Fonctionnalités

Amazon WorkSpaces vous offre un moyen facile de proposer à vos utilisateurs finaux un bureau sécurisé, géré et basé sur le cloud. Contrairement aux solutions VDI (infrastructure de bureau virtuel) traditionnelles sur site, vous n'avez pas besoin de vous occuper de l'approvisionnement, du déploiement et de la gestion d'un environnement complexe. Amazon WorkSpaces s'occupe des tâches les plus difficiles et fournit un service entièrement géré. Avec Amazon WorkSpaces, vous pouvez livrer un bureau portable d'excellent qualité et les applications associées à vos utilisateurs sur l'appareil de leur choix.

Que vous gériez des ordinateurs de bureau traditionnels ou une solution sur site pour une infrastructure de bureau virtuel (VDI), vous avez besoin d'un investissement financier important, et dans les deux cas, le déploiement et la gestion s'avèrent particulièrement complexes. Avec un environnement de bureau virtuel basé sur le cloud, aucun investissement initial n'est nécessaire, ni aucune gestion quotidienne de l'infrastructure : c'est un moyen simple et peu coûteux de fournir à vos utilisateurs un confort d'utilisation digne de celui d'un ordinateur de bureau, d'une façon à la fois sécurisée et largement accessible.

Moyennant des frais modiques appliqués en fonction de votre utilisation, Amazon WorkSpaces offre un service complet de bureaux virtuels dans le cloud, incluant notamment des capacités de calcul et de stockage à semi-conducteurs (SSD) permanent, ainsi que des applications. Vos utilisateurs bénéficient d'une meilleure expérience et davantage de fonctionnalités qu'un PC traditionnel. Vous disposez d'un moyen plus simple de fournir des ordinateurs de bureau aux utilisateurs à un coût deux fois moins élevé qu'une solution VDI sur site. 

Protocoles relatifs au streaming

Amazon WorkSpaces utilise des protocoles de streaming pour fournir aux utilisateurs une expérience à la fois sécurisée et de haute qualité.  Il s'agit de protocoles qui analysent le bureau hébergé, le réseau et l'appareil de l'utilisateur pour sélectionner les algorithmes de compression et de décompression (codecs) qui codent un rendu du bureau de l'utilisateur et le transmettent sous forme de flux de pixels à l'appareil de ce dernier. Amazon WorkSpaces intègre par défaut le protocole de streaming PC-over-IP (PCoIP) de Teradici. Vous pouvez désormais essayer la nouvelle version d'Amazon WorkSpaces Streaming Protocol (WSP).

Offres Amazon WorkSpaces

Pour commencer à utiliser Amazon WorkSpaces, il vous suffit de faire votre choix parmi plusieurs offres WorkSpaces, qui proposent différentes options en matière de matériel et de logiciel, puis de lancer le nombre d'espaces de travail que vous souhaitez. Une fois les WorkSpaces alloués, les utilisateurs reçoivent un e-mail contenant des instructions indiquant où télécharger les applications clients WorkSpaces dont ils ont besoin, et comment se connecter à leur WorkSpace. Les utilisateurs peuvent accéder à leur WorkSpace à partir d'ordinateurs Windows, Mac ou Linux (Ubuntu), de Chromebooks, iPads, tablettes Fire ou Android, et des navigateurs web pris en charge. Comme les applications et données de vos utilisateurs restent persistantes, ils peuvent changer d'appareil facilement sans perdre leur travail.

Avec Amazon WorkSpaces, vous pouvez créer un annuaire autonome géré dédié aux utilisateurs des espaces de travail, ou intégrer directement votre environnement Active Directory de manière à ce que vos utilisateurs puissent utiliser leurs informations d'identification existantes pour accéder en toute transparence aux ressources de l'entreprise. Cette intégration fonctionne via une connexion VPN matérielle sécurisée à votre réseau sur site grâce à Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (VPC) ou AWS Direct Connect. Vous pouvez gérer vos WorkSpaces avec les outils que vous utilisez actuellement pour les ordinateurs de bureau du site, afin d'assurer un contrôle administratif complet.


