Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

CircleCI - CI/CD

CircleCI | 1

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

381 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Internet

Simple to use and configure. Nice UI.

  • September 10, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy configuration and integration with other services. Especially when it comes to alerts on messaging apps like Slack or Flowdock.
Also, the integration with GitHub or Bitbucket in order to rapidly set up projects is a nice feature.
If you use Docker, start using CircleCI is a matter of minutes.
The automatic setup: it makes a separate branch for it and you barely have to fix some small settings.
The best part probably, since I'm using Heroku for most of my projects (mainly Ruby on Rails apps), is the plugin to add it and automate the deployments.
If you are a Quality Assurance Automation engineer, it's also an amazing tool to have your tests running and it is not technically hard to use.
What do you dislike?
Documentation on how to build my own integration (with some custom tool).
The change of the User Interface design was a little confusing and I keep using the old one for some time.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have my continuous integration and continuous delivery tasks for my projects running there. But I have also some functional tests for dev branches.
As a freelancer I used to use CircleCI to run small projects or proof of concepts.
It's also a good tool to learn using Continuous Integration and the foundation.
The main benefit is the easy access (I mean, the low price/free option).
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Give it a try. The learning curve is quite short and you will be up and running in an eyeblink.
Is great to integrate with other tools. Its price is affordable so you can try and test it for some time with some small projects.


    Simon C.

My Circle CI 'Get me that Amazon Voucher bribery does work' review

  • September 09, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Maintenance of standards in code formatting and layout styles.
What do you dislike?
Not being able to see the reasons for failure within Github directly, but having too click out to review them within the CircleCI platform, however not sure if this is your issue, or Github's, but I don't like it either way.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Maintenance of standards in code formatting and layout styles, and saving recourses to monitor that


    Rafal L.

Good mostly because free for private repositories

  • September 08, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Being free for private repositories, some way to use docker containers
What do you dislike?
UI/UX workflow is very heavy and unintuitive, machines often don't work
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Having a CI which is free for private repositories mostly


    Lee P.

A great platform for CI

  • September 08, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
This platform is fast and friendly, and most importantly helps run all my unit tests to stop issues making way into production
What do you dislike?
Prefer the old interface to the new one.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Build our code AMI and run tests.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
A strong CI platform that can do everything you would need. I couldn't imagine us wanting to move to another platform any time soon.


    Roman G.

A nice CI tool

  • September 07, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
User facing UI and functionalities. Full featured.
Fast and resilient, especially when the release of version 2.0, we are able to benefit from docker layers caching..our build time improved by 70%
Docker support is great when using container based builds
-Competitive pricing and free tier
-Snappy / Responsive UI
The great configurational freedom to the user makes it suitable for any and all kinds of applications. The step by step view provided is very helpful UI to track the whole process. The YML templates make it very easy to set up and the git configuration part is very well documented and just a few steps can make it work.
Is integrated with several tools like slack - Configure a project is simple and quick, and most of the cases once you have done this, you will not need to log in into the platform. You will have build going in a couple of hours. - I have it running in several project and works really well.
What do you dislike?
The ui really needs to cleanup a bit, make it simpler. Also their need to provide more integrations with third party tools
Pricing could be a little bit better I guess or have a better free plan for beginners, I don't think any cons of using CircleCI actually.
Have seen a few downtimes in the last couple of months.
Version 2 has a lot of complexity that can make it hard to get started with. Their Orbs concept is bringing back some simplicity.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Automatization is making us saving time.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Nice tool. Should go with it, frequent update and such.
Take


    Internet

Better than hosting and managing your own CI/CD

  • September 04, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like how it integrates with GitHub and the UI is fairly streamlined. Also, the documentation is decent.
What do you dislike?
Nothing specific, although I remember encountering issues when sorting out the dependency cache.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Providing continuous integration and automation around all of our codebases in order to ensure quality and consistency.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I recommend trying out several comparable solutions to make sure the one you select is a good fit. Also, a managed service is preferable to maintaining your own based on experience. You need to have a fairly specific need.


    Alex E.

Fast, solid, reproducible builds every single time

  • September 02, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Integrates really well with source code repos like Github. Builds are generally fast and the container aspects of the pipelines are fully customizable. Very reliable and cheap compared to maintaining an in-house CI/CD solution.
What do you dislike?
The new workflows take a bit of getting used to, but otherwise nothing much negative to report.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
CircleCI completely replaced our Jenkins based build systems, making our pipeline miles faster, more stable and easier to maintain. Once we moved to containerised build we were able to build container images on CircleCI and push them out to our deployment/repo system with very little effort. The CircleCI configuration is also really easy to pick up for new team members and really easy to customize to our needs.


    Namaara R.

CircleCi Review

  • September 02, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Improved team productivity, Performance, and automated builds
What do you dislike?
I have not encountered any problem with CircleCi
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
it Automatically identifies =problems, which code changes caused errors and solve them quickly.


    James T.

Very convenient once everything is set-up.

  • September 02, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Integrates well with AWS services. Can filter deployment depending on the branch used in git. Can SSH into the machine during build phase in case errors show up. Shows a step by step procedure for every phase. Can divide the deployment into phases.
What do you dislike?
Difficult to find out what went wrong during set-up. Some docker images lose support, thereby breaking builds that were already working in the past. Sometimes takes a while to set-up a build.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Runs auto-deployment with test cases together with my repositories. We get an idea for when a change can possibly break in the environment we use. Doesn't deploy code to live if tests fails. Saves time deploying the changes to live server.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Set-up is difficult especially when you don't have a template to use. Searching for solutions can take a while when encountering errors. Once set-up is done, it is very convenient since most of the time the errors will be coming from your code or the server to deployed on. Highly recommended for long term use.


    Vinicius L.

It was the best tool for CI/CD

  • September 01, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Integration with the best partners of the market. From GitHub to Bitbucket, it offers deep integration with biggest players of the market. And we can improve our code pipeline and quality by adding merge checks depending on build tools. Also, non-technical people can easily deploy into the desired environment without making a mess or stopping development team to make a deploy for a demo or feature review.
What do you dislike?
The new pricing model makes us migrate to another service. It's more expensive than AWS CodeBuild and doesn't have such integration with AWS Services. That's why it should be more cheap than AWS CodeBuild or come back with the old pricing model. The old pricing model was much cost-benefit cause we are not impacted for queuing jobs, but we could predict the pricing at the end of the month. With the new pricing model it was much, much harder to predict how much we would spend by the month. If we need to expedite a hotfix to production environment it was the fixed pricing, with the new pricing model, if an unexpected hotfix appears, that means more dollar will be spent by the of the month.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Complexity of deploy multiples times per day. It handles automated deploy for all environments, so our developers can see and delivery to QA Team what we are delivering in question of minutes and a couple of clicks. Our developers can easily see logs of what errors are throwing during the compiling. So basically, it's the end of "in my machine works" excuse. We can go directly to the point causing the error, and it's not directly assign to a developer, another developer also can see the error and find a solution. It's the end of the dependency of and especific developer.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Forget about Travis and Jenkins. CircleCI is the next generation of CI/CD pipeline. But beware with your budget, with the new pricing model the billing by the end of month could be astronomical.