问:Amazon EKS Anywhere 是什么?

Amazon EKS Anywhere 是一个全新的部署选项,可让您在本地轻松创建及操作 Kubernetes 集群,包括在您自己的虚拟机 (VM) 和裸机服务器上。Kubernetes 是一个开源软件,具有实现部署自动化、扩展及管理容器化应用程序的功能,而 Amazon EKS 是一种在 AWS 上运行 Kubernetes 的托管 Kubernetes 服务。Amazon EKS Anywhere 为在本地大规模创建和操作 Kubernetes 集群提供了一个可安装的软件包。Amazon EKS Anywhere 基于 Amazon EKS Distro 创建集群,而 Amazon EKS Distro 是 Amazon EKS 在 AWS 上用于集群的同一个 Kubernetes 发行版本。Amazon EKS Anywhere 可让您实现集群管理自动化、降低支持成本并无需再累赘地使用多个工具来操作 Kubernetes 集群,而且 AWS 完全支持 Amazon EKS Anywhere。

问:为何应该使用 EKS Anywhere?

许多跨多个环境中运行 Kubernetes 的客户在努力寻找对构成堆栈的各种组件的支持。碎片化的支持和对每个组件的许可,会导致复杂化、堆栈不一致、支持存在差距以及在出现问题时无法获得解决方案或根本原因。借助 Amazon EKS Anywhere,您可以对您所有位置的 Amazon EKS 集群部署使用单一支持协议和一致的环境。在生产中运行 Kubernetes 所需的各种组件的整理及测试工作由 AWS 完成和维护,释放您工程师的宝贵周期,让您的应用程序更快投入生产。

问:EKS Distro 是什么?

EKS Distro 是 Amazon EKS 部署的拥有同一个开源 Kubernetes 和依赖项的发行版本,
供您在任何地方手动创建 Kubernetes 集群。EKS Distro 包括开源 Kubernetes 的二进制文件和容器、etcd(集群配置数据库)、联网、存储插件,所有这些都经过兼容性测试。社区支持到期后,EKS Distro 将通过利用最新关键安全补丁更新先前的版本构建,提供对 Kubernetes 版本的扩展支持。您将能够从 GitHub 或通过 Amazon S3 和 Amazon ECR 在 AWS 内安全地访问所发布的 EKS Distro,以获得来自同一来源的版本和更新。

问:Amazon EKS 控制面板是什么?

Amazon EKS 在 AWS 控制台中提供了一个集成式控制面板,用于连接、查看及排除运行 Anywhere 的 Kubernetes 集群和应用程序的故障。

问:EKS Anywhere 是否需要连接到 AWS 区域的互联网连接?

有三种连接选项:完全连接、部分断开连接和完全断开连接。对于完全连接和部分断开连接的连接方式,您可以将您的 Amazon EKS Anywhere 集群连接到 AWS。这样您就可以将 EKS 控制台用作运行 Anywhere 的集群的单一管理平台,与 App Mesh 集成,将日志和指标推送到 AWS 中以集中观测,执行集群备份及拍摄快照到 Amazon S3 存储桶,运行集群成本管理和优化工具,运行合规性检查,审计跟踪报告和配置策略实施。在集群部分断开连接的情况下,不会影响在集群上运行的应用程序,但是由于间歇性断开连接会持续几小时,集中观测等功能和 AWS 控制台中的 EKS 控制面板会从断开连接时开始显示状态,并在连接恢复后恢复到最终一致性。在断开连接的情况下,您可以使用 EKS Distro 并利用开源工具来运行集群。

问:EKS Anywhere 与 EKS Distro 之间有何关系?

它们都是您运行 Kubernetes 所必需的。您首先需要可以部署在任何地方的受信任发行版本(即 EKS Distro)。 其次,从开发环境转到生产环境后,您将需要可大规模运行的管理工具(即 EKS Anywhere)。 如果您目前管理着您自己的 Kubernetes 集群,则可以使用 EKS Distro 将您环境中的安全、稳定和受社区支持的 Kubernetes 标准化,并利用开源工具来创建及管理 EKS Distro 集群。EKS Anywhere 运行 EKS Distro 并提供了自动化工具,该工具能够简化在裸机、vSphere 和云虚拟机等基础设施上的集群创建、管理和操作,并具有用于日志记录、监控、联网和存储的默认配置,但带来了在生产中运行 Kubernetes 所需的固定工具和其他组件:集群安装和生命周期管理、观测、集群备份和策略管理工具及组件。

问:EKS Anywhere 提供什么功能?

