AWS IoT Device Defender

Gestion de sécurité pour les appareils IoT

AWS IoT Device Defender est un service entièrement géré qui facilite la protection de votre flotte d'appareils IoT. AWS IoT Device Defender contrôle en continu vos configurations IoT pour garantir leur conformité par rapport aux bonnes pratiques de sécurité. Une configuration est un ensemble de contrôles techniques que vous définissez pour aider à maintenir la sécurité d'informations lorsque des appareils communiquent entre eux et avec le cloud. AWS IoT Device Defender facilite la gestion et l'application des configurations IoT, en s'assurant, par exemple, de l'identité des appareils, de leurs authentification et autorisation, ainsi que du chiffrement de leurs données. AWS IoT Device Defender vérifie en continu les configurations IoT de vos appareils par rapport à un ensemble de bonnes pratiques de sécurité prédéfinies. Le service envoie une alerte si vos configuration IoT s'écartent des bonnes pratiques de telle sorte que cela pourrait créer un risque de sécurité, par exemple, des certificats d'identité partagés entre plusieurs appareils ou un appareil associé à un certificat d'identité révoqué qui essaie de se connecter à AWS IoT Core.

AWS IoT Device Defender vous permet également de surveiller des métriques de sécurité d'appareils et d'AWS IoT Core pour voir si rien ne s'écarte de ce que vous avez défini comme étant un comportement approprié pour chaque appareil. En cas d'anomalie, AWS IoT Device Defender envoie une alerte afin que vous puissiez prendre les mesures nécessaires pour résoudre le problème. Par exemple, les pics de trafic sortant pourraient indiquer qu'un appareil participe à une attaque DDoS. AWS Greengrass et Amazon FreeRTOSs'intègrent automatiquement à AWS IoT Device Defender pour fournir des métriques de sécurité provenant des appareils à des fins d'évaluation.

AWS IoT Device Defender peut envoyer des alertes à la console AWS IoT, à Amazon CloudWatch et à Amazon SNS. Si vous estimez que vous devez prendre des mesures concernant une alerte, vous pouvez utiliser le service AWS IoT Device Management pour prendre des mesures d'atténuation telles que l'application de correctifs de sécurité.

Préservation de la sécurité des appareils connectés

Avantages

Vérification des configurations des appareils pour la détection des vulnérabilités de sécurité

AWS IoT Device Defender vérifie les configurations IoT associées à vos appareils par rapport à un ensemble de bonnes pratiques de sécurité IoT définies pour détecter avec précision les failles de sécurité. Vous pouvez réaliser des audits de façon continue ou ponctuelle. AWS IoT Device Defender s'accompagne de bonnes pratiques de sécurité que vous pouvez sélectionner et exécuter dans le cadre de l'audit. Par exemple, vous pouvez créer un audit pour vérifier des certificats d'identité inactifs, révoqués, arrivant à expiration ou en attente de transfert dans moins de 7 jours. Les vérifications rendent possible la réception d'alertes pendant la mise à jour de votre configuration IoT.

Surveillance continue du comportement des appareils pour identifier les anomalies

AWS IoT Device Defender détecte les anomalies de comportement des appareils qui peuvent indiquer un appareil compromis en surveillant les métriques à haute valeur de sécurité provenant du cloud et d'AWS IoT Core, ainsi qu'en les comparant au comportement attendu que vous avez défini concernant les appareils. Par exemple, AWS IoT Device Defender vous permet de définir le nombre de ports ouverts sur l'appareil, les appareils avec lesquels il peut communiquer, son ou ses points de connexion et la quantité de données qu'il envoie ou reçoit. Le service surveille le trafic de l'appareil et vous avertit en cas d'anomalie, par exemple, le trafic d'appareils vers une adresse IP connue malveillante ou des points de terminaison non autorisés.

