Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Fortinet FortiGate (BYOL) Next-Generation Firewall

Fortinet Inc. | 7.0.2

Linux/Unix, Other 7.0.2 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

2 AWS reviews
  • 2
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

99 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Computer & Network Security

Excellent Firewall once you know how to use it

  • October 21, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
How easy it is to create policies and reporting is excellent
What do you dislike?
Migrating config between different models
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Multi-Tenant works brilliantly with Vdoms on the Fortigate


    Hieu H.

The Next Generation Firewall high performance and including SDWAN Function

  • October 21, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The FortiGate Firewall has many Security Functions (like Web Filtering, Application Control, IPS, Antivirus, ...) that help the organization to protect the users.
Beside that, the FortiGate Firewall also has SD-WAN Function that optimizing traffic from user to application via the hybrid WAN environment (MPLS, Internet Broadband, ...).
And what i like the best is that we can combine Security Function and SD-WAN, which means I can optimize traffic from user to application and also can scan this traffic flow with Security Function to protect the Local Application Server or the User.
What do you dislike?
The feature is good, but the FortiOS has many bugs.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I combine SD-WAN and Security Function, so I can replace the Router and old Firewall at the Branch Site with a single FortiGate device. That helps me manage the Network and Security aspects at the Branch easier.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Make a stable FortiOS firmware.


    Brahmam V.

Best User-friendly firewall

  • October 14, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
1. Attractive web dashboard and has easily navigatable tabs .
2. We can manage and control layer two wireless access points.
3. Building IPsec VPN and SSL VPN is easy when compared with the other firewalls.
4. We can configure Virtual networks called VDOMs within the same firewall.
5. Configuration of NAT and Static routes are pretty straightforward.
What do you dislike?
Except syslog configuration in GUI, there is nothing much to dislike, it is very good and user-friendly firewall for beginners.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
1. Separating departments and configuring individual firewall rules for each department using VDOMs.
2. Exporting Netflow and Syslogs to the cloud-based log management tools.
3. Using firewall as intrusion detection intrusion prevention system.
4. Configuring Site to Site IPsec VPN between on-premise firewall and firewall deployed on the cloud.
5. Using it as a secure gateway to connect the servers inside the LAN using forticlient software.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is straightforward to use and best suited for the organization who want to provide VPN access for their employees


    Logistics and Supply Chain

Best budget high end next generation Firewall that has all the real world capabilities

  • October 13, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The fortigate GUI is the best in class when compared to Firepower or Palo alto.

It is speedy, responsive and very user friendly. The cli console is available to run those debug command that you may need troubleshoot stuff and everything else is a click away.
What do you dislike?
The organisation can improve in terms of support. Simple issues takes days to get resolved and sometimes the customer comes up with resolution before the support can wven understand the issue.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are using the fortigates in our environment to replace old end of life cisco firewalls. These bring in more power and security to our network with lesser cost and manpower required to manage these.


    Luis O.

Very efficient and competitive NGFW firewall.

  • September 29, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
With Unified Threat Management (UTM), many elements have been integrated that fight against all kinds of woes. This software contains a series of corrective agents and attack prevention and retention agents that can be managed appropriately. Protects against intruders, it includes a first-line antivirus and a web application firewall, which gives us first-class protection with simplified administration and complete reports. It is straightforward to manage IP policy and content filters for any communication protocol.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes it can become challenging to block content from a website with web filtering because web pages contain websites that consume other resources. Administration on a mobile device is very complicated, it does not adapt to the screen of smartphones or tablets, and the option of FortiExplore has an additional cost in online stores.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
In my organization, I solve problems of slowness or difficulty of the content block by categories and stability in other resources, such as the ease of configuring and using client VPN. FortiGate facilitated the administration of web permissions by users associated with an active directory.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I recommend the tool to everyone if you need to have a unified security control in your company. It contains all the necessary tools to perform as a good insurer of your network and to know the operational risks. It is very easy to manage your web administration is very friendly and allows you to understand everything easily. Firmware updates are costly and easy to manage.


    Education Management

Fortigate Next-Generation Firewall (NGFW) - A great product to secure your network

  • September 28, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Fortigate Next Generation Firewall (NGFW) has the capacity to protect the systems from different types of attacks like DOS, DDOS, brute force attacks, ransomwares, man in the middle attacks, session hijacking and more. Its intrusion detection and prevention system is very good and robust. It provides a great management console to the network administrators for monitoring security performance and fine tuning the required configurations. Its packet filtering, Anti spam and IPsec features are very good and useful.
What do you dislike?
The Fortigate NGFW is a great product and there are no dislikes as such. The logging and alert mechanism is also very good. It is a reliable and stable product and does not affect network performance. However it is sometimes hard to configure in an existing network.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Fortigate Next-Generation Firewall provides advanced security against different types of cyber threats. It has the capacity to protect the organisation from network threats, malwares and attacks by taking action on them and blocking them if required. We can even manually block the IP addresses which seems to be suspicious. Also we can whitelist only those ports which are required. Overall it's a great product when it comes to securing your network.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would surely recommend others who wish to make their environment secure from the emerging cyber attacks.


    MARNI S.

Excellent next generation firewall

  • September 24, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
1. Deployment and the initial setup are effortless.
2. Attractive user interface on the web dashboard.
3. We can create virtual networks by using the VDOMs feature, which is very helpful.
4. We can view the physical topology of the network.
5. Visibility into top users, top applications, and destinations.
6. Configuration of security profiles is simple.
7. Community to help with any technical doughts.
What do you dislike?
Syslog and Netflow export configuration are only possible through the command-line interface.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
1. we are load balancing two ISPs with the SDWAN feature on FortiGate.
2. Using FortiGate as the first level of defense in the organization.
3. Detecting any intrusions on the network.
4. Allowing only specific applications for the users.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Easy to learn and more technical documents available online to configure the device; in my opinion, FortiGate is a good choice.


    pinisetty s.

secure and user-friendly GUI

  • August 29, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
1. Easy to configure web filter, application control, and SSL inspection profiles for securing the data.
2. Configuration of SSL VPN and Site-to-Site VPN is straightforward.
3. No need to create separate NAT rules, NAT option can be directly checked during the security rule creation.
4. configuring interface IP address and administrative access is very easy.
5. Botnet and suspicious activity detection in the network are good.
6. Good performance and Log visibility.
7. Easy for beginners to learn and has a lot of technical documents.
8. Effective use of multiple ISP links using SDWAN.
What do you dislike?
1. Whenever Fortigate releases a firmware update, it has bugs.
2. We need to stay in line for a long time to connect the customer support.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
1. Internet access for LAN users.
2. Now two internet links are load balanced using SD-WAN.
3. Providing DHCP service for connected devices.
4. providing remote access to the internal servers for the users who work from home using remote access SSL VPN.
5. Connecting other branches using SIte-to-Site IPSec VPN.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Good security performance, I recommend to others.


    Government Administration

ForiGate FW

  • August 24, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like the policy configuration. SSL VPN portal setup, etc. Straightforward UI
What do you dislike?
Sometimes the boot time of the firewall can be a bit long
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are solving our security problems by running our traffic through FortiGate. It is allowing us to block packets before they come close to the endpoint


    Information Technology and Services

Good Firewall and user friendly dashboard

  • August 12, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Configuration part is much friendly and it will work efficiently.
What do you dislike?
FortiGate has the single-pass architecture
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It provides more security to the advanced threats.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Best product with reasonable price