Amazon WorkSpaces propose plusieurs offres avec différentes options matérielles et logicielles afin de répondre au mieux à vos besoins. Vous pouvez choisir parmi les offres Value, Standard, Performance, Power, PowerPro, Graphics, GraphicsPro, Graphics.g4dn et GraphicsPro.g4dn qui proposent différentes options de CPU, de GPU, de mémoire et de ressources de stockage (volumes SSD), en fonction des besoins de vos utilisateurs. Vous pouvez sélectionner le volume de stockage dont vous avez besoin, pour le volume racine et le volume utilisateur, lorsque vous lancez de nouveaux WorkSpaces. Vous pouvez également augmenter les allocations de stockage à tout moment. Graphics.G4dn et GraphicsPro.g4dn offrent également un stockage d'instances local temporaire pour les applications qui nécessitent un accès fréquent aux données stockées localement. Avec la fonctionnalité de basculement entre les offres matérielles, vous pouvez opter pour les offres matérielles Value, Standard, Performance, Power ou PowerPro, selon vos besoins. Pour ce qui est des offres WorkSpaces avec GPU, vous pouvez basculer le matériel entre Graphics.g4dn et GraphicsPro.g4dn.

Si vous souhaitez lancer WorkSpaces avec une offre logicielle supplémentaire déjà préinstallée, notamment Microsoft Office, Trend Micro Worry-Free Business Security Services et une offre utilitaire, vous devez faire votre choix parmi les options suivantes : Value Plus, Standard Plus, Performance Plus, Power Plus, PowerPro Plus, Graphics Plus ou GraphicsPro Plus. Vous pouvez également créer une image personnalisée à partir de l'un de vos espaces de travail pour concevoir votre propre offre logicielle installée.

  Valeur Standard Performances Power PowerPro Graphismes GraphicsPro Graphics.g4dn GraphicsPro.g4dn
Processeurs virtuels 1 2 2 4 8 8 16 4 16
Gio de mémoire 2 4 7,5 16 32 15 122 16 64
Processeurs graphiques virtuels           1 1 1 1
Go de mémoire vidéo           4 8 16 16
Go de volume racine SSD* 80 80 80 175 175 100 100 100 100
Go de stockage utilisateur SSD* 10 50 100 100 100 100 100 100 100
Stockage SSD local temporaire (Go)               125 225
Logiciel Offre de logiciels utilitaires Offre Utilitaires Offre Utilitaires Offre Utilitaires Offre Utilitaires Offre Utilitaires Offres de logiciels utilitaires Offres de logiciels utilitaires Utilitaires
Offres de logiciels 

Stockage d'instances local pour les offres compatibles GPU

En plus du stockage permanent pour les volumes racines et le volume utilisateur, les offres Graphics G4dn proposent un stockage SSD local basé sur NVMe, appelé stockage d'instances. Le stockage d'instances convient parfaitement au contenu temporaire, comme les caches et les tampons, car les données stockées dans les volumes du stockage d'instances ne sont pas permanentes en cas d'arrêt, de résiliation ou de défaillance matérielle des instances. Graphics.g4dn offre 125 Go de stockage d'instances local et GraphicsPro.g4dn 225 Go de stockage d'instances local temporaire. Vous ne pouvez pas modifier la taille du stockage d'instances local. Vous trouverez le volume de stockage d'instances local dénommé « E:/Temp_SSD » dans votre WorkSpace. Pour en savoir plus sur la durée de vie du stockage d'instances, reportez-vous à la page Stockage d'instances Amazon EC2.