Réception d'alertes et prise de mesures

AWS IoT Device Defender publie des alertes de sécurité sur la console AWS IoT, sur Amazon CloudWatch et sur Amazon SNS lors de l'échec d'une vérification ou lors de la détection d'anomalies de comportement afin que vous puissiez enquêter et déterminer la cause profonde. Par exemple, AWS IoT Device Defender peut vous alerter lorsque les identités de l'appareil accèdent à des API sensibles. AWS IoT Device Defender recommande également des mesures que vous pouvez prendre pour réduire l'impact de problèmes de sécurité telles que la révocation d'autorisations, le redémarrage d'un appareil, le rétablissement des paramètres d'usine d'un appareil ou l'application de correctifs de sécurité sur l'un de vos appareils connectés.

Fonctionnement

Fonctionnement – AWS IoT Device Defender

Cas d'utilisation

Conformité continue et adoption des bonnes pratiques de sécurité

L'équipe AWS IoT dédiée à la sécurité met continuellement à jour une base de connaissance de bonnes pratiques de sécurité. AWS IoT Device Defender met cette expertise à disposition dans un service et simplifie l'établissement et la vérification des bonnes pratiques dans votre environnement AWS IoT. AWS IoT Device Defender vous aide à réduire le risque d'introduire des problèmes de sécurité lors du développement et du déploiement de votre application IoT en automatisant l'évaluation de sécurité de vos configurations cloud et de vos flottes d'appareils. Ainsi, vous pouvez gérer de manière proactive les problèmes de sécurité avant qu'ils n'affectent la production.

Évaluation de la surface d'attaque

Grâce à AWS IoT Device Defender, vous pouvez identifier des vecteurs d'attaque applicables à vos appareils IoT spécifiques. Le fait d'avoir cette visibilité vous permet de hiérarchiser l'élimination ou le renforcement des composants système pertinents en fonction des exigences opérationnelles. Par exemple, vous pouvez configurer AWS IoT Device Defender de manière à détecter l'utilisation de services réseau et de protocoles non sécurités présentant des failles de sécurité connues. En cas de détection, vous pouvez planifier la résolution appropriée pour éviter l'accès d'appareils non autorisé ou la divulgation éventuelle de données.

Analyse de l'impact des menaces

AWS IoT Device Defender peut faciliter l'analyse de l'impact de campagnes d'attaques dévoilées publiquement ou en privé sur vos appareils IoT. Vous pouvez définir des règles de détection dans AWS IoT Device Defender en fonction d'indicateurs connus de compromission afin d'identifier des appareils vulnérables des appareils déjà compromis. Par exemple, les règles de détection peuvent surveiller les appareils IoT à la recherche d'indicateurs comme des connexions réseau à des commandes malveillantes connues et contrôles des ports de service de serveurs ou backdoor ouverts sur les appareils.

Références client

Géorgie-Pacifique

« AWS IoT Device Defender intègre la surveillance du comportement des périphériques indispensables pour toute entreprise IoT qui construit une infrastructure sécurisée. »

- Franz Garsombke, Directeur technique, Rachio


Teralytic

« La réputation et le modèle de revenus de SolarNow reposent sur la tolérance zéro vis-à-vis de toute interruption de service contrôlable. La connectivité mondiale AWS IoT Device Defender et Eseye AnyNet est le moyen le plus simple, le plus rapide et le plus rentable d'atteindre et de mettre à niveau un niveau élevé de sécurité des périphériques et de détection des anomalies. Nos clients sont ainsi protégés contre les interruptions de service et l'excellence du service fait la réputation de SolarNow. »

- Peter Huisman, directeur de la technologie, SolarNow

Démarrer avec AWS

icon1

Créer un compte AWS

Obtenez un accès instantané au Niveau gratuit d'AWS.
icon2

Découvrir avec des didacticiels de 10 minutes

Explorez et apprenez avec des didacticiels simples.
icon3

Commencer à créer avec AWS

Commencez à créer avec des guides pas à pas pour vous aider à lancer votre projet AWS.

