什么是 VMware Cloud on AWS?

VMware Cloud on AWS 在 AWS 云中提供 VMware 的企业级 SDDC 软件,并优化了对本地 AWS 服务的访问。VMware Cloud on AWS 由 VMware Cloud Foundation 提供支持,集成了 VMware 的计算、存储和网络虚拟化产品(VMware vSphere、VMware vSAN 和 VMware NSX)以及 VMware vCenter Server 管理功能,并且经过了优化,可以在专用的弹性裸机 AWS 基础设施上运行。

为什么应该使用 VMware Cloud on AWS?

VMware Cloud on AWS 在基于 VMware 的数据中心与云之间提供了一致且可互操作的基础设施和服务,从而最大限度地降低了管理不同环境的复杂性和相关风险。VMware Cloud on AWS 提供对 AWS 服务的本地访问,并提供创新技术,可提高企业应用程序在其生命周期内的价值。

目前哪些区域提供 VMware Cloud on AWS?

新推出此项服务的区域如下:AWS 欧洲(斯德哥尔摩)、AWS 美国东部(弗吉尼亚北部)、AWS 美国东部(俄亥俄)、AWS 美国西部(加利福尼亚北部)、AWS 美国西部(俄勒冈)、AWS 加拿大(中部)、AWS 欧洲(法兰克福)、AWS 欧洲(爱尔兰)、AWS 欧洲(伦敦)、 AWS 欧洲(巴黎)、AWS 亚太地区(新加坡)、AWS 亚太地区(悉尼)、AWS 亚太地区(东京)、AWS 亚太地区(孟买)、AWS 南美洲(圣保罗)、AWS 亚太地区(首尔)和 AWS GovCloud(美国西部)。

在 VMware Cloud on AWS 实例中运行的工作负载是否可以与 AWS 服务集成?

可以。VMware Cloud on AWS SDDC 使用弹性网络接口 (ENI) 直接连接到客户的 VPC,因此可以访问 AWS 服务。虚拟机工作负载可以访问 AWS 服务(例如 AWS Lambda、Amazon Simple Queue Service (SQS)、Amazon S3 和 Elastic Load Balancing)的公有 API 终端节点、客户的 Amazon VPC(例如 Amazon EC2)中的私有资源以及数据和分析服务(例如 Amazon RDS、Amazon DynamoDB、Amazon Kinesis 和 Amazon Redshift)。此外,客户现在可以使用适用于完全托管文件服务的 Amazon Elastic File System (EFS) 将基于文件的存储自动扩展到 PB 级,并在多个可用区 (AZ) 之间提供高可用性和持久性,还可以使用最新一代的 VPC 终端节点访问 AWS 服务,同时保持 AWS 网络内的所有流量。

如何开始使用 VMware Cloud on AWS?

签订新的购买协议后,现在客户可以直接通过 AWS 购买 VMware Cloud on AWS,也可通过 AWS 解决方案提供商计划中的 AWS 合作伙伴网络 (APN) 合作伙伴购买。这让客户可以灵活选择通过 AWS、VMware、AWS 解决方案提供商或 VMware VPN 解决方案提供商购买 VMware Cloud on AWS。通过我们的合作,客户可以使用 Amazon RDS for VMware 等其他服务。

是否可以在 VMware Cloud on AWS 中使用现有的 Windows Server 许可证?

可以。有关更多详细信息及相关限制,请查询您的 Microsoft 产品条款。

什么是单主机 SDDC 起步配置?

单主机 SDDC 起步配置是一项有时间限制的选项,让客户能够以较低且可预测的价格在 AWS 按需混合环境中启动 VMware Cloud on AWS。单主机 SDDC 的使用寿命只有 30 天。这一新的消费选项专为此类客户设计:希望在扩展至适用于生产环境的 3 个以上的主机配置之前,在其环境中证明 VMware Cloud on AWS 的价值。

VMware Cloud on AWS 获得了哪些合规性认证?

VMware Cloud on AWS 已经过独立验证,符合 ISO 27001、ISO 27017、ISO 27018、SOC 1、SOC 2、SOC 3 和 HIPAA。VMware Cloud on AWS 也符合《通用数据保护条例》(GDPR)。 

VMware Cloud on AWS 是如何部署的?

