Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Become a Channel Partner Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Ubuntu 20 (Ubuntu 20.04 LTS) with Support by Supported Images

Supported Images | 20240410

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 20.04 LTS - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

38 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Michelle C.

Ubuntu: Best open-source OS for developers

  • July 05, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Ubuntu is one of the most widely used operating systems for project development by developers worldwide. It is free, open-source, and has a great community of developers contributing to its success. The installation of Ubuntu is easy and it needs very little resource around 20GB to run smoothly on any system. I can install Ubuntu along with other operating systems and can select during startup to boot to any operating system.
There is nothing that can not be done in Ubuntu. I can do competitive programming, project development, and numerous other tasks which can not be done so easily on any other OS.
Previously I was using Ubuntu 18 LTS version, but when Ubuntu 20 LTS was released I initially doubt if I should install it or not. But after listening to positive reviews from developers across the globe I decided to make a switch and this was my best decision so far. Thanks to the community for providing free OS with such great capabilities.
What do you dislike about the product?
I am using Ubuntu since my university days and I didn't find any major cons of using it. There are complaints from users regarding its battery consumption which I also think is somewhat true. I recommend everyone to try it once using the try-ubuntu feature which doesn't require installation. But do remember that data loss may happen if you're using the try-ubuntu feature.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I use Ubuntu 20 for project development features in multiple programming languages and support from a variety of applications/services. The Linux kernel supports AMD and Intel graphics card hence I can run Ubuntu on old and new systems as well. There are times when I need to use unlimited storage for running an application, and by changing some environment settings in Ubuntu I'm able to do it. I can install project dependencies and applications super fast in Ubuntu 20.04 LTS. The Ubuntu Pro provides me with comprehensive open-source security and AWS compliance. It is suitable for our small-scale organization and we can pay bills on existing AWS invoices.
Overall I find it has helped the developer to increase their efficiency and my colleagues are also finding it very easy to use. I recommend this to every developer, try it I bet you won't regret it.


    Information Technology and Services

Stable Linux flavor

  • June 16, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
It is a very stable Linux flavor. It is constantly updated and has good online documentation and lots of support through various blogs and forums. The Apt package manager is easy to use.
What do you dislike about the product?
It is nearing the end of life of this version, so it is time to upgrade to the newest Ubuntu 22.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Running cloud services on Linux Ubuntu servers, primarily using Docker.


    Vikram R.

Ubuntu 20.04 LTS

  • June 04, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
1. improved ZFS support and fast boot
2. New (kernal Linux kernel 5.4, GNOME 3.36 desktop environment)
What do you dislike about the product?
GNOME is popular and well but it might not be everyone's preferred choice.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Ubuntu 20.04 LTS solves is providing a stable and reliable operating system. With its long-term support period of five years.


    Automotive

well supported operating system

  • April 15, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
it's well supported and it's very suitable for robotics application thanks to ROS2 FOXY
What do you dislike about the product?
it requires a more than basic understanding of how to work with linux
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
development of our software, first vision based software and later on motion based software


    Aviation & Aerospace

Reliable and User-Friendly Operating System

  • March 24, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
One of the most salient features of Ubuntu that resonates most deeply with my personal preferences is its remarkable versatility and configurability, which allows users to exercise a considerable degree of granular control over various aspects of the operating system. This unparalleled degree of customization is a crucial factor that sets Ubuntu apart from many of its contemporaries and renders it an ideal choice for users who prioritize flexibility and modularity in their operating systems.
What do you dislike about the product?
some of which include compatibility issues with certain hardware or software applications, a steep learning curve, and occasional software bugs or updates that may cause disruptions.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Ubuntu 20.04 LTS addresses the issue of stability, security, and compatibility, providing users with a reliable and secure platform that supports a wide range of hardware and software. By providing long-term support and regular security updates, Ubuntu 20.04 LTS minimizes the risk of security breaches and system failures, providing users with a dependable platform for their computing needs. Additionally, its compatibility with diverse hardware and software makes it a versatile choice for users, ensuring that they can run the programs they need without worrying about compatibility issues or limitations.