Licences BYOL (Apportez vos licences)

Vous pouvez désormais fournir vos licences Windows 10 pour les postes de travail pour Amazon WorkSpaces et les exécuter sur du matériel qui vous est dédié physiquement. Lorsque vous apportez vos licences Windows existantes dans WorkSpaces, vous pouvez économiser jusqu'à 16 % (4 USD par mois par instance WorkSpace) par rapport aux WorkSpaces avec une nouvelle licence Windows incluse. Pour bénéficier de cette offre, votre organisation doit respecter les conditions de licences définies par Microsoft, et vous devez vous engager à exécuter au moins 100 Amazon WorkSpaces chaque mois dans une région AWS donnée. Si vous prévoyez d'utiliser des offres (Graphics, GraphicsPro, Graphics.g4dn et GraphicsPro.g4dn) compatibles GPU, vérifiez que vous exécuterez au minimum 4 WorkSpaces AlwaysOn ou 20 WorkSpaces AutoStop compatibles GPU dans une région par mois sur du matériel dédié. En savoir plus sur cette option de licence. Pour en savoir plus sur cette nouvelle option de licence, reportez-vous aux FAQ Amazon WorkSpaces.

Mise en service aisée

Avec Amazon WorkSpaces, la mise en service d'ordinateurs de bureau est une opération très simple. Que vous choisissiez de lancer un ou plusieurs espaces de travail Amazon WorkSpaces, il vous suffit de choisir l'offre WorkSpaces la plus adaptée aux besoins de vos utilisateurs, ainsi que le nombre d'espaces de travail Amazon WorkSpaces que vous souhaitez lancer. Lorsque l'espace de travail Amazon WorkSpaces est mis en service, les utilisateurs reçoivent un e-mail leur fournissant des instructions sur l'endroit où télécharger les applications client Amazon WorkSpaces dont ils ont besoin, et comment se connecter à leur espace de travail Amazon WorkSpaces. Vous pouvez supprimer facilement un espace de travail Amazon WorkSpaces dont vous n'avez plus besoin.

Sécurité et chiffrement

Amazon WorkSpaces fournit une expérience de bureau de haute qualité qui vous aide à respecter les exigences de conformité et de sécurité, y compris l'éligibilité HIPAA et la conformité PCI. Avec WorkSpaces, aucune donnée de votre entreprise n'est envoyée ni stockée sur les périphériques des utilisateurs finaux. Le protocole d'affichage à distance PCoIP (PC-over-IP) utilisé par Amazon WorkSpaces offre à l'utilisateur un confort d'utilisation équivalent à celui d'un ordinateur de bureau, les données étant conservées dans le cloud AWS ou dans votre environnement sur site.
 
WorkSpaces vous permet de choisir les périphériques clients pouvant accéder à vos espaces de travail Amazon WorkSpaces en fonction du type de périphérique client, et de gérer l'utilisation de vos certificats numériques. Vous pouvez gérer l'accès pour les clients iOS, Android, Chrome OS et zéro, ainsi que le client Amazon WorkSpaces Web Access. Pour les ordinateurs MacOS et Microsoft Windows, vous pouvez utiliser vos certificats numériques pour restreindre l'accès aux espaces de travail Amazon WorkSpaces aux périphériques de confiance. À l'aide des groupes de contrôle basés sur l'adresse IP, vous pouvez définir des adresses IP approuvées pouvant accéder à vos espaces de travail.
 
Amazon WorkSpaces s'intègre à AWS Key Management Service (KMS) pour vous offrir la possibilité de chiffrer les volumes des espaces de travail à l'aide des clés principales des clients (CMK) KMS. Vous avez désormais la possibilité de chiffrer les lecteurs de stockage au lancement d'un nouvel espace de travail, ce qui assure le chiffrement des données en transit et au repos, ainsi que les instantanés créés à partir du volume.

Intégration d'Active Directory et RADIUS

Amazon WorkSpaces vous permet d'utiliser votre annuaire Microsoft Active Directory sur site pour gérer vos espaces de travail WorkSpaces et les informations d'identification de vos utilisateurs finaux. L'intégration de votre annuaire Active Directory sur site permet à vos utilisateurs de se connecter avec leurs informations d'identification existantes. Vous pouvez également appliquer des stratégies de groupe à vos espaces de travail WorkSpaces, déployer des logiciels sur vos espaces de travail WorkSpaces à l'aide de vos outils existants et utiliser votre serveur RADIUS existant pour activer Multi-Factor Authentication (MFA). Vous pouvez intégrer votre annuaire Active Directory sur site de deux façons : en établissant une relation d'approbation sécurisée entre votre annuaire Active Directory sur site et votre contrôleur de domaine AWS Directory Service for Microsoft Active Directory (Enterprise Edition) ou en utilisant le connecteur Active Directory d'AWS Directory Service.

