借助 Amazon S3,任何人均可使用 Landsat 8 数据。2015 年的所有 Landsat 8 图像数据以及 2013 年和 2014 年精选的一些非云存储的图像数据可供使用。每天都会提供全新的 Landsat 8 图像数据,这些图像数据通常是在生成后几小时内上线的。该卫星每 16 天拍摄一张分辨率约为 30 米的地球全景。

美国地质调查局提供的由 Landsat 8 卫星拍摄的图像

了解更多

下一代气象雷达 (NEXRAD) 是一个由 160 个高分辨率多普勒雷达站点构成的网络,用于检测降水和大气运动情况,这些站点大约每 5 分钟传播一次相关数据。NEXRAD 能够对猛烈风暴进行预测,研究人员以及商业企业可使用它来研究和消除天气对多个领域的影响。

来自 NEXRAD 数据的图像

了解更多

SpaceNet 是高分辨率卫星影像和带标签训练数据的语料库,研究人员可以借助它来开发和训练机器学习算法。该数据集包含大约 1990 平方千米的分辨率为 50 cm 的影像以及 220594 个相应建筑物覆盖区域。

来自 SpaceNet 计划的图像

了解更多

在美国大陆,国家农业影像计划 (NAIP) 会获取农作物生长季节期间的航拍影像。在 Amazon S3 中,可提供多年的大约 1 米的航拍影像 (红、绿、蓝、近红外线)。

来自国家农业影像计划的图像

了解更多

数字高程模型 (DEM) 提供了一种检测地球表面海拔高度的方法,这些模型在 Amazon S3 上用作地形栅格拼贴。该模型提供的数据覆盖全球;在美国,现在的 10 米级国家高程数据 (NED) 弥补了早期 NED 3 米级和 30 米级航天飞机雷达测图计划 (SRTM) 数据的不足,从而获取了更清晰、更连续的山体细节。

来自数字高程模型数据的图像

了解更多

GDELT 项目几乎可以监控来自全球所有国家/地区各个角落的 100 多种语言的广播、出版物和 Web 新闻,每天每秒都会识别推动我们全球社会发展的人员、位置、组织、数量、主题、来源、情感、语录、图像和事件。

来自 GDELT 项目的图像

了解更多

借助 NASA Earth Exchange (NEX),研究人员可以更轻松有效地访问和处理地球科学数据。Amazon S3 上提供的 NEX 数据集包括小规模的气候预测、全球 MODIS 植被指数以及陆地卫星全球土地调查数据。

来自 NASA 的图像

了解更多

OpenStreetMap (OSM) 是免费且可编辑的世界地图,由志愿者创建和维护,可通过开放式许可证使用,现在可在 Amazon S3 上使用。所有人都可使用 OSM 向世界各地的用户提供地图、方向和地理环境,其基础是数十亿用户贡献的功能。

Image © OpenStreetMap 贡献者

了解更多

Sentinel-2 是一颗陆地监控卫星,可提供高分辨率光学影像。该卫星的监控范围覆盖全球陆地表面,每 10 天一次,分辨率高达 10 米。数据会定期添加,添加时间通常是其传输到 Sentinel 科学数据中心后的几个小时内。

来自 Sentinel-2 的影像

了解更多

提供事件前后的高分辨率卫星图像,为应急计划制订、风险评估、军事集结区监控、应急响应、损失情况评估和恢复提供支持。此外,还为突发性特大灾害提供众包损失情况评估。

DigitalGlobe 发布的图像

了解更多

Amazon S3 的任何用户都可以使用来自 USGS 和 NASA 的中分辨率成像光谱仪 (MODIS) 数据。每天都会发布经过选择的数据,数据的生成时间一般只有几小时。

来自 MODIS 的影像

了解更多

IARPA 在 Amazon S3 上提供了可用作机器学习算法训练数据的关键点分类库和图像集。该库分两批发布,包含 62 种预定义的分类和 1000000 个“影像控制区块”。

FMotW 提供的图像

了解更多

Amazon S3 的任何用户都可以使用 NOAA 的地球静止轨道环境调查卫星 (GOES) 提供的数据。GOES 可以持续提供北美的气候影像并监控该地区的气象和太空环境数据。

GOES-16 提供的影像

了解更多

Amazon S3 现在可以提供来自英国气象局全球和地区集合预报系统 (MOGREPS) 的存档数据。可以提供覆盖英国的高分辨率天气预报以及全球天气预报。

了解更多

下面是您可以参阅的视频和文章,其中介绍了如何在创业公司、企业或研究机构使用 AWS 上的地球观测数据。

  • 视频

    2015-eo-day-intro
    Earth Observation on AWS
    2015-eo-day-devseed
    Earth Observation Data Revolution
    2015-eo-day-esri
    ArcGIS for Earth Observation in the Cloud
    2016-ag-day-osu
    Cloud Computing and the Geospatial Sciences
    2016-ag-day-farmlogs
    How Technology is Enabling a New Era of Farming
    2015-eo-day-dg
    Geospatial Big Data with DigitalGlobe
    2015-eo-day-planet
    Planet on AWS
    2015-eo-day-blueraster
    Emerging Hotspots of Global Tree Cover Loss
    2015-eo-day-noaa
    NOAA Big Data Project
    2015-eo-day-mapbox
    How Mapbox Does Earth
    2016-ag-day-planetos
    Big Data Infrastructure for Data Driven Agriculture
    2015-eo-day-harris
    Earth Observation in the Cloud using ENVI
  • 文章

