Funktionalität

Amazon WorkSpaces bietet Ihnen eine einfache Möglichkeit, Ihren Benutzern eine sichere, verwaltete, Cloud-basierte virtuelle Desktop-Umgebung zur Verfügung zu stellen. Im Gegensatz zu herkömmlichen lokalen VDI-Lösungen (Virtual Desktop Infrastructure) müssen Sie sich nicht mit dem Beschaffen, Bereitstellen und Verwalten einer komplexen Umgebung befassen – Amazon WorkSpaces übernimmt diese Aufgaben für Sie und stellt einen vollständig verwalteten Service bereit. Mit Amazon WorkSpaces können Sie Ihren Benutzer auf den Geräten ihrer Wahl qualitativ hochwertige mobile Desktops und Anwendungen bereitstellen.

Ganz gleich, ob Sie eine herkömmliche Desktop- oder lokale VDI-Lösung (virtuelle Desktop-Infrastruktur) verwalten, ist in beiden Fällen eine beträchtliche Kapitalinvestition erforderlich. Und beide Lösungen sind häufig schwierig bereitzustellen und zu verwalten. Bei einer Cloud-basierten virtuellen Desktop-Umgebung fallen Vorinvestitionen und die laufende Verwaltung der Infrastruktur weg. Ihnen bietet sich eine einfache und wirtschaftliche Möglichkeit, Ihren Benutzern eine sichere Desktop-Umgebung mit vielen Zugriffsmöglichkeiten verfügbar zu machen.

Gegen eine niedrige nutzungsbasierte Gebühr bietet Amazon WorkSpaces einen vollständigen Cloud-basierten virtuellen Desktop-Service mit Datenverarbeitung, persistentem Solid-State-Speicher (SSD) und Anwendungen an. Ihre Benutzer erhalten eine bessere Erfahrung und mehr Funktionalität als bei einem herkömmlichen PC. Für Sie bedeutet dies, dass Sie einen einfacheren Weg zur Bereitstellung von Desktops für Benutzer zur Hälfte der Kosten einer VDI-Lösung vor Ort wählen. 

Streaming-Protokolle

Amazon WorkSpaces verwendet Streaming-Protokolle, um Benutzern ein sicheres und qualitativ hochwertiges Erlebnis zu bieten.  Diese Protokolle analysieren den gehosteten Desktop, das Netzwerk und das Gerät des Benutzers, um Komprimierungs- und Dekomprimierungsalgorithmen (Codecs) auszuwählen, die ein Rendering des Desktops des Benutzers kodieren und als Pixelstream an das Gerät des Benutzers übertragen. Amazon WorkSpaces enthält standardmäßig das PC-over-IP-Streamingprotokoll (PCoIP) von Teradici, und Sie können jetzt das neue Amazon WorkSpaces Streaming Protocol (WSP) ausprobieren.

Amazon WorkSpaces-Pakete

Ihnen stehen für den Einstieg verschiedene Amazon WorkSpaces-Pakete mit unterschiedlichen Hardware- und Software-Optionen zur Auswahl. Sie müssen nur die Anzahl der WorkSpaces wählen, die Sie brauchen. Wenn WorkSpaces bereitgestellt werden, erhalten Benutzer eine E-Mail mit Anweisungen zum Herunterladen der benötigten Amazon WorkSpaces-Clientanwendungen und zum Verbinden mit dem entsprechenden WorkSpace. Benutzer können auf ihren Amazon WorkSpace von Windows-, Mac oder Linux (Ubuntu)-Computern, auf Chromebooks, iPads, Fire- oder Android-Tablets sowie in Chrome und Firefox zugreifen. Die Benutzeranwendungen und -daten sind speicher- und abrufbar. So können Benutzer ganz einfach zwischen ihren Geräten wechseln, ohne ihre Arbeit zu verlieren.