VMware Cloud on AWS 基础设施在 AWS 提供的专用单租户主机上以单个账户运行。每个主机相当于一个 Amazon EC2 I3.metal 实例(2 个插槽、每个插槽 18 个核心、512GiB RAM 和 15.2TB 原始 SSD 存储)。每个主机能够运行许多 VMware 虚拟机(数量从几十到几百不等,具体取决于其计算、内存和存储需求)。集群规模最小为 3 个主机,最多为 16 个主机。每个 SDDC 环境都会部署一个 VMware vCenter Server。

我需要在本地环境中使用哪个版本的 VMware vSphere?

您只需在本地环境中运行 vSphere 6.0 或更高版本,即可通过执行虚拟机冷迁移将工作负载移入和移出 VMware Cloud on AWS。不需要进行转换或修改。要想利用“Hybrid Linked Mode”在本地环境和 VMware Cloud on AWS 之间实现单一平台管理,您必须运行 VMware vSphere 6.5 或更高版本。

如何管理 VMware Cloud on AWS 上的资源?

您可以继续使用自己目前所用的管理工具。每个 VMware Cloud on AWS SDDC 都会部署一个 vCenter Server 实例。您可以连接到此 VMware vCenter Server 实例,以管理其 VMware Cloud on AWS 集群。提供的 VMware Cloud Web 控制台允许执行诸如添加/删除主机、配置防火墙和其他基本联网设置等常见任务。值得注意的是,需要插件或广泛 vSphere 权限的工具可能无法在 VMware Cloud on AWS 中正常运行。VMware Cloud on AWS 使用了一种最小特权安全模型,在这种模型中,您(以及这些工具)没有完整管理访问权限。

是否可以在一个视图中同时管理现有的数据中心 VMware vSphere 虚拟机和 VMware Cloud on AWS 实例?

要使用 vCenter Hybrid Linked Mode 实现本地和云中资源的单一平台管理,您需要在数据中心运行 vSphere 6.5 版和 vCenter Server 6.5 或更高版本。如果您没有在本地环境中运行 VMware vSphere 6.5 或更高版本,则需要运行多个 vCenter 实例来管理您的环境:一个 vCenter 实例在本地运行,一个 vCenter 实例在 VMware Cloud on AWS 中运行。

是否可以将现有的 vSphere 虚拟机迁移到 VMware Cloud on AWS 部署中?

可以。您可以通过多种方法将现有的 vSphere 虚拟机迁移到 VMware Cloud on AWS。您可以通过 vMotion 或利用 VMware Hybrid Cloud Extension (HCX) 执行 vSphere 虚拟机的实时迁移。

如何获得更多信息?

联系我们

了解有关 VMware Cloud on AWS 的更多信息

单击此处 >>
准备好开始使用了吗?
注册
还有更多问题?
联系我们

What is VMware Cloud on AWS?

VMware Cloud on AWS is the preferred service for AWS for all vSphere-based workloads. VMware Cloud on AWS brings VMware’s enterprise-class SDDC software to the AWS Cloud with optimized access to native AWS services. Powered by VMware Cloud Foundation, VMware Cloud on AWS integrates VMware's compute, storage, and network virtualization products (VMware vSphere, VMware vSAN, and VMware NSX) along with VMware vCenter Server management, optimized to run on dedicated, elastic, bare-metal AWS infrastructure.

Why should I use VMware Cloud on AWS?

AWS is VMware's preferred public cloud partner for all vSphere-based workloads. VMware Cloud on AWS provides you consistent and interoperable infrastructure and services between VMware-based datacenters and the AWS cloud, which minimizes the complexity and associated risks of managing diverse environments. VMware Cloud on AWS offers native access to AWS services and innovation that extends the value of enterprise applications over their lifecycle.

Where is VMware Cloud on AWS available today?

The service is newly available in the following regions: AWS Europe (Stockholm), AWS US East (Northern Virginia), AWS US East (Ohio), AWS US West (Northern California), AWS US West (Oregon), AWS Canada (Central), AWS Europe (Frankfurt), AWS Europe (Ireland), AWS Europe (London), AWS Europe (Paris), AWS Asia Pacific (Singapore), AWS Asia Pacific (Sydney), AWS Asia Pacific (Tokyo), AWS Asia Pacific (Mumbai) Region, AWS South America (Sao Paulo), AWS Asia Pacific (Seoul), and AWS GovCloud (US West).

Can workloads running in a VMware Cloud on AWS instance integrate with AWS services?

