Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Pivotal Greenplum (BYOL) by Pivotal Software Inc.

Pivotal Software Inc. | v5.0.2

Linux/Unix, CentOS 7.7 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

14 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Anonymous

PostgreSQL database for analytics

  • June 23, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like how Greenplum is a very stable and efficient analytics database. It can run complex SQL on multiple notes without too much trouble and the database is pretty tunable.
What do you dislike?
I dislike that this database software is somewhat expensive for what it yields.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am solving the problem of needing a scalable SQL database to run queries to pull back a variety of data over a large billion row dataset. The benefits I've realized is the streamlining of analytics work.


    Information Technology and Services

For data analysis extracting data work flow charts to solve problems

  • June 20, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is a very flexible product and has multiple features which are very effective for external data loading and quite affordable
What do you dislike?
Apart from time it takes to use and learn more about what the product is like because it seams frustrating for new users but a good the features are up to date and works perfectly
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
For extraction of big data it positive because it makes the work a lot more easier by getting a lot and more done in few time
Recommendations to others considering the product:
A fantastic product is worth trying out for sure and a very affordable product


    Wole O.

Pivotal Review

  • April 21, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The fact that you can adapt your tools and methodologies to a cloud scale. Simply stated, to run apps on the cloud securely and reliably without the stress of manual patching.
What do you dislike?
Using the pivotal solution requires whole bunch of learning and knowledge fine-tunning; the materials available to achieve this knowledge is limited, residual knowledge plays a huge role here. So newbies might be totally frustrated.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Patching operating system
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Well... we are still implementing though; but i think its headed in the right direction. This is specifically for technocrats interested in automation and tired of manual patching. Ta-da! its for you


    SUBHA P.

Powerful database in BIG DATA Industry

  • April 18, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
MPP Architecture so that master sends work load to all the segments internally
Zero data loss as replication happens between the segments of primary and mirror segments,also a secondary is present for master too
Built on PostgreSQL 8.* version
Multiple features like gpload,gpdfist used for external data loading
gpaddmirrors ,gpexpand helps in scaling the Greenplum cluster easily
gpcheckperf helps in analyzing performance of disk I/O,memory bandwidth,Network
What do you dislike?
The catalog corruption occurs and it slightly becomes difficult to recover failed segments
gpcheckcat though helps in detecting catalog issues ,it is not much efficient
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
OLAP is the best use for Greenplum,it helps in huge data extraction and it is an opensource software too.


    Education Management

Review of Pivotal Greenplum

  • April 17, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Coming form an analytic database world, Pivotal Greenplum is an extremely helpful resource. Aside from Pivotal operating as an odd collection of businesses and enterprises, it does the affect the quality of Pivotal Greenplum.

I enjoy how Greenplum reached beyond the traditional SQL construct. Also for my company, we are rolling our projects related to machine learning, and Greenplum support ML through another software called Apache MADlib.

All this said, Greenplum's unique ability to process complex SQL queries and multi-load capabilities has proven to be more attractive than other competitors.
What do you dislike?
Greenplum competes in the same market as other giant postgresSQL databases such as Teradata and Redshift. Greenplum is probably more expensive than its counterparts, which is a downside of the product. Greenplum does not offer cloud computing, which is a missed opportunity.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Greenplum offers awesome analytics in various magnitudes of complexity.


    Jake B.

Data warehouse (edw)

  • April 15, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Greenplum is a good data warehouse for enterprise and is built on the Postgres theme of databases. I can run analytic SQL without much issue.
What do you dislike?
Greenplum is proprietary and no longer a core product of Pivotal. It seems like cloud foundry is their new scene.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The business problems I'm solving with Pivotal Greenplum is the need to run analytic SQL and being able to run advanced SQL queries on the cluster for my workflows.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Good data warehouse that I would recommend to any company.


    Steve M.

Data warehousing simplified with Pivotal product

  • April 10, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The Greenplum database lets me run different analytics and SQL via the greenplum backend and returns the results I need. Greenplum lets me run different analysis and get results to see what's happening with our data.
What do you dislike?
Greenplum is proprietary and not the cleanest thing to work with. I think there is resource misallocation from time to time.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The business problems I'm solving with Greeplum is the need to run analytic SQL for exploratory data analysis.


    Rushi C.

Great data warehousing system

  • April 08, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
In my analytics research, I use the greenplum database which returns me the results in my queries without much problem. It gets me the results that I need.
What do you dislike?
I dislike how the greenplum database is a proprietary product that is rather expensive.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Greenplum database has allowed me to deliver visualizations and analytic results with the PostgreSQL engine that it is built on.


    Noah R.

Massively parallel processing database for warehousing needs

  • April 05, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The Pivotal Greenplum database is a PostgreSQL database that I use on a daily basis as a database administrator. It runs queries smoothly and has a variety of features that I use which is what I love. And it is PostgreSQL which is awesome.
What do you dislike?
I dislike how Greenplum is a proprietary database and not open source.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The business problems I'm solving with Pivotal Greenplum is the need for an enterprise data warehouse. The benefits I've realized is the ability to run queries and optimize the database over a cluster in little time.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Greenplum is a decent warehouse database and is comparable to other solutions out there.


    Gowri s.

Pivotal Greenplum is one of the best datawarehousing Database

  • March 29, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I been using pivotal Greenplum for more than 5 years and it was the best dwh i worked and very less cost when compare to other dwh database. Happy i am a pivotal greenplum person and proud to say
What do you dislike?
It would be great if there documentation page more information
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
we are using as a reporting for our business and it solves most of our issue
Recommendations to others considering the product:
all good