Amazon WorkSpaces bieten Ihnen zwei Möglichkeiten. Sie können ein eigenständiges verwaltetes Verzeichnis für Benutzer einrichten, die WorkSpaces nutzen. Oder Sie können eine Integration in Ihre bestehende Active Directory-Umgebung vornehmen, damit Benutzer ihre geltenden Anmeldeinformationen für einen reibungslosen Zugriff auf Unternehmensressourcen nutzen können. Diese Integration erfolgt über eine sichere hardwaregestützte VPN-Verbindung mit Ihrem lokalen Netzwerk über Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (VPC) oder AWS Direct Connect. Sie können Ihre WorkSpaces mit den vorhandenen Tools verwalten, die Sie für lokale Desktops nutzen, um die volle administrative Kontrolle zu behalten.


Amazon WorkSpaces wird in Form von Servicepaketen mit unterschiedlichen Hardware- und Softwareoptionen zum Erfüllen Ihrer Anforderungen angeboten. Wählen Sie entsprechend den Anforderungen Ihrer Benutzer aus Value-, Standard-, Performance-, Power-, PowerPro-, Graphics- und GraphicsPro-Paketen mit unterschiedlichen CPUs, GPUs, Arbeitsspeichern und Speicherressourcen (SSD-Volumes). Beim Start neuer WorkSpaces können Sie die Speichermenge auswählen, die Sie für Stamm- und Benutzervolumes benötigen, und Speicherzuweisungen jederzeit erhöhen. Mit dem Wechsel von Hardware-Paketen können Sie nach Bedarf zwischen den Hardware-Paketen Value, Standard, Performance, Power und PowerPro wählen.

Wenn Sie WorkSpaces mit einem zusätzlichen, bereits vorinstallierten Softwarepaket starten möchten, das Microsoft Office, Trend Micro Worry-Free Business Security Services und ein Paket mit Dienstprogrammen beinhaltet, sollten Sie das Value Plus-, Standard Plus-, Performance Plus-, Power Plus-, PowerPro Plus-, Graphics Plus- oder GraphicsPro Plus-Paket wählen. Sie können auch ein benutzerdefiniertes Abbild von einem Ihrer WorkSpace-Pakete erstellen, um ein eigenes Paket aus installierter Software zusammenzustellen.

  Value Standard Performance Power
PowerPro Graphics GraphicsPro
vCPUs 1 2 2 4 8 8 16
Arbeitsspeicher GiB 2 4 7,5 16 32 15 122
vGPUs           1 1
Videospeicher GiB           4 8
SSD-Stammvolume GB* 80 80 80 175 175 100 100
SSD-Benutzerspeicher GB* 10 50 100 100 100 100 100
Software Softwarebündel mit Dienstprogrammen Softwarebündel mit Dienstprogrammen Softwarebündel mit Dienstprogrammen Softwarebündel mit Dienstprogrammen Softwarebündel mit Dienstprogrammen Softwarebündel mit Dienstprogrammen Softwarebündel mit Dienstprogrammen

Arbeiten mit eigenen Lizenzen

Sie können jetzt Ihre bestehenden Windows 10-Desktoplizenzen in Amazon WorkSpaces einbringen und auf Hardware ausführen, die Ihnen physisch zugeordnet ist. Wenn Sie Ihre bestehenden Windows-Lizenzen in WorkSpaces verwenden, können Sie gegenüber WorkSpaces mit einer neuen Windows-Lizenz bis zu 16 % (4 USD monatlich pro WorkSpace) sparen. Ihre Organisation muss dazu die von Microsoft festgelegten Lizenzanforderungen erfüllen. Außerdem müssen Sie sich verpflichten, jeden Monat mindestens 200 Amazon WorkSpaces in einer bestimmten AWS-Region auszuführen. Weitere Informationen über diese Lizenzierungsoption finden Sie unter den häufig gestellten Fragen für Amazon WorkSpaces.

