Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Become a Channel Partner Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Kong Gateway Enterprise

Kong | 3.5

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

177 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Yogesh Kumar P.

It's great & reliable to use

  • January 27, 2024
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
It's best in connection pool (i.e connection is good ), as compare to usage it is great as compared to other API
What do you dislike about the product?
Nothing as such of now I seen in my experience
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I have created portal for api, manage them and adjust for scaling


    Arulanandham K.

Best Cloud Native API Platform

  • December 13, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Kong API Gateway is valued for its scalability and flexibility, with open-source architecture, extensive plugin support, and a vibrant community. It excels in managing, securing, and optimizing API traffic
What do you dislike about the product?
Some users find the initial setup and configuration of Kong API Gateway to be complex and challenging
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Kong API Gateway addresses challenges in managing, securing, and optimizing API traffic, providing benefits such as enhanced scalability, flexibility in deployment, robust performance monitoring, and a customizable architecture through plugins. It streamlines API management, fostering improved reliability, security, and overall efficiency in handling diverse and complex API ecosystems.


    Telecommunications

I use kong for production applications

  • November 28, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
It has all the features for terminating ssl, rate limiting and also all the metrics
What do you dislike about the product?
Learning curve. And othen than that i don't have anything
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
it has the UI to manage configuration


    Investment Banking

Common API Gateway

  • November 25, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Kong is just a common API Gateway, portable, similar to API Gee. The fast way that process petitions is the thing i like most
What do you dislike about the product?
Is not easy, and in some cases not possible, to develop custom policies for hard bussiness logic
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Designed for passthroug APIs from my point of view and some out of the ox transformations


    Gaurav S.

Unlocking Seamless API Management

  • November 25, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
I like best part of Kong API Gateway is its high performance and versatility, making it exceptionally well-suited for Cloud Native and DevOps-oriented architectures. And also best part is its open-source nature which will support for various deployment modes.
What do you dislike about the product?
I dislike main thing about Kong API Gateway is it's absence of an Analytics & Monitoring. Also for enterprise version licensing model is complex.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Kong API Gateway is helpful for us in streamlining the process by efficiently handling access control, security, and monitoring of our in-house APIs.
Its scalability features enables us to handle large API traffic volumes, which ensures optimal performance of our api services. It's load balancing capabilities contribute to our improved system scalability and resilience.


    Trần Hoàng V.

Kong API - A great tool for API Gateway

  • November 20, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Performance, Easy to use and manage. Ease of Integration
What do you dislike about the product?
the documentation lacking in clarity or depth, making it challenging to troubleshoot issues or implement advanced configurations.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Unified API Management: Kong acts as a centralized entry point for managing APIs, providing a unified interface to control authentication, rate limiting, logging, and other functionalities. This streamlines API management, making it easier to monitor and control API traffic. Traffic Control and Monitoring: Kong enables rate limiting, caching, and throttling, controlling the flow of traffic to APIs. It also provides monitoring and analytics tools to track API usage, performance, and errors.


    Computer Software

DevOps and Cloud Native API Gateway

  • November 17, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Kong is a very high-performance opensource API Gateway particularly suitable for Cloud Native and DevOps Oriented architectures, it is suitable for installation on different architectures both in on-premise, cloud and hybrid modes. It is a complete product also includes Insomnia as an API Test and Designer tool and also, in the enterprise version, a Developer Portal also oriented towards IaC and the development of APIs from an API First perspective.

The hybrid installation via Kong Konnect is very quick and powerful and allows you to outsource all management except for the dataplanes which are installed on-premise and managed remotely. The on-premise version is easy to install. It can eb configured both via web interface and through a declarative configuration as well. In terms of support, the Enterprise version offers very fast and efficient support.

It supports native CLI tools to launch test and deploy configuration in your CI/CD pipelines
What do you dislike about the product?
Although it offers a rich set of plugins that easily integrates with tools like Prometeus, DataDog, Zipkin lacks an Analytics & Monitoring API tool. There is no management of Monteziation API.

For the Enterprise version the licensing model is a bit complicated because it depends on the number of invocations but also on the concept of gateway service, which is not always easy to keep under control.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Create a complete API Management platform that safely manages APIs, implements authentication and authorization and governance logics and which, in particular through automation tools, allows fast integration with CI/CD tools both in the development of traditional and in the development of APIs created on Kubernetes (via KIC Kubernetes Ingress Controller)


    Rui Pedro L.

Solid API Gateway

  • November 17, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Super easy to setup in a cloud provider or even as a container running in your own network, exposing which services you want to the outside world.
Pretty easy to configure and maintain, has good documentation, and a good community around.
What do you dislike about the product?
Open source version is somewhat limited.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Services with different runtimes are easily plugged into and served from the gateway, not limiting the tech stack.
User and access management is outside the services and its databases, and no need for extra cloud providers' services.


    Chanderson S.

Kong API Gateway: Robust and Flexible API Management

  • November 16, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
I appreciate Kong API Gateway for its robust and flexible API management capabilities. The platform excels in handling API traffic, providing authentication, and ensuring scalability. The intuitive user interface makes API configuration and monitoring straightforward. Additionally, the active community support and regular updates contribute to a positive experience. Overall, Kong API Gateway has proven to be a reliable solution for our API infrastructure.
What do you dislike about the product?
While Kong API Gateway offers robust API management, there are a few aspects that could be improved. which has posed challenges for our team. Additionally, Enhancements in [areas of improvement] would contribute to an even better experience with Kong API Gateway.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Kong API Gateway effectively solves key API management challenges. It streamlines API traffic, ensuring reliability and scalability. The platform enhances security through robust authentication and authorization features, mitigating potential vulnerabilities. With Kong, we've gained centralized control over our APIs, simplified configuration, and improved monitoring. These benefits contribute to a more resilient, secure, and efficient API infrastructure, ultimately enhancing our overall digital operations and user experiences.


    Kush S.

Rapid Installation and easy to configure for basic API requirements

  • November 16, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Effortless Setup: The quick start guide provides a seamless onboarding experience and with a single bash command you are up and running with Kong API Gateway.
What do you dislike about the product?
Not specific uptil now. I am using OSS version and I feel all my requirements are catered through it
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Kong API Gateway solves the problem solved by any API Gateway like:
- Security of the exposed APIs
- Monitoring, analytics and Observability of the APIs
- Rate Limiting
- Traffic Control
- Service Discovery and Load Balancing

The best part is Kong lets these do easily through easy to use configurations and settings in the UI