Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

OpenVPN Access Server

OpenVPN Inc | 2.8.5

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu Ubuntu 18 LTS - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

39 AWS reviews

External reviews

114 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


3-star reviews ( Show all reviews )

    Domenico A.

Protocollo pazzesco e performante ma client da rivedere assolutamente, sia su Windows che su Linux

  • November 09, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
OpenVPN server è uno stack performante e sicurissimo e costantemente aggiornato per eseguire il deployment di VPN di diverso tipo con pieno controllo e gestione di tutte le opzioni di sicurezza disponibili per passare agli utenti finali i soli file di configurazione, ciò che è da rivedere il prima possibile è il client Windows e la shell Linux che sono privi del minimo design grafico, privi di chiarezza sulle opzioni di sicurezza disponibili e poco sicuri sotto il profilo di gestione delle sessioni salvate, fin quando non verranno aggiornati OpenVPN sarà per metà zoppo e per metà un maratoneta
What do you dislike?
Come ho già detto, i client sono da rivedere totalmente perchè non consentono una facile identificazione delle opzioni da scegliere e considerando che spesso finiscono in mano su PC o laptop di utenti finali che hanno la sola necessità di collegarsi senza avere conoscenze informatiche e di networking, è necessario rendere le GUI molto più user friendly e meno complesse oltre che più sicure verso persone che potrebbero non aver ben chiaro con che tipo di file e di sessioni stanno operando dato che spesso dietro un VPN server gira la backbone ed i server di una intera organizzazione
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Fornire ed ottenere accesso a risorse Linux, prevalentemente Load balancer e relativi nodi Ubuntu Server in modo sicuro (i clienti chiedono sempre standard di sicurezza maggiori e allo stesso tempo affidabili, sopratutto dopo il bug VORACLE che ha portato l'exploit di migliaia di server VPN), performante e veloce tramite il tuning che consente di processare i pacchetti VPN tramite Hardware su custom firewall appliances come pfSense o similari


    Adam

127.0.0.53 is not a DNS server!

  • July 05, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Like a few reviews have mentioned, this image has trouble resolving domain names. My client can reach the admin page without issue, but it fails to connect to the internet. I don't know why this hasn't been fixed already in this AMI, but /etc/resolvd.conf is linked to the broken stub-resolver configuration. The fix is very simple, but it took hours to figure the default system configuration was broken.


    Information Technology and Services

Clunky, but works

  • October 06, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Works well and it’s free. Clients for all major OS’ and even mobile devices. Server built into both Synology and QNAP NAS boxes.
What do you dislike?
Server is only available for Linux and can be cumbersome to setup. Client setup can be clunky as a result having to use config files.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Remote access to office LAN resources. Once properly setup, works exactly as designed.


    Motel6

Huh...

  • July 07, 2017
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I'd like an easy option to send all network traffic through the VPN. Seems a bit of a waste to only route part of it. Not what I was looking for.


    Norm de Plume

Got the job done

  • May 26, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Install and basic setup was quite easy. However, getting routed connections to work properly with AWS routing proved challenging for an AWS beginner.


    pt

VPN Access Server

  • May 26, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Working as expected. There were few obstacales with web admin but I found kind of workaround (I didn't want web api to be publicly accessible so I shutdown http server).
Still I would prefer some generic out of the box vpn server where I can use any vpn client...it might be possible here but I haven't explore that option yet.


    Monad Software Ltd

Didn't use

  • April 05, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I was looking for something that would work with the Windows 8.1 built in VPN client without too much fuss.

Ended up using this instead: http://blog.ls20.com/ipsec-l2tp-vpn-auto-setup-for-ubuntu-12-04-on-amazon-ec2/#


    Sourced Group

Great Product, Easy to Use

  • October 21, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Great product and really easy to use. I've only given it 3 stars as they do not show a mechanism for regular updates and they also do not mail their MarketPlace customers when vulnerabilities are found and need patching.

Please have a look at sorting this out guys, otherwise a great solution.


showing 1 - 8