Einfache Bereitstellung

Die Bereitstellung von Desktops mit Amazon WorkSpaces ist ganz einfach. Gleichgültig, ob Sie einen oder mehrere Amazon WorkSpaces starten, müssen Sie lediglich die Pakete, die die Anforderungen Ihrer Benutzer am besten erfüllen, und die Anzahl der Amazon WorkSpaces wählen, die Sie starten möchten. Wenn Ihre Amazon WorkSpaces bereitgestellt wurden, erhalten Benutzer eine E-Mail mit Anweisungen zum Herunterladen der von ihnen benötigten Amazon WorkSpaces-Clientanwendungen und zum Verbinden mit Ihrem Amazon WorkSpace. Wenn Sie keinen einzelnen Amazon WorkSpace mehr benötigen, können Sie diesen ganz einfach löschen.

Sicher und verschlüsselt

Amazon Workspaces bieten eine qualitativ hochwertige Desktoperfahrung, mit deren Hilfe Sie Compliance- und Sicherheitsanforderungen erfüllen, einschließlich HIPAA-Qualifikation und PCI-Compliance. Wenn Sie WorkSpaces verwenden, werden die Daten Ihres Unternehmens nicht auf die Geräte der Benutzer übertragen oder auf diesen gespeichert. Das von WorkSpaces verwendete PCoIP-Protokoll (PC-over-IP) stellt dem Benutzer die Desktop-Umgebung zur Verfügung. Die Daten verbleiben jedoch in der AWS-Cloud oder Ihrer lokalen Umgebung.
 
Mit WorkSpaces können Sie je nach IP-Adresse, Clientgerätetyp und Nutzung Ihrer digitalen Zertifikate steuern, welche Clientgeräte auf Ihre WorkSpaces zugreifen können. Sie können den Zugriff für iOS, Android, Chrome OS und Zero-Clients sowie den WorkSpaces Web Access-Client steuern. Für macOS und Microsoft Windows-PCs können Sie Ihre digitalen Zertifikate nutzen, um den WorkSpaces-Zugriff auf vertrauenswürdige Geräte zu beschränken. Mithilfe von Kontrollgruppen, die auf IP-Adressen basieren, können Sie vertrauenswürdige IP-Adressen festlegen, die auf Ihre WorkSpaces zugreifen können.
 
Amazon WorkSpaces wird in den AWS Key Management Service (KMS) integriert, um Ihnen die Möglichkeit zu geben, die Speicher-Volumes von WorkSpaces mit KMS- Masterkeys (CMK) zu verschlüsseln. Sie haben jetzt die Option, die Speicherlaufwerke beim Start eines neuen WorkSpace zu verschlüsseln und damit sicherzustellen, dass die Daten bei der Übertragung ebenso wie im Ruhezustand gemeinsam mit den vom Volume abgenommenen Snapshots verschlüsselt sind.

Active Directory- und RADIUS-Integration

Mit Amazon WorkSpaces können Sie ein lokales Microsoft Active Directory zur Verwaltung Ihrer WorkSpaces und der Berechtigungsnachweise von Benutzern verwenden. Durch die Integration Ihres lokalen Active Directory können die Anwender sich mit Ihren bestehenden Berechtigungsnachweisen anmelden, Sie können mithilfe bestehender Tools Gruppenrichtlinien auf Ihre WorkSpaces anwenden und Sie können Ihren vorhandenen RADIUS-Server zur Aktivierung der AWS Multifaktor-Authentifizierung (MFA) nutzen. Eine Integration mit Ihrem bestehenden Active Directory ist auf zwei Weisen möglich: entweder durch das Herstellen einer sicheren Vertrauensbeziehung zwischen dem lokalen Active Directory und Ihrem AWS Directory Service for Microsoft Active Directory (Enterprise Edition) Domain Controller oder durch die Nutzung des AWS Directory Service Active Directory Connectors.

Persistenter Speicher

Amazon WorkSpaces bieten jedem Benutzer basierend auf dem gewählten Paket Zugriff auf unterschiedliche große persistente Speicherkapazität (SSD-Volumes) in der AWS Cloud. Andere Daten, die Benutzer auf WorkSpace zugeordneten Volumes speichern, werden automatisch und regelmäßig von Amazon S3 gesichert. Amazon S3 ist für eine Beständigkeit von Objekten von 99,999999999 % ausgelegt, sodass Sie sich um die Daten Ihrer Benutzer keine Gedanken machen müssen.