EKS Anywhere 提供一个安装程序和命令行界面 (CLI)。 EKS Anywhere 提供了固定 EKS Distro 集群的集群引导操作,以及针对节点操作系统、容器运行时、容器网络接口 (CNI)、服务负载均衡器、入口和存储类的可选配置默认值,为您自己的裸机或 vSphere 6.5+ 集群带来了部署目标。您可以获得针对完全连接的、部分断开连接的和完全断开连接的环境的连接支持。EKS Anywhere 提供一个监控和日志记录堆栈(包括 Prometheus 和 Grafana)。 您可以执行集群启动前检查。您可以将 OAuth 和 Open ID Connect 联合身份验证与 AWS IAM 结合起来使用。EKS Anywhere 可与 AWS Controllers for Kubeneters(ACK 控制器)一起使用。 您可以将集群连接至 EKS 控制面板、AWS App Mesh、AWS SSM、AWS CloudWatch 和 AWS Marketplace 等 AWS API。EKS Anywhere 可使用 Flux 操作符实现由 git 驱动的集群生命周期和配置管理。AWS 支持捆绑,以将集群遥测、日志和指标推送到 AWS。您可以拍摄集群快照和备份集群。还提供集群成本优化工具。EKS Anywhere 附带有 AWS Premium Support。

问:EKS Anywhere 集群是如何固定的?

固定的 Kubernetes 集群可为您提供预先配置的默认配置,以降低复杂性,并自动化与在该固定的 Kubernetes 集群运行的环境中创建及操作集群相关的集群配置。EKS Anywhere 运行固定的 EKS Distro,该 EKS Distro 包括面向节点操作系统、容器运行时、容器网络接口 (CNI)、入口、存储类别和可观测性的与 Amazon EKS 一致的可选默认值。EKS Anywhere 还会有一个服务负载均衡器(例如 MetalLB)作为打包的默认程序。

问:此功能或服务与其他 AWS 服务有什么关系?

您可以借助 EKS Anywhere 使用 AWS 服务,例如从 Amazon ECR 提取容器图像以及从 AWS Marketplace 部署容器化应用程序堆栈。您可以将 EKS Anywhere 集群连接到 EKS 操作控制面板,拍摄集群快照以及将集群备份至 Amazon S3。您可以使用 AWS SSM 代理连接 EKS Anywhere 基础设施资源,并使用 SSM 控制面板进行查看,将 EKS Anywhere 日志和指标聚合到 Amazon CloudWatch,以及使用 AWS Config 审核集群配置。

问:如何将 Amazon ECR 和 EKS Anywhere 结合起来使用?

您可以将现有 CI/CD 管道指向 Amazon ECR,然后利用 Direct Connect + VPN 等 AWS 服务从您的本地网络建立一个安全隧道。您还可以将 ECR 用于公有映像存储库。EKS Anywhere 可逐渐将您的存储库数据从本地转移到 AWS。

问:EKS Anywhere 支持哪些平台和操作系统来进行外部计算?

EKS Anywhere 集群将支持虚拟化基础设施 (VMware vSphere 6.5+) 和裸机。您可以自带受支持的操作系统或使用 Amazon Linux (AL2)。 如果您自带操作系统,Amazon 会向供应商提供一个测试矩阵,以认证适用 EKS Anywhere 的操作系统版本。如果是 vSphere 集群,会向 EKS Anywhere 提供 vCenter API 访问权限,以在虚拟机上执行 CRUD 操作。对于裸机,您提供节点、操作系统和节点联网,EKS Anywhere 会首先自动化预置集群。

问:EKS Anywhere 是否支持裸机集群?

