Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Vertica by the Hour, Red Hat

Micro Focus | 10.1.0-2

Linux/Unix, Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7.5 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

1 AWS reviews
  • 1
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

99 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Waseem P.

Vertica - A Modern Data Analytics platform.

  • February 01, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
DBD - fabulous Optimization tool.
The Training material is excellent, easy to understand and Free.
MC, the Vertica UI is good. I would like to see how it performs in truly enterprise environments.
ANSI SQL. Perfect choice. Something others like Cassandra, messed up.

The most important aspect of Vertica is the underlying technology. Robust and focused on Data analytics.
What do you dislike?
I wont say dislike. I would like to see how security of objects works in detail.
Another aspect I would like to understand is how it is setup. I mean I believe the software is setup on shared infrastructure. [or maybe not, need clarity here]. For BFSI and Telecom sector, this is an area of concern.
Again, I need to improve my understanding. I have no dislikes.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Vertica is prime solution for Data analytics platform.

I believe Vertica is an excellent platform for data analytics. the architecture lends itself extremely well to use Vertica for Data Marts, analytics platform, IoT and maybe even for ML.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If Data Analytics is something you do, give Vertica a look.
Its architecture lends extremely well to Analytics.

Only the mighty Exadata with a powerful hardware integrated strongly with Oracle RAC is a viable option.

If you are on non Oracle cloud platforms, Vertica is easily the best choice for Data.


    Marketing and Advertising

Powerful and convenient analytical db

  • January 28, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Query performance on big data sets are great
What do you dislike?
The transition between different size of clusters is a pain in the ass
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Store and process efficiently big scale of analytical data.


    Retail

Vertica 9 Essentials

  • January 26, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I've had a chance to work with Vertica through its evolution from version 2.5.9 to present. The product is able to leverage commodity resources to provide unparalleled performance without loss of stability or data consistency. The engineering and support teams are a privilege to work with and learn from.
What do you dislike?
DDL is blocked during node down events and cluster resizing. I've yet to find a company which does not rely on some form of DDL for regular operations. This limitation mean that despite the database remaining online is effectively a partial outage.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
User Quota's to limit expensive adhoc operations
Granular resource pool definitions to ensure process the intended resources available
VBR is a wonderful tool


    Consultant in Information Technology and Services

Performance

  • January 18, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The peer nodes in a Cluster and distribution of query from the requester to executer
What do you dislike?
Interactive - should be more GUI interactive
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
query planning, performance tuning


    Retail

Great technology for compact data storage, real time processing and optimal performance.

  • January 06, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Columnar storage, projections, Documentation.
What do you dislike?
support, lack of community and stability.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Business usecase, historical data analysis.


    Hospital & Health Care

its a robust Db

  • January 05, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
its robust and very fast and works best with large databse
What do you dislike?
less supported and not much technical communities
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
its help moving things faster and querying faster
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Good for robust Database


    Ivan P.

One of the best analytical DBs I've used

  • December 23, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Speed, reliability, well-written documentstion
What do you dislike?
I can't recall anything I disliked, therefore I'll say none
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
KPI calculations, preparing data for dashboards and business reviews
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's fast, it's good, it well-documented. Use it.


    Retail

Data Engineering using Vertica for 5 years

  • December 22, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is a great solution for massive data warehouse application building.
What do you dislike?
It is very costly and was not cool with multiple users accessing it at once.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Our data warehouse was based on Vertica. Its parallel processing and thus query execution is quite good.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Use it for computation and processing but do not expose to it transactional users


    Prabhjot K.

Great Db experience

  • December 22, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
column orientation: Data is stored in form of columns rather than rows.
What do you dislike?
Deletion is tough in Vertica esp in large tables.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Fast query Performance


    Computer Software

Interesting and powerful database

  • December 16, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Simplicity while using, stability. EON mode is something very useful especially when talking big data.
What do you dislike?
Query sometimes lock tables and then it is necessary to use console to end queries. But this also can be a query tool problem.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am working with data warehouse tools and Vertica is working much faster than our previous database. So I can say it is DWH frendly tool.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Very fast and reliable. Try it and you wont regret it.