    了解 Sinergise 在处理来自 Sentinel-2 卫星的 200TB 以上的数据方面,如何使用 AWS 探索创新方法。

    阅读

    Zooniverse 汇总了来自 140 万志愿者的数据,65 名全职研究人员对这些数据进行了分析,从中获得了有关如何降低灾难影响的有价值信息。

    阅读

    探索俄克拉何马大学如何使用 AWS 上的 NEXRAD 数据研究迁徙的鸟群。

    阅读

    探索保护国际基金会如何为政府和科学家们开放 60 个数据集,其中数据量超过 12TB。

    阅读

    气候变迁、农业恢复力以及太空探险越来越依赖云计算资源。因为借助云可以非常方便地共享大量数据,并且只需为所需的计算资源付费,在降低成本的同时也能加快研究的步伐。

    阅读

    了解 NOAA 如何开放 NEXRAD (一个由 160 个高分辨率多普勒雷达站点构成的网络),借助该网络,能够对猛烈风暴进行预测,研究人员以及商业企业可使用它来研究和消除天气对多个领域的影响。

    阅读

    Planet OS 讨论他们的 OpenNEX Climate Data Access Tool,借助该工具,用户可以从 NASA Earth Exchange GDDP 和 DCP-30 数据中生成自定义数据集。Planet OS 通过该工具帮助 NASA Earth Exchange 团队创建这些可供大众使用的富有价值的气候数据集。

    阅读

    Mapzen 从各种公共资源那里收集高程数据,从而方便创业公司、企业或研究机构通过 Amazon S3 访问和使用这些数据。这些数字高程模型 (DEM) 提供了一种检测地球表面海拔高度的强大方法。您可以查阅我们与 Mapzen 一起列出的关于此数据集的常见问题。

    阅读

任何人均可借助 AWS Cloud Credits for Research 使用 AWS 上的地球观测数据开展研究活动。学生、教育工作者以及研究人员都是技术创新的主要推动者,我们希望在此领域不断出现新进展。

了解如何应用

AWS Marketplace 具有数十款基于 GIS 和位置的地理空间应用程序,这些应用程序可以帮助您进行路由、规划、预测建模和映射,从而交付功能更全面且影响更深远的解决方案。在您的 AWS 账户中轻松启动智能的位置和映射解决方案,开始以全新方式了解周围的世界。

了解各种解决方案

Landsat 8 data is available for anyone to use via Amazon S3. All Landsat 8 scenes from 2015 are available along with a selection of cloud-free scenes from 2013 and 2014. All new Landsat 8 scenes are made available each day, often within hours of production. The satellite images the entire Earth every 16 days at a roughly 30 meter resolution.

Image from Landsat 8 satellite, courtesy of the U.S. Geological Survey

Learn More

The Next Generation Weather Radar (NEXRAD) is a network of 160 high-resolution Doppler radar sites that detects precipitation and atmospheric movement and disseminates data in approximately five minute intervals from each site. NEXRAD enables severe storm prediction and is used by researchers and commercial enterprises to study and address the impact of weather across multiple sectors.

Image from NEXRAD data

Learn More

SpaceNet is a corpus of high-resolution satellite imagery and labeled training data for researchers to utilize to develop and train machine learning algorithms. The data set is made up of roughly 1,990 square kilometers of imagery at 50 cm resolution and 220,594 corresponding building footprints.

Image from SpaceNet program

Learn More

The National Agriculture Imagery Program (NAIP) acquires aerial imagery during the agricultural growing seasons in the continental U.S. Roughly one meter aerial imagery (Red, Green, Blue, NIR) is available for multiple years on Amazon S3.

Image from National Agriculture Imagery Program

Learn More

Digital Elevation Models (DEM) provide a way to examine the elevation of the Earth’s surface and are available as terrain raster tiles on Amazon S3. Global coverage is provided and in the United States, 10 meter National Elevation Data (NED) data now augments the earlier NED 3 meter and 30 meter Shuttle Radar Topography Mission (SRTM) data for crisper, more consistent mountain detail.

Image of Digital Elevation Model data

Learn More

The GDELT Project monitors the world's broadcast, print, and web news from nearly every corner of every country in over 100 languages and identifies the people, locations, organizations, counts, themes, sources, emotions, counts, quotes, images and events driving our global society every second of every day.

Image from GDELT Project

Learn More

The NASA Earth Exchange (NEX) makes it easier and more efficient for researchers to access and process earth science data. NEX datasets available on Amazon S3 include downscaled climate projections, global MODIS vegetation indices, and Landsat Global Land Survey data.

