Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Fortinet FortiGate (BYOL) Next-Generation Firewall

Fortinet Inc. | 7.2.4

Linux/Unix, Other 7.2.4 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

2 AWS reviews
  • 2
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

123 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Ilgar B.

Good FIREWALL!

  • February 02, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
I created all network infrostructure on Fortigate firewalls. Usege is this product is more comfortable and userfriendly. Price is lower than other firewalls . Becouse of it we bought only fortigate firewalls
What do you dislike about the product?
I like everything in fortigate. because it's easy touse. intefrace opening is minimum time. for hard work it's very very good product. if you use only forti in your infrastrukture it will be very comfortable
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Fortigate solving a lot of our company security problem. We used forti VPN for remote client during pandemic days. and a lot of interesting futures of this firewall helped us.


    Computer & Network Security

Looking for Best NGFW: Go For FortiGate

  • January 23, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Configuration and deployment of FortiGate Next-Generation Firewall is easy and takes less time to get implemented in the network. The dashboard is user-friendly and straightforward, as the features and functions are clearly visible. Policy configuration is simple; we can roll out the policies by following minimal steps. Integration of Fortigate NGFW with third-party vendors like Active Directory and NAC solutions like Forescout is possible. It can be done via API integration in a few steps by just adding the server credentials and API keys. The integration gives more control over the network as traffic can be tagged and labeled, which helps to allow the desired services on detected endpoints. Configuration of VPN and NAT is easy. NAT requires minimum configuration, which I like the best as it is easy compared to other firewall vendors. Management of FortiGate NGFW is pretty easy when we have several locations and several firewalls deployed on that location, as the control can be achieved via FortiManager, a centralized manager for all Fortfate NGFW.
What do you dislike about the product?
Technical Support from FortiGate Team is not as good compared to other firewall vendors. The TAC team needs to resolve the issue on priority, as the firewall is a significant component in a network for any organization. Their resolution takes time, and in initial meetings, they collect logs and give responses after many days. Apart from this, the OS upgrade and firmware fix need to be mandatory, as users can skip this step when they log in through the console. Upgradation should be required to boost the performance and eliminate any existing bugs from the previous version. The reporting part needs improvement as it does not have many customizable features. Although templates help get the report, it consists of limited options with less visibility of traffic and endpoints. Sometimes issues like memory consumption and high CPU utilization can be seen while upgrading to the new version, which needs to be addressed.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
FortiGate NGFW is the best firewall we can ever get. The firewall is equipped with all the security features and services that an organization needs, like URL Filtering, App monitoring, SSL encryption, traffic controlling and monitoring and much more. URL Filtering feature is beneficial for our organization and is different from other vendors, as FortiGate uses SSL proxy for encryption. It allows us to block malicious URLs and websites for the smooth working of endpoints and prevent them from any vicious attack. We also use it for the VPN as we have another firewall in a different location. And configuration for VPN is straightforward on FortiGate, and it helps the remote user access the office's desired services. FortiGate NGFW also helps to prevent the organization from any outside attack. It helps to block the traffic that is generated from outside the network.


    Tony M.

Fortigate nextgen firewall is an excellent product

  • December 17, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
UTM features are very effective with the Fortiguard updates.
What do you dislike about the product?
I don't like the pricing currently. When we bought these originally the prices made the purchase a no brainer but the price has gone up.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Internet firewall security, this product allows us to provide control what is allowed and what is restricted from the internet. It also provide the ability to perform geo-blocking which reduces alot of noise.


    Felipe R.

Overall Experience

  • December 14, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The Admin Interface is one of the best I know, well distributed, and it can be customized.
What do you dislike about the product?
I can only think about the constant security breaches in the last few months, although they were solved quickly.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It helped a lot to secure and maximize network resources.


    Saeed A.

FortiGate is uor trusted gateway

  • November 15, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
It is easy to use and setup.
Trusted gateway, load balancer, and VPN.
What do you dislike about the product?
I have no comment since my experience was great.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Internet gateway
Load balancing
VPN connection
Line agregation


    Bhuwan C.

FortiGate NGFW is best solution to manage & protect Enterprises for next generation threat vectors .

  • November 08, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Fortgate NGFW is based on ASIC (Application specific Integreted Archetecture), allowing it to control the allowlisting & blocklisting of multiple apps. It also provides a granular reporting part with the help of Forti Analyzer that increases the visibility of the entire IT environment; Many threats cab be prevented if you keep a closed eye on reporting part only.
What do you dislike about the product?
Since this is time for perimeter-less security, especially in hybrid environments, employees are working from everywhere, Forcepoint needs to focus more on CASB (Cloud Access Security Brocker)
Where employees are using multiple apps, some are sanctions some are not. Somtimes they downloads malcious apps which may exfiltrate the secure data.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Fortigate has the best capability to provide Secure SDWAN, an in-built feature of NGFW; you can connect multiple branches securely. It can remove the MPLS & save a good amount of money.


    Blake R.

Very reliable and so many features!

  • November 03, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Setup was a breeze; the web interface is very well designed. The ability to use the CLI via the web interface is mind-blowing
What do you dislike about the product?
Some features feel like they are only geared towards Microsoft Server and active directory. The world isn't just Microsoft anymore
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I needed a reliable firewall that was able to handle deep packet inspection as well as supporting usual L3 routing and remote access for workers.


    Hospital & Health Care

Fortigate NGFW Review

  • October 26, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Fortigate NGFW is a firewall that provides traditional firewall features as well as next-generation features such as URL filtering, antivirus, IPS ability. Its GUI is most uncomplicated compared to all other firewalls. It Provides real-time protection from network-based attacks and blocks harmful resources.
What do you dislike about the product?
Though its GUI is user-friendly, we usually do firmware upgrades; after upgrades, its GUI changes, and we have to navigate options again. Syslog configuration is complex as well.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Fortigate NGFW provides Visibility over the network and manages network policies. It also feeds IPS features for real-time protection from attackers and malware.


    Computer & Network Security

Solid product, very well defined functionality, flawless execution

  • September 23, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Web UI, simple but very effective management. No need to install any client. Accessible from everywhere.
What do you dislike about the product?
Sometimes it is hard to troubleshoot. Network performance issues require trial & error till we identify the problem. Maybe some wizard to help troubleshoot issues.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The product provides secure access to remote deployments, with strong security and management and access compartmentalization


    Bhupender Y.

I have shared experience about the Fortinet firewall.

  • August 22, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The most liked feature about the troubleshooting part of Fortinet. the troubleshooting of Fortinet firewall is much much easier than Palo Alto and other vendor firewalls also the Cli troubleshooting is very easy and you can direct jump to the cli and easily configure security policy with the help of right click on security policy and open in the console.

Also, I have observed that SD-WAN of Fortinet is also more convenient than Palo Alto.

You can also configure the IPsec tunnel in interface mode which is not possible in Palo Alto.
What do you dislike about the product?
The most disliked thing and the also irritating thing is the GUI of Fortinet firewall and also its completely changes with every next firmware update.

Also approx in all hardware firewalls you will not receive the hard disc to store the logs, you will require a forti analyzer to store the logs.

Other vendors have a dedicated commit feature but here we just click and it saved the configuration so if by mistake do the wrong config then it's directly loading which is not correct according to me.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I have achieved the SD-WAN more conveniently as compared to Palo Alto and other vendors. also in Fortinet, we get the feature of flow-based or proxy based in UTM for better enhancement which is not provided by other firewall vendors.