Stockage permanent

Selon l'offre choisie, Amazon WorkSpaces offre à chaque utilisateur un accès à diverses capacités de stockage (volumes SSD) permanent dans le cloud AWS. Les données que les utilisateurs stockent sur le « volume utilisateur » attaché à l'instance WorkSpace font régulièrement l'objet d'une sauvegarde automatique dans Amazon S3. Amazon S3 est conçu pour fournir une durabilité de 99,999999999 % des objets : vous pouvez donc être tranquille en ce qui concerne les données de vos utilisateurs.

Les utilisateurs Amazon WorkSpaces peuvent aussi utiliser le lecteur Amazon WorkDocs. Amazon WorkDocs Drive permet aux utilisateurs d'accéder à l'ensemble du contenu stocké sur Amazon WorkDocs à la demande via un lecteur installé et connecté à leur espace de travail Amazon WorkSpaces. Les utilisateurs peuvent se servir de l'explorateur de fichiers Windows pour copier un lien partageable et pour verrouiller, déverrouiller ou ouvrir un fichier dans le client Web en effectuant un clic droit. Tout le contenu d'Amazon WorkDocs Drive est automatiquement synchronisé avec Amazon WorkDocs par une connexion chiffrée et disponible sur les autres appareils. Les données synchronisées à Amazon WorkDocs sont chiffrées en transit et au repos.

Accès via le web, les ordinateurs de bureau et les appareils mobiles

Il est possible d'accéder à Amazon WorkSpaces depuis un ordinateur Windows ou Mac, un Chromebook, un iPad, et de tablettes Fire ou Android via l'application client Amazon WorkSpaces. Il est aussi possible à Amazon WorkSpaces via les navigateurs web pris en charge. Une fois les WorkSpaces alloués, les utilisateurs reçoivent un e-mail contenant des instructions indiquant où télécharger les applications clients Amazon WorkSpaces dont ils ont besoin, et comment se connecter à leur Amazon WorkSpace.

Les applications clients Amazon WorkSpaces pour Windows, Mac et Chromebooks offrent aux utilisateurs une expérience de qualité équivalente à celle d'un ordinateur de bureau Windows. Les applications clientes pour tablettes iPad, Fire et Android sont conçues pour offrir aux utilisateurs un confort équivalent à celui d'un ordinateur de bureau, optimisé pour une utilisation sur tablette. Des gestes multi-touch peuvent être utilisés pour afficher ou masquer le clavier à l'écran, accéder à une interface souris tactile, faire défiler les informations ou zoomer. Il est possible d'afficher un panneau radial, sur lequel plusieurs types de commandes sont disponibles, en faisant simplement glisser le pouce depuis le bord gauche de l'écran. Sur les tablettes Fire ou Android, les utilisateurs peuvent connecter un clavier ou un pavé tactile pour utiliser leur tablette comme un ordinateur portable. Avec les navigateurs pris en charge, les utilisateurs ont la possibilité d'accéder facilement à leurs espaces de travail Amazon WorkSpaces via n'importe quel réseau, sans avoir à télécharger d'application client au préalable.

En savoir plus sur la tarification d'Amazon WorkSpaces

Visiter la page de tarification
Prêt à créer ?
Démarrer avec Amazon WorkSpacesss
D'autres questions ?
Nous contacter

Functionality

Amazon WorkSpaces offers you an easy way to provide a secure, managed, cloud-based virtual desktop experience to your end-users. Unlike traditional on-premises Virtual Desktop Infrastructure (VDI) solutions, you don’t have to worry about procuring, deploying, and managing a complex environment – Amazon WorkSpaces takes care of the heavy lifting and provides a fully managed service. With Amazon WorkSpaces, you can deliver a high quality portable desktop, and applications, to your users on the device of their choice.

