Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Pure Cloud Block Store™ (Product Deployment)

Pure Storage, Inc. | 6.2.12

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 16.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

10 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Chris S.

Best-in-Class Enterprise Storage for the 21st Century

  • June 21, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Pure Storage has several features that are superior to other storage platforms and make the job of the storage adminsitrator less frustrating and time-consuming, while giving greater flexibility and return on invenstment. For example, in my opinion, Pure Storage deduplication is the high performing dedup I have seen. I have used other storage vendors that don't give as a great a result as Pure and even have a performance penalty for enabling deduplication. Pure has no performance issues with dedup and is giving us greater than 4-to-1 dedup ratios overall. I won't forget to mention that this is happening on all-flash and averaging sub-3ms performance overall, easily handling the 50-60K IOPS our datacenter throws at it. I believe our model has room for 150K IOPS, so we're not even giving it a work out. Their proprietary RAID is a valuable feature for supporting their arrays, because disk loss causes the RAID to shift data and simply lower the capacity rather than losing data after the third disk failure. Of course, given enough failures, data loss would occurr, but in the 5 years we've had 2 Pure Storage arrays, we have performed several controller upgrades, a couple dozen software upgrades, added capacity, thousands of storage operations (snapshots, volumes, etc.) with LITERALLY ZERO DOWNTIME. Needless, to say, Pure provides excellent support.
What do you dislike?
There is really not alot to dislike about Pure Storage. The cost is high, so just be aware of that, even though there is, in my opinion, a very clear return on investment.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Storage is one of the hidden barriers to managing large datacenters. Capacity is growing, but applications are growing their demand for storage performance. Several years ago, storage seemed to be the de facto bottleneck for all datacenters. Pure not only made all-flesh the standard, but also set the standard for support and modern datacenter and DevOps features. We are using Pure Storage for our entire organization's storage. From the smallest application to the largest IO-hungry database, Pure handles requests at an extremely high performance rate with the consistency and managability needed for today's enterprise environments.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I have had an excellent relationship with our Pure Storage rep. They allowed us to test drive and preview as much as possible their product before we purchase. The technology is as rock-solid as can be delivered from a technology product. Nothing is perfect, but their support matched with the innovative thinking means your investment will go far and will deliver the value you're looking for.


    Printing

Fantastic Product

  • October 19, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Pure Storage is Simple, Intuitive and Reliable. I've had no major issues in 4 years of working with the product. I really love the Evergreen option - allowing us to upgrade our arrays every 3 years, completely non-disruptively and only at the cost of keeping up Maintenance on the array.
What do you dislike?
It's rare I can recommend a product without any caveats - this is one of them.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We saw 4x performance improvements in our workloads over our spinning disks, and about 1.5x improvement over our previous flash arrays.

Time spent managing the arrays has decreased by a factor of 4.

Firmware upgrades are significantly easier as well, just set up a time and allow the Pure Engineers in remotely to do their thing.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Do it. You won't regret it.


    Hospital & Health Care

Pure Storage - Fast and Reliable

  • April 17, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Pure’s management interface has got to be the easiest most user friendly interface out there. Really takes the misery out of provisioning storage to hosts. Performance is outstanding as well as analytics in Pure1.
What do you dislike?
Can be a bit pricy, but a very solid and reliable solution.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Compression and de duplication is best in class.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Make sure you are aware of what workload types that you’ll be running. This impacts cpu de dup and compression.


    Karla W.

File management in the cloud.

  • October 03, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It provides safe and reliable access to my information.
It facilitates the intercom the rest of users of the company and customers.
It favors the realization of projects throughout the company.
Access in real time and without displacements.
Implementation much faster and with less risk when hosting large files.
Great cost and mobility savings.
The documentation is accessed without the need for internet access
What do you dislike?
The document manager for storing all documentation has the disadvantage that it does not allow linking directly from the desktop. This action has to be done from the application with what is not automatic.
Improvable learning curve.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Using this tool, I realize how essential it is for me at work because it allows me to access any project I am currently in. Highlight the great capacity it has for large files and its speed in loading and unloading.
Recommendations to others considering the product:

Perfect solution for file hosting on the internet.