En savoir plus sur AWS IoT Device Defender

Consulter la page des fonctions
Vous avez d'autres questions ?
Contactez-nous
Prêt à concevoir ?
Démarrer avec AWS IoT Device Defender

AWS IoT Device Defender

Security management for IoT devices

What is AWS IoT Device Defender

AWS IoT Device Defender is a fully managed service that helps you secure your fleet of IoT devices. AWS IoT Device Defender continuously audits your IoT configurations to make sure that they aren’t deviating from security best practices. A configuration is a set of technical controls you set to help keep information secure when devices are communicating with each other and the cloud. AWS IoT Device Defender makes it easy to maintain and enforce IoT configurations, such as ensuring device identity, authenticating and authorizing devices, and encrypting device data. AWS IoT Device Defender continuously audits the IoT configurations on your devices against a set of predefined security best practices. AWS IoT Device Defender sends an alert if there are any gaps in your IoT configuration that might create a security risk, such as identity certificates being shared across multiple devices or a device with a revoked identity certificate trying to connect to AWS IoT Core.

AWS IoT Device Defender also lets you continuously monitor security metrics from devices and AWS IoT Core for deviations from what you have defined as appropriate behavior for each device. If something doesn’t look right, AWS IoT Device Defender sends out an alert so you can take action to remediate the issue. For example, traffic spikes in outbound traffic might indicate that a device is participating in a DDoS attack. AWS Greengrass and Amazon FreeRTOS automatically integrate with AWS IoT Device Defender to provide security metrics from the devices for evaluation.

AWS IoT Device Defender can send alerts to the AWS IoT Console, Amazon CloudWatch, and Amazon SNS. If you determine that you need to take an action based on an alert, you can use the AWS IoT Device Management service to take mitigating actions such as pushing security fixes.

Keeping Connected Devices Secure

Why is IoT Security Important

Connected devices are constantly communicating with each other and the cloud using different kinds of wireless communication protocols. While communication creates responsive IoT applications, it can also expose IoT security vulnerabilities and open up channels for malicious actors or accidental data leaks. To protect users, devices, and companies, IoT devices must be secured and protected. The foundation of IoT security exists within the control, management, and set up of connections between devices. Proper protection helps keep data private, restricts access to devices and cloud resources, offers secure ways to connect to the cloud, and audits device usage. An IoT security strategy reduces vulnerabilities using policies like device identity management, encryption, and access control.

What are IoT Device Security Vulnerabilities

A security vulnerability is a weakness which can be exploited to compromise the integrity or availability of your IoT application. IoT devices by nature, are vulnerable. IoT fleets consist of devices that have diverse capabilities, are long-lived, and are geographically distributed. These characteristics, coupled with the growing number of devices, raise questions about how to address security risks posed by IoT devices.  To further amplify security risks, many devices have a low-level of compute, memory, and storage capabilities, which limits opportunities for implementing security on devices. Even if you have implemented best practices for security, new attack vectors are constantly emerging. To detect and mitigate vulnerabilities, organizations should consistently audit device settings and health.

AWS IoT Device Defender Helps You Manage IoT Security

Audit Device Configurations for Security Vulnerabilities

AWS IoT Device Defender audits IoT configurations associated with your devices against a set of defined IoT security best practices so you know exactly where you have security gaps. You can run audits on a continuous or ad-hoc basis. AWS IoT Device Defender comes with security best practices that you can select and run as part of the audit. For example, you can create an audit to check for identity certificates that are inactive, revoked, expiring, or pending transfer in less than 7 days. Audits make it possible for you to receive alerts as your IoT configuration is updated.