Whether you are managing traditional desktops or an on-premises solution for Virtual Desktop Infrastructure (VDI), both of these approaches require significant capital investment and are often difficult to deploy and manage. Using a cloud-based virtual desktop environment eliminates the need for up-front investment and ongoing management of infrastructure, providing you with an easy, cost-effective way to bring a secure and broadly accessible desktop experience to your users.

For a low, pay-as-you-go fee, Amazon WorkSpaces provides a complete cloud-based virtual desktop service, including compute, persistent solid-state storage (SSD), and applications. Your users get a better experience and more functionality than a traditional PC, and you get a simpler way to provision desktops for users, at half the cost of an on-premises VDI solution. 

Streaming protocols

Amazon WorkSpaces utilizes streaming protocols to provide users a secure and high quality experience.  These protocols analyze the hosted desktop, network, and user’s device to select compression and decompression algorithms (codecs) that encode a rendering of the user's desktop and transmit it as a pixel stream to the user's device. Amazon WorkSpaces offers both WorkSpaces Streaming Protocol (WSP) and PCoIP from Teradici.

Amazon WorkSpaces Bundles

To get started, select from a choice of Amazon WorkSpaces bundles that offer different hardware and software options, and launch the number of WorkSpaces you require. When WorkSpaces are provisioned, users receive an email providing instructions on where to download the WorkSpaces client applications they need, and how to connect to their WorkSpace. Users can access their WorkSpace from Windows, Mac or Linux (Ubuntu) computers, Chromebooks, iPads, Fire tablets, Android tablets, and supported web browsers. Your users’ applications and data remain persistent, so they can easily switch between devices without losing their work.

With Amazon WorkSpaces you can create a standalone, managed directory for users, or you can integrate with your existing Active Directory environment so that your users can use their current credentials to obtain seamless access to corporate resources. This integration works via a secure hardware VPN connection to your on-premises network using Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (VPC) or with AWS Direct Connect. You can manage your WorkSpaces with the existing tools you use for your on-premises desktops to maintain full administrative control.


Amazon WorkSpaces offers a range of bundles that provide different hardware and software options to meet your needs. You can choose from Value, Standard, Performance, Power, PowerPro, Graphics, GraphicsPro, Graphics.g4dn, and GraphicsPro.g4dn bundles that offer different CPU, GPU, memory, and storage resources (SSD volumes) options, based on the requirements of your users. You can select the amount of storage that you need for both root and user volumes when you launch new WorkSpaces, and you can increase storage allocations at any time. Graphics.G4dn and GraphicsPro.g4dn also offer temporary local instance store for applications that require frequent access to locally stored data. With hardware bundle switching, you can switch between the Value, Standard, Performance, Power, or PowerPro hardware bundles as needed. For GPU-enabled WorkSpaces bundles, you can switch the hardware between Graphics.g4dn and GraphicsPro.g4dn.

To launch WorkSpaces with an additional bundle of software already pre-installed, including Microsoft Office, Trend Micro Worry-Free Business Security Services, and a utilities bundle, choose from the Value Plus, Standard Plus, Performance Plus, Power Plus, PowerPro Plus, Graphics Plus, or GraphicsPro Plus bundles. You can also create a custom image from one of your WorkSpaces to create your own installed software bundle.

  Value Standard Performance Power PowerPro Graphics GraphicsPro Graphics.g4dn GraphicsPro.g4dn
vCPUs 1 2 2 4 8 8 16 4 16
Memory GiB 2 4 7.5 16 32 15 122 16 64
vGPUs           1 1 1 1
Video Memory GiB           4 8 16 16
SSD Root Volume GB* 80 80 80 175 175 100 100 100 100
SSD User Storage GB* 10 50 100 100 100 100 100 100 100
SSD Temporary Local Storage GB               125 225
Software Utilities software bundle Utilities software bundle Utilities software bundle Utilities software bundle Utilities software bundle Utilities software bundle Utilities software bundles Utilities software bundles Utilities
software bundles 

Local Instance Store for GPU-enabled Bundles

In additional to persistent storage for the root volumes and the user volume, Graphics G4dn bundles offers local NVMe-based SSD storage known as the instance store. The instance store is ideal for temporary content like caches and buffers, because the data stored in instance store volumes is not persistent through instance stops, terminations, or hardware failures. Graphics.g4dn offers 125 GB of local instance store and GraphicsPro.g4dn provides 225 GB of temporary local instance store. You cannot change the size of the local instance store. You will find the local instance store volume named as “E:/Temp_SSD” on your WorkSpace. Learn more about instance store lifetime, see Amazon EC2 Instance Store.