是的,EKS Anywhere 支持运行捆绑操作系统的 x86_x64 架构,我们将根据客户反馈认证特定操作系统。结合 Firecracker 一起使用可为您带来最佳裸机体验。我们将会加入 Ignite 等开源工具来实现 Kubernetes 支持。增加裸机支持将满足客户消除许可成本和管理 VMware 所产生的运营开销的需求。

问:如何开始使用 EKS Anywhere?

第一步,下载一个安装程序和命令行界面 (CLI) 工具。运行安装程序,以创建一个本地环境,来使用 CLI 工具创建首个 Kubernetes 集群。EKS Anywhere 提供的集群配置文件中会提供节点大小、联网、存储等集群属性。CLI 用于创建具有所需配置的 EKS Anywhere 集群。集群预置完成后,便可使用 gitops 来管理集群生命周期。您可以轻松使用 S3 等 AWS 服务来拍摄集群快照及备份集群,还可以通过 EKS、Systems Manager、App Mesh 和 CloudWatch 所提供的集中控制来获得优势。在有安全补丁或新版 EKS 可用时,您将通过 EKS 控制台、GitHub 发布渠道或 SNS 主题收到通知。AWS 成为客户运行及操作在各个本地和 AWS 环境中运行的 Kubernetes 集群时的中心位置。

问:对于容器,EKS Anywhere 支持哪些操作系统?

在交付 EKS Anywhere 时,会随附其支持的节点操作系统,例如 Amazon Linux 2。您也可以自带节点操作系统和支持许可证,例如 RHEL 和 Ubuntu。

问:EKS Anywhere 是否会管理底层客户硬件?

不会。EKS Anywhere 不会管理底层集群基础设施或您的集群控制平面。此类管理采用责任共担模式。AWS 会向您提供可在线和离线操作的集群管理工具,但底层基础设施的管理由您的平台团队负责。

问:要开始使用 EKS Anywhere,需要满足什么先决条件?

您需要为控制集群实例提供容量,为集群创建分配虚拟机或裸机硬件,分配工作节点,在内部开放端口以允许分配的容量和 API 服务器(默认端口 6443)之间,以及 eksctl 的运算符终端节点之间的流量。还需要允许端口和流量通过 VPN、Direct Connect 或 Transit Gateway 从集群子网到 Amazon EKS 的出站,以使多集群工具、代理流量向 Amazon EKS 发送运行状况状态以及 App Mesh 控制平面访问其控制器。

问:EKS Anywhere 是否可以搭配 AWS Snowball 一起使用?

是的,EKS Anywhere 为 Snowball 计算实例提供官方支持,以用于断开连接的使用案例。

Product-Page_Standard-Icons_02_Sign-Up_SqInk
了解有关 EKS Anywhere 的更多信息

访问产品“概览”页面。

了解更多 
Product-Page_Standard-Icons_03_Start-Building_SqInk
注册以接收消息

了解有关 EKS Anywhere 的更多信息。

了解更多

Q: What is Amazon EKS Anywhere?

Amazon EKS Anywhere is a new deployment option that enables you to easily create and operate Kubernetes clusters on-premises, including on your own virtual machines (VMs) and bare metal servers. Kubernetes is open source software for automating deployment, scaling, and management of containerized applications, and Amazon EKS is a managed Kubernetes service to run Kubernetes on AWS. Amazon EKS Anywhere provides an installable software package for creating and operating Kubernetes clusters on-premises at scale. Amazon EKS Anywhere creates clusters based on Amazon EKS Distro, the same Kubernetes distribution used by Amazon EKS for clusters on AWS. Amazon EKS Anywhere enables you to automate cluster management, reduce support costs, and eliminate the redundant effort of using multiple tools for operating Kubernetes clusters, and it’s fully supported by AWS.

Q: Why should I use EKS Anywhere?

Many customers running Kubernetes across multiple environments struggle with finding support for the various components that make up the stack. Fragmented support and for licensing every component results in complexity, an inconsistent stack, support gaps, and inability to get resolutions or root-cause issues when things break. With Amazon EKS Anywhere, you can leverage a single support agreement and consistent environment for your Amazon EKS cluster deployments across locations. The burden of collating and testing the various components needed to run Kubernetes in production is provided and maintained by AWS, getting your apps into production sooner by freeing up valuable cycles for your engineers.

