Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Become a Channel Partner Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Matomo - Self Hosted Real-Time Web Analytics by TurnKey GNU/Linux

TurnKey GNU/Linux | 17.1

Linux/Unix, Debian 11/Bullseye - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

68 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Computer Games

Easy to link with webpages

  • December 02, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Quite intuitive, useful to have multiple domains
What do you dislike about the product?
It is not so easy customize dashboards in i
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Having a quite safe alternative to google analytics


    Alessandro C.

Very Precise tool

  • April 18, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Matomo is a very precise tool, many more than Google Analytics; It is very simple to use
What do you dislike about the product?
I don't like something about the free preview, maybe is too short to evaluate well all the instruments
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I used Matomo to analyze the insight of my blog, and it makes me watch some aspetcts, that I can't see in Google Analytics


    Giovanni S.

GDPR compliant Analytics

  • March 02, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Being open source is surely a good advantage over picking another proprietary on-premises solution. No worries on being GDPR compliant since you will manage every aspect of analytics data gathering.
What do you dislike about the product?
Some widgets are still very simple, and it lacks the ability to correlate "n" metrics to discover new navigation patterns. As a downside of installing it yourself comes all updates you'll have to plan for.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
GDPR compliant analytics.


    Marketing and Advertising

We have used Piwik in our company to feed our recommendations system and it works perfectly.

  • June 20, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
An advantage that I personally consider is that Matomo is an open source tool which can be manipulated. Most ad blockers block the tracking code from matomo. We changed the code and name of matomo so that the ad blockers couldn't block our matomo script. Obviously its not good not to respect the privacy but from a business perspective, its good because sometracking is very critical to some businesses. Also some users unintentionally block matomo script.
What do you dislike about the product?
Graphical user interface shows different data than the database. It uses fingerprinting technology which identifies the user on the basis of a certain parameters including IP, Device etc. It means that if multiple users are visiting a website from the same company, PIWIK automatically identify them as one user and associate the actioms from different users to only one user. That is something which we saw in front end GUI.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We have been using matomo as a feeding tool to our recommendation system. The actions we are recording are very precise and accurate. Also it categorizes the users in real time.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Use it as a backup analytics system as it doesn't provide a hollistic view of data as compared to google analytics.


    Waqas S.

OpenSource and selfhosted alternative to GA!

  • February 07, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
I'm in love with the Matomo. It provides me with lots of details about activities on my website. One of the reasons for having Matomo over Google Analytics is that I have full control over the statistical data of user activity on my website.
What do you dislike about the product?
The User Interface of Matomo is tricky for new users. And installation is a pin if not available on your Hosting Application installer. Also, required storage and database on your hosting.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I'm using it on my personal website for monitoring traffic and user activities. This allows me to check on which page the user is spending much time on, it helps me in the future to bring more user-oriented content to my website.


    John W.

Excellent OSS alternative to Google Analytics - own your data

  • December 20, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Open Source, community-based alternative to commercial alternative (Google Analytics) - data privacy is the primary driver.
What do you dislike about the product?
You do need to roll up your sleeves and prepare for installation support on your server; you will need some experience and admin access to complete and trouble-shoot.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We needed to host our own analytics and Matomo had both the UX (beautiful) and features needed to provide user privacy and support for marketing team. The reporting is functional and supports both marketing and executive team needs.


    Dharam G.

Best open-source alternative to Google Analytics

  • December 10, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
- It is Open source and is being developed actively
- Has almost all the feature one needs to track user interactions.
What do you dislike about the product?
You can only use MySQL for backend data storage.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
ClickStream Analysis
Benefits :
- Open source and hence it is free.
- Easy to use and setup


    Baptiste T.

Awesome product

  • September 16, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Easy to use, easy to modify. Many useful indicators for global comprehension of your website activity
What do you dislike about the product?
The learning curve to understand all indicators can be steep.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Understanding the web activity of the websites we deploy.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Open-source software, efficient with privacy at heart.


    Telecommunications

Keep you data

  • July 13, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Selfhosting, no Google. It is the best way too keep your data and the data of your customers/users with yourself.
What do you dislike about the product?
Useability could be better. It is partly hard to set up the things you need to know.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The data of our users are not transferred to US-companies
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is not as easy as implementing just a tracking code, you have to know what you are doing.


    Werner M.

Nice and detailed statistics for your websites.

  • April 03, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
It is self-hosted and open-source. It is easy to install, use and upgrade.
What do you dislike about the product?
Sometimes some paid features are promoted and are a bit annoying
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I need detailed statistics for a Forum but don't want to use a cloud service due to privacy concerns.