Benutzer von Amazon WorkSpaces können auch Amazon WorkDocs Drive verwenden. Mit Amazon WorkDocs Drive haben Benutzer auf Abruf Zugriff auf alle ihre Inhalte auf Amazon WorkDocs. Möglich ist dies durch ein externes Laufwerk, das mit ihrem WorkSpace verbunden ist. Benutzer können mit Windows-Explorer einen teilbaren Link kopieren, sperren, entsperren oder mit einem Rechtsklick eine Datei im Web-Client öffnen. Alle Inhalte auf Amazon WorkDocs Drive werden automatisch über eine verschlüsselte Verbindung mit Amazon WorkDocs synchronisiert und sind auf deren anderen Geräten verfügbar. Mit Amazon WorkDocs synchronisierte Daten werden verschlüsselt – sowohl bei der Übertragung als auch im inaktiven Zustand.

Zugriff über Desktop-Computer, Mobilgeräte und das Internet

Der Zugriff auf Amazon WorkSpaces ist über Windows- und Mac-Computer, Chromebooks, iPads, Fire-Tablets und Android-Tablets mithilfe der Amazon WorkSpaces-Clientanwendung möglich. Auf Amazon WorkSpaces kann auch über unterstützte Webbrowser zugegriffen werden. Wenn Amazon WorkSpaces bereitgestellt werden, erhalten Benutzer eine E-Mail mit Anweisungen zum Herunterladen der benötigten Amazon WorkSpaces-Clientanwendungen sowie zum Verbinden mit dem entsprechenden Amazon WorkSpace.

Die Amazon WorkSpaces-Clientanwendungen für Windows, Mac und Chromebooks bieten Benutzern eine hochwertige Windows-Desktoperfahrung. Die Clientanwendungen für iPads, Fire-Tablets und Android-Tablets bieten Benutzern eine für Tablets optimierte Desktoperfahrung. Benutzer können Multitouch-Gesten verwenden, um eine Bildschirmtastatur ein- oder auszublenden, auf eine Touch-basierte Mausschnittstelle zuzugreifen und zu scrollen und zu zoomen. Durch eine Wischbewegung mit dem Daumen wird ein einblendbares strahlenförmiges Steuerelement links auf dem Bildschirm angezeigt, über das Benutzer Zugriff auf verschiedene Befehle erhalten. An ein Fire- oder Android-Tablet können Benutzer eine Tastatur oder ein Touchpad anschließen, um vom Tablet aus dieselbe Erfahrung, wie an einem Laptop zu haben. Durch die Verwendung eines unterstützten Webbrowsers können Benutzer einfach auf ihre Amazon WorkSpaces in jedem Netzwerk zugreifen, ohne dass sie zuerst eine Client-Anwendung herunterladen müssen.

Weitere Informationen zu den Preisen von Amazon WorkSpaces

Zur Seite mit den Preisen
Bereit zum Entwickeln?
Erste Schritte mit Amazon WorkSpaces
Haben Sie noch Fragen?
Kontakt

Functionality

Amazon WorkSpaces offers you an easy way to provide a secure, managed, cloud-based virtual desktop experience to your end-users. Unlike traditional on-premises Virtual Desktop Infrastructure (VDI) solutions, you don’t have to worry about procuring, deploying, and managing a complex environment – Amazon WorkSpaces takes care of the heavy lifting and provides a fully managed service. With Amazon WorkSpaces, you can deliver a high quality portable desktop, and applications, to your users on the device of their choice.

Whether you are managing traditional desktops or an on-premises solution for Virtual Desktop Infrastructure (VDI), both of these approaches require significant capital investment and are often difficult to deploy and manage. Using a cloud-based virtual desktop environment eliminates the need for up-front investment and ongoing management of infrastructure, providing you with an easy, cost-effective way to bring a secure and broadly accessible desktop experience to your users.