Q: What is EKS Distro?

EKS Distro is a distribution of the same open source Kubernetes and dependencies deployed by
Amazon EKS for you to manually create Kubernetes clusters anywhere. EKS Distro includes binaries and containers of open source Kubernetes, etcd (cluster configuration database), networking, storage plugins, all tested for compatibility. EKS Distro will provide extended support for Kubernetes versions after community support expires, by updating builds of previous versions with the latest critical security patches. You will be able to securely access EKS Distro releases from GitHub or within AWS via Amazon S3 and Amazon ECR for a common source of releases and updates.

Q: What is the Amazon EKS dashboard?

Amazon EKS provides an integrated dashboard in the AWS console for connecting, visualizing, and troubleshooting Kubernetes clusters and applications running anywhere.

Q: Does EKS Anywhere require internet connectivity to an AWS region?

There are three connectivity options: fully connected, partially disconnected, and fully disconnected. For fully connected and partially disconnected connectivity, you can connect your Amazon EKS Anywhere clusters to AWS. This lets you leverage the EKS console as a single pane of glass for clusters running anywhere, integrate with App Mesh, push logs and metrics into AWS for centralized observability, perform cluster backups and snapshots to Amazon S3 buckets, run cluster cost management and optimization tools, and run compliance checks, audit trail reporting, and configuration policy enforcement. In the case of partially disconnected clusters, there is no impact on your applications running on the clusters but since intermittent disconnects can last several hours, features such as centralized observability and the EKS dashboard in the AWS console will show state from the time of disconnect, with eventual consistency restored once the connection returns. In disconnected scenarios, you can use EKS Distro and leverage open source tools to run your clusters.

Q: What is the relationship between EKS Anywhere and EKS Distro?

There are two things you need to run Kubernetes. First you need a trusted distribution that can be deployed anywhere (EKS Distro.) Second, once you move from development to production environments, you will need management tooling to run at scale (EKS Anywhere.) If you currently manage your own Kubernetes clusters, you can leverage EKS Distro to standardize on a secure, stable, and community supported version of Kubernetes across your environments and leverage open source tooling to create and manage EKS Distro clusters. EKS Anywhere runs EKS Distro and provides automation tooling that simplifies cluster creation, administration and operations on infrastructure such as bare metal, vSphere, and cloud virtual machines with default configurations for logging, monitoring, networking, and storage but brings opinionated tooling and additional components you would need to run Kubernetes in production: cluster installation and lifecycle management, observability, cluster backup, and policy management.

Q: What functionality does EKS Anywhere offer?

EKS Anywhere provides an installer and command line interface (CLI.) It offers cluster bootstrap of opinionated EKS Distro clusters with optional configuration defaults for node OS, container runtime, container network interface (CNI), service load balancer, ingress and storage classes EKS Anywhere brings deployment targets for your own bare metal or vSphere clusters. You get connectivity support for fully connected, partially connected and disconnected environments. EKS Anywhere offers a monitoring and logging stack (including Prometheus and Grafana.) You can do cluster pre-flight checks. You can use OAuth and Open ID Connect federation with AWS IAM. EKS Anywhere works with the AWS Controllers for Kubeneters (ACK controller.) You can connect clusters to AWS APIs like the EKS dashboard, AWS App Mesh, AWS SSM, AWS CloudWatch, and AWS Marketplace. EKS Anywhere enables git driven cluster lifecycle and config management using the Flux operator. AWS supports bundle to push cluster telemetry, logs, and metrics to AWS. You can do cluster snapshots and cluster backups. There are tools for cluster cost optimization. EKS Anywhere comes with AWS Premium support.

Q: How will EKS Anywhere clusters be opinionated?

