Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Become a Channel Partner Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Varnish Enterprise 6 Developer Edition (Red Hat)

Varnish Software Inc | 6.0.12r6 20240214-1112

Linux/Unix, Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8.9 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

96 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Banking

Value adding component, securing end user experience and cost efficient

  • August 31, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
It is flexible, securing our web development from request to response from client to backend and back again. Cost efficient, fast load to clients, low usage of backend infrastructure. High availability.
What do you dislike about the product?
Very hard to say anything less good about Varnish. It's a technical product, built by technical people for technical usage, But make everyone happy from technicians to end users. One thing is that is so in front line of services to manage subscription thats its harder for a large company with security regulations to manage installation media and patches, but that problem is more on our side rather than problem with Varnish.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Performance, fast responses. Securing backend. High availability with grace functionality.


    Broadcast Media

Using Varnish since many years, moved to the paid version a couple of years ago

  • August 30, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
linear encoding cache, plenty of configuration possibilities
What do you dislike about the product?
not very big benefits in using the paid version instead of the open source one
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
caching and avoiding internet traffic to reach internal server


    Telecommunications

Performance, Quality, Configuration

  • August 30, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Varnish is really fast and powerfull . The Varnish Configuration Langage (VCL) is a must (think embedding Javascript to configure the cache). You can do everything with it.

I use varnish for caching popular content (VOD, Live, Static Assets) on hundred of servers, but also for Load Balancing API. Varnish support also distributed and multi-level of caching.

I haven't found any problems in many years. The support is fast, and helpfull. The support come from the developper so it's very easy to find issue with our hardware.
What do you dislike about the product?
It's difficult to find a flaw for Varnish. Perhaps the cost of the solution ? But when i see the number of times i've open a ticket (3 in 8 years) I think the value is well spent.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Varnish can serve without a flaw severall hundred tv channels, and thousand of VOD contents to our customers. Caching severall terabytes of content is not a easy task, varnish solve it with distribute caching and load-balancing between healthy node. Scaling is not a problem, we just need to increase the number of servers.


    Consumer Goods

Varnish Software: A Simple Review

  • August 29, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The Cache HA Cluster and ESI (Edge Side Includes) features are often considered among the best aspects of Varnish Software due to their capability to optimize web performance and manage content delivery efficiently.
What do you dislike about the product?
One drawback of Varnish Software is the lack of native support for Kubernetes as an ingress controller. While Varnish offers advanced routing, caching, and other features, its compatibility with Kubernetes and cncf solutions is limited, which can hinder its seamless integration within Kubernetes environments. This limitation could potentially be addressed to broaden the software's usage.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Varnish Software solves several problems by providing efficient solutions for content distribution and backend system connections. The use of Edge Side Includes (ESI) allows for server-side distribution of systems without disrupting the frontend. This approach enables efficient content delivery using client-side connections to various backend systems. This benefits us by enhancing performance and maintaining a seamless experience, as the distribution happens effectively at the edge, optimizing the overall system architecture.


    Muhammad A.

THE SPEED BOOST YOUR WEBSITE CRAVES.

  • August 21, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
One of the standout features of Varnish Software is its Caching Brilliance.It has significantly boosted our website and application performance by storing frequently accessed content in memory, reducing the load on backend servers. This results in faster page load times and improved user experiences.
What do you dislike about the product?
I have found it to be resource-intensive , particularly in memory usage.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Varnish Software has addressed the challenge of slow website and application performance by caching content closer to the end-user, reducing latency, and improving response times.


    Mohammad K.

Senior Software developer

  • August 02, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
It does not need a lot knowelage to start using it
What do you dislike about the product?
does not have enough documentation.
does not have code example in C#, node js
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Cash the end user requests
cash static files


    Banking

Perfect htyp cache software

  • August 02, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Varnish is very easy to configure, and becomes a kind ok swiss-army knife to handle/debug/optimize http trafic
What do you dislike about the product?
Some modules are only available using souscription.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Varnish helps us reduicing load on web and databases servers


    Information Technology and Services

Speed Up Drupal Using Varnish

  • August 02, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Our web servers have become faster and more responsive thanks to Varnish software, this cuts down the waiting time for our pages. We managed to cope with large traffic spikes without any interruptions.
What do you dislike about the product?
The only minor drawbacks I can think of are related to the aggressive caching approach. This approach sometimes requires custom code to make it suitable for automatic cache invalidation using cache tags.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We can deliver fast and smooth end-user experiences to our audiences with Varnish Software. It helps us to distribute our content and solutions worldwide by offering a versatile private CDN solution. This capability has been crucial for our business expansion and achievement.


    Jose F.

Performance, security and excellent support

  • August 02, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Flexibility in VCL for businnes rules, Paywall modules, Varnish Console, purge method
What do you dislike about the product?
Nothing least helpful for us and nothing Downside
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Paywall control, AB Testing, Web Performance


    Telecommunications

Varnish for routing and caching API requests

  • August 02, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
powerful and easy to configure by adjusting the vcl files, this already included caching and routing configs and more
What do you dislike about the product?
Need thorough understanding on all the stages and config appropriately, else it'll be easy to make mistakes.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Mostly API traffic routing and caching