For a low, pay-as-you-go fee, Amazon WorkSpaces provides a complete cloud-based virtual desktop service, including compute, persistent solid-state storage (SSD), and applications. Your users get a better experience and more functionality than a traditional PC, and you get a simpler way to provision desktops for users, at half the cost of an on-premises VDI solution. 

Streaming protocols

Amazon WorkSpaces utilizes streaming protocols to provide users a secure and high quality experience.  These protocols analyze the hosted desktop, network, and user’s device to select compression and decompression algorithms (codecs) that encode a rendering of the user's desktop and transmit it as a pixel stream to the user's device. Amazon WorkSpaces offers both WorkSpaces Streaming Protocol (WSP) and PCoIP from Teradici.

Amazon WorkSpaces Bundles

To get started, select from a choice of Amazon WorkSpaces bundles that offer different hardware and software options, and launch the number of WorkSpaces you require. When WorkSpaces are provisioned, users receive an email providing instructions on where to download the WorkSpaces client applications they need, and how to connect to their WorkSpace. Users can access their WorkSpace from Windows, Mac or Linux (Ubuntu) computers, Chromebooks, iPads, Fire tablets, Android tablets, and supported web browsers. Your users’ applications and data remain persistent, so they can easily switch between devices without losing their work.

With Amazon WorkSpaces you can create a standalone, managed directory for users, or you can integrate with your existing Active Directory environment so that your users can use their current credentials to obtain seamless access to corporate resources. This integration works via a secure hardware VPN connection to your on-premises network using Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (VPC) or with AWS Direct Connect. You can manage your WorkSpaces with the existing tools you use for your on-premises desktops to maintain full administrative control.


Amazon WorkSpaces offers a range of bundles that provide different hardware and software options to meet your needs. You can choose from Value, Standard, Performance, Power, PowerPro, Graphics, GraphicsPro, Graphics.g4dn, and GraphicsPro.g4dn bundles that offer different CPU, GPU, memory, and storage resources (SSD volumes) options, based on the requirements of your users. You can select the amount of storage that you need for both root and user volumes when you launch new WorkSpaces, and you can increase storage allocations at any time. Graphics.G4dn and GraphicsPro.g4dn also offer temporary local instance store for applications that require frequent access to locally stored data. With hardware bundle switching, you can switch between the Value, Standard, Performance, Power, or PowerPro hardware bundles as needed. For GPU-enabled WorkSpaces bundles, you can switch the hardware between Graphics.g4dn and GraphicsPro.g4dn.

To launch WorkSpaces with an additional bundle of software already pre-installed, including Microsoft Office, Trend Micro Worry-Free Business Security Services, and a utilities bundle, choose from the Value Plus, Standard Plus, Performance Plus, Power Plus, PowerPro Plus, Graphics Plus, or GraphicsPro Plus bundles. You can also create a custom image from one of your WorkSpaces to create your own installed software bundle.

  Value Standard Performance Power PowerPro Graphics GraphicsPro Graphics.g4dn GraphicsPro.g4dn
vCPUs 1 2 2 4 8 8 16 4 16
Memory GiB 2 4 7.5 16 32 15 122 16 64
vGPUs           1 1 1 1
Video Memory GiB           4 8 16 16
SSD Root Volume GB* 80 80 80 175 175 100 100 100 100
SSD User Storage GB* 10 50 100 100 100 100 100 100 100
SSD Temporary Local Storage GB               125 225
Software Utilities software bundle Utilities software bundle Utilities software bundle Utilities software bundle Utilities software bundle Utilities software bundle Utilities software bundles Utilities software bundles Utilities
software bundles 

Local Instance Store for GPU-enabled Bundles

In additional to persistent storage for the root volumes and the user volume, Graphics G4dn bundles offers local NVMe-based SSD storage known as the instance store. The instance store is ideal for temporary content like caches and buffers, because the data stored in instance store volumes is not persistent through instance stops, terminations, or hardware failures. Graphics.g4dn offers 125 GB of local instance store and GraphicsPro.g4dn provides 225 GB of temporary local instance store. You cannot change the size of the local instance store. You will find the local instance store volume named as “E:/Temp_SSD” on your WorkSpace. Learn more about instance store lifetime, see Amazon EC2 Instance Store.

