去每周花在数据更新上的 20 小时或更多的时间投入到更重要的研究工作上。Der 表示,使用 AWS 解决方案,研究工作更加高效,这有助于从古遗物中收集更多信息。

“借助 AWS 云,”她说,“我们的研究人员可以更快地访问更加干净的数据,从而能够更有效地开展合作,解决新的研究问题并获取更加一致的数据解释。”

The AWS cloud gives our researchers faster access to cleaner data so they can collaborate more effectively to address new research questions and arrive at more cohesive interpretations of data.
Lindsay Der PhD Candidate

The Stanford Archaeology Center conducts interdisciplinary research projects worldwide, operates laboratories, and provides workshops and public lecture programs. The Center, which is based at Stanford University’s campus in California, helps link constituent departments such as Anthropology, Classics, Earth Sciences, Biological Sciences, and Art History. It also works with other research organizations around the world.

The Center, along with the Department of Anthropology, supports the Çatalhöyük Research Project, a Neolithic archeological site in south-central Turkey first excavated in the early 1960s. Today, Çatalhöyük is considered one of the most important prehistoric sites in Turkey, revealing how life was lived in an ancient urban center that dates to around 7,400 B.C. The site includes the remains of agricultural activities, art such as wall paintings and plastered reliefs, graves, living quarters, pottery, figurines, and other artifacts that provide insights into how the people lived their daily lives. The site also contains animal remains that have puzzled researchers, including animal horns protruding from walls and seats.

Creating records of every item excavated is a critical task that allows researchers to gain a deeper understanding of this ancient culture and society. For years, the project’s on-site researchers entered geo-spatial information—used to identify where exactly artifacts were unearthed—into a database that was maintained and updated using time-consuming manual methods. It took one person 20 hours or more a week to enter and modify information using this system.

“It was a slow and costly process that also created confusion among researchers about which version of specific data was the most current,” says Lindsay Der, a Stanford PhD candidate working at the site. “We had a field database with one person in charge of controlling the local master copy—but that person was not always around. Because of the large number of researchers involved in the project, there were often changes made to information that was not updated properly, so we were constantly cleaning up data. It was particularly frustrating for collaboration efforts when there was uncertainty about the accuracy of the information.”

To improve the management of information collected at the site, the Center started using Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) to run ArcGIS Server from Esri, a supplier of geographic information system (GIS) and geodatabase software. Esri provides ready-to-use Amazon Machine Images for ArcGIS Server, enabling customers like the Stanford team to set up and run their GIS applications on affordable servers that are accessible from anywhere in the world. The ArcGIS Server is connected to a Microsoft SQL Server database housed at University College London, which includes records on about 30,000 different deposits excavated at site . The Stanford researchers used this solution to analyze and publish digitized versions of all Çatalhöyük site maps and plans. These digital documents reveal archeological patterns that help researchers better understand behaviors and organizations within the ancient community.

By using AWS, the Stanford Archaeology Center researchers have easy access to vital data regardless of where they are, and have a system for ensuring that data used in collaborative efforts is accurate and up to date.

“With AWS, our process for updating data and collaborating is far more efficient,” says Justine Issavi, another PhD candidate working at the site. “It also facilitates collaboration between international teams. When there was just the one on-site staff person to update information, we were always on the hunt for that person to provide updates. Now with the AWS cloud solution, information can be accessed, added, and updated by multiple researchers across the globe. Data is current and readily available online for all researchers, whether they’re at Stanford, in Turkey, or some other location.”

The 20 or more hours of staff time that used to be spent each week on keeping data updated has now been redirected to more useful research work. With the AWS solution, Der says, research efforts are more efficient—and that is helping glean more insights from the ancient artifacts.

“The AWS cloud,” she says, “gives our researchers faster access to cleaner data so they can collaborate more effectively on new research questions and arrive at more cohesive interpretations of data.”