Bring Your Own Licenses

You can bring your existing Windows 10 Desktop licenses to Amazon WorkSpaces and run them on hardware that is physically dedicated to you. When you bring your existing Windows licenses to WorkSpaces, you can save up to 16% ($4 per month per WorkSpace) over WorkSpaces with a new Windows license included. To be eligible, your organization must meet the licensing requirements set by Microsoft, and you must commit to running at least 100 Amazon WorkSpaces in a given AWS region each month. If you plan to use GPU-enabled (Graphics, GraphicsPro, Graphics.g4dn, and GraphicsPro.g4dn) bundles, verify that you will run a minimum of 4 AlwaysOn or 20 AutoStop GPU-enabled WorkSpaces in a Region per month on dedicated hardware.To learn more about this licensing option. To learn more about this licensing option, please see the Amazon WorkSpaces FAQ.

Easy provisioning

Provisioning desktops with Amazon WorkSpaces is easy. Whether you choose to launch one or many Amazon WorkSpaces, all you need to do is to choose the bundles that best meet the needs of your users, and the number of Amazon WorkSpaces that you would like to launch. Once your Amazon WorkSpaces have been provisioned, users receive an email providing instructions on where to download the Amazon WorkSpaces client applications they need, and how to connect to their Amazon WorkSpace. When you no longer need a particular Amazon WorkSpace, you can easily delete it.

Secure and encrypted

Amazon WorkSpaces provides a high quality desktop experience that helps you meet compliance and security requirements, including HIPAA-eligibility and PCI compliance. With WorkSpaces, your organization’s data is not sent to or stored on end-user devices. The PC-over-IP (PCoIP) remote display protocol used by WorkSpaces provides the familiar desktop experience to the user while the data remains in the AWS cloud or in your on-premises environment.
 
WorkSpaces lets you manage which client devices can access your WorkSpaces based on IP address, client device type, or through the use of your digital certificates. You can manage access for iOS, Android, Chrome OS, and zero clients, as well as the WorkSpaces web access client. For macOS and Microsoft Windows PCs, you can use your digital certificates to limit WorkSpaces access to trusted devices. Using IP address-based Control Groups, you can define trusted IP addresses that may access your WorkSpaces.
 
Amazon WorkSpaces integrates with the AWS Key Management Service (KMS) to provide you the ability to encrypt the storage volumes of WorkSpaces using KMS customer master keys (CMK). You now have the option to encrypt the storage drives at launch of a new WorkSpace, ensuring that data in transit and at rest, along with snapshots created from the volume, are all encrypted.

Active Directory and RADIUS integration

Amazon WorkSpaces allows you to use your on-premises Microsoft Active Directory to manage your WorkSpaces and your end user credentials. By integrating with your on-premises Active Directory, your users can log in with their existing credentials, you can apply Group Policies to your WorkSpaces, you can deploy software to your WorkSpaces using your existing tools, and you can use your existing RADIUS server to enable multi-factor authentication (MFA). You can integrate with your on-premises Active Directory in two ways – either by establishing a secure trust relationship between your on-premises Active Directory and your AWS Directory Service for Microsoft Active Directory (Enterprise Edition) domain controller, or by using the AWS Directory Service Active Directory Connector.

SAML 2.0 identity providers

Amazon WorkSpaces allows you to bring your SAML 2.0 identity provider (IdP) to authenticate end users to their WorkSpaces. With SAML 2.0 authentication, your end users can access their virtual desktop by authenticating to your existing identity provider, creating a seamless single sign-on experience consistent with the way your users access other enterprise applications and resources. IdP integration allows you to extend security features available from your IdP to WorkSpaces, including multi-factor authentication (MFA), and contextual access. For a passwordless login experience, Amazon WorkSpaces supports certificate-based authentication with SAML 2.0 identities.