Bring Your Own Licenses

You can bring your existing Windows 10 Desktop licenses to Amazon WorkSpaces and run them on hardware that is physically dedicated to you. When you bring your existing Windows licenses to WorkSpaces, you can save up to 16% ($4 per month per WorkSpace) over WorkSpaces with a new Windows license included. To be eligible, your organization must meet the licensing requirements set by Microsoft, and you must commit to running at least 100 Amazon WorkSpaces in a given AWS region each month. If you plan to use GPU-enabled (Graphics, GraphicsPro, Graphics.g4dn, and GraphicsPro.g4dn) bundles, verify that you will run a minimum of 4 AlwaysOn or 20 AutoStop GPU-enabled WorkSpaces in a Region per month on dedicated hardware.To learn more about this licensing option. To learn more about this licensing option, please see the Amazon WorkSpaces FAQ.

Easy provisioning

Provisioning desktops with Amazon WorkSpaces is easy. Whether you choose to launch one or many Amazon WorkSpaces, all you need to do is to choose the bundles that best meet the needs of your users, and the number of Amazon WorkSpaces that you would like to launch. Once your Amazon WorkSpaces have been provisioned, users receive an email providing instructions on where to download the Amazon WorkSpaces client applications they need, and how to connect to their Amazon WorkSpace. When you no longer need a particular Amazon WorkSpace, you can easily delete it.

Secure and encrypted

Amazon WorkSpaces provides a high quality desktop experience that helps you meet compliance and security requirements, including HIPAA-eligibility and PCI compliance. With WorkSpaces, your organization’s data is not sent to or stored on end-user devices. The PC-over-IP (PCoIP) remote display protocol used by WorkSpaces provides the familiar desktop experience to the user while the data remains in the AWS cloud or in your on-premises environment.
 
WorkSpaces lets you manage which client devices can access your WorkSpaces based on IP address, client device type, or through the use of your digital certificates. You can manage access for iOS, Android, Chrome OS, and zero clients, as well as the WorkSpaces web access client. For macOS and Microsoft Windows PCs, you can use your digital certificates to limit WorkSpaces access to trusted devices. Using IP address-based Control Groups, you can define trusted IP addresses that may access your WorkSpaces.
 
Amazon WorkSpaces integrates with the AWS Key Management Service (KMS) to provide you the ability to encrypt the storage volumes of WorkSpaces using KMS customer master keys (CMK). You now have the option to encrypt the storage drives at launch of a new WorkSpace, ensuring that data in transit and at rest, along with snapshots created from the volume, are all encrypted.

Active Directory and RADIUS integration

Amazon WorkSpaces allows you to use your on-premises Microsoft Active Directory to manage your WorkSpaces and your end user credentials. By integrating with your on-premises Active Directory, your users can log in with their existing credentials, you can apply Group Policies to your WorkSpaces, you can deploy software to your WorkSpaces using your existing tools, and you can use your existing RADIUS server to enable multi-factor authentication (MFA). You can integrate with your on-premises Active Directory in two ways – either by establishing a secure trust relationship between your on-premises Active Directory and your AWS Directory Service for Microsoft Active Directory (Enterprise Edition) domain controller, or by using the AWS Directory Service Active Directory Connector.

SAML 2.0 identity providers

Amazon WorkSpaces allows you to bring your SAML 2.0 identity provider (IdP) to authenticate end users to their WorkSpaces. With SAML 2.0 authentication, your end users can access their virtual desktop by authenticating to your existing identity provider, creating a seamless single sign-on experience consistent with the way your users access other enterprise applications and resources. IdP integration allows you to extend security features available from your IdP to WorkSpaces, including multi-factor authentication (MFA), and contextual access. For a passwordless login experience, Amazon WorkSpaces supports certificate-based authentication with SAML 2.0 identities.