    Pedro V.

Sistema de almacenamiento en la nube eficaz y rápido

  • April 23, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Lo que más destacaría es la integración con otros sistemas operativos. Tengo que reconocer que tiene muy buena integración y escalabilidad con las principales tecnologías de trabajo. La cuenta gratuita básica aunque es limitada en espacio permite gestionar bastantes datos que no ocupen mucho lo que facilita el tener una visión más pormenorizada de este producto.
What do you dislike?
A mejorar es la accesibilidad con mi disolvió móvil en el tema de sincronización ya que no puede acceder a determinados archivos incluso offline. La versión gratuita no permite editar los archivos lo que puede provocar dificultades a la hora de trabajar en equipo y ser necesario variaciones en los mismos.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
La descarga y la utilización de este producto es muy sencilla de usar. La integración con otros sistemas operativos como Linux esta perfectamente integrada. La descarga es muy rápida y eficaz únicamente a la hora de guardar mi archivos tengo que crear una carpeta local donde tener almacenados todos mis documentos de una manera sincronizada con el resto de mis dispositivos. La visualización y las características hacen que sea agradable el poder trabajar con esta herramienta moderna lo que facilita el trabajo diario.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Muy buen producto con una versión gratuita para el almacenamiento masivo de datos en la nube que hace que la organización en la gestión de documentación sea muy accesible y fácil de manejar. La veríais de pago incluye muchas más funcionalidades como creación de contraseñas y controles de seguridad lo que confiere mayor seguridad en el tratamiento de datos.


    Brandon M.

A expensive, but very capable storage solution with a rock solid vision.

  • January 28, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Support is the best of any vendor I have worked with and the vision and direction they are going is in the right direction. They once solved a networking problem through a storage ticket.
What do you dislike?
Price, this stuff is EXPENSIVE, and its getting more expensive, not cheaper as time goes on, which is breaking the trend of storage to go down in cost.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
This is the primary storage solution for VMware. Running all virtual machines in each datacenter, with replication to the other. Some are setup to be fully synchronous copies.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Consider the price, but if you can afford it it is very solid software.


    Jared H.

I think their SAP solutions are great!

  • August 23, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
When we implemented the all-flash array in our data center, it gave us much more power to process our needs and grow our business
What do you dislike?
I don't think I can think of anything, its great hardware, and software solutions
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
With Pure Storage FlashArray, our business simplified the complexity of storage, which made our IT more efficient, which is definitely a plus
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Check out all their products and be sure to consult with their team, they'll find the solution that you need!


    Preet V.

Pure Storage - Data Flash Storage

  • August 22, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Pros-
>Flash storage arrays is much better in performance, pricing, space, more reliable then mechanical disk arrays
> Up to date startup is well organised to provide enterprise storage for solid storage than disks.
>Provide storage solutions to enterprises at affordable and compact rates with more realistic features.
What do you dislike?
>If a specific LUN would be provided on Pure Storage, it may take a plus point
>Difficult in creating SNAPSHOT of the storage where files are hosted. Should provide easy GUI or other mechanism for SNAPSHOT
>Lagging in Support system of Pure Storage.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Using this flash storage system for handling my disk storage and space.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Best for Mid-level business and enterprises.


    Information Technology and Services

Overall positive experience

  • August 19, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Performance of the array is very high. We immediately noticed users reboot times, Read/Write's and overall user experience improve

Best solution out in the market for any VDI environment as it provides the users an experience that cannot be achieved using spinning disks.

Support is great: We had a support engineer dig through Microsoft settings for multipathing on iSCSI initiators. He did this on two different occasions!
What do you dislike?
The ability to throttle a specific LUN on the Pure Storage would be nice. Not sure of the implications though.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
high IO environments as well as eases the burden of array management.


    Liza E.

Flash Data Storage

  • August 19, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
What I like best about Pure Storage would be for its compression. Definitely help-sent! It helped clear up space and improve the company computers' performance. Great support, would recommend.
What do you dislike?
I can't say there I anything specifically I don't like, however, it has not been implemented for very long but there are no downsides thus far.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Storage for digital data and content.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try it for your storage needs.


showing 1 - 10