Yes. VMware Cloud on AWS SDDC is directly connected to customer’s VPC using Elastic Network Interface(ENI) and therefore has access to AWS services. Virtual machine workloads can access public API endpoints for AWS services such as AWS Lambda, Amazon Simple Queue Service (SQS), Amazon S3 and Elastic Load Balancing, as well as private resources in the customer's Amazon VPC such as Amazon EC2, and data and analytics services such as Amazon RDS, Amazon DynamoDB, Amazon Kinesis and Amazon Redshift. Customers can also now enjoy Amazon Elastic File System (EFS) for fully managed file service to scale the file-based storage automatically to petabyte scale with high availability and durability across multiple Availability Zones (AZs) and the newest generation of VPC Endpoints designed to access AWS services while keeping all the traffic within the AWS network.

How do I get started with VMware Cloud on AWS?

With a new purchase agreement in place, customers can now buy VMware Cloud on AWS directly through AWS and AWS Partner Network (APN) Partners in the AWS Solution Provider Program. This allows customers the flexibility to purchase VMware Cloud on AWS either through AWS or VMware, or the AWS Solution Provider or VMware VPN Solution Provider of their choice. Through our partnership, customers can use additional services like Amazon RDS for VMware.

Can I use my existing Windows Server licenses in VMware Cloud on AWS?

Yes. Please consult your Microsoft Product Terms for more details and any restrictions.

What is single host SDDC starter configuration?

Single host SDDC starter configuration is a time-bound offering for customers to kickstart their VMware Cloud on AWS on-demand hybrid experience at a low, predictable price. Service life for the single host SDDC is limited to 30-day intervals only. This new consumption option is designed for customers who want to prove the value of VMware Cloud on AWS in their environment before scaling to 3+ host configurations for production environments.

What compliance certifications has VMware Cloud on AWS achieved?

VMware Cloud on AWS has been independently verified to comply with ISO 27001, ISO 27017, ISO 27018, SOC 1, SOC 2, SOC 3, and HIPAA. VMware Cloud on AWS also complies with the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR). 

How is VMware Cloud on AWS deployed?

VMware Cloud on AWS infrastructure runs on dedicated, single tenant hosts provided by AWS in a single account. Each host is equivalent to an Amazon EC2 I3.metal instance (2 sockets with 18 cores per socket, 512 GiB RAM, and 15.2 TB Raw SSD storage). Each host is capable of running many VMware Virtual Machines (tens to hundreds depending on their compute, memory and storage requirements). Clusters can range from a minimum 3 hosts up to a maximum of 16 hosts per cluster. A single VMware vCenter server is deployed per SDDC environment.

What version of VMware vSphere do I need in my on-premises environment?

With vSphere 6.0 or later running in your on-premises environment, you can move workloads to and from VMware Cloud on AWS by doing cold migration of VMs. No conversion or modification is necessary. In order to take advantage of “Hybrid Linked Mode” for single pane of glass management between your on-premises environment and VMware Cloud on AWS, you must have VMware vSphere 6.5 or later.

How do I manage resources on VMware Cloud on AWS?

You can use the same management tools you use today. A vCenter Server instance is deployed as part of every VMware Cloud on AWS SDDC. You may connect to this vCenter Server instance to manage their VMware Cloud on AWS clusters. A VMware Cloud Web Console is provided which allows for common tasks such as the add/remove hosts, configure firewalls and other basic networking settings. It is important to note that tools that require plug-ins or extensive vSphere permissions may not function properly in VMware Cloud on AWS. VMware Cloud on AWS uses a least privilege security model in which you (and therefore their tools) do not have full administrative access.

Can I manage both my existing data center VMware vSphere VMs and my VMware Cloud on AWS instances in a single view?

You will need vSphere version 6.5 and vCenter Server 6.5 or later running in your data center to use vCenter Hybrid Linked Mode for single pane of glass management of resources on-premises and in the cloud. If you do not have VMware vSphere 6.5 or later running in your on-premises environment, you will need to run multiple vCenter instances to manage your environment: one vCenter instance on-premises and one vCenter instance in VMware Cloud on AWS.

Can I migrate existing vSphere VMs to my VMware Cloud on AWS deployment?

Yes. There are multiple ways to migrate existing vSphere VMs to VMware Cloud on AWS. You can perform of a live migration of vSphere VMs via a vMotion or by leveraging VMware Hybrid Cloud Extension (HCX).

How can I get more information?

Please contact us.

Learn more about VMware Cloud on AWS

Click Here >>
Ready to get started?
Sign up
Have more questions?
Contact us