Audio/visual optimization

The Zoom media plugin for Windows delivers audio/video(AV) optimization for smooth video conferencing on Amazon WorkSpaces. This feature enhances Zoom meeting webcam performance on WorkSpaces by offloading the audio/video traffic to the local device for processing. The plugin is intended for users who want native AV performance when using Zoom on their PCoIP WorkSpaces. Using this feature will reduce latency, improving worker productivity. Zoom media optimization can also help lower VDI expenses by reducing the CPU/RAM requirements of the virtual desktop, offloading video encoding/decoding to the endpoint device.

Multi-region resilience

Amazon WorkSpaces Multi-Region Resilience automates the process of redirecting users to a secondary Region when the primary Amazon WorkSpaces Region is unreachable due to disruptive events, without requiring users to switch registration codes. With Multi-Region Resilience, you can use fully qualified domain name (FQDN) as the Amazon WorkSpaces registration code for your users. When the service is unavailable in your primary Region, you can redirect users to the secondary Amazon WorkSpaces Region based on your Domain Name System (DNS) failover policies for the FQDN. If you use Amazon Route 53, you can benefit from health checks that monitor Amazon CloudWatch alarms when devising a cross-region redirection strategy for WorkSpaces.

Amazon WorkSpaces standby configuration for Multi-Region Resilience automates the creation and management of a standby deployment. After setting up a user directory in your preferred secondary Region, simply select the WorkSpaces in your primary Region that you want to create standby WorkSpaces for, either through the AWS management console or the AWS SDK. The system will automatically provision standby WorkSpaces in your secondary Region, using the latest image of your primary WorkSpaces without copying the user volume (D drive) or root volume (C drive).

Persistent storage

Amazon WorkSpaces provides each user with access to varying amounts of persistent storage (SSD Volumes) in the AWS cloud based on the bundle selected. Data that users store on the 'user volume' attached to the WorkSpace is automatically backed up to Amazon S3 on a regular basis. Amazon S3 is designed for 99.999999999% durability of objects, providing you with peace of mind about your users’ data.

Amazon WorkSpaces users can also use Amazon WorkDocs Drive. With Amazon WorkDocs Drive, users can access all of their content stored on Amazon WorkDocs on-demand through a mounted drive connected to their WorkSpace. Users can use Windows File Explorer to copy a shareable link, lock, unlock, or open a file in the web client with a right click. All content on Amazon WorkDocs Drive is automatically synced to Amazon WorkDocs over an encrypted connection and available on their other devices. Data synced to Amazon WorkDocs is encrypted in transit and at rest.

Desktop, mobile, and web access

Amazon WorkSpaces can be accessed from Windows and Mac computers, Chromebooks, iPads, Fire tablets, and Android tablets through the Amazon WorkSpaces client application. Amazon WorkSpaces can also be accessed using supported web browsers. When Amazon WorkSpaces are provisioned, users receive an email providing instructions on where to download the Amazon WorkSpaces client applications they need, and instructions on how to connect to their Amazon WorkSpace.

The Amazon WorkSpaces client applications for Windows, Mac, and Chromebooks provide users with a high quality Windows desktop experience. The client applications for iPad, Fire tablets, and Android tablets provide users with a tablet-optimized desktop experience. Users can use multi-touch gestures to show or hide an on-screen keyboard, access a touch-based mouse interface, and scroll and zoom. A slide-out radial control can be accessed by a thumb swipe from the left of the screen and gives users access to a variety of commands. With a Fire or Android tablet, users can connect a keyboard or touch pad for a laptop experience from their tablet. Using a supported web browser allows users to easily access their Amazon WorkSpaces on any network, without needing to download a client application first.

Learn more about Amazon WorkSpaces pricing

Visit the pricing page
Ready to build?
Get started with Amazon WorkSpaces
Have more questions?
Contact us