Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Vertica by the Hour, Red Hat

Micro Focus | 10.0.0-3

Linux/Unix, Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7.5 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

1 AWS reviews
  • 1
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

29 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Robert R.

Vertica for enterprise data warehouse

  • March 19, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Super fast when queries are optimized. Excellent support.
What do you dislike?
You must take care for lot of details for optimized use.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We integrated data from various transaction systems and Vertica made it possible on very efficient way. It has very good integration with Informatica Power center as etl tool and with IBM Cognos and Tableau as reporting tools.
Vertica has excellent support and you can always find lot of resources on their web site.

I would recommend for data warehouse database if you have lot of data and many parallel users. It has very good user management for managing database resources across users in organisation. It also allows integration with active directory.

It has lot of embedded analytic functions but if it is needed you can build your own functions using Python or other programming languages.

It is scalable so if your data grows you can easily extent storage and processing power.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Vertica is one of best analytics databases.


    Eva D.

From dark data into the ligh

  • October 01, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of deployment and maintenance. Database performance on terabytes of data right out of the box.
What do you dislike?
It would have been nice if we could have integrated with our LDAP environment. Permissions on DDL functions were difficult to hand out as those were locked to the DB owner.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The data was too large to be able to have any real insights into. We tried other columnar data stores and HDFS sorts of stores. With those we spent a lot of time trying to get data with no results. We stood up Vertica and all our data was available, clustered, highly available. We were able to gain insights within moments and continue to grow that.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try it! Get the free trial. It is worth it.


    Gambling & Casinos

Vertica Big Data

  • May 03, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Vertica is a analytical database 100% ANSI SQL that performs very well for large tables. Data load is incredibly fast and it is very easy to operate.
What do you dislike?
Updates are slow because columnar architecture, but you can replace with delete-insert.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use Vertica as traditional Data Warehouse and Big Data experiences.


    Marketing and Advertising

Great performance, reasonable cost and low maintenance.

  • May 01, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like the fact that is mostly low maintenance with great performance with a good set of features.
What do you dislike?
At times the designer generated incremental design causes issues.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use Vertica for all the reporting and analytics needs. We also use it for some large application queries and it performs reasonably well under a lot of different scenarios.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Definitely give it a try if you are looking for a good data warehouse that can scale with your business needs. I highly recommend the product.


    Hospital & Health Care

Blazing speed Big Data on Commodity hardware

  • April 30, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Rapid responses, ability to handle large volumes of data, scalable and works on commodity hardware
What do you dislike?
Not ideal for high velocity transactions
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Analytics solutions to Physician and Payer organizations. No need for a full time DBA to support a Big Data solution.


    Internet

Vertica is the most obvious choice for on-premise data warehousing

  • March 15, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
We've tested and tested and benchmarked and benchmarked and every time Vertica comes out ahead against competing technologies (OSS or proprietary) in terms of raw throughput and concurrency handling. We've even seen it rival highly optimized in-memory analytics engines for latency under certain scenarios. This makes it the obvious choice for us for any sort of general OLAP or dashboarding task.
What do you dislike?
We tend to push Vertica pretty hard and have a tendency to automate everything (we use chef for provisioning), which means we have had to write our own tools or adapt Verticas' to our purposes fairly substantially. This is no deal breaker, but it would be nice if they invested more time in the admin UX.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Vertica is our core analytic database offering and as such is central part of the compute fabric. The fact that it is so efficient and flexible in this regard means that we leverage it behind many applications, limiting tech sprawl and allowing us to go to market faster and with fewer support staff.


    Information Technology and Services

Hybrid Storage Options are making Vertica more versatile

  • March 09, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Recently added features - Complex Data types, Delegation Tokens, Hierarchial Partitions,
Upcoming features
New Storage options - EON on Prem, EON on GCP, Enterprise on GCP
libhdfs+ erasure coding support, DBD lite, Parquet enhancements
What do you dislike?
Copy cluster not possible across heterogeneous clusters
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
OLAP analysis and reporting


    Airlines/Aviation

Best columnar database in the market

  • March 07, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I haven't seen any other database in the marketplace that can beat the performance of Vertica
What do you dislike?
Currently it takes a lots of time to re balance the cluster, when you add or remove a node.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Big data analytics; That results in better customer satisfaction.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are looking for more scalable version, then use EON mode.


    Ben W.

Vertica Rocks

  • March 07, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The ability to optimize for load and query performance.
The community support is unparalleled.
What do you dislike?
The default optimizations are mostly useless and don't seem to 'know' the underlying data.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Speed and scale - plain and simple
I am solving the problem of database as a service for an enterprise application.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are serious about big data, use Vertica


    Computer Software

Powerful, efficient, fast SQL Database

  • March 06, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Using and querying Vertica was extremely simple, and easy to learn. Vertica allowed me to visualize datasets in new and interesting ways and, if necessary, apply statistical calculations to my datasets. Vertica allowed our company to scale billions of rows of data easily as well which gave our company the technical infrastructure necessary to grow.
What do you dislike?
Environments to query Vertica required a bit of extra setup and configuration, it was not as turnkey as other SQL databases, and sometimes connections would get lost; however, shelling into Vertica was just as effective if outputting datasets was the core goal.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Vertica stored almost all the data that our company collected for its clients. I worked with Vertica to obtain any sort of records about my clients and whatever activity we collected for them and used that data for any number of purposes from implementation, QA, and reporting.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you will be rebuilding Vertica datasets at any regular cadence, ensure ETL processes are ironclad as data rebuilds across large sets of data can cause significant shifts which can take a long time to complete.