Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Cloud Native Database for RethinkDB

Websoft9 | RethinkDB 2.4.2 - Ubuntu 22.04

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 22.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

15 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Education Management

You can listen to changes and trigger code based on these changes.

  • May 13, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It has some good features like built in change notification system to users application .
What do you dislike?
Rethinkdb Cannot run queries from its CLI.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Unlike a lot of other databases where if the master is down the system is down, this one if the master is down someone else is made master so much more peer to peer.


    James R.

Quality scalable and easy-to-use database

  • January 29, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
ReQL, RethinkDB's query language is one of my absolute favourite things it offers. As someone who isn't very fond of generic SQL databases, ReQL feels just like programming, and I don't have to shift mind-sets to think about another language.
What do you dislike?
Unfortunately, RethinkDB is no longer actively developed, and was the company behind RethinkDB officially shut down in October 2016. The project has since joined The Linux Foundation and has seen one update in mid-2017, but the future for RethinkDB isn't looking too positive currently.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
RethinkDB's powers all of our database needs in our business. From managing customer game servers, to running our entire OAuth 2.0 API, RethinkDB is behind it all. Its real-time queries have been a godsend for managing real-time data with game servers and other aspects of our API.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
RethinkDB is a great database engine, but be wary of the fact that its release cycle has slowed down drastically since moving to The Linux Foundation. We're hoping that this improves in 2018, but are starting to discuss internally about its viability in the next few years.


    Carlos L.

I have been using RethinkDB in the last month for a work project.

  • April 25, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Rethink is an easy to setup and easy to use NoSQL database that I started to use for a project in my work. The main feature that made use choose Rethink instead of other well known NoSQL database was the change feed that was crucial for the project goal.

I found that the installation and usage of RethinkDb was extremely easy to a beginner with no experience in NoSQL databases. And even with a standard installation we begun doing some really intensive work and Rethink was able to handle the load extremely well.
What do you dislike?
I disliked that to use the database I had to manually create a connection inside a Python terminal. The lack of a more easy interaction with the data in the web admin. The only option is to interact with the data using Javascript which me being a Python developer is not really easy. So I'm forced to do any data manipulation through a Python terminal.

But that being said, that manipulation is really more easy than with SQL database.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I'm solving a problem with a web application that needs to monitor and display any change into the RethinkDB, so the change feed option is really great for keeping an eye into insertions and updates.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Is really easy to start working with RethinkDB if you have experience with Linux and Python. Just be sure that you comfortable with doing data manipulation via the Python terminal.


    Josh V.

Powerful database

  • April 23, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I LOVE the automatic replication and sharding features in RethinkDB. It's so incredibly simple, and the web UI does a fantastic job of letting you know what's happening with your cluster. The realtime updates make everything feel very refined.

I also enjoy how easy it is to interact with RethinkDB from a variety of tools. I've used RethinkDB primarily with Python, but I've also dabbled with some of the other drivers. The fairly consistent interface is very helpful.
What do you dislike?
The last time I paid attention, RethinkDB used significantly more disk space than some other solutions that I evaluated at the same time with the same dataset. This was several years ago now. Disk consumption is a lot better now, but it's still more than I would prefer.

Data ingestion speed wasn't quite what I had hoped when I benchmarked it recently. This was in a small-scale test environment, though, and I'm sure a proper environment would perform much better.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I used RethinkDB to store additional information for things that lived in a MySQL. RethinkDB helped me to finalize a schema for my normal data, leaving more interesting information in RethinkDB.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I have recommended RethinkDB to several of my peers over the years, and I absolutely continue to recommend that others give RethinkDB a solid look. It didn't perform well enough for my needs when I evaluated it, but I intend to re-evaluate it in the near future. I'm excited to see how the newer realtime features can improve my products.


    Daniel C.

Great team behind RethinkDB

  • April 23, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
My favourite features of RethinkDB are the team behind it, the real time features, and the query language.

The RethinkDB team are the nicest group I have ever worked with in open source. They are patient, responsive, kind, and friendly. When reporting bugs and writing patches they are great to work with.

The real time queries are a breakthrough, and make writing real-time apps much easier than before.

I also really like the query language. It is a functional query language which works well with the functional programming language we are using to talk to RethinkDB (Clojure).
What do you dislike?
I don't really have any dislikes of RethinkDB. It is a document database, so you don't have SQL features like multi document transactions and schemas, but you would get that with any database.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The realtime queries are the biggest win for us. They let us get realtime updates into our web application with minimal effort.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you need a document database, I would seriously look at RethinkDB.


    Dusko J.

Rethink DB review

  • April 23, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The query language is amazing compared to other NoSQL query languages. I have only used MongoDB and Redis and compared to MongoDB, the query language is absolutely superb.
What do you dislike?
The fact that it lacks atomic updates across multiple documents. This is the sole reason why we have switched to Postgres: Our data model became so much simpler once we could rely on transparent transactions.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I used RethinkDB to model a document editor backend.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Although it's much easier to use than other NoSQL databases, it's still falls behind Postgres for situations where you need more than one record updated atomically.


    Telecommunications

Internal analytics and metrics tracking

  • April 23, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like that RethinkDB is open source, fast and declarative. It has a wonderful built in visualization tooling and works across many different server types.
What do you dislike?
It is a new tech and has limited documentation, as well as very few people using it in production environments.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I was creating simple analytic data streams from web events. As the product is still in development, most of my benefits are from the developer friendly nature of the platform - learning the query language, building tables, updating models are all simple tasks w/ RethinkDB
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Make sure that Rethink is the right tool for the job.


    Computer Software

Modern Query Language and Scales Well

  • April 23, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
RethinkDB raises the bar: it has a modern query language (i.e., it's very intuitive) and it scales well in enterprise (i.e., massively parallel distributed infrastructure). Also, RethinkDB is a must for realtime apps. A
What do you dislike?
Adoption isn't very widespread in industry, as in many developers I know tend to play it safe with MySQL. There are simply too many restrictions with which operations can be performed atomically that it can't be adopted for tier one services such as user/org, login, sessions, etc.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
RethinkDB definitely beats out other realtime DBs such as Firebase that are much less flexible. I think RethinkDB would work great for real time features within enterprise. It's much more intuitive than Mongo, so any situation in which I would consider Mongo, RethinkDB would definitely be in the talk.


    Information Technology and Services

My RethinkDB Review

  • April 23, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The way you get to query the database. It is absolutely brilliant. Being a fan of functional programming, it had been a god send to me. And then there is the real time change facilities although I dont use that much.
What do you dislike?
Performance. The insertion, especially the batch insertion performance is rather slow. Also foubd it to be slower in geo queries compared to Mongo or Postgres with the same data.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Notification system fora business automation system and a location database for a vehicle tracking system. I am storing vehicle's locations in realtime to RethinkDB and it gets queried by the browser and dropped to the map. Also nearest landmark queries are made.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It has some performance issues, but it is gettibg improved with each upgrade. Other than that ut is a fantastic product.


    Internet

I have enjoyed working with rethinkdb and think it is a great choice for a lot of projects.

  • April 23, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The query language offers a ton of features, including advanced aggregations and transforms.
What do you dislike?
Since it is new, there are still some features that are immature or missing. One big one is an authentication system.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I had a need for a fast database that could handle many transactions. I was able to put some things that would normally be the the application layer into the database.