    Rajan G.

Ubuntu for development

  • March 19, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
It give more access to the use as compared to windows or Mac operating systems, the kernal is well exposed and it is safe from viruses and Trojans. And we'll supported by community.
What do you dislike about the product?
Sometimes give more privileges to the user , which could be a disadvantage like a user can delete the system files, and lots of applications are not supported. As compared to others
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Ubuntu is used for development as well as hosting server as it is more reliable than others, everything is well controlled by the user, like ram, heap the performance.


    MOHAMMEDAZIM S.

Ubuntu 20.04 LTS

  • March 15, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Ubuntu is well-known for its security features, such as built-in firewalls and frequent security upgrades, which serve to protect users from cyber attacks.

Ubuntu 20.04 LTS also includes a user-friendly interface with a contemporary, clean, and easy-to-navigate design. It comes pre-installed with a number of apps, including the LibreOffice productivity suite, the Firefox web browser, and the Thunderbird email client.
Ubuntu 20.04 LTS is extremely flexible, allowing users to tailor their computing environment to their own needs. It supports a wide range of hardware, making it compatible with a wide variety of devices, and it is open-source, which means users may access the source code and alter it as required.
What do you dislike about the product?
While Ubuntu is known for its frequent updates, there have been reports of upgrades creating difficulties or damaging their system. Compared to prior versions of Unity, Ubuntu 20.04 employs the GNOME desktop interface, which some users find unintuitive or clunky. They dislike the pre-installed software that comes with Ubuntu 20.04, either because it is superfluous or because they prefer other applications. Performance concerns such as Slow boot times and general sluggish performance are common. While Ubuntu 20.04 provides specific customisation options, we found them to be restricted compared to other Linux systems.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Ubuntu 20.04 LTS is built on open-source software and encourages the usage of open-source tools and applications. Those that wish to utilise free and open-source software may profit from this. Several tools and resources for developers are included in Ubuntu 20.04 LTS, including support for a broad range of programming languages and development frameworks. Anyone interested in software development or similar industries may profit from this. We can rely on Ubuntu 20.04 LTS for a reliable and secure operating system and long-term support for crucial security updates and bug patches. As a result, it is a dependable solution for enterprises, organisations, and individual users that value stability and security.


    Fredy V.

Muy Buen Sistema Operativo

  • March 14, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Es un sistema operativo Linux muy bueno, hasta el momento me ha parecido estable y no ha presentado incidencias, su entorno grafico ayuda mucho cuando no se esta familiarizado con la parte de comandos.
What do you dislike about the product?
Seguir mejorando la parte del entorno grafico ya que esto ayuda mucho a los usuarios que se estan pasando a Linux y facilita la implementacion de servicios y programas gratuitos.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Un sistema operativo Linux eficiente para instalar aplicaciones y servicios gratuitos.


    Klodian H.

Best Linux

  • March 14, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
User interface, utilities. Free apps. Easy to install drivers.
What do you dislike about the product?
It's consumes too much RAM. And for a Core 2 Duo, 4 gb RAM, it's a little beat too heavy.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
First of all it is free. Second a lot of other software are also free.


    RAHUL A.

Ubuntu: A Robust and Versatile OS for Everyday Use

  • March 11, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The User- friendliness of ubuntu is unparalleled. I find it getting more and more improvised with every new version. And with the 20.04 version, I would say it is just unimaginable.
What do you dislike about the product?
I would say that ubuntu lacks enough hardware support. Being the best user-friendly Operating System, providing better hardware support will surely increase its popularity to the peak.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Ubuntu, being open-source software, is providing me a greater satisfaction towards security and privacy. Moreover, the 20.04 version supports thousands of software, making my tasks more manageable.