Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

OpenVPN Access Server

OpenVPN Inc | 2.7.5

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu Ubuntu 18 LTS - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

38 AWS reviews

External reviews

128 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


3-star reviews ( Show all reviews )

    Adam

127.0.0.53 is not a DNS server!

  • July 05, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Like a few reviews have mentioned, this image has trouble resolving domain names. My client can reach the admin page without issue, but it fails to connect to the internet. I don't know why this hasn't been fixed already in this AMI, but /etc/resolvd.conf is linked to the broken stub-resolver configuration. The fix is very simple, but it took hours to figure the default system configuration was broken.


    Information Technology and Services

Clunky, but works

  • October 06, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Works well and it’s free. Clients for all major OS’ and even mobile devices. Server built into both Synology and QNAP NAS boxes.
What do you dislike?
Server is only available for Linux and can be cumbersome to setup. Client setup can be clunky as a result having to use config files.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Remote access to office LAN resources. Once properly setup, works exactly as designed.


    Motel6

Huh...

  • July 07, 2017
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I'd like an easy option to send all network traffic through the VPN. Seems a bit of a waste to only route part of it. Not what I was looking for.


    pt

VPN Access Server

  • May 26, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Working as expected. There were few obstacales with web admin but I found kind of workaround (I didn't want web api to be publicly accessible so I shutdown http server).
Still I would prefer some generic out of the box vpn server where I can use any vpn client...it might be possible here but I haven't explore that option yet.


    Norm de Plume

Got the job done

  • May 26, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Install and basic setup was quite easy. However, getting routed connections to work properly with AWS routing proved challenging for an AWS beginner.


    Monad Software Ltd

Didn't use

  • April 05, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I was looking for something that would work with the Windows 8.1 built in VPN client without too much fuss.

Ended up using this instead: http://blog.ls20.com/ipsec-l2tp-vpn-auto-setup-for-ubuntu-12-04-on-amazon-ec2/#


    Sourced Group

Great Product, Easy to Use

  • October 21, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Great product and really easy to use. I've only given it 3 stars as they do not show a mechanism for regular updates and they also do not mail their MarketPlace customers when vulnerabilities are found and need patching.

Please have a look at sorting this out guys, otherwise a great solution.


showing 1 - 7