An opinionated Kubernetes cluster provides you with pre-configured defaults to reduce complexity and automate cluster configuration associated with creating and operating a cluster in the environment it’s running in. EKS Anywhere runs the opinionated EKS Distro that includes optional defaults consistent with Amazon EKS for node OS, container runtime, container network interface (CNI), ingress, storage classes, and observability. EKS Anywhere will also have a service load balancer as a packaged default.

Q: How does this feature or service relate to other AWS services?

You can consume AWS services with EKS Anywhere, such as pulling container images from Amazon ECR and deploying containerized application stacks from AWS Marketplace. You can connectEKS Anywhere clusters to the EKS operations dashboard, and snapshot, backup clusters to Amazon S3. You can connect EKS Anywhere infrastructure resources using AWS SSM agents and view using the SSM dashboard, aggregate EKS Anywhere logs and metrics to Amazon CloudWatch, and audit cluster configurations using AWS Config.

Q: How can I use Amazon ECR with EKS Anywhere?

You can point your existing CI/CD pipelines to Amazon ECR and leverage AWS services such as Direct Connect + VPN to establish a secure tunnel from your on-premises network. You can also leverage ECR for a public image repository. EKS Anywhere enables the gradual shift of the your registry data from on-premises to AWS.

Q: What platforms and operating systems does EKS Anywhere support for external compute?

EKS Anywhere clusters will support virtualized infrastructure (VMware vSphere 6.5+) and bare metal. You can bring your own supported operating system or use an AWS bundled OS. In the case of you bringing your own OS, Amazon will provide vendors with a test matrix to certify your OS versions with EKS Anywhere. In the case of vSphere clusters, EKS Anywhere is given vCenter API access to perform CRUD operations on VMs. For bare metal, you provides the node, OS, node networking and EKS Anywhere will automate cluster provisioning on top.

Q: Will EKS Anywhere support bare-metal clusters?

Yes, EKS Anywhere will support x86_x64 architecture running a bundled operating system, and we will certify specific operating systems per customer feedback.

Q: How do I start using EKS Anywhere?

The first step is to download an installer and a command line interface (CLI) tool. The installer is run to create a local environment to use the CLI tool to create the first Kubernetes cluster. Cluster properties such as node size, networking, storage is specified in a EKS Anywhere provided cluster config file. The CLI is used to create a EKS Anywhere cluster with the desired configuration. Once a cluster is provisioned, the cluster lifecycle can be managed using gitops. You can easily consume AWS services such as S3 for cluster snapshots and backups and benefit from centralized control provided by EKS, Systems Manager, App Mesh, and CloudWatch. When a security patch or new version of EKS becomes available, you are notified from the EKS console, GitHub release channel or SNS topic. AWS becomes the central place customer run and operate your Kubernetes clusters running across your on-premises and AWS environments.

Q: What operating systems will EKS Anywhere support for containers?

EKS Anywhere will ship with supported node operating systems. You will also be able to bring your own node operating system and support license.

Q: Does EKS Anywhere manage the underlying customer hardware?

No. EKS Anywhere will not manage the underlying cluster infrastructure or your cluster control plane. Management will be a shared responsibility model. AWS will provide you cluster management tooling that can operate online and offline, however, the underlying infrastructure is the responsibility of your platform team.

Q: What pre-requisites will you need to fulfill in order to get started with EKS Anywhere?

You will need to provide capacity for control cluster instances, allocate VM or bare-metal hardware for cluster creation, worker nodes, and open ports internally to allow traffic between the allocated capacity and API server (Default Port 6443) and between operator endpoints for eksctl. Ports and traffic will also need to be allowed outbound from the cluster’s subnet(s) to Amazon EKS across VPN, Direct Connect or Transit Gateway to enable multi-cluster tooling, agent traffic to send health status to Amazon EKS, and App Mesh control plane access for its controller.

Q: Will EKS Anywhere work with AWS Snowball?

Yes, EKS Anywhere will officially support Snowball compute instances for disconnected use cases.

Product-Page_Standard-Icons_02_Sign-Up_SqInk
Learn more about EKS Anywhere

Visit the product Overview page.

Learn more 
Product-Page_Standard-Icons_03_Start-Building_SqInk
Register to keep informed

Learn more about EKS Anywhere.

Learn more