Audio/visual optimization

The Zoom media plugin for Windows delivers audio/video(AV) optimization for smooth video conferencing on Amazon WorkSpaces. This feature enhances Zoom meeting webcam performance on WorkSpaces by offloading the audio/video traffic to the local device for processing. The plugin is intended for users who want native AV performance when using Zoom on their PCoIP WorkSpaces. Using this feature will reduce latency, improving worker productivity. Zoom media optimization can also help lower VDI expenses by reducing the CPU/RAM requirements of the virtual desktop, offloading video encoding/decoding to the endpoint device.

Multi-region resilience

Amazon WorkSpaces Multi-Region Resilience automates the process of redirecting users to a secondary Region when the primary Amazon WorkSpaces Region is unreachable due to disruptive events, without requiring users to switch registration codes. With Multi-Region Resilience, you can use fully qualified domain name (FQDN) as the Amazon WorkSpaces registration code for your users. When the service is unavailable in your primary Region, you can redirect users to the secondary Amazon WorkSpaces Region based on your Domain Name System (DNS) failover policies for the FQDN. If you use Amazon Route 53, you can benefit from health checks that monitor Amazon CloudWatch alarms when devising a cross-region redirection strategy for WorkSpaces.

Amazon WorkSpaces standby configuration for Multi-Region Resilience automates the creation and management of a standby deployment. After setting up a user directory in your preferred secondary Region, simply select the WorkSpaces in your primary Region that you want to create standby WorkSpaces for, either through the AWS management console or the AWS SDK. The system will automatically provision standby WorkSpaces in your secondary Region, using the latest image of your primary WorkSpaces without copying the user volume (D drive) or root volume (C drive).

Persistent storage

Amazon WorkSpaces provides each user with access to varying amounts of persistent storage (SSD Volumes) in the AWS cloud based on the bundle selected. Data that users store on the 'user volume' attached to the WorkSpace is automatically backed up to Amazon S3 on a regular basis. Amazon S3 is designed for 99.999999999% durability of objects, providing you with peace of mind about your users’ data.

Amazon WorkSpaces users can also use Amazon WorkDocs Drive. With Amazon WorkDocs Drive, users can access all of their content stored on Amazon WorkDocs on-demand through a mounted drive connected to their WorkSpace. Users can use Windows File Explorer to copy a shareable link, lock, unlock, or open a file in the web client with a right click. All content on Amazon WorkDocs Drive is automatically synced to Amazon WorkDocs over an encrypted connection and available on their other devices. Data synced to Amazon WorkDocs is encrypted in transit and at rest.

Desktop, mobile, and web access

Amazon WorkSpaces can be accessed from Windows and Mac computers, Chromebooks, iPads, Fire tablets, and Android tablets through the Amazon WorkSpaces client application. Amazon WorkSpaces can also be accessed using supported web browsers. When Amazon WorkSpaces are provisioned, users receive an email providing instructions on where to download the Amazon WorkSpaces client applications they need, and instructions on how to connect to their Amazon WorkSpace.

The Amazon WorkSpaces client applications for Windows, Mac, and Chromebooks provide users with a high quality Windows desktop experience. The client applications for iPad, Fire tablets, and Android tablets provide users with a tablet-optimized desktop experience. Users can use multi-touch gestures to show or hide an on-screen keyboard, access a touch-based mouse interface, and scroll and zoom. A slide-out radial control can be accessed by a thumb swipe from the left of the screen and gives users access to a variety of commands. With a Fire or Android tablet, users can connect a keyboard or touch pad for a laptop experience from their tablet. Using a supported web browser allows users to easily access their Amazon WorkSpaces on any network, without needing to download a client application first.

Learn more about Amazon WorkSpaces pricing

Visit the pricing page
Ready to build?
Get started with Amazon WorkSpaces
Have more questions?
Contact us