Image from NASA

Learn More

OpenStreetMap (OSM) is a free, editable map of the world, created and maintained by volunteers and available for use under an open license, now on Amazon S3. Anyone can use OSM to provide maps, directions, and geographic context to users around the world, building on top of its several billion user-contributed features.

Image © OpenStreetMap contributors

Learn More

The Sentinel-2 mission is a land monitoring constellation that provides high resolution optical imagery. The mission will provide a global coverage of the Earth's land surface every 10 days at resolutions up to 10 meters. Data are added regularly, usually within few hours after they are available on the Sentinel Scientific Hub.

Image from Sentinel-2

Learn More

Pre and post event high-resolution satellite imagery in support of emergency planning, risk assessment, monitoring of staging areas and emergency response, damage assessment, and recovery. Also incudes crowdsourced damage assessments for major, sudden onset disasters.

Image from DigitalGlobe

Learn More

Data from USGS' and NASA's Moderate Resolution Imaging Spectroradiometer (MODIS) is available for anyone to use via Amazon S3. Select products are made available each day, often within hours of production.

Image from MODIS

Learn More

A point-of-interest classification library and image sets to use as training data for machine learning algorithms, made available on Amazon S3 by IARPA. Released in two batches, the library includes 62 pre-defined categories, and contains 1,000,000 "image chips."

Image from FMotW

Learn More

Data from NOAA's Geostationary Operational Environmental Satellites (GOES) is available for anyone to use via Amazon S3. GOES provides continuous weather imagery and monitoring of meteorological and space environment data across North America.

Image from GOES-16

Learn More

Archive data from the UK Met Office Global and Regional Ensemble Prediction System (MOGREPS) is now available on Amazon S3. Both a high resolution weather forecast covering the United Kingdom and a global weather forecast are available.

Learn More

Below you will find both videos and articles explaining how Earth Observation data on AWS can be used in your startup, enterprise, or research institution.

  • Videos

    2015-eo-day-intro
    Earth Observation on AWS
    2015-eo-day-devseed
    Earth Observation Data Revolution
    2015-eo-day-esri
    ArcGIS for Earth Observation in the Cloud
    2016-ag-day-osu
    Cloud Computing and the Geospatial Sciences
    2016-ag-day-farmlogs
    How Technology is Enabling a New Era of Farming
    2015-eo-day-dg
    Geospatial Big Data with DigitalGlobe
    2015-eo-day-planet
    Planet on AWS
    2015-eo-day-blueraster
    Emerging Hotspots of Global Tree Cover Loss
    2015-eo-day-noaa
    NOAA Big Data Project
    2015-eo-day-mapbox
    How Mapbox Does Earth
    2016-ag-day-planetos
    Big Data Infrastructure for Data Driven Agriculture
    2015-eo-day-harris
    Earth Observation in the Cloud using ENVI
  • Articles

    A look at how Sinergise is using AWS to find innovative ways to process the already more than 200TB of data coming from Sentinel-2 satellite.

    Read

    Zooniverse aggregates data from 1.4M volunteers and 65 full time researchers analyze all of this data to derive value from it in an effort to reduce the impact of disasters.

    Read

    An exploration of how the University of Oklahoma uses NEXRAD data on AWS to study migrating flocks of birds.

    Read

    Exploring how Conservation International opened up 60 datasets for governments and scientists, over 12TB of data.

    Read

    More and more, research in the areas of climate change, agricultural resilience and space exploration rely on access to computing resources in the cloud. Because the cloud makes it easy to share massive amounts of data and allows them to only pay for the computing resources they need, they can accelerate their pace of research while reducing costs.

    Read

    A look at how NOAA has opened up NEXRAD, a network of 160 high-resolution Doppler radar sites that enables severe storm prediction and is used by researchers and commercial enterprises to study and address the impact of weather across multiple sectors.

    Read

    Planet OS talks about their OpenNEX Climate Data Access Tool, which allows users to generate custom datasets from the NASA Earth Exchange GDDP and DCP-30 data. With this tool, Planet OS is helping the NASA Earth Exchange team make these valuable climate datasets accessible to the masses

    Read

    Mapzen gathered elevation data from various public sources and is making it easy for startups, enterprises, and research institutions to access and use via Amazon S3. These digital elevation models (DEMs) provide a powerful way to examine the elevation of the Earth’s surface. You can read a Q&A we conducted with Mapzen about this dataset.

    Read

AWS Cloud Credits for Research are available for anyone to conduct research using Earth Observation data on AWS. Students, educators, and researchers are key drivers of technological innovation and we want to support new advances in the field.

Learn How to Apply

AWS Marketplace has dozens of geospatial, GIS and location-based applications that can benefit your routing, planning, predictive modeling and mapping to deliver richer and more meaningful solutions. Easily launch intelligent location and mapping solutions into your AWS account and start understanding the world around you in a new way.

Explore Solutions