Continuously Monitor Device Behavior to Identify Anomalies

AWS IoT Device Defender detects anomalies in device behavior that may indicate a compromised device by monitoring high-value security metrics from the cloud and AWS IoT Core and comparing them against expected device behavior that you define. For example, AWS IoT Device Defender lets you define how many ports are open on the device, who the device can talk to, where it is connecting from, and how much data it sends or receives. Then it monitors the device traffic and alerts you if something looks wrong, like traffic from devices to a known malicious IP or unauthorized endpoints.

Receive Alerts and Take Action

AWS IoT Device Defender publishes security alerts to the AWS IoT Console, Amazon CloudWatch, and Amazon SNS when an audit fails or when behavior anomalies are detected so you can investigate and determine the root cause. For example, AWS IoT Device Defender can alert you when device identities are accessing sensitive APIs. AWS IoT Device Defender also recommends actions you can take to minimize the impact of security issues such as revoking permissions, rebooting a device, resetting factory defaults, or pushing security fixes to any of your connected devices.

How Does IoT Security Work

AWS IoT Core provides the security building blocks for you to securely connect devices to the cloud and to other devices. The building blocks allow enforcing security controls such as authentication, authorization, audit logging and end-to-end encryption. However, human or systemic errors and authorized actors with bad intentions can introduce configurations with negative security impacts.

AWS IoT Device Defender helps you to continuously audit security configurations for compliance with security best practices and your own organizational security policies. For example, cryptographic algorithms once known to provide secure digital signatures for device certificates can be weakened by advances in the computing and cryptanalysis methods. Continual auditing allows you to push new firmware updates and redefine certificates to ensure your devices stay ahead of malicious actors.

How it Works - AWS IoT Device Defender

When to Use AWS IoT Security Services

IoT security solutions are critical across commercial, industrial, and consumer applications such as connected home and industrial applications.

Continuous Compliance and Adoption of Security Best Practices

The AWS IoT security team is continuously updating a knowledge base of security best practices. AWS IoT Device Defender makes this expertise available in a service and simplifies the process of establishing and auditing best practices within your AWS IoT environment. AWS IoT Device Defender helps you reduce the risk of introducing security issues during the development and deployment of your IoT application by automating the security assessment of your cloud configurations and device fleets so you can proactively manage security issues before they impact production.

Attack Surface Evaluation

With AWS IoT Device Defender, you can identify attack vectors applicable to your specific IoT devices. Having this visibility allows you to prioritize eliminating or hardening the relevant system components based on the operational requirements. For example, you can configure AWS IoT Device Defender to detect use of insecure network services and protocols with known security weaknesses. Upon detection, you can plan the appropriate remediation to prevent unauthorized device access or possible data disclosure.

Threat Impact Analysis

AWS IoT Device Defender can facilitate impact analysis of publicly or privately disclosed attack campaigns on your IoT devices. You can define detection rules in AWS IoT Device Defender based on known indicators of compromise to identify vulnerable devices or devices already compromised. For example, the detection rules can monitor IoT devices for indicators such as network connections to known malicious command and control servers and backdoor service ports open on devices.

Customer References

Georgia-Pacific

“AWS IoT Device Defender provides device behavior monitoring that is a must-have for any IoT company that is building a secure infrastructure.”

- Franz Garsombke, CTO, Rachio


Teralytic

"SolarNow’s business reputation and revenue model is built on zero-tolerance of any controllable service disruption. AWS IoT Device Defender and Eseye global AnyNet Secure connectivity is the easiest, quickest and most cost-effective way for us to achieve and scale a high level of device security and anomaly detection. This protects our customers from service interruptions and SolarNow’s reputation for excellent customer service.”

- Peter Huisman, CTO, SolarNow

Get Started with AWS IoT Device Defender

icon1

Sign into the console

Instantly access the AWS IoT Device Defender console.
icon2

Learn how to use AWS IoT Device Defender

Explore the technical documentation.
icon3

Explore key features

Visit the features page to explore audit and detect.

Learn more about AWS IoT Device Defender

Visit the features page
Ready to build?
Get started with AWS IoT Device Defender
Have more questions?
Contact us